Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sunfire Energy Solutions

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2012

4.2

(92) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

301 E Stephens St

Martinsburg, WV 25401

Description

Sunfire Energy Solutions is your “one-stop-shop” for hearth products and installation, HVAC service, patio furniture, hot tubs and outdoor grills. This may sound like a lot of offerings all in one place, but our goal is be your total home energy solution provider. Our 3,500 square foot showroom is your destination for hearth, patio and spa products and we install and maintain everything we sell. We also have a complete service department that can handle residential and commercial air conditioning and heating repairs, installations and service. We proudly serve the West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania markets....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/01/2017


Heather H.

From start to finish Sunfire Energy Solutions has been amazing! We’ve never had a gas fireplace before, and it was the one big thing still missing in our “new to us” home. We worked with Justin to find the best gas fireplace for our home. He worked hard to help us stay within our budget, while delivering a high quality and gorgeous product. His team then worked with us to create a bump in for our new fireplace and handled installation in a timely and professional manner. Jerry’s eye for even the smallest detail and his desire to do a great job has left us with a new gas fireplace that is simply beautiful and a great addition to our home. These guys were awesome. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them! They can do it all and it was a pleasure working with them. Thanks Sunfire!

Description of Work
Installation of a new gas fireplace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], you were a joy to work with! Thank you for you kind words - and for taking the time to post them here. We really appreciate your review and your business. We're confident you'll enjoy many memories in front of your new gas fireplace! Please consider us for all your future routine service & maintenance needs. -Sunfire Marketing Dept.
5.0

04/26/2017


William J.

Their technicians were friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. As on past service visits, the work was done right the first time.

Description of Work
We called Sunfire to change the chimney venting for our gas fireplace, in anticipation of changes to our roof. They completed the work on schedule, at a cost below their estimate. They had installed this fireplace about 7 years ago. And we've called on them a few times for service since that time.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your kind words regarding our technicians and thank you for taking the time to rate us here. We appreciate your kind words and for trusting us with your business - for several years! We hope to see you again soon for any fireplace maintenance needs you have in the future (and for any grill, hot tub, or HVAC needs you may have as well!). Take care, Sunfire Marketing Dept.
5.0

04/02/2017


John L.

Purchase and install was smooth and have been using it happily for the past 3 years.

Description of Work
Put new gas burner in fireplace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to rate us here [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate your kind words and for trusting us with your business - for several years! We hope to see you again soon for any fireplace maintenance needs you have in the future (and for any grill, hot tub, or HVAC needs you may have as well!). Take care, Sunfire Marketing Dept.
5.0

02/17/2017


Troy R.

The project went outstanding from visiting the store, to the site survey, to the installation at our home. From the salesman to the actual installers every goal was met. The salesman showed us different stoves and helped us decide on the one that made the most sense for our living area where it would be used.The installation techs did a fantastic job with the installation as well as showing us how to operate the stove as well as the maintenance that is required. I would hire Sunfire Energy Solutions again as well as recommend them to anyone else interested in a pellet stove.

Description of Work
We went through a couple of contractors and estimates to have a pellet stove installed. Sunfire provided a one stop shop. So we hired them for the purchase and installation of the pellet stove.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to rate us here [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate your kind words and for trusting us with your business. We hope to see you again soon for any stove maintenance needs you have in the future (and for any grill, hot tub, or HVAC needs you may have as well!). Take care, Sunfire Marketing Dept.
5.0

01/30/2017


RuthAnn G.

Each time, of course it "konked out" during the hotest part of summers. They always came within hours of first call. I wanted to keep my air condition unit as long as possible and they were able to keep this 25 year old unit working to well. This is a unit that works throughout the home. They are so expensive to purchase new.....I was very grateful they have kept this old unit working so well. They are very understanding and professional. THe info below comes from saved check record and copy of last Service Order

Description of Work
Over the past 15 years they have responded to Emerg. outside Central Air Condition service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us here - we appreciate your kind words and feedback. We're very happy that we were able to keep your unit operating efficiently for your home. Please consider us again for any HVAC needs you have in the future - and for any hearth, grill, or hot tub needs you may have as well :) Take care, Sunfire Marketing Dept.
2.0

01/02/2017


Conley C.

There were constant excuses from them as to why they couldn't show up. The original contact guy/salesman was unprofessional. Did not keep us current on when the installation would occur. Overall, just a sloppy performance.

Description of Work
Bought a new wood stove from them.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], It has been almost a year since we have worked on your equipment. Are you having issues with your wood insert? Would it be okay if we have one of representatives contact you sometime this week to schedule your first chimney cleaning at no charge? -Sunfire Marketing Dept.
5.0

09/26/2016


Dianne H.

Work went well. They arrived on time. Checked out my insert for the upcoming heating season and resolved the issue of the pellet feeder. Work was completed by Junior, who has resolved repair issues for me in the past. He is knowledgeable and professional. Reflects well on Sunfire.

Description of Work
stove cleaning and repair of pellet feeder

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A- rating [Member Name Removed]. We sincerely appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! -Sunfire Marketing Dept.
5.0

05/10/2016


Jim & Evelyn P.

Gary showed up on time & finished in a timely manner he showed us how to use the remote & all the features.

Description of Work
Propane log set fireplace.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A- rating [Member Name Removed]. We sincerely appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! -Sunfire Marketing Dept.
4.0

04/17/2016


W S.

The men were prompt and polite. Some neighbors who have used their service were satisfied. The only reason for saying I wouldnt necessarily use them in the future is because a friend later told me she had a horrible time with them. They also used and recommended a company for chimney inspection for creatures that must be removed by law like swifts; however, that other company not only was very expensive but also did not have a fiber optic scope or other tool to inspect chimneys for cracks while they were at their task, thus saving expenses for clients, but were also dead wrong about a connection between the oil furnace and smoke stack and chimney that wound up being very costly even though the men in that company were polite and trustworthy types i in other ways. The point here is that a good expansion idea if they can manage that would be to include more services. I would use the company again if needed a specific service they do but only for that.

Description of Work
Visit with idea of doing chimney cleaning but leave when saw birds flying around it as felt it might have birds inside.

Category chimney sweep,heating & air conditioning/hvac,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] Thank you for the B-rating. We appreciate your feedback and will forward it to the team involved in those decisions. Thank you for sharing the feedback and being a customer! We hope to do work with you again in the near future. -Sunfire Marketing Dept.
1.0

01/07/2016


Rachel L.

The fireplace insert looks lovely, but it has made our house LESS heat efficient! We inquired with two places about getting an insert for our fireplace. Sunfire seemed to have the best option (biggest size needed for our house and best price at that size). Justin came out to our house to do the technical site visit (he's not a service technician, but he said he had a ton of experience with installation so he does the visits sometimes). He let us know a wood insert would not work in our fireplace for various reasons. That was fine. He said he was sure that a pellet insert would make our house more efficient. We currently use propane heat and we have a loft-style house. I am well aware that heat rises and our house is naturally not the most efficient when it comes to keeping heat downstairs. However, we trusted that Sunfire advised us truthfully and adequately when saying a pellet insert would definitely be more efficient heat/cost wise. I expected it would at least warm our living room (above the living room is open, but we sit on a couch about 15 feet from the fireplace). It doesn't!! -The insert was installed on Monday 1/4/2016. The technicians arrived a little later than I was told they'd be there. No big deal. They got the job done by late Monday afternoon. They added one bag of pellets (that they brought) around 4:00pm. They told us to run it on high nonstop to burn off some of the paint and such, so we did that. We didn't feel much heat sitting on the couch that night, the temperature in the room actually went down 1 to 2 degrees every hour. My husband and I woke up at 1:00am during the night and the fire had gone out! When I asked a technician when they were installing it about how long a bag of pellets should last he said about a day. I realize that's an estimate, but I definitely expected it to last more than 8-9 hours! In the morning we looked and the pellets were gone so it used the entire bag in that time. We tried again on Tuesday afternoon hoping that the pellets we bought would burn hotter and longer. Same thing happened... we put them in around 5:00pm and they were out again by 1:00am during the night. I called Sunfire yesterday (1/6) and they sent technicians out the same day. I told them they were welcome to stay for a few hours to see just how little heat it gives off. They stayed about an hour or so [when the stove goes out after running out of pellets, it takes a good hour for the fire to start back up.... This would be a problem if we really did need to use one bag every 8-9 hours and it runs out while we're sleeping!]. They added more pellets (the brand my husband and I bought) around 4:00pm. The only recommendation they had was to turn the fan we have on (which is not in the center above the living room, it's off to the side). We tried that, turning two fans on (the correct way for winter) to see if it would push the heat back down. We sat there for a couple hours and it still got colder and went down a degree or two every hour. At 1:00am I woke and the fire was on, but low and almost out, so it went out shortly after that. We are done trying to keep this insert. If we did keep it and used pellets as often as it seems to need, we'd go through 3 bags a day and close to two tons a month PLUS we'd have to still use our propane to actually HEAT the house to feel warm. I called Sunfire this morning to talk with Justin, but he wasn't available so I left a voicemail. I'm going to request a FULL refund. We paid close to $7,000 for this insert (with labor and everything)!! We spent that much - on something they told us would make our home more efficient - and we will still have to spend money on propane heat every month, more than usual because the insert makes it colder in the house than it was before having it. I am hoping they honor a full refund, but I'm nervous they won't. I understand if an insert won't work to properly heat our home (but really... not even 15 feet away on the couch?!), but what I am most upset about is that they sold us the insert after visiting our house, seeing the setup, and telling us it would definitely be more efficient. They should have at the very least said there is a good chance this will not heat your house or living room efficiently. We would have thought twice before purchasing and investing almost $7,000 in this! I hope for a full refund, but if they won't honor that, we plan to pursue a court case for this situation. If they come through with good service (full refund), maybe I'll change my rating for professionalism since that would reflect they handled the situation properly, but as of now, I do not consider this good customer service by Sunfire.

Description of Work
Installed a pellet fireplace insert.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We’re surprised by your disappointment in your recently installed Quadra-Fire Mt. Vernon E2 Pellet Stove. Per a 1/4/16 phone discussion with our installation technicians following the completion of the installation, you were very satisfied. The unit installed at your home is used as supplemental heat source, not as a primary heat source; used in tandem with another source of heat, it will make your residence comfortable. Pellet stoves are at the best performance when used over consecutive days. You stated that the pellet stove increased the temperature of your home by a few degrees in the 5 ½ hours you observed it before going to sleep. If a unit runs out of pellets and shuts down, heat output ceases and the unit has to work much harder to get the home back up to temperature, which will increase pellet use. Unfortunately, your expectations for the unit coincided with the coldest night of the year so far when the newly installed unit had been burning for approximately 6 hours. If the unit was being operated correctly as a supplemental source of heat, the temperature of your home would not drastically drop when the stove ran out of pellets, because the another source of heat would maintain temperature, e.g. a home thermostat set at 60 degrees would kick on secondary heat source. Immediately after you notified us of your concerns with the unit, we sent service technicians to your home the same day. The technicians determined that the unit was operating properly. First-class service post-sale is very important to us and we exhibited this when we immediately dispatched unscheduled technicians to your home after your dissatisfied report. The unit installed in your home was sized as the largest that would fit into your application. Per discussions at installation, the amount of BTU the unit produces will satisfy the purpose of the unit – to operate as a supplemental heat source in your home. We complete a site review with every installation to ensure appropriate equipment is being used. The very high ceilings of your home were brought into discussion during our initial visit. During winter months, ceiling fan motors must be reversed and operated at low speeds in the clockwise direction; producing an updraft, which forces warm air near the ceiling down into the occupied space. We will do everything that we can to ensure that your new pellet stove is operating properly. We stand behind our products. We feel that per discussions pre-install regarding the unit’s intention as a supplemental heat source and numerous recommendations to follow best practices of using pellet stoves to obtain maximum efficiency, there has not been adequate time since install to determine whether the unit has not met its purpose. We hope that after more than a mere 2 consecutive days of usage and by following discussed best practices, you will see the value in the proven stove you purchased. We are available for further guidance and support to help you meet your expectations and look forward to resolving this issue with you satisfactorily. Sincerely, The Sunfire Energy Solutions Team

    Other local Pros in your area

    Aerotherm HVAC LLC

    At AeroTherm HVAC, we take pride in providing you with comfort services that are not only affordable but professionally done. Our company culture is developed to go above and beyond the average HVAC experience, taking customer service to the next level and placing emphasis on quality work. If you’re considering a new system for your home, business or other structure, we can design and construct the system that meets your needs. Whether you need units installed, serviced, repaired or cleaned, contact us for a free consultation.  

    Handyman Connection of Winchester

    For every home maintenance need that may arise, Handyman Connection is committed to providing you with dependable and skilled Handyman, great customer service, and first class workmanship. Just one call or click brings our expertise right to your door. Handyman Connection can help turn your "to-do" list into "done." Additional contact name - Tiffany Peters.  

    Mr. Handyman of Martinsburg and Charles Town

    We can take care of your residential and commercial handyman needs!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Handyman Services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sunfire Energy Solutions

    How is Sunfire Energy Solutions overall rated?

    Sunfire Energy Solutions is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Sunfire Energy Solutions open?

    Sunfire Energy Solutions is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Sunfire Energy Solutions provide

    Sunfire Energy Solutions accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does Sunfire Energy Solutions offer free estimates?

    No, Sunfire Energy Solutions does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Sunfire Energy Solutions offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Sunfire Energy Solutions does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Sunfire Energy Solutions?

    No, Sunfire Energy Solutions does not offer warranties.

    What services does Sunfire Energy Solutions offer?

    Sunfire Energy Solutions offers the following services: Handyman Services.