Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Garage Door Specialists, Inc.

4.9

(456) Verified Reviews

Founded 1976 • With Angi since October 2001

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Company Contact

225 Larkin Drive Suite #1

Wheeling, IL 60090

Description

Charges by the hour. Ask about Angie’s List Discount. SERVICE DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE MONDAY THRU FRIDAY 8 AM to 3 PM ONLY. After hours and weekends NOT applicable. Complete showroom available for consumers. Showroom by appointment. Please call to schedule....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(456) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

413

4

22

3

5

2

8

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

garage doors (452)door installation (33)professional organizers (3)
Showing 1-10 of 456 reviews
5.0

07/01/2021

We bought a new garage door package. Quiet, outside entry pad, battery backup, decorative panels with windows in top panel (more functional and safe when moving around in garage), insulated to the max with internet connectivity for remote opening and closing. The installers were professional and courteous. Great function, investment and curb appeal. Sales very helpful in navigating us through the choices. Company to do business with.

Description of Work
New Garage Door

Category garage doors

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2021

Images

Review for Garage Door Specialists, Inc. - 225 Larkin Drive, Wheeling, IL - 39390785

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much. We try to be helpful yet not pushy from the 1st contact, through the process & all the way to the final nut & bolt. Our goal is to offer an exemplary experience start to finish. I am very happy this worked out positively with your project. We appreciate your trust, your business and your kind review. Should you need any service down the road, we will strive to offer the same level of excellence to you once again. Sincere thanks for your support. Rob Greenberg Owner
5.0

02/15/2021

The technicians were prompt, courteous and professional. All work was completed as expected and I would use their service again.

Description of Work
Replace a broken garage door spring.

Category garage doors

Cost $220

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Wonderful! So glad to be of service when you needed us. We appreciate your feedback.
5.0

02/04/2021

They were very responsive, efficient and did great work. They gave me a very competitive price and were on the job shortly after I contacted them. The job was done quickly and they exceeded my expectations. Would definitely highly recommend them.

Description of Work
External Keypad

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2021

Service Provider Response

Always great to wake up on a cold Winter morning, steaming cup of coffee in hand & see a review like this after my first sip! We try hard but as the old saying goes, you can’t please everyone. I am just glad that in Your Case we did hit our goal. Thanks so much for the kind words, your trust & your business. Should you ever need us again, we will be here to help. Best regards Rob Greenberg President
5.0

12/19/2020

Very well. Job was done in a professional matter.

Description of Work
Torsion springs replaced

Category garage doors

Cost $310

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Terrific! Always glad to be of service. We try very hard to achieve a positive & safe experience for our clients. Since Covid, it is a much harder task to achieve. Thanks for the review.
5.0

11/11/2020

Very well. Professional, polite neat Definitely would use again

Description of Work
NEW GARAGE DOOR

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Wonderful. So glad to help with your new door. Should you ever need service, we are here to help. Thank you!
5.0

10/04/2020

They responded very quickly but had already contracted someone else. Very responsive.

Description of Work
Garage door track

Category garage doors

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2020

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review. Thanks
5.0

09/16/2020

Quick, easy install, and, great maintenance work.

Description of Work
keypad

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Fantastic. Thank you so much!
5.0

09/12/2020

Excellent! I highly recommend GDS, Bob. HONEST and knowledgable. Previously I had another company tell me everything had to be replaced for an outrageous amount of money. Bob came, knew exactly what the problem was completed service at 20% of the original estimate. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Description of Work
Door recently painted which caused sticking. Also both doors needed cleaning/grease and nut tightening.

Category garage doors

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Wonderful to read this. Thank you for your candor. Yes there are companies out there that will sell parts or products that are not needed. Our view is to be honest, be professional & always respect our clients & their property. Sounds basic, but this makes great sense to us & clearly to you as well. Thank you for the positive comments.
5.0

08/14/2020

Garage Door Specialist (GDS) did a great job from the initial phone call to the installation. Scott my installer did a great job replacing the springs, recommended coil replacement and explained everything he was doing. Have used GDS over the last 15 years for replacement of new garage door, new garage door opener and maintenance items such as spring and coil replacement. Always professional, timely, price competitive and customer service is outstanding. Thanks again!

Description of Work
Garage Door Spring and Roller Replacement

Category garage doors

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Wonderful. I spoke with you & set up the service. Scott is a great tech who always goes the extra mile to look at the entire system & often finds minor other items to address. This keeps your door & opener running smoother & more efficiently for years to come. Thanks for the review & thanks for your business! Rob
5.0

07/11/2020

Went great. Easy to work with. Answered all my questions. Install was smooth and they cleaned up better than they found it.

Description of Work
New 16x7 garage door

Category garage doors

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Great to read this first thing in the morning! Especially during these unprecedented times, we try & be extra careful & mindful for everyone’s safety & wellbeing. We take pride in making First Responders, elderly & disabled folks our priority right now. Everyone can use a helping hand, a kind word, a smile & especially a job well done. I am really glad this all worked out & you are pleased. At the same time, Thank You for the service you do for all of us every day as well! Best regards, Rob Greenberg President

Services Offered

Installation and service of residential and commercial garage doors and electric operators. Installation of beautiful Entry Doors to compliment your garage door. Polyaspartic floor coatings and garage organization systems are offered as well!

Services Not Offered

No discounts available for emergency, night, weekend, & holiday service calls.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes