Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Weed Man - Springfield MA

Founded 1970 • With Angi since May 2007

4.2

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1981 Memorial Dr #280

Chicopee, MA 01020

Description

Local independently owned & operated. Additional DBAs - Weed Man.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
David B.
5.0
09/26/2020
They are good, fair value for the price, and great results.
Description of Work
Lawn fertilizing.
Category
lawn treatment
Brian A.
1.0
05/08/2019
After two weeks they never responded to my quote request through Angie's List and then showed up at my door last night soliciting services. Why advertise here if you don't respond? I won't waste my time with an organization that can't be bothered to respond to their advertisements and then bother me at home after work.
Description of Work
Lawn mowing
Category
lawn treatment
Jeff L.
5.0
08/06/2017
I've been pretty happy with them. They've been very prompt. They've always showed up. I prepaid them for the whole year for everything so there's been no issues at all. Standard operating procedure for them is a certain number of calls that they make based on the program that I purchased but I can call them at any time if I see a problem and they will come right out and take care of it. I don't think that costs anymore I think that's included in the price I paid. They've been very friendly. I get emails from them about general lawn care. They always right up a summary when they come out, what they see, what they think they need to do. They give me a hand written summarization of what happened. I was a little surprised at how inexpensive they were actually. I have a small lot but I thought it was reasonable. I have a problem with a specific weed and that's why I called them I have violets and they are extremely hard to get rid of. If you aren't using professional grade chemicals, it's not going to happen. I've tried to treat them myself with no success so I finally called someone to come out and take care of it because they have better chemicals than I do. It takes a couple of years to get rid of it but I knew that because I did the research.
Description of Work
Pre treatment for grubs.
Category
lawn treatment
Paul D.
4.0
06/07/2017
So far so good.
Description of Work
Lawn fertilization.
Category
lawn treatment
Mina M.
5.0
09/20/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn service
Melissa B.
5.0
12/23/2015
Everything turned out perfect and would use them again. I absolutely love them and would recommend them to others.
Description of Work
I use them for year work and fertilization.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
mike C.
2.0
09/22/2015
Weed man lawn Care is good at lip service and promises, but never delivers on them. I had an aweful experience and would suggest that you look else where for your lawn care needs. They always showed up when they said they would, however the service was awful and did more harm than good.They repeatedly left the gate open. On one occasion, I called and asked for a respray as I was getting weeds. They returned. However instead of spraying the weeds, they sprayed and killed new seedlings in my garden. These experts can't tell the difference between a flower and a weed. On another occasion, during a scheduled treatment, they put down too much and I ended up with dead patches where you could see the places where too much of the product was put down. I called another company and without telling them anything, they reported that too much weed killer was applied. I complained to Weed Man. they came out and said the damage was due to heat. That would be impossible as my lawn sprinklers are on a timer and the lawn is watered everyday. I left an email message to get a quote on airration service. They never responded. I then sent a letter explaining my issues and got a call stating that they never got the email. If that were true, I can understand however, I never did get an estimate, an apology or acknowlgement that they have made mistakes with me. I am sure that in their company response we will read, that they checked their records and will respond as if the situations that I complained about are my fault, and will take no responsiblity for their actions. In short, this company talks a good game, but when it comes to standing by their mission and promises they miss the mark by a mile. The saying the grass is always greener in someone's back yard may be true if they used a company other than Weed Man Lawn Care
Description of Work
Weed Man Lawn Care provided lawn care, to include fertilizing, weed killing etc. 4X per year.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Dawn S.
4.0
06/01/2015
They did all the lawn treatment. They come five times a year.
Description of Work
We used Weed Man for our seasonal lawn care.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Susan S.
5.0
10/30/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Fertilized, seeded, controlled weeds and crabgrass from April-Oct. |We had no complaints....staff was always prompt and courteous. |Since this is our first year having a lawn service, we are happy with the results and could give higher marks once we have another year to compare it to.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
tommy P.
4.0
08/27/2014
They call ahead to make sure I know that they're coming. They're reputable company. Their customer service is excellent.
Description of Work
I use Weed Man.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
William L.
5.0
06/27/2014
unknown
Category
lawn treatment
Scott F.
4.0
01/16/2014
Never used them kept my landscaper, we had a heart to heart
Description of Work
I contacted Weed Man - Springfield MA
Category
lawn service
Joanne S.
1.0
08/12/2013
Awful Lawn looks terrible. They were supposed to aerate and overseed last fall but it was never done. poor communication and no follow-up. they do continue to call about doing additional services. We will not use them next year
Description of Work
responsible for lawn fertilization
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that you've had a bad experience with Weed Man Lawn Care. We take our customer service very seriously and appreciate any information that can help us improve as a company. I checked my records and understand that your aeration and over-seeding was set up for October 10 and after postponing this service at your request were not able to complete it on the follow up date due to irrigation system being shut down for winter. Aerators can damage sprinkler heads. If you'd like to discuss ways to improve your lawn in 2014, we would be more then happy to figure out a plan best for fit your property. We apologize for any miscommunication.
tommy P.
5.0
04/23/2013
They have done a great job. The work has been quality and the health of my yard is very good overall.
Description of Work
They do a five step lawn program for me for lawn fertilization and treatment.
Category
lawn treatment
robert Q.
5.0
01/07/2013
See my othercomments above, they are excellent.
Description of Work
They have been my Lawn Care (fertilizer, chsamicals) for 2 yeasrs. I left ChemLawn, and found these folks. They are excellent, absolutely the best I have ever had (over 30 years I've had a lot of lawn companies. Reasonable in price, excellent service, great product, changed my lawn from bad to green and I've stuck with them because they are so good.
Category
lawn treatment
Diane H.
5.0
07/12/2012
I think they are pretty good. I like them. They are very friendly. If we see weeds on our yard we call them. They'll come back for free and they'll treat weeds as they pop up. I think they're the only place that I've ever heard of that does that. I am very very happy with them!
Description of Work
I have their service every year. I've used them for 5 years now so they come every couple of months. They come in and do something to our lawn. The last time they came in it was 2 months ago. They put pesticides and fertilizers on the lawn. They come on a regular basis. You can also have them if you want them to put down applications for a lime in the fall. If you want them to put down applications for insect control they do that. I have them just for the lawn.
Category
landscaping
Gail M.
5.0
06/07/2012
I stopped using them because I couldn't afford them at the time. They were really good and there wasn't any problems with them. They were good, prompt, and quiet. They didn't leave a mess.
Description of Work
They took care of our lawn.
Category
lawn service
Daniel S.
5.0
01/21/2012
They do a very good job. Overall I have been very satisfied with the services they provide.
Description of Work
I have a contract with them for fertilizer.
Category
landscaping
Yvonne T.
4.0
01/20/2012
They were very good about writing out when they came and calling a day ahead to let us know they would be out.
Description of Work
They do our lawn care application.
Category
lawn treatment
Nonma R.
3.0
06/08/2011
They were very courteous over the phone, but the service was not that great. I still have the same weeds, except for the crab grass.
Description of Work
They were supposed to take out all of the weeds.
Category
lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

The member is a first year customer with our company and we are working very hard to control the weeds. We will continue to treat the weeds at his property throughout the season. As part of our service we offer unlimited free service calls to retreat weeds throughout the season, and after reading this review I will set up a service call for us to retreat the weeds right away. To be fair, it is very difficult to evaluate a lawn care company as a first year customer after just the first half of the season as some weeds do not even germinate until we get warmer temperatures. Again, as the lawn thickens and we continue to treat weeds, weeds should be less and less of a problem over time.
Paul R.
4.0
05/06/2011
It went very well overall.
Description of Work
We purchased lawn fertilizing service for the year. This past week was our first treatment. Very good service and when I mebntioned at work that I was looking for a service provider, several folks reported a multi-year relationship with weedman with high degree of sdatisfaction. The spend price I listed was for the year, not for this treatment. Our yard is appx 1/2 acre
Category
landscaping, lawn treatment
Le M.
1.0
04/28/2011
Poor follow up and follow through. Lot's of promises, but no delivery.
Description of Work
I responded to a person visiting the area. He gave me a quote to aerate my lawn. They quickly responded with business details and processed my credit card payment. Then I waited and waited. No response. When I called to query when they were planning to come since I wanted to put down some fertilizer and seed after the aeration, I was promised they were planning to come that weekend. The day before, they called to cancel but that I would be called "next week". Mid next week I was called to say they were coming next day. Nobody showed next day; no call from them. I called that evening and left a message to give my money back. Next day somebody called, all apologies for the previous day but he would be in the area. My wife called back within 15 minutes and was told he was already out of area. I called that evening and said, be here tomorrow or have my refund postmarked tomorrow. I was told to hold, then told no way tomorrow. I said to send my refund. Will never call them again or recommend them to anyone.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

We have had problems before and assure that situations like this never happen again. I am the current sales and marketing manager and have been with the company for 10 years. I understand things happen and scheduling gets crazy but in all my experience with my company, these situations are few and far between. If you would give us another try, I think he would be very satisfied with how our company delivers quality service.
CHANTAL M.
5.0
05/13/2010
We have used them for 2 years now and have no problems and no weeds!! We used to use Trugreen but they kept overseeding our landscaped beds so we continually had grass growing in them, NOT ANYMORE! Can't thank Weed Man enough for doing there jobs correctly !!!!!
Description of Work
Fertilize Lawn at $ 23 an application.
Category
landscaping, lawn treatment
Mark G.
4.0
05/22/2007
They do a good job. Responsive to inquiries and comments.
Description of Work
Weed and feed of lawn.
Category
landscaping, lawn treatment

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dukes Waste Management & More

    Where customers become friends! Dukes LLC provides residential and commercial services in Western Massachusetts and Northern Connecticut. Dukes LLC provides a variety of services such as: Tree work Junk removal Demolition Snow removal Carpentry Roofing Masonry Pressure washing Home improvement Bobcat service Hauling Grading Landscaping We take pride in providing great service at a fair price. We are proactive to our customers needs. Please give us a call.  

    Angi Certified

    Thacher Lawn Care

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Lawn & Yard services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today! We can do most lawn care tasks this includes leaf removal, mowing services and many other things. Call or message and ask for more information today!  

    Angi Certified

    Kingscapes

    JKing Property Maintenance is a family owned business that wants to give our customers the best possible work we can, because reputation is everything and our customers positive feedback on our work quality is everything! Give us a chance to show you how hard working and professional we are to provide you with the most stress free and smoothest interaction possible! I strive to offer the best services I can, from mulch, landscape design, land clearing and weeding, lawn renovations, and much more! If something isnt perfect or to your liking I will make sure it is! With 10 years of hands on experience in many different trades and skillsets, I guarantee you will be happy with the end result! You will always get what you pay for! Let me be of service to you!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Landscaping, lawn & yard work, fertilization, weed, surface insect, mechanical core aeration, seeding, crabgrass, preventative, mole, nut sedge, aeration, seeding, flea & tick, vegetation, double aeration & white grub control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Weed Man - Springfield MA

    How is Weed Man - Springfield MA overall rated?

    Weed Man - Springfield MA is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Weed Man - Springfield MA open?

    Weed Man - Springfield MA is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Weed Man - Springfield MA provide

    Weed Man - Springfield MA accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Weed Man - Springfield MA offer free estimates?

    Yes, Weed Man - Springfield MA offers free project estimates.

    Does Weed Man - Springfield MA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Weed Man - Springfield MA offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Weed Man - Springfield MA offer a senior discount?

    No, Weed Man - Springfield MA does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Weed Man - Springfield MA?

    No, Weed Man - Springfield MA does not offer warranties.

    What services does Weed Man - Springfield MA offer?

    Weed Man - Springfield MA offers the following services: Landscaping, lawn & yard work, fertilization, weed, surface insect, mechanical core aeration, seeding, crabgrass, preventative, mole, nut sedge, aeration, seeding, flea & tick, vegetation, double aeration & white grub control.