Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY

Founded 1975 • With Angi since November 2001

4.9

(51) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3320 N SOUTHPORT AVE

Chicago, IL 60657

Description

All Facets of Locksmith.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
John A.
5.0
09/15/2014
Excellent, very prompt service on initial quote followed by repair.
Description of Work
Fixed a lock that was no longer adequately secured to the door frame.
Category
locksmith, doors
Michael Z.
5.0
08/30/2014
Great. They were punctual, worked efficiently and did the job right. They were happy to make a couple of changes I requested.
Description of Work
Changed locks on all my doors
Category
locksmith
BARBARA B.
5.0
08/25/2014
They always work, unlike the keys made at the hardware store. Service is quick, professional, polite.
Description of Work
I get keys made here.
Category
locksmith
Robert H.
5.0
07/02/2014
For both the installations the vendor was courteous, professional and on time. The quoted price was a little on the high side, but the work was excellent. They were quick and when finished there was nothing to clean up. 18 months later everything still works well.
Description of Work
The last encounter we had with this vendor was for the installation of a panic bar on a rear garage door. We had previously used them to install high security bump proof locks on exterior doors.
Category
locksmith, doors
MARIA C.
5.0
03/22/2014
They arrived on time and did a thorough assessment of all the doors and suggested a few improvements, such as adding the door viewer and adjusting some hinges, to ensure the highest level of security for my house. The installer arrived a couple hours later to complete the installation.
Description of Work
Replaced 3 doorknobs and 3 deadbolts in my new house with Medeco locks, installed a door viewer for front door, and repaired some door hinges.
Category
locksmith
Eileen C.
5.0
03/09/2013
Keith completed the job and educated me along the way on what caused the issue and how he was able to fix it. I continue to be happy with Southport Security's responsiveness and professionalism.
Description of Work
We had a door that needed some adjustment and alignment for the lock to work properly.
Category
locksmith
Jason & Lynn C.
5.0
03/05/2013
Locksmith was on-time, friendly and fast. Completed the job quickly and to my satisfaction. Also gave advice on other locks that he did not work on. Would use again.
Description of Work
Very old mortise lock on our bathroom door would not catch or lock. Locksmith corrected the catch and recommended courses of action to lock the door.
Category
locksmith
Alison K.
5.0
09/26/2012
A great experience. I moved into a new house and wanted to update/add dead bolt locks. Tom came out and gave an evaluation. Very knowledgeable and gave good advice on what I needed. The next day Keith came and installed the locks. Did a great job and was friendly, professional. Top notch company!
Description of Work
Installed three new deadbolt locks and re-keyed one dead bolt lock.
Category
locksmith
jordana P.
5.0
05/15/2012
Moving in and the landlord did not supply key or remote for the garage and I had large items I needed to store. With the movers already there and working I called Southport Security for a solution. They arrived within 20 minutes. Picked the garage lock for me without causing any damage so I could get my stuff in for storage. They were prompt, made sure to get all of my information, including drivers license. They basically saved the day. When I finally received the keys from the landlord they worked perfectly, proving no damage from picking the lock.
Description of Work
They picked a lock for me so I could get access to a garage I was locked out of.
Category
locksmith
Judith T.
5.0
05/08/2012
They did a very good job. The person was very friendly and explained everything he did. It was a very satisfactory experience.
Description of Work
We used AAA to change the locks after tenants moved out.
Category
locksmith
TOM B.
5.0
11/05/2011
The whole experience was exceptional. My wife's purse, including our house key, was stolen. I called AAA Southport Security at 1:30pm on a Saturday (they close at 2pm) and was told that they would be at my house that same day between 3-4pm. The locksmiths arrived a little after 3pm and finished at 5pm. Upon arrival and without prompting on my part, they produced identification. At all times they were professional and courteous.
Description of Work
AAA Southport Security re-keyed 13 door locks.
Category
locksmith
Edward T.
5.0
10/21/2011
Called and got immediate response, made afternoon appointment for following day. Technician prompt, even a little early, did job quickly and well.
Description of Work
Rekeyed garage door, simple but quickly and well done. Punctual to appointment. Would call this company again without hesitation.
Category
locksmith
Robert B.
5.0
08/14/2011
Great experience once again with these guys. Tony came by to give the estimate and check out the frame to make sure there wouldn't be any unforeseen issues, and advised me on what size door to order. Once the door arrived he came by again just to make sure all the necessary parts were there, and then scheduled Rafael for the installation. The first appointment with Rafael got rained out; it was pretty stormy and he said it wasn't good for the screws to be wet when being installed (due to potential corrosion). I appreciated his honesty (instead of simply going ahead with the installation to get it done with). We rescheduled and the second appointment went great with no problems. He showed up right on time and called beforehand to let me know he was on his way. He did a great job and two months later everything is working smoothly with no problems or issues. I have had work done in the past by Southport Security as well. I always get great service and great advice on security issues. I highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installation of a security storm door (purchased separately) plus installation of Medeco high-security locks.
Category
locksmith, doors
Robert B.
5.0
05/18/2011
These guys are fantastic and I highly recommend them; they came through huge for me in an emergency situation and all their work has been outstanding. A couple weeks ago I had my back door kicked in by some thugs while I was home (they ran off once they realized I was there). This happened around 4:45 pm and by the time I called Southport Security a little after 6:00 they were already closed for the day (as were the other places I called). I left a message and Tony called back that night. He came over the very next morning to discuss options and give me an estimate, and an hour later Keith came by to fix everything up. He repaired my door, reinforced the frame with a sturdier strike and longer screws (that go further into the stud), installed a latch guard, and installed high-security Medeco locks with registered keys. I also had the same upgrades made to my front door just to increase the security there as well. After speaking with my condo association about all this, we decided to have the Medeco locks installed on our garage door and front door as well, along with the sturdier strike plate and latch guard. We also had a new electric strike installed on the front door to replace a cheaper one that the builders had used. Keith performed this work too and once again did a great job. A few days later I contacted Tony again to discuss the doors on my balcony, and had similar work done there as well (once again by Keith). I live on a raised first floor (above a garden unit) so maybe I'm paranoid beefing up security on the balcony, but it's not so high that someone couldn't get up there if they really wanted to. I also have a fourth job coming up for these guys - I ordered a security storm door and they are going to handle the installation. I'll post another review for that one; they deserve at least two good reviews for doing all this. If there was a grade higher than "A" for the categories of quality, responsiveness, punctuality, professionalism, and overall grade, I would certainly give it. Seriously, A+++ on all. The only one I can't comment on in too much detail is price because I didn't get any other estimates. (The first repair was an emergency so there wasn't time to gather estimates, and that experience was so positive I decided to just use Southport Security for all the subsequent work too.) I am guessing their prices are competitive though, and when it comes to security the main thing is to get the job done right, and they will definitely do it right. In all three instances Tony came by to discuss the work and give me the estimate, and Keith did a great job on all three. I also spoke on the phone with a guy named O.T., and all three guys are friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and happy to share security tips and info. Yet they also will not engage in the "hard sell" technique or try to talk you into things you don't want or need. For anyone who has been burglarized (or worse) or is concerned and simply wants to upgrade security, I have picked up many good security tips from this experience (from police, locksmiths, etc). For one thing, I recommend looking into how easy it is to pick a standard lock, and/or also to "bump" it (Google this and you'll see what it is). For this reason, I really recommend these Medeco high-security locks (not cheap - approx $300-$400 - but worth it I think). A latch guard is also a good idea (and these are cheap), along with the sturdier strike plate and wrap-around plate I mentioned. And like I said, I am also getting a security storm door for my back door (and these don't look bad either, they are somewhat decorative). These are all things that the guys at Southport Security can help with and would be happy to discuss with you. I also got some tips that go beyond their services, but if you're interested here they are: If you have an alarm the police recommended setting it at all times, even when you are home. They also mentioned that security cameras are a strong deterrent (although not cheap). Good lighting is also very important since crooks like to hide in shadows, so light up any dark areas around your place. And finally, I found something called a door brace in an online search to help prevent kick-ins, so that's another thing you can look into if you're worried about it. Ok that's probably the longest review ever, but I hope it helps anyone interested in upgrading their security. And once again, I highly recommend talking to Southport Security as well, they did a great job for me.
Description of Work
First off - don't be dismayed by that $4500 spent, I actually had multiple projects done and a couple required more labor than most jobs will need. Second - if you're looking for some security tips, read on (and/or talk to these guys). Services performed: Repaired back door and frame damage after kick-in. Installed high-security locks (deadbolt and knob) on six doors (front & rear entry doors of condo, garage entry door, main entry door at front of building, and two balcony doors). Installed wrap-around plates to strengthen two doors, latch guards, and sturdier strike plates with longer screws that go deeper into studs. Also installed new electric strike on front door to building to replace low-grade one used by original builders. Significant labor was required for the repair of the back door and for the lock installation on the two balcony doors (had a different style latch, needed new holes drilled, etc.)
Category
locksmith, doors
Geoffrey G.
5.0
02/08/2011
Tony came ahead of time to estimate and evaluate the nonemergency job. I was surprised at that amount of effort on so small a job, but I did have special requests and he wanted to verify my description of the situation. He was very accommodating to my scheduling needs, showing up at 6:15 a.m. so I could get to my own job on time. The locksmith who performed the job called ahead of time to verify the address and make sure someone was expecting him, and he arrived with the proper handset and tools and accomplished the job in a few minutes. Very courteous, efficient, and professional from start to finish.
Description of Work
Replaced handset on front door.
Category
locksmith
FRANK S.
5.0
01/14/2011
They were very responsive. When your garage door is open, you can't leave. They came really quick and the guy fixed it so I could go to work.
Description of Work
Someone broke in our garage. They came and fixed the door and they put a new lock in.
Category
locksmith
Tom B.
5.0
11/22/2010
Very well. They scheduled me promptly, showed up, acted professionally, and solved the problem. It was only a small job, obviously, but they handled themselves well.
Description of Work
Extracted a broken key from a lock
Category
locksmith
John R.
5.0
09/24/2010
Excellent. I would use them again.
Description of Work
I have used AAA Southport Security multiple times over the past 10 years and two different locations. I have always found them to be reliable and a good value for the money. My most recent use involved having a lock rekeyed that I did not purchase through them.
Category
locksmith
Robert H.
5.0
09/07/2010
Great. Smooth operations no problems.
Description of Work
This company won the bid for changing common area locks in our condominium building. They won not based on price, but rather on the image they projected when interviewed for the bid. They showed up on time were very courteous and competent rekeying all the locks and providing keys for the owners. We would definitely use them again.
Category
locksmith
Erin L.
5.0
06/22/2010
They were very efficient, friendly and prompt.
Description of Work
They replaced the locks on our condo door.
Category
locksmith, doors
Jennifer D.
5.0
06/18/2010
They gave me the quote over the phone and came out to install. The installer was professional and very efficient. Cost was exactly what I was quoted. The high security locks are not cheap, but it's worth it. You can find bump key picking videos on youtube, so I wanted a great lock. The key for the medeco lock cannot be copied by anyone other than them, and only for the registered owner. I would use them again!
Description of Work
I have 2 exterior doors. On each door I had them replace the deadbolt with a high security "bump proof" lock from Medeco. They also replaced the regular lock/doorknob on each door with a new one. I also called them over once when I locked myself out. The locksmith was able to open the door lock (it was the doorknob lock) and get me back in the house. They were super fast getting over at 8am. Price was reasonable.
Category
locksmith
Marcia D.
4.0
06/14/2010
deadbolt works but I can''t lock the other locks from the outside of the door.
Description of Work
installed deadbolt and changed one lock
Category
locksmith, doors
DEBRA R.
5.0
05/24/2010
Very professional. Arrived on time, very pleasant.
Description of Work
We got a new deadbolt on our storage unit (where there had been no lock) and changed our front door lock.
Category
locksmith
Joe K.
5.0
05/10/2010
Ontime with work, all parts on hand!
Description of Work
Replace two locks, could not find keys. very happy with the work!
Category
locksmith
S GAYLE M.
5.0
04/23/2010
Their fee/price was competitive, and their professional approach was great. On time, happy to answer questions, and very thorough. Excellent work.
Description of Work
The company was contacted to replace an intercom box at the main entrance to our home. Seamless installation with great attention to detail and finish.
Category
locksmith, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    STARGATE LOCK SERVICES

    STARGATE LOCK SERVICES is a locksmith providing service. We provide residential and commercial lockouts, lock repair and installation, emergency car lockouts and car key replacement. We also copy car keys, key fobs. install smart lock, deadbolt, key fob, door lock, file cabinet lock,rekey locks or a master key system. we can help you with all your locksmith needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Quick Key Locksmith

    Quick key Locksmith works within the Chicago and West Chicagoland area to provide variety of locksmith services such as lockouts, lock installation, lock changing, car keys, and re-keying. We service all brands of locks, safes and keys, even those we don't sell. Our professional locksmiths are more than capable of handling your locksmith services, no matter if it's simple, complicated or even in emergency. Our professional team of locksmiths will handle all locksmith issues and emergency problems with quality, fast and affordable service. We even offer a 10% discount for all new movers.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Thermalcraft Inc

    Thermalcraft Inc. is a family owned and operated business that has been providing the Chicagoland area with the sale and installation of top quality windows, doors and siding since 1984. WE DO NOT OFFER REPAIRS AT THIS TIME. Our goal is to create the most satisfied customer possible with our expert sales and installation staff, and superb service. Come on in or call and experience the best in the business! 6 Employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's List discount. Additional Email: Info@thermalcraft.com Additional Contact: Barry Nelligan.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    MEDECO HIGH SECURITY LOCKS. MUL-T-LOCK. BALDWIN & EMTEK DECORATIVE HARDWARE SPECIALISTS. DOOR CLOSERS & JIMMY RESISTANT LOCKS. DOORS & FRAMES REPAIRED & REPLACED. SAFE SALES. WROUGHT IRON GATES & BURGLAR BARS. LIFE SAFETY CODES. AUTOMATIC DOOR OPERATORS. ADA COMPLIANCE MAILBOX REPLACEMENT & SERVICE. MASTER KEY SYSTEMS.

    Services Not Offered

    AUTOMOTIVE & SAFE SERVICE.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY

    How is AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY overall rated?

    AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY open?

    AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY provide

    AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY offer free estimates?

    No, AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY does not offer free project estimates.

    Does AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY offer a senior discount?

    No, AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY?

    No, AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY does not offer warranties.

    What services does AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY offer?

    AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY offers the following services: MEDECO HIGH SECURITY LOCKS. MUL-T-LOCK. BALDWIN & EMTEK DECORATIVE HARDWARE SPECIALISTS. DOOR CLOSERS & JIMMY RESISTANT LOCKS. DOORS & FRAMES REPAIRED & REPLACED. SAFE SALES. WROUGHT IRON GATES & BURGLAR BARS. LIFE SAFETY CODES. AUTOMATIC DOOR OPERATORS. ADA COMPLIANCE MAILBOX REPLACEMENT & SERVICE. MASTER KEY SYSTEMS.

    Are there any services AAA SOUTHPORT SECURITY does not offer?

    AUTOMOTIVE & SAFE SERVICE.