Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

SWEAT BROTHERS TREE SURGERY

4.9

(232) Verified Reviews

Founded 1973 • With Angi since May 2006

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Licensed
Trade License Number
7227
Trade License Locale
Norfolk, VA
Trade License Authority
Commissioner of the Revenue
Trade License Expiration
03/01/2021
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

838 W 45TH ST

Norfolk, VA 23508

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Sweat Brothers Tree Service is a locally owned and operated tree service business that has been serving Hampton Roads Area since 1971. If it has to do with trees or bushes, you can bet that we can help you out. Owned and operated by Carl Sweat, we're well known in the Metro area as a leader in customer service and satisfaction when it comes to tree service and landscape assistance. From trimming and pruning to entire tree extraction, we have the experience to get the job done. We believe that your trees are important, not only for the beauty of your home, but as a natural resource. That's why we are dedicated to the health of your trees through pruning, landscaping, and disease treatment....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(232) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

220

4

3

3

3

2

2

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

tree service (230)hauling (35)lawn & landscaping (1)lawn care (22)
Showing 1-10 of 232 reviews
5.0

02/19/2021

They are wonderfully priced, are on time, and do an excellent job. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They prune my hedges.

Category landscaping,lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

5.0

11/05/2020

Sweat Bros Tree Surgery just trimmed 2 trees for me. A Maple in the front yard and a Pine in my back yard. They did a fabulous job. Mr. Sweat made sure I was completely satisfied. His crew got everything cleaned up in my yard and my neighbors They were respectful towards me and my family and made sure my dog was in the house before they began. I want to give them a 5 star rating.

Description of Work
trimmed 2 trees

Category tree service

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2020

1.0

07/22/2020

Never able to get ahold of anyone after calling several times over two weeks. Never able to even leave a voicemail.

Description of Work
Removal of up to 5 trees

Category tree service

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

5.0

06/28/2020

Some of the trees were fairly large trees and needed to fall exactly between two houses. They fell exactly as the owner of the tree service said they would fall. Accurately and safely. They hauled off the large parts of the trees and cut the small limbs up so that my husband could cut up later for firewood. They also arranged for a stump grinding service to grind up the stumps the same day the trees were removed. They graded the land flat, as if the trees were never there.

Description of Work
6 trees taken down,

Category hauling services,tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2020

5.0

05/14/2020

Carl was very responsive and the company did an excellent job. Everything was very easy and I thought the price was reasonable given the large team and equipment needed to perform the work. When they were done, it was so clean you would have never known they were there (except that the tree was gone). Very pleased!

Description of Work
tree removal

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2020

5.0

03/12/2020

Very well done. All debris hauled away, clean-up was excellent.

Description of Work
trimming and removing tree limbs (multiple trees)

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2020

5.0

11/16/2018

Great job. Highly recommended. Will hire again.

Description of Work
Tree removal and trimming

Category tree service

Cost $950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2018

5.0

11/05/2018

Excellent job including clean up and removal.

Description of Work
removal of 2 large trees downed in a storm

Category tree service

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

5.0

08/31/2018

They did a very professional job at my mother's place in Newport News. I coordinated everything via phone with Carl at Sweat Brothers since I live out of the country. Carl came out for an estimate, and we then agreed to proceed on the work a week later. It took awhile to get into their schedule, but it was worth the wait. A crew came out and got the job done in 3-4 hours. And given the amount of work and quality of work, the price was very reasonable. Highly recommended. The only minor issue was communication sometimes too awhile, but that had as much to do to my schedule and timezone as anything on their end.

Description of Work
Cutting down a number of trees / Trimming some trees

Category tree service

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2018

5.0

07/23/2018

The contractor was very professional and a pleasure to work with. Carl came out and provided a quote and contacted us later when they were prepared to the work. The entire crew was very professional and if you had not known they were coming out, you could not tell they had been there. The trees and limbs were removed and everything cleaned up. They did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Removal of four trees and pruning of limbs

Category tree service

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2018

Services Offered

TREE TRIMMING, TREE REMOVAL, STUMP GRINDING, PRUNING, CABLING FOR HEAVY LIMBS AND DEBRIS REMOVAL.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Check
Senior Discount
10%
Warranties
No