Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Pat Edwards Remodeling

Founded 1981 • With Angi since August 2008

Owner operated. Occasionally uses subs for labor. Cost is determined by the job. No additional travel charge. No additional service fee. May contact through email or phone.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
ask for details
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(47) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 47 reviews
Anita D.
5.0
07/27/2017
Great, he came when he said he would, he finished the job and didn't leave a mess.
Description of Work
Pat has done deck repair, plumbing, painting, he can do it all, you don't have to hire multiple people to finish a project.
Category
decks, handyman service, plumbing, deck cleaning, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors
Jamie E.
5.0
03/02/2017
We are looking into doing a bath remodel. We live about 40 min West of Des Moines so we ended up being a little further out than Pat could take on. However, Pat was very upfront about that right away & still offered to take a look at our 'blue print' drawings of our existing layout vs. what we were wanting to do, and offered to give me a ball park estimate so I had something to (in general) compare other estimates against. It's been a bit of a challenge getting quality estimates due to our location and those we have received, have varied greatly. I felt his ballpark figures were fair & again really appreciated the willingness to even come up with something to help us out. Very courteous in all communications - if he's in your area I would recommend contacting him to take a look at your needs.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel including moving walls, plumbing, electric, and fixtures.
Category
home remodeling
Allison C.
5.0
01/02/2017
They came out and measured eveything. Gave me the final cost. I paid a deposit, they will finish the work in May 2017. At that time I will update my review.
Description of Work
Putting in matching cupboards and counterspace with outlets installed.
Category
home remodeling
Douglas H.
5.0
01/27/2016
The only somewhat negative thing to say about Pat is that he can be hard to get a hold of before your project gets started. Once he's on the job he's there reliably and is better about answering messages while the project is on-going. So don't be put off if it seems like he's ignoring you initially. He's probably just busy and it's definitely worth the inconvenience to get him to do your project. Pat and his son did most of the work other than the major plumbing and electric work and the installation of shower glass. They were very professional, as were the people they brought in. Remodeling a master bath is pretty disruptive, and they did a good job of cleaning up every day and minimizing the impact. The project took about 2 weeks, not counting the time we spent waiting for shower glass to be made and installed. This has to happen last after everything else is complete so that the measurements are spot on. We couldn't be happier with the results. Some of the work exposed areas of textured drywall in the ceiling that had to be patched. The patch looked pretty bad until Pat brought in a guy who could only be called a drywall artist. He re-textured the disrupted areas and the result is incredible. On top of all this, Pat's pricing is extremely reasonable. We had estimates from other contractors for 50% more than what we paid him. He also let us do some of the work ourselves to save money, something other contractors balked at - as though this were their home and not ours. Last but not least, Pat and his son Taylor are delightful to work with. They are very personable and easy-going. They are welcome back in our home anytime.
Description of Work
Pat and the subs he works with remodeled our master bath, including demo of old cabinet and fixtures, removing and reconfiguring a wall, installing new cabinetry and countertop with sinks and plumbing, building a tiled shower and tiling the floor.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, glass repair, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Cheryl D.
5.0
12/21/2015
Pat and his son were the best. Started the job when promised and completed in a timely manner. Always very respectful of our property and fastidious in handling the job.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel. carpentry, dry wall, tile, painting, cabinet install
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
Angel B.
5.0
11/23/2015
Who knew when we remodeled our kitchen that refrigerators would get so tall? We found we could not replace our 63" refrigerator with anything we really wanted because of the cupboard directly above. We have dentil and crown spanning our multi-level cupboards that needed moved along with the cabinet. We could get construction people to come look at it, but never could we get a bid returned. Pat not only showed up to look at it, he attempted to find someone who might have the trim we needed. He not only moved the cupboard, he reconfigured the trim beautifully.
Description of Work
Moved a kitchen cabinet and the associated trimwork.
Category
remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Eric G.
5.0
05/16/2015
He was very meticulous. Exceptional attention to detail. Absolutely better than average. He doesn't text nor use email. Leave him a voicemail.
Description of Work
Pat placed tile around a bathtub and bathroom floor. The walls were not completely ready so he also got studs places.
Category
home remodeling
Eric G.
5.0
09/26/2014
Pat, Came over and gave me an estimate. He told me he had another job and it would be about three weeks before he could start. Once he started his quality workmanship was obvious from the start. I then asked him to do additional work. He did agree to it. The flooring in the kitchen was missing two boards and had to be re-ordered (The flooring supply company messed up on the original order and shorted me some trim.) While waiting for that he did go and do another job. This delayed my finish date but since he did more that originally agreed to I was not concerned. He is an honest person. Pat does not use the internet nor texting very much - Give him a call on his phone - leave a message and he will get back to you. Should I have any additional work I would definitely use him again.
Description of Work
Pat leveled a bathroom floor, finished a wall surrounding a shower. He then tiled the shower and bathroom floor. He also placed bamboo floor in a Kitchen. He also corrected some poor quality cabinet hanging done by a different contractor. His work was perfect.
Category
home remodeling
Ray D.
5.0
07/07/2014
Pat Edwards happens to be my neighbor. While I was searching on Angie's list I ran across his business card and decides to give him a try. My mother was moving in the 1st of Oct. so I only had a week or so to get it done. Pat did the ceiling and his son painted the bathroom in about three days and it l looked great.
Description of Work
Re mudded ceiling,painted it and panted entire bathroom.
Category
home remodeling, interior painters
Karen H.
4.0
06/23/2014
Pat worked on a rental property for us. He repaired and replaced damaged woodwork and doors. In addition he retiled the bathtub surround, installed a new vanity and sink, laid new vinyl bath floor and installed a stainless steel kitchen sink. Overall his work was well done and we would use him again. The property was vacant and we were disappointed he did the drywall sawing in the house. We had had ductwork cleaned which was counter-productive. He was very pleasant to work with and flexible with our schedule.
Description of Work
Carpentry and bath repair
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
janice V.
5.0
04/07/2014
He did a really good job. He ran a little behind but it was never an issue. He was a really nice guy to work with and cleaned up after himself. His price was competitive.
Description of Work
He replaced my deck.
Category
decks
kurt J.
5.0
03/21/2014
Pat did an excellent job all around. As one of our neighbors commented on watching him work that and quot;he worked like he was working on his own home he had such attention to detailand quot;. We thought his prices were more than fair and he liked our cats. We'll have him back to do other work in the near future.
Description of Work
enclosed deck and installed hardwood flooring
Category
home remodeling
Danielle D.
5.0
06/26/2013
Pat and his son were excellent remodel contractors. He helped us design, recommended the best store for prices, and install needed supplies throughout the entire project. He was in our home for about 2 weeks each on 2 different jobs (we gave him repeat business) involving extensive remodeling and cleaned up every single night. Our home was under construction but we were still able to live and function in it thanks to his conscientious and professional attitude. He went out of his way to repair, install, and create great living spaces. I would not hesitate to use him again. He even gave my oldest daughter instruction in customizing the tile (a mosaic turtle) in her upstairs shower while making sure it was done to professional standards!
Description of Work
Remodel 2 Upstairs Bathrooms, Tiled 2 Showers, Installed Tile Flooring in 2 Rooms.
Category
home remodeling
Bryant S.
5.0
05/19/2013
We had a bathroom that needed some serious repair work, but we didn't want to do a complete remodeling job on it. Pat seemed most interested in helping us out with just what what was needed to repair the room. We worked directly with a plumber that Pat recommended, and the two vendors coordinated their efforts. Pat and his son did a great job, stuck to what they said they could do best (remodeling/carpentry), and priced their work very reasonably. I will call Pat again for future work!
Description of Work
Replaced flooring in the bathroom. Installed vinyl tile in the same room. Repaired walls following work by plumbers.
Category
home remodeling
Rose B.
4.0
05/13/2013
When Pat and nis son finally came to do the job things went very slick. He did a geat mob and did exactly what I needed him to do. My only issue is that he must very very busy because it took him a long time to get started. He is a nice man and I would hire him again but I know that I would have to be patient.
Description of Work
I had Pat cut out a piece of my screened in deck so I could hang a bird feeder. He fixed it so I can remove a section and fill the feeder and then replace the screen so no insects.
Category
handyman service, home remodeling
Rickie M.
5.0
03/18/2013
Pat and his son were great, they did a good job on schedule and right on budget. The quality of work exceeded my expectations. Best experience I have had to date with a contractor.
Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel with custom shower, tile, toilet and sink.
Category
home remodeling
Dev P.
5.0
03/06/2013
Pat had previously done hardwood flooring on an attic remodel (general contractor was willing to do everything except hardwood flooring) so Pat stepped in and did an outstanding job. He was a one-man show. He is an easy-going and wonderfully quirky individual who is masterful with any home improvement project that involves woodwork it seems. After he put in our hardwood floors, I subsequently asked him to put in a cedar deck and his work was once again timely, reasonable, and beautiful. Don't think twice if you have a project that involves woodwork (wooden deck, hardwood floors, etc., etc.). Like he did with us on two occasions, he will knock it out of the park and is a very good-natured and easy-going guy. Also very honest with a high level of integrity.
Description of Work
Built a new cedar deck in our backyard. Price paid above is for labor only.
Category
decks, woodworking
Linda K J.
5.0
02/07/2013
Pat built a large deck and rebuilt our back porch in the 90's. In 2012 Pat rebuilt a fence and painted my garage and had to replace alot of rotted wood on garage. Pat does a great job. I will definitely use Pat again. He's very dependable.
Description of Work
Great experience when using Pat Edwards
Category
decks, woodworking, house painters
mark M.
5.0
09/17/2012
It was very professional, finished the job on time and did quality work.
Description of Work
He remodeled our bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Bob C.
5.0
06/20/2012
He does a great job. He has always been good.
Description of Work
Pat Edwards Remodeling is doing some work on the exterior. He has been closing our back porch. I have used him for years.
Category
handyman service
Jessica C.
5.0
05/08/2012
Our new house has a back deck and flight of stairs that wobbled when we walked on it. We may have been a little paranoid about the stability and wanted peace of mind. We worried about having people on it, along with furniture and a grill...seemed so shaky!Pat came out and looked the deck over with us. He said that it was actually a well built deck, and that if we wanted to stabilize it, he'd tell us what we needed to do. We really wanted the work to be done professionally, in case we somehow didn't do something correctly. He understood and told us exactly what he was going to do and what the result would be. He was very helpful and very reassuring, just a great guy! We told him we were not in a hurry at all, and he said he'd get to it in the next 2 weeks. We went on vacation, and the day we got back, it was done! It is wonderful and not a bit wobbly! His price was extremely affordable. Now we have no worries, and have already referred him to someone else, and will be using him again in the future if we need anything else!
Description of Work
Our back deck and stairs were wobbly, even when only two people were on them.Extra bolts were put in where the deck meets the house. Boards were criss-crossed on the underside of the deck to stabilize. They made the connection between bottom of stairs and deck more secure. Boards were criss-crossed on the underside of the stairs to stabilize. No more wobble, even with 7 people and a big grill on it!
Category
decks, deck cleaning
Linda K J.
5.0
02/08/2012
Pat did a great job building our very large deck. He also rebuilt our back porch and put in new windows. He did a very good job.
Description of Work
Pat built a large deck for us in 1995. We are very pleased with the work Mr. Edwards.
Category
decks, home remodeling
Jennifer R.
5.0
09/01/2011
See above. Pat did an amazing job and I'm enjoying the changes he made
Description of Work
Complete master bathroom remodel, including moving walls & all fixtures. Floor installation, wood & cement skin with heated underlayment. Scraped cottage cheese off of ceiling in 3 rooms. Pat configured the new layout if our bathroom & I love how it flows.We also added light fixtures in four rooms. Pat contracts out all electrical & most plumbing (a sign of following the contractor's license). He moved our laundry out if our basement & it's now on the second level. This included venting out the side of the house so he had to cut a channel in dining room ceiling. Pat's great with drywall & amazing with tile installation. We tiled the entire area around the bath and tiled the floor of the laundry. He was fantastic with our kids & kind to our sometimes annoying dogs. He was as clean as he could be & really cleaned up after himself. He paints well also. Great work for a great price, especially when you consider the size of the remodel. He also repurposed materials he removed in the remodel, such as trim & closet doors to cut back on expense. The new washer & dryer were slightly large for the newly designed laundry space, & Pat solved that issue by building out the trim around the closet so the doors could shut. He is returning in the fall to install a solar tube & add insulation in our attic. I highly recommend Pat.
Category
drywall, remodeling, home remodeling
jennifer M.
5.0
06/15/2011
He did an excellent job. He charged me about $150. Everything was fine. I will hire him again without a doubt. The door is fine. He told me to call him if I had any problems, but there are no problems. As a matter of fact, our electricity went out the day he got here and he did it by a flash light. I thought that was outrageous. It was 9 o'clock in the morning and it was a cloudy day. So, it was pretty dark in there. He did just fine. There were no complications at all. I would definitely recommend him to others. His price was excellent and I thought it was very fair. I actually thought that it was cheap. His quality was excellent. His responsiveness was fine. He did everything I could have asked. He was on time and his professionalism was great. I plan on using him again for remodeling my bathroom.
Description of Work
Pat Edwards Remodeling installed a shower door for us three weeks to a month ago.
Category
glass repair
Linda B.
5.0
06/07/2011
He promptly returned my call for an estimate to do the work. He worked around my schedule to complete the work. He was prompt, courteous, professional and did an amazing job.
Description of Work
Pat refinished my custom front Beaverdale door. He did an superior job on sanding, staining and varnishing my wood door that had been peeling and black in spots from wear and tear. Now I get compliments on this door all the time! Pat quoted a price and although he spent considerably more time than he expected, he stood by his original quote. He was delightful to work with!!! A true professional!
Category
house painters, interior painters

Phone

Address

2615 Hickman Rd

Des Moines, IA 50310

Other Information

Services offered

General, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Drywall, Ceramic Tile, Hardwood Flooring, Doors, Windows, Interior & Exterior Painting, & Handymen Services.

Services not offered

Carpet, Hvac & Large Electrical Jobs

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Pat Edwards Remodeling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Pat Edwards Remodeling is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Pat Edwards Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Pat Edwards Remodeling offers free project estimates.

No, Pat Edwards Remodeling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Pat Edwards Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Pat Edwards Remodeling offers warranties.

Pat Edwards Remodeling offers the following services: General, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Drywall, Ceramic Tile, Hardwood Flooring, Doors, Windows, Interior & Exterior Painting, & Handymen Services.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Renewal by Andersen

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Renewal by Andersen

Renewal by Andersen of Des Moines is your resource for custom window and patio and entry door replacement, as part of the Andersen Corporation which is one of the most recognized window brands in the country. Serving Central Iowa, our highly trained, employee-installers of Andersen windows and doors can meet your needs in a friendly and thoughtful approach. Our windows are made of Fibrex material, which gives our windows the strength and durability of wood, and the low-maintenance features of vinyl. You won't see the hassles of expansion and contraction like vinyl and rotting like in a wood window. We also sell quality, innovative Provia entry doors. Locally owned, operated & trusted. Call for special offers and financing options.  

A Plus Flooring, Inc.

5.0

(4)

Angi Certified

A Plus Flooring, Inc.

With over 20 years of professional flooring experience, we are here to address all your flooring needs and dreams. Give us a call for your flooring needs. Ask us about our senior and military discounts.  

We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.