Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Al's Upholstery

Founded 1992 • With Angi since April 2012

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3900 Central Ave SW Ste A

Albuquerque, NM 87105

Description

Al’s Upholstery was established in 1992 by Albuquerque natives and father-son team, Al and Adam Durante. What started out as a small and family-owned business, is now the most highly regarded upholstery shop in New Mexico. Al’s Upholstery has proudly serviced over 5,000 customers and continues to provide exceptional, custom and stunning creations. The technicians at Al’s Upholstery are highly skilled and confident that they can address the needs and visions of their clients....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/03/2015


LOUISE M.

I paid for the coupon for upholstery and never heard from the company. I have sent numerous messages to Angies List without response. I would like my money back, but it looks like I will need to resort to legal action.

Description of Work
nothing

Category upholstery

5.0

10/20/2015


Keith and Elizabeth D.

Great, helped pick just the Right color.

Description of Work
Re covered car seats

Category upholstery

5.0

09/08/2015


Deborah P.

Considering fabric had to be ordered . fter I took a couple days to make selection after chair was picked up it all went very well. Chair completed sooner than expected.

Description of Work
Reupholstered very old chair (approx 80+ yrs old). Very helpfull assisting me to find specific fabric not usual for this part of the country. Made my search easier than had I would have had on my own. I've sent pictures of finished chair to family members and all are expressing how much they like. Would definately. Use this service again and recommend to family and friends.

Category upholstery

5.0

08/21/2015


Deborah B.

I made today's appointment about 2 wks ago. I was on time & so was Al's. Adam was great in listening to my issues with my motorcycle seat. it needed to be trimmed to help me better place both feet flat on the ground when on my motorcycle Adam made some suggestions, had his guy take care of the seat. They did a great job. The result was what I needed, they completed it in the approx. time frame I was told when I scheduled the appointment. And the cost was very close to the estimate. Thanks everyone. I'll be back w/ a chair that needs a do over!

Description of Work
Shave some of the foam away from the overall structure of my motorcycle seat. add additional lumbar support to the motorcycle seat

Category upholstery

5.0

08/05/2015


Martha S.

Dealing with Al's was a pleasure. They were professional, helpful, and friendly. The work they did is beautiful. They helped select fabric for the seat cushions to go with the pillow fabric I had chosen at an upholstery store. Since they work regularly with the upholstery store, I didn't even have to go back over there to buy the fabric. They finished the job quickly--less than 2 days! My wicker sofa is a special family heirloom, and it has never looked better.

Description of Work
Al's covered the seat cushions and throw pillows for an antique wicker sofa.

Category upholstery

5.0

06/17/2015


James M.

We borrowed the fabric samples to take home and make our selection. We took the chair bottoms to Al's. They had them recovered the next day.

Description of Work
Recovered six dining room chair seat bottoms.

Category upholstery

5.0

01/23/2015


Addie D.

After calling the fabric number to Adam, we agreed for pick up on Wednesday 21, two days following establishing our go ahead. I was called an hour before pick-up. Adam was on time, picked up the chair and told me he would call Friday to determine time to deliver the finished job. At about 2:45 the call came that delivery would be around 3 pm. The chair is beautiful and very well done. I already have a job for the shop in the near future. I sincerely hope they continue to do business for Angie's and for those of us in Albuquerque needing their experience. Based on fabric and labor I believe the price was reasonable.

Description of Work
Visited the shop and then went to R&R Upholstery as suggested by Adam. to select fabric for a chair. I then called Adam, sales person, and gave him the fabric number.

Category upholstery

5.0

10/28/2014


Kathryn K.

We have a microsuede couch, loveseat, and chair with zippered covers. The covers were still in good condition, but the foam was getting soft. We wanted the foam in all 12 pieces replaced. Adam showed us several types of foam and we chose the density that suited our needs. Another part of our request involved cutting out the foam from the chair while keeping the microsuede and making a zippered cover using the existing fabric. Adam was very knowledgeable and had no problem with our specific request. I say this specifically because I had called another upholstery shop before I called Al's and the unnamed shop flat out refused to do it. Al's Upholstery shop was friendly, organized, and professional. I noticed they do all kinds of upholstery - auto, medical, home - anything you want. They also have a huge selection of fabric, leather, and everything in between. We were in disbelief when he told us it would be ready by the next day - and it was. Our living room set is like brand new again and extremely comfortable. We are so grateful to find honest, hardworking folks who really care about customers and produce a quality final product.

Description of Work
They replaced foam in our couch, loveseat, and chair.

Category upholstery

5.0

09/17/2014


Daniel O.

Went very great, material looked great, quality of job was great, staff are friendly, and the got the job done in less than a week!

Description of Work
Reupholstered front and back seats on my 1992 Ford Bronco.

Category upholstery

3.0

07/31/2014


Cary C.

I called them up and said "Do you repair leather?" and they said "Yes". So I got there but they said they don't do that repair, they'll replace it. What I was hoping for like $20 touched up. They were thinking $300 for a new seat base. They did not do the work. They never quoted. They just said they will not repair, they want to replace it. I said then I don't want to quote.

Description of Work
We needed some leather repair on our car seat.

Category upholstery

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the inconvenience, we try hard to please any needs in terms of upholstery.

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Upholstering - Boat & Auto
    Auto Detailing
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Accessories - Auto. Auto Detailing. Upholstering - Boat & Auto, General

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Al's Upholstery

    How is Al's Upholstery overall rated?

    Al's Upholstery is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Al's Upholstery open?

    Al's Upholstery is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:30 AM - 4:30 AM

    What payment options does Al's Upholstery provide

    Al's Upholstery accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Al's Upholstery offer free estimates?

    Yes, Al's Upholstery offers free project estimates.

    Does Al's Upholstery offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Al's Upholstery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Al's Upholstery offer a senior discount?

    No, Al's Upholstery does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Al's Upholstery offer emergency services?

    Yes, Al's Upholstery offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Al's Upholstery?

    No, Al's Upholstery does not offer warranties.

    What services does Al's Upholstery offer?

    Al's Upholstery offers the following services: Accessories - Auto. Auto Detailing. Upholstering - Boat & Auto, General