Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

WD Graves Plumbing Inc

With Angi since July 2013

Our mission at W.D.Graves Plumbing Inc is to offer friendly, professional service at affordable prices. We are always available to assess your plumbing needs. Additional DBAs - Graves Design & Remodeling Inc, Graves Design and Remodeling Inc.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(89) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 89 reviews
Priscilla B.
5.0
01/15/2016
Everything went very, very well. CJ is knowledgeable and made the needed repair quickly and without any major disruption to the kitchen. No clean-up was needed after he left. I recommend WD Graves Plumbing and CJ for prompt, fairly-priced service.
Description of Work
Repaired a kitchen faucet lever.
Category
plumbing
Ryan S.
5.0
09/30/2015
Great work by CJ & Ron! CJ came out to my house a week prior to take a look at my set up and gave me an estimate. He was thorough in discussing all the options of how I'd like to install the softener. Everything went well at the time of service too. Their work was solid and they made sure they cleaned up after everything was done.
Description of Work
Installed water softener
Category
plumbing
charlie S.
5.0
08/18/2015
As always my experience with WD Graves was excellent. They are responsive, professional and most of all trustworthy. This is my second experience with Graves. Both times have been awesome. I will use WD Graves again.!
Description of Work
Graves provided me with a great solution to my sump pump problems by installing a water activated backup system.
Category
plumbing
Susan S.
5.0
02/16/2015
They did a Good job and cleaned up before they left.
Description of Work
In the midst of a major remodel our corroded copper pipes started leaking. Graves plumbing came out and replaced quite a bit of the copper pipes in our home.
Category
plumbing
Steve W.
4.0
10/16/2014
Purchased Angie's list deal for free visit and 1st Hour of service for a pre-paid $49. On first visit, it was quickly determined that the condo associate couldn't turn off the water to the building. And the plumber didn't have a part needed to install the faucet in any case; so for both reasons the visit needed to be rescheduled. After some delay due to the Condo Association needing a major repair to fix their problem; we tried again. This time a new person came 1/2 hour early, which is a problem since they notify condo owners the build water will be shut of only during designated times; however the maintenance manager made an except and shut off the water early. However, I indicated that they needed two individuals to move out the stacked washer/dryer to access the necessary plumbing; and the 1st guy was expecting the 2nd to come at the scheduled time. So we waited and he never showed up. And he was to have the necessary parts. The 1st guy was able scrounge in the truck for awhile and did find the parts he needed, purely by luck. Next, the 1st guy couldn't remove the washer/dryer himself and the maintenance manager helped him. And he proceeded to make the repairs. Subsequently, the unit needed to be put back, and the maintenance manager was no longer present. I was able to help reluctantly since I recently injured my back; but with some pain and effort we got it back in place. At some point towards the end, the 1st guy had a very heated discussion with the office about never working with "CJ" again (I assuming the 2nd guy who didn't show). Now on to payment; the I had discussions with the office coordinator several times that my Angie's list voucher was still valid after the initial situation. When the 1st guy called it in, they didn't honor that, indicating I used it with first visit. A visit in which no work was done, and he didn't have the correct parts even if he could have. So I was charged the full price. I'm fairly certain the "2nd guy/CJ" was the same individual who came out the first time. And while he was "fine", I didn't really like his demeanor. I recognize he made the visit and couldn't perform the work; thus the reason I didn't really object on not getting credit on the 2nd visit. But was not happy after being assured it was going to carry over. And his not showing caused the 1st guy to spend billable time looking for parts and struggling with the washer unit, and worse making me and my bad back help him. I want to say the guy who did the work was polite to me; seemed to do a quality job, and got through a difficult situation. With the exception of the phone call back to the office in front of me, I don't have any complaints on his service. I gave the D on price because of the non-application of the Angie's deal; but the price was probably fair given the time spent otherwise at about $95/hr. In the end, it wasn't a disaster, and the price wasn't a real problem, but it still wasn't a particularly pleasant experience and didn't really instill much confidence. I think I would try another firm next time to see if the experience was more positive.
Description of Work
Replaced Main Shut-off valve & replaced tub faucet in Condo
Category
plumbing
corinne D.
1.0
09/04/2014
I called American Home Shield to request my sink be snaked. Plumber came out with 1 auger, which broke in drain. He was paid my $75 "deductible". 2nd plumber came out, again, with only 1 auger, that would not fit the drain. I was then told that I needed to go to Home Depot and get a smaller auger. I asked why he, as a plumber didn't have different augers, and was told this was the size his co. uses. He then called AHS, and informed them that I needed a cleanout installed. AHS let me know that they do not cover that. I was given a bill for $875 and asked to pay $475 up front, which I did. Upon reflecting, I called and asked that the transfaction be cancelled, at which time I was informed that if I did, they still got to keep the deposit, so I told them to go ahead and come out. I was told that the bill would be reduced by $100, as I did not care to have an access panel installed into the greenboard. After the work was done, I called the company, and was told my CJ that I should not have been charged for the snaking of the drain, and that I was charged a "generic" amount, not taking into consideration that the "wall" that had to be cut was simply greenboard, and stated that $265 was more reasonable. My checks were supposed to be returned, so I could provide a check for $265. WD Graves then called me stating that he felt $475 was reasonable, and would be returning my check for $230. I had asked the repairman, Mr. Graves and CJ if I had been charged for the snaking of the drain. the repairman and Mr. Graves both stated "no". I requested an itemized bill, as the bill provided by the repairman was illegible, and seemed to be charging me for the snaking. I was not only charged for the snaking on day 2, I was charged for labor on day 1 (which was covered by my deductible, paid to the 1st co.). I called AHS, and they stated that in talking to CJ, I was NOT charged for the snaking, but only for the work done to install the cleanout. I have an itemized bill, that shows I was charged for labor and snaking. This co. was deceiptfull to me and to AHS about items they billed for, and appear to want me to contribute to their overhead fees vs complying with their agreement with AHS. They showed me absolutely no interest in customer satisfaction. AHS told me that they cannot get further involved, as I agreed to the $475 amount. This is NOT true! I agreed to the $265 amount suggested by CJ, but Mr. Graves refused to send me back both checks. Now, even CJ has told AHS that I was not charged for snaking the drain.
Description of Work
Install cleanout & snake drain.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

This customer accused us of dishonesty but her first sentence is less than forthright. What she fails to mention is that another company broke the snake auger off in her drain... not W. D. Graves. The second less than forthright statement is that our auger wouldn't fit...The truth is our auger wouldn't fit past the first broken-off auger, and it was never even disclosed to us, that an auger had been broken off, though she was apparently aware of it, by her own statements. Only when we discovered the blockage and suggested a smaller snake, did she finally disclose the existence of the broken auger, lodged in her pipe. We then got her agreement to fix the problem. Then we scheduled the repair, Purchased blades capable of cutting through her galvanized STEEL pipe drain, special fittings to connect steel to PVC piping, and was in route to her home when she decided to cancel the repair. In an effort to find an amicable solution, since we already had time spent at the parts supplier, travel time, and appointment slot dedicated to her, for which a full refund of deposit was not fair to us in any way, we offered her a discount which she accepted. We then located the other companies broken auger, cut the wall, cut the steel pipe in 2 places to remove the section with the broken,lodged auger, installed a clean out with special adapters, and then proceeded to snake the drain successfully. She paid the technician, the already discounted rate, then proceeded to call our office, demanding additional discounts, to which we finally agreed. That was not good enough, so she then began haranguing us for break-downs and receipts and when we complied, she was still not satisfied. We charged her initially 1/2 to 1/3 of what many of our competitors would have charged. we ended up, 2 discounts later, at 1/2 of the agreed upon, already discounted price, and thus investing our money into her home. It is never good for us when the warranty company denies certain customers repairs, because we are expected to either do the repair for free, or face their wrath in forums such as this. You will notice that EVERY SINGLE COMPLAINT we have is related to a home warranty company call. I understand their frustrations, having assumed once they signed up for a home warranty, they would never face another repair bill other than their deductible. That is not in their contracts, as I've read them, and that is not the belief of most home warranty customers, as most are well aware that the deeply discounted repairs we do for the situations not covered by their warranties is still a bargain. It is unfortunate that there are those few which take their disappointments, when they learn their warranties are not the magic bullets they believed, rightly or wrongly, out on the hardworking technician and company which shows up to do the dirty work to get their plumbing working again. Many people have suggested we stop taking warranty work altogether. But where would that leave the customers who depend on their warranties for prompt reliable service on covered work and significant savings on non covered work ? I have chosen to trust the reason of those reading these forums to see through the few complaints from customers like this. W. D. Graves
Jillian M.
5.0
08/20/2014
I got the Big Deal for one hour of labor. Two guys were sent to change the water filter under my kitchen sink that had become stuck. It took the brute force of two guys, so I'm glad they sent two. They reassembled the water filter in a way that I could provide self-service in the future. Quick, easy, done.
Description of Work
Changed an under sink water filter that had become stuck.
Category
plumbing
Amy B.
4.0
07/17/2014
It went fine. They had to come back because they didn't have the part on their trcuk which meant that I incurred an additional service charge which I didn't like. When I told them what needed to be done, it would have been nice for them to have brought the part when they came out the first time. They did a fine job when they were here though. They were very pleasant, nice, and knew what they were doing, it just ended up costing about twice as much as I'd anticipated.
Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal for a $49.00 plumbing service call and 1 hour of labor.
Category
plumbing
Patricia D.
4.0
06/25/2014
In February I purchased a " $49 for a Plumbing Service Call and 1 Hour of Labor" from Angie's List. I am giving a "B" rating because of the price, and because the plumber did not have the quarter-turn shut-off valves in the truck. When I called for an appointment, the lady was very courteous and provided me with an appointment the following day, which pleasantly surprised me The technician called before he came and arrived within the scheduled time frame. Upon shutting off the valves to replace the faucet, he noticed that one of the shut-off valves was leaking. We decided to have both valves replaced to prevent problems in the near future with the valve that was not leaking at this time. He quoted us a price to replace the valves which was high, because about six months ago we had gotten a quote for valve replacement that was much lower per valve (we had been thinking about replacing valves at several sinks. We wanted the newer quarter-turn kind). Since he was here, we decided to have the valves replaced. We wanted quarter-turn valves. It turns out he had to replace the valves with the same kind we already have because he didn't have the quarter-turn ones in his truck. One would think that a plumbing company would stock quarter-turn valves in their truck. They are readily available-any Home Depot or Lowe's has a ready supply.
Description of Work
Replaced faucet ( we purchased the faucet ahead of time) in laundry tub and replaced two shut-off valves.
Category
plumbing
Jackie J.
5.0
06/24/2014
I called the office to get an estimate on plumbing work and spoke with LIsa. She was very nice and helpful. She got in touch with the plumber and called me back with a rough estimate. I didn't immediately set up an appointment for an estimate as I wanted to call a few more places. Lisa called me back to follow up since I mentioned a time slot that was going to fill up soon. CJ came to give the estimate. He was very professional. We had CJ come back to do the work. He called about an hour before he was set to come to let us know he was on his way. He showed up on time and did the work quickly. When he realized that we did not have the hose for the dishwasher, he said he would wait around if we wanted to run to home depot to get the part. I thought this was very nice of him. He did not charge by the minute, but honored the estimate he gave when he first came. He did not rush through the appointment and said he makes sure he allows for enough time for each appointment when he writes estimates. I also asked him about a few other plumbing issues we had for our house and he was very helpful and honest - not trying to get us to do work that wasn't necessary. I would definitely call CJ back for future plumbing work. I really appreciate how professional both he and Lisa were, something we are finding is not always the norm as we continue to do work on our first home.
Description of Work
Installed sink, disposal, dish washer, and water line to refrigerator.
Category
plumbing
LAURA D.
5.0
06/20/2014
Vaughn did a good job returning some hard-to-turn, old (1940's) faucets to smooth working order.
Description of Work
cleaned and greased several indoor and outdoor faucets
Category
plumbing
Patrick W.
5.0
06/11/2014
Repair was done quickly and professionally, on time as scheduled, neat and clean.
Description of Work
Replaced fill valve (entire unit) and flapper seal in my American Standard Champion 4 toilet.
Category
plumbing
Mary M.
1.0
05/08/2014
5/7/2014 HORRIBLE!!! DISHONEST!!! WDGraves Plumbing was sent to me through American Home Shield. When replacing a bath tub facet at my rental property, CJ and/or Vaughn broke four tiles and left 2 big holes in the wall. Refused to fix it and told me they were broken to begin with. NOT TRUE!! The man I had come look at it today said it was very obvious he punched the knobs out from behind and cracked and broke the tiles. He said this was NOT the way a professional would have done this.! To just leave it this this condition is inexcusable to me. When they left CJ called me to say they were leaving without any mention of this damage! Now refuses to fix the issue! How and why one would do something like this without fixing it is beyond me.i gave him every opportunity to right this wrong and repair the damage, which was not a huge job, but still something I had to pay for that Was done by this plumber. I waited 9 days for them to right a wrong and got nothing. I don't leave horrible reviews unless there is no other option. Contacted the BBB as well to report this as well as American Home Shield. When I called CJ he hung up on me twice! When I spoke to the woman in the office she started accusing me of accusing the plumbers of damaging everything in my house. no, lady, i just wanted the damage in the bathroom tub to be acknowledged and dealt with professionally. CJ took pics of the damage after I had called him to come see why I was upset and submitted them as pics he took before the damage was done. DISHONEST! If the damage was there previously then one would take pictures on the day the work was done..Very easy to look on your phone, CJ and see the exact time the pics were taken you submitted. As well as the tub disaster, they were supposed to fix 3 toilets and not one of them flushes properly! The handyman I have working at the house asked me who the plumbing company I had used was. When I told him what had happened, He laughed loudly and told me that WDGraves has a horrible reputation amongst fellow professionals. For a business to not try to right a wrong shows them for what they are...DISHONEST! This whole thing was handled very badly and totally unprofessionally. No call from the owner or offer to speak to the owner. I personally would NOT believe any of the good reviews....probably friends or maybe CJ is a bad egg. I personally would not risk it.
Description of Work
Fix 3 toilets...fix facet in kitchen and bathroom.
Category
ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing

Service Provider Response

I would like to point out that this is a plumbing service customer REFERRED BY HER HOME WARRANTY COMPANY, not a remodeling customer. This is a case of a landlord, expecting her home warranty company, to fix the dilapidated condition of her rental property, instead of herself. THE CONDITION OF THIS RENTAL PROPERTY WAS APPALLING. The tiles were literally FALLING OFF THE WALLS due to extensive water damage from BADLY NEGLECTED MAINTENANCE. In fact, it was so BLATANTLY ABUSED/NEGLECTED, that her warranty service REFUSED COVERAGE. She was very angry the CLAIM WAS DENIED. She was very angry we didn't make all her problems disappear for her $65 a month or whatever it is, home warranty fee. She really needs to invest in her property before it is condemned. We did everything possible to arrest the WIDESPREAD damage, from poorly maintained installations/fixtures, but this was a plumbing emergency job, not a remodeling job. It was not our responsibility to replace cracked, loose tiles thru-out her bathroom.
Marjorie M.
5.0
04/29/2014
The plumber showed up on time, went right to work, knew exactly what he was doing, and did great work. He was very pleasant, explained what we needed and what he was doing. He got the work done efficiently and cleaned up afterwards. I was very pleased.
Description of Work
We bought an Angie's List coupon deal for 1 hour of service. The plumber snaked out a bathroom sink that was in truly terrible shape. That took a good deal of the time. He also checked what we thought was a leak in a pipe in our basement ceiling, but found it was a problem with the installation of our kitchen sink, which was dripping right above the leak. He fixed that for us as well.
Category
plumbing
Robin S.
5.0
04/21/2014
The plumber that responded, CJ, was extremely nice and polite. I showed him the two issues that I had and he fixed both of them. He told me all of my options and how much each scenario would cost and let me decide what I wanted to do before he did the repairs. I was please with the work that was done and would definitely use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I had two issues I wanted looked at. One was a leaking shower faucet. The other was a leaking faucet in the basement that turned on the water to an outside faucet.
Category
plumbing
Gloria S.
1.0
04/08/2014
I cannot comment on the quality of this company's work, because they never actually did anything. I called them in early January 2014. I told them I was looking for new kitchen counters, and had a few assorted plumping issues that needed repair. I very specifically told them that I had found their number on Angie's List, and was contacting them because I believed in supporting local business. Mr. Graves came to my house on January 18. He took a few notes and some measurements, and told me he would be in touch with an estimate. And that was the last time I heard from him. I left multiple phone messages in January and February. Each time the receptionist took my number and told me she would pass it right along to Mr. Graves and have him call back. However, no call-back was received.
Description of Work
The provider failed to follow up after initial visit
Category
plumbing
Tami M.
5.0
03/31/2014
Prompt and polite and worked quickly and took care to leave the area clean.
Description of Work
Replaced leaking pipe and toilet innards.
Category
plumbing
Brian D.
4.0
03/31/2014
Everything worked well afterwards. Wha did not go well was that, as part of his troubleshooting effort, he turned off the cold water supply to the washing machine, unbeknownst to me. So the next day, when the washing machine would not work thru the rinse cycle, I could not figure out the problem. It cost me an additional $125 to have a repairman come out to my house to tell me that the cold water valve to the washing machine was closed.
Description of Work
They evaluated a problem with "water hammer" - supply piping banging and knocking, especially when toilets were flushed. The plumbing technician diagnosed it as a problem with the pressure reducing valve (PRV) and replaced it.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) if you would of called us to let us know what happen, we would of came out free of charge and fixed the problem, but you did not so I could not help you.
ca B.
5.0
03/31/2014
Leaky faucet -the problem returned- it will require a new complete faucet as I was warned by the plumber at the time of repair.
Description of Work
.
Category
plumbing
ca B.
5.0
03/31/2014
He put a part in and told me that if it did not hold, I would need to replace the whole faucet. They did what they said they would. It was not their fault that it did not work. I paid $35 for the part. He had it done within the hour. I did not have a problem with the guy that came out and they held up their end of the bargain. The price was excellent and I would use them again.
Description of Work
WD Graves Plumbing Incorporated tried to fix my faucet. $49 of the cost was a big deal.
Category
plumbing
lori A.
1.0
03/31/2014
I called them the same day I purchased the big deal and emailed them. They never returned my call. I want a refund.
Description of Work
I bought a big deal for $49 for a Plumbing Service Call and 1 Hour of Labor. I was planning on using them for toilets that were running.
Category
plumbing
Jane B.
5.0
03/29/2014
Henrri came to my home to fix a leaky kitchen sink. We decide the entire faucet needed replaced so we went to Home Depot and I selected a new one. It was installed and I have not had any problems. Hennri was very polite and a hard worker. Would most definitely use this company again. I paid $49 for labor plus the additional cost of the faucet.
Description of Work
Called Graves, after purchasing a Big Deal, to schedule an appt. to repair leaky kitchen faucet.
Category
plumbing
Brandon H.
5.0
03/28/2014
Provider was professional, punctual, advised me on developments during the installation, and did a great job. Even cleanup following installation was done thoroughly.
Description of Work
Provider installed a faucet I purchased.
Category
plumbing
Trudy F.
5.0
03/28/2014
Only problem was provider rescheduled twice due to emergency work load caused by freezing pipes during winter.
Description of Work
Replaced outside water freeze guard
Category
plumbing
Denise Z.
5.0
03/26/2014
It needed a new cartridge. But since the fixture was over 30 years old he had trouble removing the old one. Therefore we had to replace the shower handle. He knew that I did not want to invest a lot of money since we plan to redo the bathroom sometime in the future. He called around and found a reasonably priced Moen unit.
Description of Work
I had a leak in the shower.
Category
plumbing

Phone

Address

6207 Old Keene Mill Ct

Springfield, VA 22152

Other Information

Services offered

Re-pipes, water heaters, sewers, septic & clogged drains.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

WD Graves Plumbing Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

WD Graves Plumbing Inc is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 AM

WD Graves Plumbing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, WD Graves Plumbing Inc offers free project estimates.

No, WD Graves Plumbing Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, WD Graves Plumbing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

No, WD Graves Plumbing Inc does not offer warranties.

WD Graves Plumbing Inc offers the following services: Re-pipes, water heaters, sewers, septic & clogged drains.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

FPG Construction LLC

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

FPG Construction LLC

 

Closet America, LLC

Angi Certified

Closet America, LLC

Closet America is a privately owned and locally operated manufacturer and installer of custom home organization systems for closets, home offices, pantries, media centers, and garages. By raising the standards for quality and customer service, Closet America has steadily grown into one of the premier names in the professional organizing systems industry. We have been consistently awarded the prestigious GuildMaster Award for exceptional customer service and satisfaction.  

RightNOW Plumbing

5.0

(35)

Angi Certified

RightNOW Plumbing

RightNOW Plumbing is a Class A contractor with an A rating from the Better Business Bureau, Angie's List Super Service Award 2017 WINNER, 2018 WINNER, 2019 WINNER, HomeAdvisor Top Rated WINNER, HomeAdvisor Elite Service WINNER, Best of HomeAdvisor 2017 WINNER, 2018 WINNER, 2019 WINNER, Best of Thumbtack 2016 WINNER. RightNOW Plumbing is a water heater specialty service company. We service single family homes, condominiums and high rise buildings. We offer tankless, tankless - combination, conventional tank, dual-purpose and high - efficiency hybrid electric water heater installations. We exceed expectations with our award winning customer service. We value our clients and pride ourselves on customer satisfaction. Call today to see the RightNOW difference.