Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SACRED SPACE GARDENS

Founded 1995 • With Angi since October 2005

4.5

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1730 47TH AVE

San Francisco, CA 94122

Description

Since 1995, we’ve designed, built and maintained beautiful gardens within the San Francisco Bay Area. We understand that every garden area is unique. Designing from this viewpoint, we meld experience, intuition and ideas with your needs using feng shui principles to harmonize landscape features

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Julie S.
5.0
02/16/2018
Whenever I hire a professional to work on my house, I'm filled with trepidation. We've all heard the horror stories about jobs that, after they're started, are extended so much that they go weeks or even months past the agreed-upon deadline; about workers who are disrespectful; about corners being cut; about shoddy workmanship; and about owners not understanding the vision the customer has in mind, and/or the end product not resembling that vision. Sacred Space Gardens allayed all those fears, and proved to be one of the best companies we've ever worked with. Chris - who is always on time - met with us a few times to hear about our ideas and commit them to paper. He suggested a flagstone patio, a surrounding stone seating wall, a wooden pergola-like frame to replace the one being torn down, a flagstone reading area, artificial turf for our dog, multiple varieties of plants, a number of pathways, a drip/sprinkler system, and a nighttime lighting system. We took virtually all of his suggestions and hired him without even talking to anyone else. The two workers from Sacred Space Gardens (Lobsang [the construction manager] and Mr. Salvador), fixtures in our yard for many weeks, were a dream. I sort of miss them. They were friendly and professional, got along with each other famously, were always on time, worked incredibly hard, and cut no corners. Everything they did was artistic and rock-solid. We've rarely seen such knowledgeable attention to detail. They were also, by the way, very strong. Because there is no long, straight way to transport things from the garage into the backyard, they had to hand-carry everything, including dozens and dozens of heavy cement bags, one at a time through our downstairs hallway and laundry room. The schedule did run a couple of weeks long, but it was in no way anyone's fault. We had some unforeseen problems, including rain delays, and our soil turned out to be so riddled with rock that Lobsang and Mr. Salvador had to drill away at the rock for days in order to prepare the soil for planting. In the end, our yard turned out to be much more beautiful than we ever imagined. The patios, the stonework, the plants, and even our dog's area are stunning. We feel like we're in Paradise out there. Now I need to go stare at the yard for an hour, because that's what I continue to do on a regular basis.
Description of Work
We have a standard-size Inner Parkside backyard that, until a few months ago, was a "yard" in name only. It contained only a completely overgrown mass of weeds and a small wooden gazebo-like frame that was too short for anyone to stand beneath. After many years of hemming and hawing, and based on recommendations from neighbors on Nextdoor, we finally hired Chris at Sacred Space Gardens to help us. We had a vision but no details. We knew that we wanted the weeds and a diseased tree removed and replaced with low-maintenance plants; we wanted a full patio; we needed the wooden structure taken down; we envisioned a small side patio in a warm spot of the yard for reading; and we hoped for a tiny area in which our small dog could do his business.
Category
decks, landscaping, lawn service, tree service, hardscaping
Louis K.
5.0
05/31/2012
The planting and upgrade to water system is very satisfactory. Communication with Sacred Space personal is great. They are providing monthly servicing to my gardens. The price is higher than other but based from my past experience using two different landscapers, it is well worth it. I loved working with Chris deciding what needed to be done. There was no sales pressure. He is very knowledgeable and strives to provide exemplary service.
Description of Work
Chris came out and gave an estimate of the work to be done. He suggested plants and suggested an upgrade to my automatic watering system. All work was done in a timely matter. The planting and upgrade to water system is very satisfactory. Communication with Sacred Space personal is great. They are providing monthly servicing to my gardens. The price is higher than other but based from my past experience using two different landscapers, it is well worth it.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member! We appreciate your kind words and positive review very much.
Jaye S.
5.0
10/28/2010
We are delighted with the results! Christopher's ideas transformed a yard that I was very unhappy with to one that I'm in love with! The back yard/garden now looks like a zen garden! It is gorgeous during the day and night. Christopher and his team were also a pleasure to work with. They were professional. prompt, flexible, and cleaned up after themselves each day. I also want to commend Christopher for his willingness to go the extra yard to find affordable solutions that I would be happy with.
Description of Work
SSG provided hardscape, landscape, lighting and water feature work to modify an existing landscaped yard. We converted part of our back patio to a "doggie relief area" so our dogs could use the back yard for bathroom breaks. They also removed an existing ugly water feature and changed it to a lovely urn water feature. They added some plants/shrubs to fill in existing landscape design, and replaced/rearranged existing lighting features.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
CINDY R.
5.0
09/23/2010
I spent $12000 on the job. The man, who runs the company, is very nice. He listens to me. He is polite and courteous. He knows his job. He did a very nice job. His crew was quiet, hardworking, and polite. His maintenance team was very good. I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I recently used Sacred Space Gardens for landscaping and irrigation.
Category
lawn service, irrigation systems
Larry A.
3.0
09/09/2010
I thought that he was really terrific but his follow-through was lacking. He didn?t get it to me when he said it would and I had to nag him for it and it still came a couple days later. On the basis of him not meeting time commitments I decided I did not want to do business with him. He was punctual for the appointment we made.
Description of Work
Sacred Space Gardens gave me a proposal for redoing the landscaping in the back of my house.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We are so sorry you weren't satisfied! While we are unable to speak to the specifics of your experience here, we will say that Chris, our lead designer, often works on time sensitive projects and takes deadlines extremely seriously. Thank you for telling us so we can improve our service.
Monica C.
2.0
07/15/2010
We hired to maintain our backyard lawn and planters. They were responsive to get us onboard but after the first visit we noticed something was off. They moved our lawn furniture and never placed it back. After each visit they would just keep doing the same thing moving things to clean up weeks and not putting them back were they were. In addition the planters were so overgrown they were covering half the side walk. We called and asked for a trim again they came out but it was a terrible job. Just half done unfortunately. We have busy lives and have little time to micromanage every visit so it was disappointing that even with our small needs a lot of things were left undone or half done.
Description of Work
We hired to maintain our backyard lawn and planters. They were responsive to get us onboard but after the first visit we noticed something was off. They moved our lawn furniture and never placed it back. After each visit they would just keep doing the same thing moving things to clean up weeks and not putting them back were they were. In addition the planters were so overgrown they were covering half the side walk. We called and asked for a trim again they came out but it was a terrible job. Just half done unfortunately. We have busy lives and have little time to micromanage every visit so it was disappointing that even with our small needs a lot of things were left undone or half done.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Our head gardener and maintenance crew work with hundreds of gardens throughout the Bay Area on a regular basis, and we often deal with special requests regarding gates, patio furniture,etc. Our clients' trust is our number one priority and the majority of our maintenance clients have been with us for years! In order to keep plants properly maintained we work with a client to discuss what kind of schedule best suits their garden, this is crucial in order to have an enjoyable space both to look at and enjoy, entertain in. Our best referrals come from neighbors of our regular clients, who love what they see and want us to do the same for them.
HEATHER T.
5.0
06/26/2010
I met Christopher and he understood what I wanted so well that I accepted his first design immediately. I was very particular about what I wanted for a fence, and Sacred Space listened and built exactly what I wanted. I was more vague about the fountain, but they understood my taste and created a wonderful fountain and stairs that were perfect for me. They started work immediately and worked diligently. Mike, who was the primary person on my job, was terrific and thorough. Each day the workers left their things stacked neatly in the garage. The thoroughness and professionalism was amazing, and although this wasn't the cheapest project, it was worth every penny. Everyone who sees the new yard agrees -- an amazing transformation and thorough, friendly, professional experience. I recommend Sacred Space without reservation.
Description of Work
Sacred Space pulled all of the existing hardscape, plants and most trees out of my backyard. They designed and built two retaining walls, two fences, two stairways, a deck, brick steps, a brick patio, a fountain and put in all new plants, stone work and an irrigation system.
Category
decks, fencing, landscaping, tree service, hardscaping
STEPHEN W.
3.0
06/17/2010
Called Sacred Space Gardens and scheduled an appointment to have a free estimate for our lighting project. Date and time were set. Got a message from Chris Hurley saying he wanted to get more details on our project. Called back a few times and only got his office manager. A week later, I got a message from his office manager saying Chris wanted 380 dollars to come to the peninsula to give an estimate and look at the project, of which half was refundable with the job. I called back and only got the office manager. Told her that I was under the impression it was a free estimate, but she said since he had to drive to the peninsula he would charge 380 dollars. I said I probably wasn't interested, but she said she would talk to Chris since they haven't done much work on the peninsula, he may want to remove the fee to improve business in the peninsula (palo alto). She said he'd call me back. About another week went by and still never got a call back from the office manager or Chris Hurley. I called him a few days before the planned meeting. He said he would still charge 380 dollars. He seems a likeable guy on the phone, but the 380 dollars just to meet and get an estimate was not what i expected, not was it mentioned on our initial planning for meeting. Chris also said he does work on the peninsula and is not sure why the office manager said they aren't doing work in the peninsula. Either way, the lack of responsiveness in getting back to me after my discussions with the office manager, and the 380 bucks just to get an estimate did not seem right. We did not go forward with the meeting. Chris says the office manager is new and she doesn't know the company that well yet. That may be true, but based on this initial interaction, we're not interested in working with them.
Description of Work
Wanted an estimate for landscape lighting.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We do work all over the Bay Area. Free consultations are typical in the industry and are usually deducted from design fees. Also please note, our company, fifteen years in business, is called Sacred Space Gardens and we have never done business under any other name.
DEVORAH J.
4.0
02/12/2010
I didn't use them because I got a quote from another company that was much lower. They were very professional. I think they are used to working for rich people and I'm not. I would not use them in the future; they were obviously too expensive for me.
Description of Work
I got an estimate from Sacred Space to move plants away from a retaining wall that was going to be demolished. Basically I wanted them to pod a lot of plants.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks We regularly work with clients from all walks of life and have plans to fit every budget.
LEVEN P.
4.0
12/07/2009
They are thorough with their service. They completed the work in one day. We changed it from a big to a small sprinkler and a drip system. They were very accommodating and offered some options on what to do.
Description of Work
They gave me a recommendation and an estimate on repairing and upgrading my existing system.
Category
irrigation systems
Louise L.
5.0
11/16/2009
Everything has been absolutely wonderful. They have made some great suggestions and have come up with some wonderful ideas. I can communicate with them by email, and they will research plants online for me and then bring and plant them. They are very timely, and if they go over their hour, they do not charge me extra. They do really good, efficient work, and they have a knowledge of plants. Jamie, the head gardener is wonderful and she is the one with whom I have communicated. They are multi-talented and I will continue to use them.
Description of Work
They have done my lawn and plant care, and also put in some new plants. They come out for an hour every four weeks. They have also done some tree care for me.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Laura M.
5.0
06/25/2009
It was a lot of fun to select plants together. We loved the workers, they were a great crew and fun to meet. Two years later, the landscape area looks beautiful and fits in as if it had always been there and the irrigation is just right.
Description of Work
demo of junipers fire dept wanted removed. Relandscaping with new plants to keep in spirit with rest of garden but more flowers and color. Install fencing and irrigation.
Category
fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems
JESSICA M.
5.0
04/18/2007
Christopher came over for an initial visit and took his time walking through the garden, very thoughtfully advising me. His gentle manner inspired confidence. We received his estimate 1 week later, broken down into 3 parts as we requested. We hired him for part 1, which was the tree removal, pruning, weeding and cleanup. Christopher and his charming crew of 2 arrived as scheduled and spent about 6 hours doing the work. I was particularly concerned that the pruning be done artfully, we wanted to maintain the natural lushness and privacy but give it a more contained or kept look at the same time. They achieved this to perfection. They were very careful removing the trees and carrying them through the house to get to their truck. They left everything clean and kept. The skillful removal of trees, several of them at Christopher's suggestion, has completely opened up the back part of our garden, creating a sunny area and space for new plantings as we had hoped.
Description of Work
Christopher and his crew removed several trees and shrubs from an overgrown garden. They also pruned several trees, did weeding and lots of cleanup. We loved their work and plan to use them to install irrigation and do plantings.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
CALLIE K.
4.0
10/06/2005
A VERY SATISFACTORY EXPERIENCE. CHRIS HURLEY IS A LOVELY GUY, & HIS ASSISTANTS ARE ALSO VERY PLEASANT. THEY KNOW THEIR BASICS & ARE THOROUGHLY RELIABLE.
Description of Work
MONTHLY GARDEN MAINTENANCE INCLUDING HEDGE TRIMMING, FERTILIZING, RAKING & SOMETIMES PLANTING.
Category
lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    TOKO Concrete

    Over 15 years of experience serving the Peninsula and SF Bay Area in concrete and masonry services. Concrete services include but not limited to Driveway, Patio, Retaining wall, Concrete repairs, and more. Also specialize in decorative finishes such as stamp,stained,and overlay. Masonry and Stone work are available for your customized projects or repairs. With our attention to detail we will provide you with quality and prompt service to meet your project and or repair needs. We are just one call or click away to schedule your FREE ESTIMATE.  

    Angi Certified

    Dynasty Pavers and Design Inc.

    Dynasty Pavers and Design Inc is a paving company managed by owner John Paul. Both he and his team are concerned with developing the best exterior design for Driveways, Walkways, Backyards, Steps and Patios. Being ready to serve you and give life to all your paving desires. Our great goal is to build environments that make us proud of our work, in addition to offering a pleasant and incredible environment to make your outdoor area even more beautiful, lasting and suitable for moments of leisure. And, for that to happen, we are always attentive to the needs and desires of our customers, transforming their vision of the environment. We are a company based on professionalism, punctuality, honesty and quality, leaving no loose ends or badly resolved within the project. Not to mention our innovative design, which makes your outdoor space a true extension of your property, providing incredible outdoor experiences. All this with products of extreme quality, providing strength, durability and solidity to all locations. Including paving works with Belgard, Calstone, Brickyard, Siteone geotex, Basalite, Mcnear, Bay Area, Baselite. Trust your outdoor area to Dynasty Pavers and Design Inc and have incredible and sophisticated spaces to enjoy with your family and friends. Get in touch with us and let us perfect your vision of the perfect exterior. Shall we start planning your project?  

    Angi Certified

    Palacios Gardening

    We offer Residential and Commercial Lanscape company serving the San Francisco Area since 2012, we listen to the needs of our clients to provide an outstanding service that you would be happy for years to come, no jobs is too small or too big for us CALL us for a FREE estimate, you would NOT be disappointed. Thank you So Much for your business.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    INNOVATIVE LANDSCAPE DESIGN, COMPLETE GARDEN INSTALLATION, DECKS OF VARIOUS WOODS OR TREX, STONE PATIOS, RETAINING WALLS, PATHWAYS, MASONRY, DRIVEWAYS OF PAVERS OR CONCRETE, DRAINAGE SYSTEMS, DRIP & SPRINKLER IRRIGATION, LOW-VOLTAGE LIGHTING, FINE GARDEN MAINTENANCE, LAWN CARE, PRUNING, ORGANIC, ENVIRONMENTALLY-FRIENDLY PEST CONTROL & PLANT/LAWN CARE, SEASONAL PLANTINGS, DROUGHT-TOLERANT LANDSCAPES, CALIFORNIA NATIVES, ARBORS, TRELLISES, SUSTAINABLE PRACTICES.

    Services Not Offered

    Please ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SACRED SPACE GARDENS

    How is SACRED SPACE GARDENS overall rated?

    SACRED SPACE GARDENS is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are SACRED SPACE GARDENS open?

    SACRED SPACE GARDENS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does SACRED SPACE GARDENS provide

    SACRED SPACE GARDENS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does SACRED SPACE GARDENS offer free estimates?

    No, SACRED SPACE GARDENS does not offer free project estimates.

    Does SACRED SPACE GARDENS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SACRED SPACE GARDENS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SACRED SPACE GARDENS offer a senior discount?

    No, SACRED SPACE GARDENS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by SACRED SPACE GARDENS?

    Yes, SACRED SPACE GARDENS offers warranties.

    What services does SACRED SPACE GARDENS offer?

    SACRED SPACE GARDENS offers the following services: INNOVATIVE LANDSCAPE DESIGN, COMPLETE GARDEN INSTALLATION, DECKS OF VARIOUS WOODS OR TREX, STONE PATIOS, RETAINING WALLS, PATHWAYS, MASONRY, DRIVEWAYS OF PAVERS OR CONCRETE, DRAINAGE SYSTEMS, DRIP & SPRINKLER IRRIGATION, LOW-VOLTAGE LIGHTING, FINE GARDEN MAINTENANCE, LAWN CARE, PRUNING, ORGANIC, ENVIRONMENTALLY-FRIENDLY PEST CONTROL & PLANT/LAWN CARE, SEASONAL PLANTINGS, DROUGHT-TOLERANT LANDSCAPES, CALIFORNIA NATIVES, ARBORS, TRELLISES, SUSTAINABLE PRACTICES.

    Are there any services SACRED SPACE GARDENS does not offer?

    Please ask for details.