Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Edward J Farrell Surveyor

Founded 1993 • With Angi since July 2003

4.9

(54) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

110 Winn St

Woburn, MA 01801

Description

Full service land surveying. We provide certified plot plans for the purpose of building additions, decks, garages, etc. We also field stake property lines and do construction layout. Topographical surveys and flood certifications also prepared. Competitive prices and friendly service

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Heather C.
5.0
04/01/2021
We bought a house in Malden and wanted to get land surveyed to put up a fence. Edward came recommended from a friend who had their Stoneham property surveyed and was one of the only surveyors that was able to perform the services we needed. Everything was very straight forward—the time estimate he provided was between 4-6 weeks, but his team had everything wrapped up (stakes, markers, and plot plan) to us within 3 weeks. Everything was really easy and smooth!
Description of Work
Land survey
Category
land surveyor
Pat D.
3.0
06/05/2018
Would not recommend to anyone or hire again. The owner did not do the survey. Two of his relatives did and they could not answer my questions. I felt that they did not know exactly what to do to measure the land.
Description of Work
survey property
Category
land surveyor

Service Provider Response

I beg to differ, but I personally review every project that goes through my office. I may not personally go to every job but my guys bring their data back to me and from there I tell them what to do. Also, those my only 2 employees and have a combined 30 years of surveying experience. I calculate every plan going out of my office, to say that I did not perform the survey is just totally false. my stamp and signature are on every plan I draw.
Andy T.
1.0
02/26/2018
Never got a call or email. How can I answer yes or no to Would I hire again if I never used the firm?
Description of Work
survey of a private residence
Category
land surveyor
Matthew O.
5.0
02/05/2018
The survey was completed in a timely manner and drawing was sent to me when everything was finished. Ed was very professional and did the job asked in a timely manner. I would use Ed going forward for any of my survey needs.
Description of Work
Property Plot Plan
Category
land surveyor
Jeff C.
5.0
01/23/2018
Work was done to my expectations. They were on site for 2 days and everything was very smooth.
Description of Work
Survey work to address property line dispute.
Category
land surveyor
Valerie O.
5.0
01/08/2018
It went WONDERFUL. His team was fast and I received all of my documentation quickly. I would HIGHLY recommend.
Description of Work
Needed my land measured for a fence
Category
land surveyor
Zachary R.
5.0
12/21/2017
It went very smoothly and I wish I had done it sooner. They are the most reasonably priced and I should have done it sooner. We landscaped our yard and had a hard time with the boundaries and needed the landscaper to move something they put down.
Description of Work
Survey for a fence
Category
land surveyor
peter M.
5.0
11/09/2017
Very professional, provided lots of documentation of survey and answered all questions. Reasonably priced. I would definitely hire him again if needed and have highly recommended him to several friends.
Description of Work
Did survey for my home.
Category
land surveyor
Kathleen C.
5.0
09/03/2017
Ed was very helpful and got the job done!
Description of Work
I needed to have my lot surveyed in order to obtain a permit for a deck.
Category
land surveyor
Benjamin H.
5.0
08/23/2017
Perfect. Would happily refer to everyone.
Description of Work
Land Survey
Category
land surveyor
Jurgen M.
5.0
08/08/2017
Excellent service. Took a while due to missing markers but we were not under any time constraints.
Description of Work
Survey of two adjacent lots.
Category
land surveyor
Kristin S.
5.0
06/11/2017
Ed was extremely responsive and got my plan done when he promised and helped out with last minute needs. He was very clear about what he could and could not do up front. I would definitely recommend him to a friend.
Description of Work
Needed a surveyed plot plan and a construction plot plan.
Category
land surveyor
John B.
5.0
06/03/2017
The survey process was excellent, the survey crew was prompt and professional, and the survey uncovered several surprises. The biggest surprise was learning that on one side of our property we have an easement of which we were totally unaware and which was not disclosed by the seller when we purchased the property. In fact, the prior owner indicated on the disclosure form that there were no easements and. for some reason, our attorney was either unaware of this or did not point it out. In respect to cost, Ed Farrel's price was the lowest of four companies that quoted this project, and I would highly recommend him to anyone requiring a land survey.
Description of Work
Needed my residential property surveyed prior to installing a fence along the rear property line.
Category
land surveyor
Daniel O.
5.0
05/11/2017
Mr. Farrell did a great job at a very reasonable cost. Very professional.
Description of Work
Plot Plan for my property.
Category
land surveyor
Daniel O.
5.0
04/10/2017
Excellent work at a very fair price.
Description of Work
I had my lot surveyed and a plot plan developed.
Category
land surveyor
Alicia H.
5.0
11/11/2016
I bought a home last year that was surveyed by the previous home owner. They used Edward Farrell's services. Since we've been at the house, our neighbor installed a fence on what I thought was our property. I called Edward about the surveyed land and he was at the house within 5 mins to walk-through the plotting. Again, months later, I called to purchase copies of the plotting for us to complete our own fencing and he offered to send them for free! Edward has been nothing but helpful, professional and friendly since we reached out to him. I would recommend his services to anyone. If we ever need surveying services in the future, we will be sure to use him.
Description of Work
Provided consultation and plot copies
Category
land surveyor
Susan H.
1.0
08/16/2016
Never got back to me after we spoke on the phone.
Description of Work
Boundry survey
Category
land surveyor
EDWARD D.
5.0
07/11/2016
Ed was very responsive in a difficult, dispute-related situation. He performed the work professionally and without being intrusive. He also promptly followed up on the work when surveyor stakes were removed by an adversarial neighbor. I would highly recommend his services.
Description of Work
General and topgraphical survey of a large property (land + residence)
Category
land surveyor
EDWARD D.
5.0
07/11/2016
Ed did the survey three times at our request. He was very responsive.
Description of Work
survey of large unfenced yard - including land elevation survey
Category
land surveyor
Anne Marie L.
5.0
06/22/2016
Excellent service. Mr. Farrell was knowledgeable, professional and detail orientated. He was available via email to answer any question. I would recommend his services to others.
Description of Work
Professional land surveying services for instrument survey, plot plan and stakeout.
Category
land surveyor
Sandra H.
5.0
05/31/2015
Ed was extremely professional and the price was very reasonable . Our land was properly surveyed and the plot plan was sent to us . We now had everything needed to satisfy Town hall to obtain our permit for the kitchen extension. We would highly recommended Ed Farrell
Description of Work
We wanted to extend out kitchen which meant pushing out a wall. To obtain a permit for the work Town Hall required a survey of our property . We called several companies and since the area we live in was hard to survey something with no original markers being added we could not find anyone willing to take on our project . Until we called Ed, he explained how difficult our area was and that he would be willing to take it on
Category
land surveyor
Timothy C.
5.0
04/25/2015
First, let me say that I live in Burlington, MA where a surveyor named Douglas Forbes messed up everything in the area in the 1950's. Unfortunately, this make determining your property lines very difficult. I contacted Ed about getting a plot plan and getting the yard staked out so I can get a fence installed. Ed told me from the beginning that the area was very difficult and it would take some time a research but he wrote me a proposal anyway. I contacted another surveyor in the area who was not willing to even give me a proposal. He said that it would be a 3 phase process and just expected me to keep writing checks. Needless to say, I went with Ed Farrell. Ed finished up the survey and did a great job. I actually lost square footage, but I was prepared for that because of the terrible surveys in this area. So, I would think that it is rare to see someone so happy about about paying to lose square footage on their property. But, now I feel confident in putting up a fence without fear of placing it on the wrong property or against code in some way. Even though it took some time to get through the research and find accurate monuments in the area to use, Ed kept me appraised of where he was in the process. If I ever had any questions he got back to me quickly and professionally. I really appreciate him taking on the challenge and I am even more happy to have an accurate, certified plot plan for my home.
Description of Work
Site survey, plot plan, lot stakes, and corner iron bar installation.
Category
land surveyor
Laura T.
5.0
04/09/2015
Ed was responsive to my request for a proposal. His cost was very competitive. He started work when he said he would and was communicative throughout the process. The results he provided indicated that a neighbor had encroached significantly on my property. Ed's results were verified by my neighbor's own property survey, performed by another vendor. I was very pleased with Ed's service and the quality of his work. It was worth every penny for me to engage his services because I was able to get my land back and I did not have any nasty surprises after I paid for a new fence.
Description of Work
Prior to putting a new fence in I asked Ed to provide a property survey, including performing research at City Hall and putting in stakes and capped iron rods to indicate property lines.
Category
land surveyor
Kimberley T.
5.0
01/30/2015
Excellent. Very precise and detail-oriented.
Description of Work
Certified plot plan with capped iron rod property stakes.
Category
land surveyor
Mike C.
5.0
12/27/2014
I needed a land survey for the addition of a garage. I highly recommend Ed Farrell to anyone looking for a land surveyor. Ed was very professional throughout the process. Every time I placed a phone call or sent an email it was answered promptly. Ed's crew came out when he said they would. I'm impressed on how quickly the survey was completed and sent out. Also, it should be noted that Ed offered the best price that I received for my particular job. I would use Ed Farrell again in the future and recommend him to family and friends.
Description of Work
Land Survey
Category
land surveyor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Merrimack Engineering Services

    Welcome to Merrimack Engineering Services Experience and commitment to excellence are the building blocks that have helped us achieve a stable, prominent presence in the Merrimack Valley. Count on our dedicated team of Land Survey, Civil Engineering and Environmental Consulting professionals to devise plans or offer solutions to your specific problems. We have consistently met the demands of a wide range of commercial, industrial and residential clients including national developers, contractors and architects. We are able to integrate all of our technical expertise to ensure that project parameters meet the exact specifications of our clients as well as meet the strict standards of all local, state and federal agencies. We welcome the opportunity to be of service and hope to add you to the growing number of satisfied clients we have helped over the 35 years we have been serving the community.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Land surveying.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Edward J Farrell Surveyor

    How is Edward J Farrell Surveyor overall rated?

    Edward J Farrell Surveyor is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Edward J Farrell Surveyor open?

    Edward J Farrell Surveyor is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Edward J Farrell Surveyor provide

    Edward J Farrell Surveyor accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Edward J Farrell Surveyor offer free estimates?

    Yes, Edward J Farrell Surveyor offers free project estimates.

    Does Edward J Farrell Surveyor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Edward J Farrell Surveyor does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Edward J Farrell Surveyor offer a senior discount?

    No, Edward J Farrell Surveyor does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Edward J Farrell Surveyor?

    No, Edward J Farrell Surveyor does not offer warranties.

    What services does Edward J Farrell Surveyor offer?

    Edward J Farrell Surveyor offers the following services: Land surveying.