Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Fox Granite

5.0

(79) Verified Reviews

Founded 2010 • With Angi since July 2011

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

3200 South 1st street 412

Austin, TX 78704

http://www.foxgranitecountertops.com

Description

Fox Granite is the ultimate 1 stop shop for natural stone countertops. We stock our own material, do the removal of existing countertops, install the counters, install tile backsplashes and plumbing too....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(79) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

75

4

2

3

0

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

countertop installation (76)marble & granite (50)home remodeling (5)tile installation (2)plumbers (1)
Showing 1-25 of 79 reviews
5.0

02/21/2020


Victor A.

We have a large kitchen with a lot of odd angles for the countertop surfaces . Fox Granite did an excellent job of measuring ,and installing the new granite countertops so that the new ones fit perfectly. They took the old ones out and cleaned up after they finished. I was very impressed how every little edge and corner was measured exactly and the result was beautiful. They also installed a free undermount stainless sink. Overall we were very pleased with their professional service. They do ask for half the cost of the job by check upfront, and the remainder paid after they are finished that can be paid by credit card.

Description of Work
Kitchen granite countertops

Category countertops,marble & granite

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2019

5.0

11/13/2019


Gerardo S.

Greg (one of the owners) met us at their warehouse in New Braunfels so we could select the granite we liked. He was very patient with us and we finally selected a product we liked. We got a call from Sam (other owner) about stopping by to measure our countertops, and we paid him half of the total cost. We then scheduled an appointment to get the work done about two weeks later. Jesse and his crew came by on time and like a well oiled machine, and got right to work. They were done in a little over 2 hours and did a great job. We paid him the other half at this point. Our countertops look terrific. We are glad we selected with Fox Granite and would highly recommend them. Thanks Angies List, Thanks Fox Granite!

Description of Work
replaced kitchen countertops

Category countertops,marble & granite,home remodeling

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

5.0

09/09/2019


West D.

Fox Granite was fantastic to work with! Greg Fox visited our home with granite samples, took measurements, and provided estimate. One week later, his brother Stan emailed us to schedule installation appointment. The following week, we had beautiful new granite countertops installed; Professional & efficient workmen (Jesse = crew chief) were done in about 2 hours. I would definitely use them again for a project!

Description of Work
Replaced 3 bathroom countertops with granite countertops

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $2,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2019

5.0

04/04/2019


Walt G.

The company replied within minutes providing me reference to a company that does do the work. Thanks again Fox!

Description of Work
Requested a quote for services they do not peform

Category countertops

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2019

5.0

07/10/2018


Marianne H.

We had our bathroom countertops replaced with granite. Greg Fox came to the house and was awesome with his suggestions . One thing I look for in a contractor is how they present themselves ,whether it be eye contact,confidence and honesty. All the above were there. He is a perfectionist in which I wanted as I am as well. He truly enjoys what he does. When I had additional questions he texted back right away with an answer. The scheduler was awesome as well. I knew exactly when the install would be. The crew was on time!!, His employees were awesome. One guy has been an installer for 30 years. One of things I noticed is that I can't see the line where they had to cut the granite. What an impeccable cut. I cannot see the seam!!!!! I promise that you will love this company as much as I do.they did such a fantastic job that I have called Greg today for a bid on my kitchen countertops. I would recommend them in a New York minute!!!!!!

Description of Work
Replacing bathroom countertops with granite

Category countertops

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2018

5.0

06/25/2018


Victoria B.

Used for countertop in kitchen remodel by contractor.

Description of Work
Replace water damaged kitchen cabinets and countertop.

Category countertops,marble & granite,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2018

5.0

05/30/2018


Amy V.

Sam and Jesse was great. They came when the were supposed to and left things nest.

Description of Work
New countertops installed

Category countertops

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2018

5.0

11/06/2017


Dona D.

They were very professional and worked with us for the installation before the walls were painted

Description of Work
Remove kitchen counter tops , install granite counter tops

Category countertops

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2017

5.0

09/21/2017


Jodi S.

They were great! They were very responsive in getting us an estimate. It only took two hours to remove the old counter tops and to install the new granite ones.

Description of Work
Kitchen counter tops were replaced with granite counter tops.

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2017

5.0

08/22/2017


Nikhil P.

Everyone in the team is excellent. I like Sam - Very professional and transparent person. He was honest and to the fact every time I had discussion with him. Jesse the installer was very polite and nice person. I like the whole crew and strongly recommend for all your granite work.

Description of Work
Remove old Kitchen and Bathroom sink counter tops and replace it with Granite counter tops.

Category marble & granite

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2017

5.0

05/04/2017


Dona D.

They came to our house to give an estimate for removing the old black granite and installing a lighter color granite. We were planning to paint our interior walls and they worked around that other project. They were very professional and detailed oriented. Love our new look!

Description of Work
We wanted a lighter color of granite installed on our kitchen cabinets.

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2017

Service Provider Response

We'd love to work for this customer again and happy the customer likes the new look of their kitchen.
5.0

04/12/2017


Mark S.

Great customer service and product at a fair price.

Description of Work
Replace kitchen countertops

Category countertops

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2017

Service Provider Response

We pride our selves on offering superior customer service, so glad this customer appreciated the extra effort we put into every job!
5.0

03/28/2017


Tracy T.

Very fast turnaround from template to installation. Extremely professional. Great choice in colors. Follow up was awesome and the entire crew communicated well throughout the process. Was very impressed that they were able to get one section of counter top without a seam! Counters look gorgeous!

Description of Work
quartz counter tops

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Our goal is always to minimize seams (if possible), so happy we could get that result on this project. Hoping you will refer us to friends and family, and thanks for your business!
5.0

03/21/2017


Gayle M.

Absolutely the best service you could imagine. Sam (San Antonio representative) came quickly after we called. He gave us expert advice on the choice of material. I have a very long counter and a curved bar stool area. I could not believe that there were only two seams in the whole kitchen. The granite is gorgeous and the whole operation was flawless.

Description of Work
Granite counter top in kitchen.

Category countertops

Cost $6,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2017

Service Provider Response

We are glad you had a pleasant experience with our company. I know it's a lot to take on moving into a new house, so happy we could offer hassle-free service to you!
5.0

02/27/2017


John R.

Fox Granite just installed Granite countertops and we couldn't be happier. It's so hard to find honest reliable contractors today. Sam and Greg Fox made the whole process simple, straightforward and painless. Greg came to the house and explained the whole process. He listened to our needs, made some valuable suggestions, took some measurements, and provided an estimate right on the spot. An the estimate included everything. Remove the old countertops, install the new ones, install the faucet and garbage disposal, and even install the tile backsplash. We found the estimate to be quite reasonable and gave him the go ahead. Jesse (the installer) came a few days later to take the final measurements, and work was begun. Within two weeks they were back and installed the new countertops. Later that day the plumber arrived and reconnected. The following day the tile installers came and installed the backsplash. They came back the following day to complete the grouting. In my opinion, if you need granite countertops in the San Antonio / Austin area, there's nobody any better. And the whole experience will be painless.

Description of Work
We wanted our laminate countertops replaced with new granite ones.

Category countertops

Cost $4,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2017

Images

Review for Fox Granite - 3200 South 1st street, Austin, TX - 34527531

+2 More

Service Provider Response

It's not always easy to coordinate 3 different trades to help our customers, but we are happy to put in the extra effort to make sure everything goes smoothly.
1.0

01/13/2017


Cara V.

SHOCKING UNPROFESSIONALISM. I contacted Fox Granite because of their stellar record on Angie's List, so I am mystified as to why I received such poor service--my other contractor thinks it was because I don't have a large order. This is only the second instance I've had to write a scathing review in over 10+ years and will only do so if the service is egregious enough to justify warning other customers. I first spoke to Greg of Fox Granite for an estimate for a Silestone counter in a specific color (Mont Blanc White), which he said they had and would bring. At our appointment though, he immediately sat down, pulled out another color (Alpine from a different manufacturer), and proceeded to act as if the color had already been decided, without even looking at the bathroom to see the color scheme and measure the size of the counter on which to base a proper estimate. I was shocked. I asked him if he wanted to see the bathroom first, then he didn't have a measuring tape. Our tile contractor left his so Greg used that. Back downstairs, without saying a word, he wrote up an invoice with a flat fee ($2,100 for approximately 24 sq. ft. of counter) in the color HE chose (not the color I asked for that he said he had and would bring), then slapped the invoice on the table without even going over any details about price, timeframe, etc. By that time, I felt I should conclude the appointment because of his appalling attitude. When I asked for the Mont Blanc sample, he told me it was "discontinued" (although he told me two days prior that he would bring it). I started to feel uncomfortable about his integrity. Worse, he then said, "What? You don't believe me? I'll call my office." He "called" and "spoke" to someone who verified that "it was discontinued as of this year." He even told me it was discontinued because it was an "outdated" color that was "unpopular", which was insulting and manipulative. When I questioned the flat rate and asked him to break down the cost for the materials and labor, he scoffed and asked me what I meant (so I know what I'm paying for), then challenged my as to why I even needed it because no one in his business does that (Fox Granite is a family business and he has years of experience), then proceeded to lecture me on why I'd want to spend more more on a counter when we are selling the house (that's none of his business). That was enough. When I thanked him for his time and tried to wrap it up because I'd had enough of his unprofessionalism and condescension, he immediately changed his demeanor to a friendlier approach and only then produced other samples for me to see. He offered advice about our kitchen granite counter but had already lost me as a customer. In desperation, I went to back to Lowe's after Greg left (Lowe's professionally arranged and installed our kitchen granite countertops/desk/island). Lastly, Lowe's and Home Depot both verified that "Mont Blanc" has not been discontinued and is still offered on the Silestone website.

Description of Work
Replace master bathroom counter (approximately 25 sq. ft.) with Silestone

Category countertops,marble & granite,home remodeling

Work Completed On 01/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and I don't want to take anything away from [Member Name Removed]'s review. I can't change that she had a bad experience, and I would love to remedy that fact because I want every customer to have a great experience. However, I do want to share with anyone reading this what happened on my end. On the phone, I wrote down what color she wanted for my notes. I was under the impression that she had already selected that color and had a sample of her own. I don't even have that sample in my kit. So, I thought since she has already selected her color, that it would still be nice to show her other samples that are similar to it to make sure she saw enough options. So I took out about 6-7 samples of other white quartz of various manufacturers to show her the options. She told me originally that the main goal was to sell the house, so I focused all my context and attention on trying to use my experience to give her a suggestion (which she didn't have to take) of the best color to help sell her house. Silestone Mont Blanc (the color she had said she wanted before meeting) is not a terribly popular color for resale, when I told her it was viewed by other customers as being outdated, that information was given to her with the pure intent to help, not to insult her color choice. That's what other customers have told me over the last 6 years, which is why I don't carry the sample with me. I expressed to her that the vicostone alpine was the most popular color customers have chosen, therefore, my suggestion for "resale" purposes. Somewhere down the line into the conversation, she expressed that she may in fact come back to the house after renting it for a while, and that it was important to get something that she liked. After hearing the context change, I immediately shifted my mindset to adjust and expressed to her that I though there was nothing bad or wrong about silestone mont blanc, that I personally don't have an opinion on color, that I wanted to give her what she wanted. That's most likely the shift of "friendliness" she's talking about. I suppose my resale opinion was at odds with her personal opinion. I should expressed my resale opinion in a better way. Thus, I when I looked up the pricing in my spreadsheet, I didn't see mont blanc at all in there. I called Silestone on the spot in front of her, and they told me they discontinued it. I expressed that usually happens because it doesn't sell well, hence not very popular. I have no idea how Lowe's and Home Depot have access to mont blanc, maybe because they are gigantic companies they have a ton of it previously bought and in stock, I have no idea. But I called Silestone in Austin and they said that it wasn't available anymore. Regarding how we price things, it's always a lump sum pricing. I'm a small family company and don't have the luxury of having set per square foot pricing, especially for quartz, which has so many manufacturers and colors...too many to stock. I also expressed that if she called around and asked for per square foot pricing on the phone from other companies, that it wouldn't be accurate, there are always extra fees tacked on, so it's best to compare companies with total pricing out the door for the same work performed. I had given her a total price out the door. I don't know how to reverse engineer my pricing by foot or anything else when it's just lump sum, simply cost plus profit. After all of this, she had mentioned having problems with calcium deposits on her existing granite in her kitchen, I took the time to inspect it and gave her an honest answer about my experience with it and how I would approach the problem. I'm definitely not perfect, no one is, but the one thing I know about myself is that everything I do is to try to help my customers even if it makes me look bad. When the context she gave me was for resale I expressed my honest opinion about staying away from silestone mont blanc (before I even knew it had been discontinued) and go with a popular color. When the context shifted, I put the time into it and called silestone to find out if the color was still available. I take her review seriously, and always want to improve anything I can, so next time in a situation like this, I definitely want to be more empathetic to all customer's color selections and opinions, while still giving them some objective info to help them. I appreciate [Member Name Removed] taking the time out to leave this review and the chance to always improve my customer service.
5.0

12/02/2016


Linda T.

Fox Granite was the first of three businesses I had intended on getting estimates from for granite countertops in my kitchen and master bath. I found them while researching granite installers in the San Antonio area. After reading all the great reviews online I visited their website. I watched all of Greg Fox's very informative videos and was impressed with how knowledgeable he is about his business. I scheduled and appointment for an estimate. Greg showed up right on time for our appointment and was friendly and very thorough in his explanation of how the whole process would go. He answered all our questions and after talking to him my husband and I decided that we didn't need to look any further. We scheduled the appointments then and there for the template and installation of granite countertops, sinks and faucets for both the kitchen and master bath. Jesse showed up right on time for both the template appointment and the installation appointment. Jesse and his crew of two were courteous, friendly and worked like a well oiled machine. They were very efficient in the way they worked so the whole process was stress free and quicker than I expected. They cleaned up after themselves and everything went as smoothly as Greg said it would. That same day Bob the plumber arrived on time for our late afternoon/early evening appointment. He was also friendly, courteous and good at his job. He installed the new faucets and reconnected the plumbing in a very clean and efficient manner. We are very happy with the final results and impressed with Greg Fox and his great team. Should we decide to replace the counters and sinks in the upstairs bathrooms too we will definitely give Greg Fox a call. We will gladly recommend Fox Granite to anyone interested in getting beautiful granite countertops.

Description of Work
New countertops and sinks in kitchen and master bath.

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $5,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2016

Service Provider Response

Glad our videos helped you with your projects. It takes a lot of effort making them, so nice to hear they are appreciated. Hopefully, we'll get that call when ready to replace bath counters. Thanks again for your business.
5.0

09/23/2016


JD R.

Fantastic learning experience. Amazing professionals.

Description of Work
Advice on granite.

Category countertops,marble & granite

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2016

5.0

09/02/2016


Lisa K.

This company is professional from start to finish. They were punctual, courteous, and kept to the promised schedule. I was promised they will make sure the job is done right and that I would be happy with the job. Yep, don't all companies say that? Well, I can assure you that these are not empty words, they mean it. I had very few problems but the problems I did encounter (which btw were not the fault of Fox Granite) were corrected without delay by Fox Granite. The finished tops are lovely and I was thrilled to see that they were able to fabricate my counter tops with no seams!! For quality and price, I cannot recommend this company enough. I will be using them again as I work through my home remodel.

Description of Work
Fabrication and installation of granite kitchen countertops

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2016

5.0

06/12/2016


Beverly H.

Everything was fantastic! Greg responded to my inquiry very quickly and was out to my house the next day to provide a quote. He was very patient as helped us select the right granite stone given our preferences and color scheme of our home. We had many questions about our tile selection for the backsplash as well, and Greg was responsive and provided excellent guidance. From template to installation for our project was about 2 weeks. His entire team was professional, on time and did excellent work. I had many questions throughout the process, and Greg and Sam answered them all. Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!

Description of Work
Granite countertop and tile backsplash installation

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2016

Images

Review for Fox Granite - 3200 South 1st street, Austin, TX - 31988887
5.0

05/18/2016


Gin V.

Great very prompt and professional. Would highly recommend!!

Description of Work
Installed granite kitchen countertops and bathroom countertrop

Category countertops,marble & granite

Cost $3,150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2016

5.0

03/07/2016


John F.

Greg Fox called me back shortly after I left a message. That's great turn-around time for any contractor, and it was himself, not an employee. My old microwave has a 16" height, my granite back splash butts up against it underneath. All new microwaves are 17+ inches. To install a new microwave my granite has to be altered in order to make room. Home Depot won't do an install as it is currently, they don't touch granite, because it breaks. They said I'd have to have the granite cut first. So, that's why I called Fox Granite. After telling Greg the above, he offered several options for my situation. The back splash could be removed and cut (scary, as it's 5' x 2' with electrical outlets throughout it); drill holes (could crack as they'd need to be near the top of the granite); and options to not cut the granite: a build-out of the wall behind the microwave to make it even (hoping the new microwave anchors would fit on the build--out); or, a build-out of the wall behind the microwave thick enough to be in front of the granite where the new microwave would be hung. He said the order in which I was to do everything. Buy the microwave, bring it home, call his guy, who would come over to see where the anchors are on the microwave to know which of the above options would work for me. He even said I should consider returning one microwave for another in an effort to find a microwave whose anchors were high enough so as to not impact the granite at all. (Of course, you can't see the anchors at Home Depot, I tried, so you'd have to buy it first and take it home.) I am amazed and impressed for several reasons. First, Greg isn't going to do the work, nor get paid for any part of it, he is just kindly referring me. Second, he gave me the name of someone he trusts to do it correctly and told me exactly what to expect from him. And, thirdly, he didn't mince words, this is a difficult situation and my granite might get damaged, and no one can guarantee it won't. This is a complicated issue just to get a microwave and I am so grateful to have got on Angie's List and called Fox Granite. Greg was so generous and gracious with his professional advice. I highly recommend him and his company.

Description of Work
I called Fox Granite because I needed a modification made to my granite back splash to accommodate a new over-the-range microwave.

Category countertops,marble & granite

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/07/2016