Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

THE CARLS GROUP LLC

Founded 1986 • With Angi since June 2008

5.0

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2500 Waterside Dr Ste 117

Frederick, MD 21701

Description

The Carls Group has over 40 years of experience as home inspectors and construction consultants in Montgomery County, MD, Washington DC, and Northern VA, Baltimore and Central Maryland. We proudly takes a positive approach to home inspections, pointing out the potentially problematic construction features that are often overlooked by the purchaser. The Carls Group is licensed, bonded and an ASHI member. We have a history of saving our clients money with our inspection services, and would like to do the same for you – Today! Call us now to get on our work schedule, and thank you for your business. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/27/2017


Stacey S.

He was extremely thorough. He advocates and looks out for his clients. He does not let the realtor bully him in to clearing something that should not be cleared.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

02/09/2013


hon P.

mr carls and another gentleman came right on time on the date of service. they did a thorough walk thru of the entire house from the exterior, attic, and all the levels of the house (3 floors). they found about 6 pages of items that the builder will need to look into, including improper insulation, vents not working properly, water leaks, warped siding, etc... they were very knowledgeable about how everything in the house worked and gave us good advice. although it was pricey, the things they found that should be covered under the 1 year builder's warranty made it worthwhile. i would give them 2 thumbs up.

Description of Work
we purchased a new home last year and wanted to have a home inspection for the 1 year warranties...

Category home inspection

5.0

01/14/2013


Din H.

Phil Carls and Conn O'Neill showed up to do the work and were punctual, friendly, thorough and very pleasant to work with. They took a lot of time to explain to both of us issues that they found as well as things about the house that were in great shape and things we should be happy about. They made sure we understood what they saw, and encouraged us to get involved by touching and getting hands on in some of the items that they discovered. Throughout the inspection, they answered all questions and even answered questions before we asked them! They went as far as eyeballing the outside environment to figure out if there were any concerns in the surrounding area (neighbor's very large tree was angling towards the home and could prove to be disastrous should it fall). Their professionalism, knowledge and demeanor were impeccable and they left us their contact information to call them for any follow up questions we would have. Their pricing even came in lower than a few other shops we located, so that was an added bonus! Highly recommended in every way!

Description of Work
The Carls Group was recommended to us by our realtor, who had previously worked with them on multiple occasions for a home purchase inspection. We bought an older home (35 years old) with a pool and two separate kitchens, so we required a long and thorough inspection of the home. They started with the roof and exterior of the house, the patio, deck, pool, then every single outlet, fixture, smoke detector, window, plumbing, etc. I don't think there was an inch of the home that they did not inspect.

Category home inspection

5.0

09/12/2012


Rebecca B.

Phillip and Conn were very thorough. They walked us through every step and taught us things we need to know in order to take care of the house. They inspected the house very thoroughly and explained everything to us. They were very professional, friendly, and they even arrived before the designated time. It was a pleasure to see such a professional team work. Phil and Conn were even so kind as to offer their services as we grow with the house. This kind of relationship and commitment is unheard of. I would recommend their services to anyone looking to make a good first investment in their house.

Description of Work
Phillip and Conn provided us with a home inspection for a home we are buying.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/22/2012


Zenji N.

We moved into a new modular constructed home just after the 4th of July. After moving in, we soon noticed a septic smell that seemed to be emanating from the master bath. The same smell was at the corner of the house where the Junction box connecting the electrical sensor from the home to the septic pump chamber located ten yards away. No one. I mean no one could find out the source of the foul septic odor. Our builder called a master plumber to investigate. The master plumber was stumped. The builder had a company conduct a smoke test. Although smoke filled the master bath, the company asserted that it was not a problem. My wife and I scratched our heads, and the service folks just shrugged. Then we contacted Phil Carls. As soon as he hopped out of his truck he had already discovered a few discrepancies with our septic venting system (the vent pipe was too low) and he pointed out that the J-box at the side of the house was not properly covered. He and his assistant then went through the entire piping system up in the attic. Following the pipes along the attic, Phil found a clue: a small chard of broken PVC. He trailed the pipe with his finger until he located the place from where the shard came. A huge hole. He also discovered that the cap of the T-joint was not sealed or capped. Instead joists were resting on the open T-joint. Phil Carls solved the puzzle. He also pointed out other items throughout the home that are not consistent with industry standard and sound construction practices that should be addressed from improper insulation to potential radon problems. We are extremely happy and satisfied with his service.

Description of Work
Investigated and solved a septic gas odor problem in a new construction home.

Category home inspection

5.0

08/24/2010


KAREN L.

Phil Carls is the best -- EXTREMELY thorough.

Description of Work
Inspection of a house we were going to buy.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/11/2008


Balaji S.

Phil Carls performed a thorough walk through of our SFH during the home inspection. He conducted a detailed 3 hr inspection ; included Attic, Kitchen/Appliances, Central Heating/AC, Plumbing, Electrical, Roofing, Exterior, Structure, Fireplace, Water Heater, Grounds, Windows/Doors, Gutters/Drainage and much more! He was friendly, professional, and clearly knows what he's doing. He took time to help us evaluate the priority of issues; what were cosmetic defects and what were real safety issues. If you need an excellent home inspector, call Phil Carls

Description of Work
Full pre-purchase home inspection.

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Armor Home Inspections LLC

    We are a small business family owned and operated company, specializing in radon gas, mold and well water testing plus pool inspections. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    NextDay Inspect

    Our goal is to protect our clients' interest by providing a thorough and detailed inspection of the property. Safeguarding our clients' investment is our priority. We provide residential home inspections, commercial building inspections, pre-drywall inspections, radon gas testing, and mold sampling. View the rate for your home inspection and scheduling availability on our website. Home Inspectors at NextDay Inspect® are licensed by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) and the Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR). Upon completing the on-site inspection the inspector will prepare a report, including photographs taken at the property, and arrows with commentary detailing the areas of concern. Specialized tools are used to ensure a thorough inspection of the properties components. Some of these tools are thermometer, moisture & humidity meter, thermal infrared camera, outlet tester. We have an A plus rating with the Better Business Bureau.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by NextDay Inspect on Angi
    LBI Home & Building Inspection

    Mark S. Londner, AIA, of LBI Home & Building Inspection, is an ASHI Certified Home Inspector, a Virginia Licensed Home Inspector w/Residential New Construction (NRS) endorsement, a West Virginia Certified Home Inspector, a Maryland Licensed home Inspector, a Delaware Licensed Home Inspector, and a licensed Architect. He is a member of the Virginia Association of Real Estate Inspectors, the Northern Virginia Chapter of the American Society of Home Inspectors, and the West Virginia Association of Home Inspectors; and, holds an Architecture degree from Virginia Tech, is a graduate of Home Tech's Home Inspection Training Academy, maintains continuing education in excess of requirements set forth by both ASHI and the AIA, and has served t 3-year terms on the American Society of Home inspector's (ASHI) Board of Directors. Please visit www.LBIhome.com for greater detail and information .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Not Applicable
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    Ask for details
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Home Inspection, preliminary lead testing and radon testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Termite inspection.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about THE CARLS GROUP LLC

    How is THE CARLS GROUP LLC overall rated?

    THE CARLS GROUP LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are THE CARLS GROUP LLC open?

    THE CARLS GROUP LLC is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does THE CARLS GROUP LLC provide

    THE CARLS GROUP LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does THE CARLS GROUP LLC offer free estimates?

    No, THE CARLS GROUP LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does THE CARLS GROUP LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, THE CARLS GROUP LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does THE CARLS GROUP LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, THE CARLS GROUP LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does THE CARLS GROUP LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, THE CARLS GROUP LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by THE CARLS GROUP LLC?

    No, THE CARLS GROUP LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does THE CARLS GROUP LLC offer?

    THE CARLS GROUP LLC offers the following services: Home Inspection, preliminary lead testing and radon testing.

    Are there any services THE CARLS GROUP LLC does not offer?

    Termite inspection.