Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Mother Construction

About

Founded 1994 • With Angi since March 2014

Mother Construction is a female-owned and run organization that provides design, engineering, and build services to both residential and commercial clients. Mother Construction was founded and is run by Lori Bovarnick, a Massachusetts-licensed Construction Supervisor and proud mom to three great college-age children. An entrepreneur at heart with a background and education in design, Lori noticed there weren’t many companies out there that took construction, design, timeliness, and budget-friendliness into consideration from the start of every project. And that’s how Mother Construction was born—with all of those things, all under one roof. Today, with several trusted crews, we deliver years of design and management experience with a personal touch. We do everything from new home development, to kitchen and bath remodels, to additions, to damage repairs from water, fire, or natural causes for hundreds of happy clients in the greater Boston area. Get in touch for a quote, a question, or really anything. No job is too small. We’ll be sure to make sure you're taken care of every step of the way....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(45) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

40

4

0

3

1

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

interior painting (21)home remodeling (19)electrician (9)plumbers (7)woodworking (6)window replacement (5)masonry (5)decks & porches (5)home builder (4)roofing (4)hardwood floors (4)siding companies (3)
Showing 1-25 of 45 reviews
1.0

06/14/2022


David G.

Lori seemed eager to do the job and said she would send an estimate the next week. The estimate did not arrive, and she did not respond to email or phone messages, and there was no answer at the office phone number. I tried calling again the following week, and on the second try she answered the phone. She apologized for the delay and said she would definitely send me the estimate within two days. It is now eight days later and I have still heard nothing. I have left phone messages, email messages, and a text message, none of which have been answered.

Description of Work
Restoration of basement and garage walls and ceilings after repair of termite damage, and repair of front stoop.

Category masonry, replacement windows, interior painters, basement remodeling

Work Completed On 06/14/2022

5.0

01/02/2022


Maura Jane G.

My project was extensive, inside and outside, and I needed it completed in a short period of time to meet a deadline. Lori and her team were excellent from start to finish. Lori was encouraging of what I needed to accomplish, creative, and inspiring. Her Contract Supervisor - Jim and Carpenter- Vito were extraordinarily talented, committed to quality in every detail, and easy to work with. The entire construction team were professional, courteous and conscientious. Their quality of workmanship and materials was outstanding. We did finish on time, and I am very pleased with my results. I am very appreciative to Lori, Jim, Vito and all the team. I will call on Mother Construction again.

Description of Work
HVAC installation; water damage repair; plastering and painting; hardwood floor repair; - Masonry - patio and walkway installation; beautiful new Deck and gorgeous new Shed

Category decks, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]. Thank you SO much for the beautiful comments and we are so happy to hear that you were so happy and we all enjoyed abs loved working with you to make everything perfect! Please stay in touch and if you ever need anything at all we are always here to help! Happy and heathy New Year and hope it is a great year:). Lori
1.0

07/28/2021


Te L.

After the first and the only meeting discussing the project and being told that I would get an estimate the mid of the following week. But the estimate never come in about a month long now: I have left a phone message on their phoneline and a quotation request reminder directly on their website during these time. There is nothing coming back from them! There is no trust left for this company.

Description of Work
2nd floor addition

Category home builders

Work Completed On 06/30/2021

5.0

06/16/2021


Elizabeth G.

Lori, Amanda and their team were excellent from start to finish. Lori worked within our budget to give us a gorgeous new kitchen that is even better than we imagined at the start. It's gorgeous. Lori is so kind, helpful, professional, and she has such a great team around her. Amanda, Kim and Jonathan were an integral part along the way and were there for anything we needed. We are so appreciative to Lori for everything, and we are already planning our next project with Mother Construction. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Kitchen renovation

Category hardwood floor, interior designers, remodeling, interior painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review, we look forward to working with you again.
2.0

06/15/2021


Meg A.

Previous review could have been written by us as we had the same issues with the sub contractor and Mother Construction. We signed our contract 8/25/2020, initial deposit 9/3/2020 and just wrote our final check 6/17/2021. Cost was higher than we expected due to skyrocketing cost during covid but the process was long and arduous. The permitting through our town supposedly took 3-4 months, don’t know for sure since we never saw the permit. Took another month before demo then another month before construction started. Sub (1 person) arrived late morning if he even showed, left for several hours to pick up supplies then would leave by 6pm. Maybe 3-4 hours of work a day. We spent hundreds of dollars to put our dogs in daycare during this time only to not have anyone show up. The construction supervisor was asked for a schedule at least 10 times as we had 5 adults (3 working from home) and 2 dogs living here and needed to know when work was being done. None was ever provided. No construction design was ever provided for contractors, we had to tell whoever came what the layout should be. Lack of communication was a huge issue. After 9 weeks only rough electrical and rough plumbing done. After much complaining and a letter to the owner (which was never directly responded to) the sub and construction manager were fired and another crew brought in. These folks competed almost everything in 2 weeks. It took another 2 1/2 months to get 3 punch list items completed. In addition, the designer promised to be with us “every step of the way” never set foot in our house after measuring early on in the process and the construction supervisor was fired after most of the construction was completed. We had multiple leaks too. First was after demo (the tub/shower valve not closed off causing several leaks onto kitchen ceiling), initial sub dropped the tub in, broke pipe and did not hook up properly flooding our kitchen, and during tiling a pipe was bumped causing leaking on our living room ceiling. We also had a dumpster in our driveway for over 16 weeks. I’m giving them 2 stars because the final result was amazing but the construction process took far too long and had too many issues.

Description of Work
Remodel guest bathroom and add master bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $63,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] we completely understand your frustration, we feel the same. We only hire quality subcontractors to work with us and Sean Babischkin turned out to be far from that. Once we recognized the situation we immediately took corrective action and fired Sean and our lead on your job and brought in an A team to correct the situation and make it right. Quality work and satisfied customers are what we are all about and will always go the extra mile to make a customer happy. The project did go over budget due to your selections but that wasn’t due to us at all. We know you are very happy with the outcome, it just took a bit longer to get there. The reason as you know it look longer to complete your 3 item punch list was because the mirror from Ferguson Enterprises came out of the box damaged in front of you, we then reordered it via two different routes to try and get it quicker for you so we could take care of it all at once. We also provided you a free master bedroom of paint to compensate for the delays. Things always happen in construction and other businesses it’s not the problem it’s how the company responds and we feel we tried to take care of you here. We are more than happy to discuss further if there is anything else we can do for you.
3.0

05/12/2021


Cole S.

Job: Master Bathroom Rebuild (roughly 5’x8’; mold damage) Cost: ~$19k Deposit Date: 9/23 Demo Start Date: 1/7 Final Construction: 4/6 Final Inspection: ???? Pros: -Good tile work -Commitment to re-doing steps and correcting problems in construction -Replaced damaged shower kit at contractor cost -Mother internal work crews seem high quality Cons: -Pitched a smooth, professional process that wasn’t at all -Sub-contracted job to inexperienced crew that conducted a horrible build -Achieved no target dates -Did not effectively oversee sub-contracted crew or catch significant build errors/delays -Multiple lines of communication made project clarity difficult -Bathroom project predicted at 3 week build took 3 months with multiple stoppages Our bathroom rebuild was a small master bath that needed a complete renovation due to black mold that was discovered from underneath in the garage. The previous owner-installed shower system was leaking around seals for years. No major relocation of fixtures, plumbing, shower, toilet, etc. Mother was at the higher end at our estimates, but sold us through the consistent assurances of a painless and professional process, and the pledge that once the project started, crews would not leave until completed. After a three month delay due to town permitting and materials acquisition, Mother then sub-contracted the work to a team they don’t usually work with. We weren’t aware of this until late in the project when it really left the rails. The promised professional process was anything but. The crew conducted demo with no dust control, workers wore inadequate COVID masking (if they wore it at all), hours on site were unpredictable and inconsistent (and not the contracted 8 hours for work day), and there were often days-long gaps within the job. Sometimes these were predictable because of needing to order extra materials, or worker illness, or weather issues. But many were not. There were also significant pieces of the build—shower installations especially—that required me to reach out and insist on complete re-installations or to alert management of an unknown installation about to happen. Near the end of the project it became clear that the sub-contracted site manager had been lying to both client (us) and Mother Construction about the nature and pace of the progress (and I had only seen him on-site twice in 7 weeks). Mother then terminated that team for the remaining weeks of the build and assigned members of their full-time crews to finish the project. There was a decisive shift in quality of construction and COVID precautions when it switched to Mother’s main crews. Their shower door specialists, plumbers, and primary contractors were fantastic. So some bottom lines: (1) We like our bathroom and the finished product is what we wanted at the outset. (2) It seems obvious that many of the problems stemmed from the sub-contracted group who was doing poor work on site and lying to Mother about the pace and quality of the projects. (3) There were times we voiced our displeasure with the teams to management, and earlier steps weren’t taken to rectify the problems until the team termination and change at the very end. (4) The main reason we chose Mother over other outfits was entirely their commitment and promises about the process, and the company sub-contracted the work out to a poor crew and they failed to deliver, and in a painful 3-month process. We don’t bear any personal ill will toward upper level Mother management and operations overseers. They’re responding to a market driven to crazy places right now with low interest rates and everyone begging for renovation projects. And they had a sub-contracted team that lied to them. So we understand those difficult tensions and the pull for taking on new business. But they did also sub-contract out a job, and thus took on a risk for which we all ended up paying a price. I wouldn’t be surprised if Mother lost money on our project by the end based upon the number of fixes and re-dos. On the one hand, if a client could get a guaranteed assurance from Mother that the work would be conducted by their primary teams, I’d imagine that project could get closer to what Mother promises. On the other hand, Mother personnel admitted that over 20 projects were being conducted at once during our project, and that surely contributed to the decision to pass off our (simpler) project. Mother seems to be taking on more jobs than their internal work crews can manage such that they have to rely on other teams to complete simpler jobs, and they didn’t deliver on their assurances. So I don’t know if there is a scenario where we’d consider going with Mother on another house project.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category water damage restoration, home remodeling

Cost $19,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2021

Images

Review for Mother Construction - PO Box 883, Needham, MA - 39328665

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] we completely understand your frustration, we feel the same. We only hire quality subcontractors to work with us and Sean Babischkin turned out to be far from that. Once we recognized the situation we immediately took corrective action and fired Sean and our lead on your job and brought in an A team to correct the situation and make it right. Quality work and satisfied customers are what we are all about and will always go the extra mile to make a customer happy. We know you are very happy with the outcome, it just took a bit longer to get there. We are more than happy to discuss further if there is anything else we can do for you. We k
5.0

02/14/2021


Kayla M.

Mother construction blew me away!! They did an amazing job and I would definitely hire them again. The staff is so pleasant and reliable. The work is fantastic. Communication was a breeze. If you are in the market for any kind of remodel, I’d highly recommend them! Even during these COVID times, they respected my wishes and did the job in just a few days. I couldn’t be happier! Thank you Mother construction team!!!

Description of Work
renovation work

Category remodeling

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to work with you. Please reach out should you have any other projects we can help you with in the future. Thanks!
5.0

01/12/2021


Tammy H.

Went well. My first time working with a contractor on a project like this; so don’t really have anything to compare it to. Had bathroom gutted, a closet converted to a laundry area, and kitchen floor replaced. We are very happy with the end result. The job took longer than we had hoped - I suspect that every remodel job takes longer than first planned. We have recommended Mother Construction to others and would hire them again. Laurie & Erin were always responsive, when I reached out with questions or concerns.

Description of Work
bathroom, laundry, kitchen area

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to work with you. Please reach out should you have any other projects we can help you with in the future. Thanks!
5.0

12/21/2020


Kimberly W.

Lori and her people were excellent. She is very easy to talk to and really listens to what you want. They were professional and conscientious. Always cleaned after that day’s work. The project manager always told me exactly what was going on and was concerned about what I thought. She always checked in to see if I had any questions or concerns about the project. And their work is impeccable.

Description of Work
Remodeling

Category decks, flooring contractor, interior designers, masonry, plumbing, wallpaper, window treatments, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]. It was such a pleasure to work with you and I know that you have more projects in the future and we are very excited to be able to work together again!! Stay in touch
5.0

11/16/2020


Davd F.

AMAZING!!! The results were impeccable. We never could have imagined our house would look this nice! Attention to detail and professionalism from start to finish.

Description of Work
New siding, trim, gutters, painting, roofing, railings

Category decks, gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, siding, woodworking, house painters

Cost $56,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to write us a beautiful review! We really enjoyed working with you guys and hope that we can help you soon with another fun project!! Lori and Howard
5.0

11/09/2020


Chad J.

I hired Mother Construction and Erin Hayes, the project manager, came over the next day to check out the scope of work. I needed everything done in an impossible timeline in order to sell my house but Erin made it all happen in about 2 weeks. They painted the cabinets, added a beautiful new countertop and flooring that went perfectly with the changes. I let Erin handle all of the color/materail choices and she did not disappoint. I was able to get my house sold and the work they did added a lot to the value of the house. I would hire them again in a second!

Description of Work
Cabinets needed to be painted and repaired. New countertops added and a new floor.

Category flooring contractor, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $10,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

Images

Review for Mother Construction - PO Box 883, Needham, MA - 39011743

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed]. We really enjoyed working with you and are so glad that all went well and we look forward to working with you again in the future for other projects! Thank you again and best of luck on your new home:).
5.0

10/20/2020


Casey M.

Lori and her team did exceptional work for us on our kitchen and bath remodel. We were so happy with the work they all did we hired them again to remodel our upstairs bedrooms and bathroom. Her crews and staff are professional, reliable and well-trained. They responded to our needs and were as efficient as possible despite the pandemic during the middle of our remodel. They continued to keep us up-to-date on changes and they were responsive to what we envisioned the final project to be. Everyone that has stepped foot into our new kitchen and living room has said the same thing "It looks like it's out of a magazine!" It's beautiful, yet functional for our family. Deraldo, Lyo, and the design staff that Lori has hired truly shows the pride she puts into her company and business. We cannot recommend Lori and Mother Construction enough. Thank you for helping to make our home remodel dreams come true.

Description of Work
Total Renovation

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you SO much fro your beautiful review. We had such a great time working with you and [Member Name Removed]!! Your house came out so beautiful and clean! It was so so so much fun working with you both and we will all truly MISS working with you now that we completed your house LOL!!! Thanks again for taking your time to write this review it really means a lot to us
5.0

08/19/2020


Barry S.

Project came out very well. We are very pleased with how the remodel turned out. Quality of work very good and did a very good job during difficult Covid times. Kept us updated weekly on progress and worked with us regarding design questions.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, paint , window installation

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2020

5.0

08/12/2020


Erika S.

Very quick, efficient and clean execution of the job, Professional communication to contractor and professional workers on site. The job was done within one day.

Description of Work
Take old roof off and make new roof

Category roofing, home builders

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

1.0

02/04/2020


Dilly W.

We had an appointment and they were a no call no show. I called and emailed and still did not hear anything back. Very unprofessional!

Description of Work
No they did not come

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Work Completed On 02/04/2020

Service Provider Response

I am very sorry you feel this way, but we had been in touch and communicating with you from the beginning. I am very sorry I missed our meeting, but as we mentioned my dad had a cardiac arrest in Florida while on vacation and we left on a 5:00 am flight that morning to be with him and my mom. This as you can imagine was beyond our control. We are VERY communicative and have been with you if you read our text chain but when a family emergency comes up like this it is hard to think as you can imagine. We have communicated with you hours after we landed in Florida. We offered to reschedule right away upon our return to Boston. We do not feel this rating is at all warranted or fair and would hope that you choose to remove it. Family is important to us as are our clients and we are more than happy to still help you with your upcoming project and hope that you can understand. Thank you Lori
5.0

12/17/2019


Mike L.

Excellent. This company is fantastic to work with. They followed through on all their work providing excellent labor and materials. They are responsive to your concerns and made helpful recommendations to get the best possible work completed at the best possible price. Highly recommend them for all your construction projects. They are the best and Lori is amazing to work with. They work tirelessly to make sure the customer is satisfied with the work.

Description of Work
Major renovations to interior of home

Category electrician, hardwood floor, interior designers, remodeling, water damage restoration, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, we would love to work with you again! Lori
5.0

12/10/2019


Rebecca G.

Mother Construction really was a pleasure to work with. There were a couple of minor stumbling blocks but overall, Lori and her team were able to get us into our house almost on time (couple days later than we had planned but there may have been a miscommunication there). Once the miscommunication was discovered she and her subs worked hard to make sure we and the movers were able to get in when we needed to. Marcos (painter) and Lucas (floors, stairs, tub) were excellent to work with and their work is fantastic!

Description of Work
Floors replaced, interior painting, bathtub replacement

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, interior painters

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, we would love to work with you again! Lori
5.0

08/06/2019


Henky E.

We experienced a kitchen fire about 3 years ago which requires us to gut the entire kitchen, it was a journey. We originally dealt with a DIFFERENT contractor assigned by the insurance company which was a huge pain to deal with. HOWEVER, We're so lucky that they subcontracted the work to Lori. Lori's team was very professional and very good at what they do. They were very meticulous during the entire remodeling from kitchen cabinet installation, wood floor replacement, new plumbing and electrical. Even though we experienced multiple hiccups (delays due to broken & wrong cabinet) with the cabinet company, her team was very understanding and did accomodate the schedule changes. Overall, we're extremely satisfied with our kitchen. It looks AMAAAAAZING Fast forward to 2019, we're starting our bathroom remodeling project and we're hoping to be able to work with Lori and her team again.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Remodeling

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2017

Images

Review for Mother Construction - PO Box 883, Needham, MA - 38027649

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, we would love to work with you again! Lori
5.0

07/31/2019


Christina B.

It went great! The new bathroom is gorgeous.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2019

Images

Review for Mother Construction - PO Box 883, Needham, MA - 38016873

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, we would love to work with you again! Lori
5.0

07/16/2019


varda C.

I needed various works to be done in a short period of time. Lori walked me through the multiple tasks with professionalism and much support. Her teams were excellent and I could not believe that all works were performed in a week, even tough it was a holiday week! I seriously consider hiring Mother Construction for a much bigger project and count on Lori's expertise and friendliness to guide me through.

Description of Work
painting, roof repair, air-conditioning repair, carpentry

Category decks, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, we would love to work with you again! Lori
5.0

06/27/2019


Carol P.

Lori was so professional when we met her. She gave us a quote right away and started the job as soon as we agreed on everything. The painters are the most professional and perfectionist painters I have ever had, you can't see any imperfection. The hardwood floor guy was so so good, the floors came out amazing. There was so minor electrical work but it was done pretty quickly and correctly. Lori picked up all the paint colors as well as the stain for the hardwood floors, everything came out incredible. My house looks like a brand new home. I love it. I definitively recommend her and her crew.

Description of Work
Paint a 3000sf house, refinish and stain hardwood floors and some electrical

Category electrician, hardwood floor, interior designers, remodeling, water damage restoration, interior painters

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2019

Images

Review for Mother Construction - PO Box 883, Needham, MA - 37978857

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review, we would love to work with you again! Lori
5.0

06/12/2019


Marwood C.

Excellent. Lori is a total professional, easy to work with and responsive to needs. She worked with me to renovate an old house I purchased. Her foreman and crew were also easy to work with and very professional, responsive to needs or concerns. The job was completed without any holdups and I am very happy with the quality of work. I am planning to work with Lori on another house remodel which will be happening this year. This remodel will be the addition of a 2 car garage with master suite above. I highly recommend Lori / Mother Construction to anyone looking to get work done.

Description of Work
Outside Shingle replacement, upper and lower deck replacement, masonry work front and rear stairs, roofing work, bathroom gutting, window movement, basement stairs replacement,

Category decks, electrician, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2019