Shutterup.com

Founded 2008 • With Angi since September 2010

5.0

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1460 Golden Gate Parkway 109

Naples, FL 34105

Description

Proudly serving Fort Myers and surrounding areas offering high quality shutters.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
John U.
5.0
09/28/2017
Fantastic!!! Very pleased with the entire process from start to finish. Very professional team of people. Shutters are beautiful and Highest quality. They came to the house and measured all my windows.Then we went to the showroom to see them displayed. Seven weeks later they were installed perfectly. These guys know there shutters and I would highly recommend there superior product and excellent service.
Description of Work
Installed 2 window plantation shutters
Category
window treatments
Hector M.
5.0
08/01/2017
They were very helpful, the two young men. I gave them a deposit the first week of June, the beginning of the hurricane season, and they said six weeks out. On the beginning of the sixth week, they were here and they got it done in a couple of hours. There were four openings. I would give them a straight A across the board. The total was $793, which was about the same thing I paid several years before for the same thing with another company that I got from Angie's List. I think Jason was the estimator. It was the beginning of the sixth week, just in time. Four openings; three bedrooms and a kitchen. Shawn and Will were the sweat equity. I would say they were very good, very professional and answered all the questions.
Description of Work
Hurricane shutter installation, the steel panels.
Category
hurricane shutters
Ann M.
5.0
04/03/2017
no problems
Description of Work
installed shutters throughout house
Category
window treatments
Glenn L.
5.0
01/16/2017
There is always a hitch, the sill trim was a mess, but my helping them by both opening the windows and using our central vac kept the mess to very little after the first window. As far as the crew, the owner of the company, and the quality of the shutters? They all are top notch and deserve at least a call to compare to others. Which by the way was tough to get a response from. The two that responded right away were eventually the only two that showed up. Must be either a tough sell or a busy market, but I am glad I found Shutterup.com. They did wonderfully. Shutters are sold by the square foot and style, labor, and parts are all included so the price I put below will be for an entire home 3/2 built after 2000, 13 shutters total...each shutter is counted, not just the windows. Some windows have three shutters, some two, some one.
Description of Work
In fact we did hire them again. We had just moved in and wanted to have Plantation Shutters installed throughout our home, but having met with two of the people that responded first, we found Shutter-up to be both easy to deal with and open to all the issues that were included with the install. For example, the marble at the window sills have to be trimmed in order to put the finish trim around the entire window. The other company did not mention that. The prices of both companies were very close, the other a bit higher, and a different shutter. We chose the best shutter and found we could, but found that we could only afford half the house at that moment. They ordered the shutters, they came in, and for only a small amount the installer cut all the window sills for us as I opened the windows and let the mess go outside. The install took less than an hour after that. They looked so great, we found the money to finish what we started. Plantation shutters are not inexpensive, but they along with crown molding and 4" baseboard change your home from average to custom in both look and feel. Yes, I paid for them and got very little discount, but it was worth every dollar, they add value to your home, and look great!
Category
window treatments
Glenn L.
5.0
09/06/2016
The work was so well and so efficiently, that instead of doing just the areas of our home people we see most of the time, we opted after the first install to do every window in the house. That about doubled the price, but has increased how people view our home to the positive tremendously. The window sills had to be cut, and the installer did that on the day of install for just a few dollars (approx. $5-$10/window). All the shutters fit perfectly the first time, the price was not negotiable, yet not too bad. When you buy shutters you buy the square foot, and the style. We bought the best because for the 10% or so savings even though it was more than we planned, the best makes such a difference in the end. They added value to our home, of that, I am sure. We got two bids, both less than $50 apart. We just happened to like the gentleman that showed us the shutters from Shutterup more than the other company, and when I called the company to check on it, the owner answered the phone and spoke with me. That also was very satisfying. One caution: when cutting the marble sills, it is messy to the extreme, so open the windows and place a fan blowing out. I tried to vacuum at the pace of cutting and it was not enough, but doing the open window made a huge difference. This is a good company, they may be in Naples, but I am in Boynton Beach, FL, very far away from them, but that was no issue at all. It went smoothly and I would recommend them highly.
Description of Work
Entire inside of our home with custom plantation shutters.
Category
window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review! This is the best compliment we can ask for.
Aimee K.
5.0
12/15/2015
unknown
Description of Work
all of the windows in my house including some doors got wood plantation shutters. very professional. installation was great.
Category
window treatments
Ellen C.
5.0
09/21/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Installed Plantation Shutters throughout my house. I was disappointd that they did not explain that the window sill covering was not included and could not be added. I was under the impression that was part of the price. I certainly would have paid the small additional charge. Make sure that is cear when ordering - had to paid the front of the marble sill white.
Category
window treatments
Robert E.
5.0
03/17/2015
The salesman arrived when he stated he would, measured our windows for plantation shutters and when he was asked for ideas for the patio type door to our lanai, he recommended full size sliding plantation shutter doors which they call Bi Pass Shutters. Since these shutters have an aluminum core and the outer material is a PVC type material, the shutters can be ordered up to 36" in width. This allowed us to have only two shutters per window instead of the traditional 2 bi-folding shutters for each side of the window (four smaller shutters per window), giving us more light and a more open view of the water outside. During our buying decision, the company Shutterup.com was in the process of moving their showroom from Fort Myers to the Naples area. We wanted to see what the Bi Pass Shutters actually looked like before ordering, and although neither of the showrooms were officially open, they allowed us to come in the Ft Myers location where the display was still located. After viewing their display we liked the sturdy feel and their looks. Having viewed and reviewed several other brands, we decided that these fit our needs and we wanted the larger size shutters as mentioned earlier. We placed the order and were told to expect a 4-6 weeks for the shutters to be made and installed. Just after the 4 week period, we got a call from the installer telling us the shutters were ready and we set an install date for the following week. He arrived when promised, was polite, and professional looking. He and his helper brought the shutters in and just as he planned on installing the shutter to the front, he visually could tell that the size was off and he remeasured the shutter and window. As he expected, the shutter was a little too wide. Unfortunately, this window was mounted in an opening with vertical walls on both sides, not allowing for a full outside frame. Somewhere in the translation of the measurements, the full width frames were added on the sides which caused the size problem, fortunately, the inner size of the window frame was accurate. This also occurred to a back window that had a similar wall issue, but only on one side. The first day, the installer was successful with the installation of the other two windows and the patio door shutters and after apologizing several times, he left with the mis-sized shutters. He couldn't promise when they would be done, but since the factory was here in Fort Myers, he expected that our shutters would be moved to the front of the orders and he hoped to have them within the next few days at which time we could set up another appointment. To our pleasant surprise, in the late morning on the following day, the installer called back, saying the windows were ready and that he had a short break in his schedule and if I was available he would come right out and finish the install. I was, so he drove from the far south end of Ft Myers to our condo in North Fort Myers. The re-sized shutters fit great and were installed in just a short time. The installer made sure all the screw and nail holes were filled and that on the valance framing around the door, that the 90 degree cuts were accurate and smooth. In addition, he again apologized for the error and that he had to interrupt us a second time, and also explained maintaining the shutters and gave us a few cleaning tips. When he left, his work area and our condo was clean. Oh, and speaking of clean, the installer needed cut some boards for the door frame, and since we live in a condo with an open back walkway, he brought up a large blanket which he laid on the walkway floor. He placed his miter-saw on the large blanket and kept most of the sawdust contained in the blanket, which he carefully folded, taking the sawdust with him. Even though a sizing error occurred, they quickly made it right. We have absolutely no complaints with anything from the first phone call to the final install of the product. The quality of the shutters is very solid and they look like highly painted wood and don?t have the overly shiny plastic look of some of the cheaper ones. Bottom line, my wife and I are very happy that we chose Shutterup.com as the company to purchase from.
Description of Work
Measured for and installed 4 window and two patio door size plantation shutters.
Category
window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad you are enjoying your Alumacore Shutters.
Michael and Sandy D.
5.0
04/19/2013
Our experience with them?was excellent. We went into their showroom in Ft. Meyers and Lou was very detailed and explained the difference between all our shutter options. When Tim came out to do the measurements he again gave us all of our options. Tim later came to install the shutters, he was very professional and I would highly recommend this company. They had the best pricing and product of the three shutter showrooms we went to.
Description of Work
They installed plantation shutters in the master bedroom. Our shutters were installed including over our sliding glass doors. The product we chose was polycore and has a life time warranty.
Category
blind cleaning, window treatments
Malka B.
5.0
10/29/2012
Great. Good salesmanship. We received what we had purchased. Good service after the sale.
Description of Work
We contracted Shutter up to provide a drop down fabric screen which meets all codes for 150 miles/hour hurricane winds for our porch. This allows us to keep our porch furnishings in the porch, instead of moving them into the house when a hurricane is expected.
Category
window treatments, hurricane shutters
Scott T.
5.0
07/30/2009
We wanted to replace our vertical blinds and looked into many types of window coverings. We wanted plantation shutters but thought they would be too expensive. After doing a lot of research we found ShutterUp.com. Their website gives a lot of information. They sell a PolyCore shutter that we thought would be better than wood in Florida to resist moisture, warping and cracking. This shutter also has an aluminum core for reinforcement to prevent sagging and allows the louvers to be up to 36" wide. I wanted as little frame as possible so this was a plus. A salesman, Lloyd Freiberg, came to our house with samples of the shutters and trims. This was nice because we could actually hold the shutter and trims up to our windows to get an idea how they would look. He gave us a quote but since we had tile and marble windowsills we decided to have them removed and replaced with drywall to get a better look and fit. Lloyd said it would be best if he came back again after we did this to measure again since the window opening size would probably change. We were glad he was willing to take the time to do this and get the job right. When he came back we asked him about a corner window we had and if it would be possible to put shutters on that and he said yes. We placed our order for shutters for 6 large windows and were told it would be 6 to 8 weeks. We got a call at 7 weeks from one of the owners Larry Silberman to tell us that our shutters were ready and the installation was scheduled for a few days later. The installers that came out really knew what they were doing. The corner window was a little out of square (we have an old house) but the installer knew how to work with this and you would never know the window wasn't perfect. The corner window that we were so hesitant about is the nicest window and we are so glad we decided to do it. We ordered the clearview shutters without the tilt rod to preserve the view. We are so happy with these shutters. The quality is excellent and the price was great. They keep the rooms darker at night and keep the sun and heat out and even seem to block some of the outside noise. This was a HUGE upgrade to our house. We considered several other shutter companies but the price and quality was best with Shutterup and they were the only company I found that could do the wider louvers in the poly material without fear of sagging. I am so happy we found these shutters and found this company. I would highly recommend anyone considering plantation shutters to call them.
Description of Work
Had plantation shutters custom made and installed on 6 large windows in my home.
Category
window treatments

    Other local Pros in your area

    Elite Hospitality

    Residential and commercial cleaning services. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Shutters239

    At Shutters239, the owner has over 35 years of experience. Our staff brings you service, dedication, and hard work to protect your home from the threat of a hurricane. Experience the ease that Shutters239 can offer you. We have a professional, qualified staff(employees/not subs), the most reputable storm protection products, high-value warranties and much more. We are simply the best choice before or after the storm is on the horizon.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Casa Bonita

    Casa Bonita specializes in the ability to create smart spaces and authentic emotive experiences. We demonstrate new ways of living that are at once delightfully surprising and unmistakably unique. We have been interior decorating for over 8 years and our experience will show in how your home will look after the job is complete. Trip charges may apply but can be waived if you hire us! Give us a call or click for an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Window Treatment Store, Plantation Shutters, window shutter supplier, Interior Shutters, Shutters

    Services Not Offered

    Storm Shutters

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Shutterup.com

    How is Shutterup.com overall rated?

    Shutterup.com is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Shutterup.com open?

    Shutterup.com is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 AM

    What payment options does Shutterup.com provide

    Shutterup.com accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express

    Does Shutterup.com offer free estimates?

    Yes, Shutterup.com offers free project estimates.

    Does Shutterup.com offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Shutterup.com offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Shutterup.com offer a senior discount?

    No, Shutterup.com does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Shutterup.com?

    Yes, Shutterup.com offers warranties.

    What services does Shutterup.com offer?

    Shutterup.com offers the following services: Window Treatment Store, Plantation Shutters, window shutter supplier, Interior Shutters, Shutters

    Are there any services Shutterup.com does not offer?

    Storm Shutters