Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Doug Gorton Professional Painting

Founded 1980 • With Angi since September 2007

4.5

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

207 W St Johns Ave

Austin, TX 78752

Description

Doug Gorton Professional Painting is a locally owned and operated Austin painting company specializing in interior and exterior painting and staining. We also hand-wash houses, pressure-wash decks, patios and driveways and remove wallpaper and popcorn ceiling texture. Doug Gorton Professional Painting uses only the highest quality paints and stains. Call us at (512) 799-8384 or visit our website www.wepaintaustin.com to schedule a FREE estimate and get the professional service you deserve....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/25/2018


mark F.

Excellent work to repaint exterior. The guys took time to prep all surfaces and covered the windows and gutters which I didn't want to be painted. The manager met me and introduced his crew on the first day then followed up with me during the process. These men paid attention to every and I was amazed at how careful they were in working on my home. They even replaced some rotted wood and siding. If you want painters you can trust, this is the company to call.

Description of Work
repaint my home exterior

Category decks,siding,house painters

1.0

11/23/2014


Judith B.

This review is submitted in November for a summer job because I just joined Angie's. The company was responsive during the bid/quote stage and responsive to phone calls. We particularly liked the demo of paint colors so we could be sure we were choosing the right color. Doug is very personable and fully explained the work to be done. He emphasized that they stand behind their work; however, it was a disappointing experience. In spite of being assured about their thorough and professional prep work, it didn't turn out that way. The problem is numerous puffy spots that I call bubbles on horizontal surfaces. He sent men out to correct the problem but they did an extremely poor job. They knocked off some of the bubbles but didn't bother to sand or prime those areas before applying more paint. Now we have additional large bubbles and have not asked them to come back because of the shoddy workmanship by the men he sent. I think Doug himself came out some time during this process, but it didn't improve the outcome. Bottom line, they went through the motions of correcting their mistakes but we can only conclude that we were assigned the worst performers on their employee roster. So many good reviews indicate that they have some highly skilled painters. Unfortunately for us, they must have been busy elsewhere. We had planned to have them do several rooms of interior painting, but that isn't going to happen!

Description of Work
Painted our previously stained deck without proper/adequate surface preparation.

Category house painters

5.0

07/17/2014


Jack R.

This company did a job as close to a perfect job as I could imagine. Thorough, tidy, punctual and hard-working. And with exquisite attention to detail. No complaints...only the highest compliments. Bravo!

Description of Work
Prepared and painted exterior of my home in Austin.

Category house painters

1.0

12/11/2013


Osmond B.

They came over and said that they only hand washed houses which was much better. Later they said that hand washing didn't work on stucco.

Description of Work
They first said that they did not do business with Angie's list and hadn't dones a thing with Angie's list in over a year. They said that my house needed painting and gave mne a bid for $8,000. I believe that the washing was to be $450. They were obviously phonies! You all refunded the money!

Category pressure washing

Service Provider Response

Dear Sir, It is unfortunately that you feel that way about our company. It is true that our representative that answered the phone was unaware that the promotion was still available. That promotion was part of a campaign we had with Angie's List October of 2012 that was tied to an advertising package. When we canceled the advertising package at the beginning of the year we assumed all the promotional offers where canceled with it. We were surprised by your inquiry and you were the only person the entire year that called about house washing and subsequently bought a voucher. As I recall you were upset because we would not schedule your project sight unseen. Per company policy we review all proposed work to be done in person before we issue a work order. This ensures we set the clients expectations and the crew assigned to the project is properly prepared, with equipment needed and project details. We requested an appointment and you graciously agreed. As I arrived at your home you asked me to give you a quote for caulking numerous cracks, repairing damage stucco around a back window and painting a 3 1/2 story home with a shared 40+ foot wall. You even directed me to ask your neighbor,who shares the right side of the building, to see if he was interested and if we could give the project a volume discount if he signs on. Hand washing with brushes is better suited with homes that have wood, siding, fascia, soffits and trim. Your home doesn't have any of these items made out of wood. Pressure washing is best suited for decks, driveways, stone and stucco. Washing your home is best done by pressure washing the hard stucco per our quote emailed to you. We honored the 450 price that was on the Angie's List voucher. After you were unresponsive to our bid we quickly refunded your money per your request. We do recommend you wash your stucco home at least once a year. To help maintain your current paint job life as long as possible. Happy Holidays Operations Manager DGP Painting
5.0

10/26/2013


Susan W.

This business is truly impressive. They responded quickly to my request for a quote and showed up when scheduled. Doug walked us through the estimate and explained his philosophy about the prep cleaning and maintenance. He made some helpful suggestions about dealing with some grungy hardware. The painting crew showed up when scheduled and did a thorough job of prepping the surfaces to be painted. The painting was done beautifully, completed in less time than anticipated, and the cleanup was spotless. I would definitely recommend Doug to anyone.

Description of Work
Exterior washing and painting.

Category house painters

5.0

01/09/2013


Carol S.

Doug Gorton Professional Painting did a great job. They stripped the water-based paint that the previous owner had painted over oil-based paint and then repainted the trim and doors. They did a great job. It took a little longer than they originally estimated but they honored their estimate price and we are very happy with the finished product.

Description of Work
Trim and Doors

Category interior painters

5.0

12/18/2012


Doris J.

They did a great job! I was satisfied with the work.

Description of Work
I hired them for interior painting.

Category interior painters

5.0

12/17/2012


Dorothy S.

It turned out very, very well. The only thing is part of the deal was that he would come back a year later and check up on time and do touch ups, but I didn't hear from him again. However, the original work they did was very good.

Description of Work
We hired them for exterior painting.

Category house painters

5.0

11/05/2012


Debbie M.

They were supposed to start on Monday, but called on Sunday to say they would have a delay and arrive on tuesday. Arrived on time and got to work. English speaking foreman was easy to communicate with, and Doug contacted me directly if he had questions. the main office was easy to deal with when getting our estimate and the estimate was well documented. When they arrived, Doug agreed to do a little wall patch inside for no extra charge. They did a great job and a good job cleaning up.

Description of Work
Hand washed exterior, sanded and countersunk nailheads, replaced and/or repaired rotten wood then applied top quality paint.

Category house painters

5.0

09/04/2012


Nilashbhai P.

Doug Gorton Professional Painting was a little pricey. I remember that he was a nice person though. He was very responsive; he came out and talked to us immediately. I would have used him if I could afford it.

Description of Work
Doug Gorton Professional Painting came out and gave us an estimate for exterior painting for our house.

Category house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    AMG Drywall and Painting

    We are here to help people repair, add or simple change the way things look at home. + Drywall repair + remodeling + additions + tile installation + back splash + painting + fill in dents, cracks + etc We specialize in drywall finish, all kinds of texture: + Orage peel + Knock down + popcorn texture + etc Let us know how we can assist you. We like to build a relationship with customers so next time they need a job done we are on the lead. Trustworthy growing locally owned and operated company. Quality is a must and guaranty offered for every job.  

    Handyman Ram

    Handyman Ram is ready to help you with any of your home repair needs! We’re a new small business where every employee has 5+ years of experience. We do free estimates so give us a call anytime! Our services are listed below. -Drywall repair/installation -Fence installation/removal -Tree trimming services/removal -Lawn care/landscaping -Wildlife removal/trapping -Exclusion work -Cabinet installation -Junk removal -Painting/caulking -Trim work  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Azteca Remodeling And Handyman

    We are a family owned and operated business with over 20 years experience. We specialize in remodeling services and provide superior customer service. Please give us a call at 512-705-0157 for more information.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial interior and exterior home painting, hand washed houses, screens, windows, pressure washed decks, patios and driveways, wood replacement, door refinishing, wallpaper, popcorn ceiling texture removal, wall and ceiling textures, wood restoration and preservation, mold & mildew cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Doug Gorton Professional Painting

    How is Doug Gorton Professional Painting overall rated?

    Doug Gorton Professional Painting is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Doug Gorton Professional Painting open?

    Doug Gorton Professional Painting is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Doug Gorton Professional Painting provide

    Doug Gorton Professional Painting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Doug Gorton Professional Painting offer free estimates?

    Yes, Doug Gorton Professional Painting offers free project estimates.

    Does Doug Gorton Professional Painting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Doug Gorton Professional Painting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Doug Gorton Professional Painting offer a senior discount?

    No, Doug Gorton Professional Painting does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Doug Gorton Professional Painting offer emergency services?

    Yes, Doug Gorton Professional Painting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Doug Gorton Professional Painting?

    Yes, Doug Gorton Professional Painting offers warranties.

    What services does Doug Gorton Professional Painting offer?

    Doug Gorton Professional Painting offers the following services: Residential and commercial interior and exterior home painting, hand washed houses, screens, windows, pressure washed decks, patios and driveways, wood replacement, door refinishing, wallpaper, popcorn ceiling texture removal, wall and ceiling textures, wood restoration and preservation, mold & mildew cleaning.