Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Honest Install

Founded 2007 • With Angi since October 2009

4.9

(148) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

655 N Glenville Ste 155

Richardson, TX 75081

Description

HOME TECHNOLOGY & COMMERCIAL AUDIO/VIDEO: Honest Install is DFW's premier Home Technology & Audio/Video outfitter. Sales | Design | Install...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

01/07/2019


Pam H.

I was thrilled about the great reviews this company got, and I'm sure they're wonderful. My issue is that the company is in Richardson and I live in Southlake, which is considered their "extended area", and so there is a trip fee of $49. The company can charge whatever they like, but they should add this to their description on Angie's List so others can either book them or move on. Again, a shame, because I really liked the reviews I'd read.

Description of Work
Installation of 2 ethernet connections

Category home theater design

5.0

05/26/2017


Aaron W.

They did very well, and had workarounds for any obstacles they hit during the installation that didn't result in cost additions. I'd absolutely hire them again.

Description of Work
I needed an above fireplace install of a flat-panel television, and a sonos sound bar. Also, a media room with projector, screen, wiring, speakers, receiver/etc. setup.

Category home theater design

5.0

09/07/2016


Nancy M.

The two fellas did an amazing job. It took them about a half a day. You cannot see any of the wires and they TV & electronics work great!!!

Description of Work
The house we moved into had a media room setup for a projection screen versus a TV. We had a TV & all the electronics. We had Honest Install re-wire the room for our TV, mount our quite large TV, and hook up all the electronics. All the other Media service companies we contacted would not do the work for us unless we bought equipment from them. One of those other companies actually recommended Honest Install to us.

Category home theater design

5.0

05/09/2016


Aaron M.

New homes that are "Ethernet wired" often do not have functional ports on the walls or ends where your switch will go, as was the case with mine. (My builder charges an additional $50 per tap to have functional Ethernet jacks!) Honest Install saved the day by sending out Michael and Matt to juice up my home at a fraction of the cost, and I'm now enjoying gigabit Ethernet to 9 rooms and my Internet speed is easily maxing out the fastest service FIOS has to offer. I found these folks to be extremely knowledgeable in the areas of home networking, home automation, home theater,,home security and more. I cannot recommend Honest Install highly enough.

Description of Work
Home Ethernet wiring. (CAT5)

Category internet service

5.0

05/03/2016


jay B.

Good estimate process and work was done when scheduled. The technicians did everything that was promised by sales and actually invented some better solutions while they were here. Everything I hoped to achieve for my homes internet connectivity was accomplished. I believe they did everything I asked for with the least amount of time or purchased equipment possible. I am giving them a "B" on price only because I think what they charge for the cat 5 cabling/faceplates ($100) and the drilling of two holes through mortar to run a cat 5 cable outside the house ($100 extra) to be a bit excessive. Not unfair, just a fairly hefty markup.

Description of Work
Installed several cat 5 lines, a wireless access point, and a couple of Ethernet switches.

Category home theater design

5.0

04/22/2016


Abraham V.

Prompt response and good prices. Their team of Dre and Chris came on time and were able to to mount my TV quickly and when they noticed that the mount that the retailer gave me for it didn't actually fully fit the TV I had they were able to do a work around so it was still securely set into the brace while not sacrificing the adjust-ability of the mount. Will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
TV mounting and wire concealment.

Category home theater design

5.0

04/20/2016


Tami A.

They did a great job. I had a question after the installation and they walked through it with me. The installers were very professional, nice and did an awesome job. Would highly recommend them for your sound job!!! A+

Description of Work
I purchased a Bose sound system and Honest Install came to install it. They mounted speakers, connected everything, dropped wires so everything was hidden.

Category home theater design

5.0

03/12/2016


Russell C.

I originally assumed they would have to cut into the wall at least once, but they were able to reuse an existing cat 3 run (for telephone) and replace it with cat 5 cable without cutting into the house. The job itself took under an hour.

Description of Work
Ran a single network drop with cat 5 cable.

Category home theater design

5.0

01/26/2016


Fred and Peggy K.

This is simply the BEST, most HONEST, most COMPETENT organization I've found for ALL of my music, TV and electronics needs. I wouldn't trust any cable service to touch my router or system. They replaced the STB's (set top boxes) and the router quickly. They made sure ALL my systems were working that required new WIFI log-ins. They also simplified my password for the router, unlike every other cable provider. Chris (owner and founder) runs an exceptional company ... hires, trains and retains the best people I've ever dealt with. They installed a complete surround system and flast screen in my media room a few years ago. Now I won't use ANYONE else for my electronics needs.

Description of Work
Replaced 3 new Verizon STB and new router

Category home theater design

5.0

12/15/2015


Martin W.

Very good experience. They got here on time, seemed to know what they were doing, found a few ways to save us money from the original estimate. Everything is working fine. Very pleased.

Description of Work
Installed new TV on existing mount. Put up new mount and ran cable for another TV. Installed new FIOS boxes. Got everything initialized and working

Category home theater design

5.0

11/18/2015


Tracey J.

There were 2 gentlemen that showed up to do the install. They went to each room to inspect the placement and equipment beforehand. Then they each took on a separate room to get the job done quickly. They were extremely professional and polite and had the job done in about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. I will definitely recommend them to anyone in the market for TV mounting or audio / video install.

Description of Work
Mounted 4 TVs and hooked up all components for each TV, hid cables on 1 room (as 2 of the rooms already had smurf tubes built in). Also installed a wall shelving unit under of the TVs.

Category home theater design

5.0

11/15/2015


Matthew G.

This is the second time I've used Honest Install. I worked with the owner Chris to plan everything out. Installer Dru made sure it looked perfect.

Description of Work
Installed tv over fireplace; relocated cable wiring and box.

Category home theater design

5.0

11/12/2015


April M.

All went well. Easy to set appointment date and time. Both staff members showed up on time and ready to work. Both were friendly, full of knowledge and open to questions. The TV and sound bar were removed with no incident. Explained how to spackle and repaint minor damage done as result of the mounting. Allowed us to keep the TV bar and screws in case we want to re-mount on our next move. We used Honest Install to mount the TV and sound bar; excellent service provided both times. Would recommend to everyone.

Description of Work
Remove TV and sound bar that was installed above the fireplace.

Category home theater design

2.0

11/10/2015


Mark M.

Avoid this circus show at all costs! And if you do go with them, make sure you get everything in writing from these guys!! Not just the prices but the capabilities of the system you have them install as well. For example, if they say you?ll be able to self monitor your alarm from your phone without a monthly charge get it in writing. Or, if they tell you you?ll be able to break up audio zones and listen to different things in different rooms such as TV in your living room and music in another, you better get it in writing. So here?s my ?Honest" Install experience: I wouldn?t normally call out people by their names, but since Bobby C. lied right to my face about multiple things I feel it?s appropriate. Alarm:Before dealing with ?Honest? Install, I got another quote for an alarm system that was free up front for the equipment and install but required a 2 year monitoring contract at $50 a month. Bobby from honest install quoted me $1,199 for a Honeywell Tuxedo ?bundle" and another $250 for the matching Honeywell thermostat. I told Bobby about the other quote and that I thought $1500 for an alarm was too much considering the other quote was for a free system but required a contract. He then told me the price difference was because the Tuxedo uses my wifi network and I could self monitor the system from my phone and would not have to pay a monthly fee. I told him I?d go ahead and get his $1500 system because without a monitoring fee it would pay for itself in a few years. He agreed. When the installer was all finished, I asked him to show me how to connect to, and control the system from my phone. The installer then told me that was not possible without having a monitoring service. He tells me Honeywell has the system locked so even with wifi I still have to pay a monitoring fee if i want to control it from my phone. Needless to say I was confused and figured it was a mistake since Bobby told me all I needed to self monitor from my phone was wifi. So I then asked him to show me how to control the thermostat from my phone. He tells me the thermostat is linked to the alarm and can only be controlled remotely once I set up the monitoring service for the alarm. So now I?m asking myself, why would anyone pay $1500 for an alarm and thermostat that still requires a monitoring service fee when I could have gone with the first quote that would have saved me $1500 and a Nest thermostat that has a free phone control app? I emailed Bobby and question him about all this. He claims he never told me I could self monitor from my phone without a paying for a monitoring service. He says he told me I could self monitor from the Tuxedo control panel for free but to monitor from my phone requires a monitoring contract for $40 a month. The Tuxedo control panel they installed is located in my entryway next to my front door. Why would anyone want to self monitor an alarm by standing in their entryway looking a panel mounted on the wall? Makes no sense, why even have an alarm then? Audio:Bobby also quoted me for a complete home entreatment system with in ceiling speakers for my living room and bed/bath room. He told me I could listen to my tv over my in ceiling bed/bath speakers. He also said I could split the audio up and listen to TV in my living room and, at the same time, play music from my phone in my bed/bath. Well, when the installers finished and started demoing the system for me, I asked them to play TV audio in my bed/bath. They said this receiver can?t do that. But wait, Bobby said it could! So after reading the receivers manual, it turns out "zone 2? (bed/bath speakers) can only play analog audio, not digital. Seeing that pretty much all audio devices are digital these days, I?m limited in what can be listened to in my bed/bath. I will give credit to the audio/video installers. They were very nice, professional, and did a great job. So I email and ask Bobby about this, he says, zone 2 is a "basic zone?. Why would I have paid $700+ for in ceiling speakers in my bed/bath and another $700 for a fancy receiver then? Bobby lied again. So now its been a month since my install. My alarm and stereo still do not work as Bobby told me they would and Bobby hasn?t responded to my last couple emails. But wait! I get an email from ?Honest? Install informing me that Bobby no longer works for them. Clearly its not just me he?s been screwing around?.. I email them back and still here nothing. Its been over a month since my install, I?ve paid these clowns $7,500 and my system still doesn?t work as I was told it would. Maybe now that I?m posting this review John Manouel or someone from ?Honest? Install will finally contact me.

Description of Work
Install home audio/video system and alarm

Category home theater design

5.0

07/21/2015


Peter M.

Great. Not only did they correct the issue within an hour. They cleaned up the messy wiring left behind by the cable companies. They also tucked and his all the exposed wires by my tv. I was surprised and very pleased with the service.

Description of Work
Checked and repaired Coax cable issue.

Category home theater design

5.0

07/17/2015


Jacques F.

Professional. That's the first thing that jumps out in my mind about Honest Install. My appointment window was from 9-11 that morning. They arrived at 9:10 and the job was done by 11:30. I loved how courteous they were in treating my home as if it were their own. Measure twice, ha! They measured 3 times in some instances to make sure the final product would both look and function exceptionally. They even patched a hole I had from a prior nail I had that was just over where they hung the TV. They did a great job of cleaning up, leaving my home in the same shape as they found it. I think they actually left it better, since my TV and new sound system has my wife and I feeling like we are in a movie theater. I'd use them again for any future AV work I needed done and will not hesitate to refer them to anyone who needs this sort of service in the future.

Description of Work
I had Honest Install hang my 55" LED flatscreen over my fireplace. They installed a new outlet above the fireplace as well as dropped a new Cat 5 cable in from the attic. They also installed a new Sonos surround sound system and set up everything in my media cabinet.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Removed member name]! We give every install the 'Yellow Glove' top of the line treatment, and we're proud to measure three times for any of our wonderful customers. Can't wait to see y'all two again!
5.0

05/18/2015


Caren G.

They did an excellent job. Mike and Eric were prompt and professional. They ended up running the electrical from the attic which they did quickly. The bracket was hung perfectly and they left everything very neat and clean. They were efficient and clearly are very experienced and skilled...and they are nice guys as well. They are not inexpensive but it was well worth the price for the professional work they did. I will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They installed a 50" TV outside on the covered patio. They installed an electrical outlet which required masonry work to avoid having visible cords. The install included a full motion arm bracket and HDMI cable. Thy also attached DTV Genie to the back of the television.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], it was a pleasure to serve you! We hope to see you again soon for your next big project, whether that’s Home Entertainment or Smart Automation.
5.0

05/15/2015


cindy T.

Eric & Mike did a fabulous job mounting, hooking up, setting up, & showing me how to use my new TV today. They were both very efficient, knowledgeable, friendly, & patient & I really appreciated how they made everything work right so quickly with not just setting it all up but even making sure my Netflix was working after I had forgotten which email my account was under & was having problems getting my login to work. I'll definitely use this company again & I highly recommend Honest Install to others!

Description of Work
Installed & set up my new 60" Samsung Smart TV

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [member name removed]! We strive to treat every job and every client like they're a VIP, and we're glad it shows. We hope that you truly enjoy your system.
5.0

04/11/2015


Dick L.

All took less than 30 minutes, Mike & his helper CY really knew their craft! They worked well as a team, Mike was definitely the team leader! I'll definitely use Honest Install in the future!

Description of Work
DVD setup, also checked wiring on 2nd DVD, cable had become disconnected, quickly diagnosed the problem

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

We're glad to have been able to give you the Media Room of your dreams, [member name removed]! Let us know when we can do it again—Team Honest is always rearing to go!
5.0

03/17/2015


Christopher A.

It went great, and we will definitely use them for future projects. For the price, they did a ton of work. They were up in the attic running internet and cable lines, dropping everything down through the ceiling, mounting our projector and screen, running all of our surround sound, setting up all of our devices including all the software programming. It turned our great, and we couldn't be happier. The only negative thing I have to say is that it did take all day (10 hours), so if you are doing a whole room, be prepared to stay home. That's not really something that is their fault though because we had a lot of work done, and it does take a long time. You have to do it right, not quick.

Description of Work
Install a home theater system.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Glad you're enjoying your system now, and we hope you will for many years to come. We only install "awesome", so hopefully you'll be enjoying awesome for quite a few years. However feel free to come back and see us for anything Home Technology before that!
5.0

03/16/2015


Syed J.

They've come out before. They're pretty good. They're very professional. They help you. They may be a little pricey, but they provide very good service.

Description of Work
They repaired our projector screen for our TV system.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

So good to hear from you, [member name removed]! Let us know if you need anything more in the future; our lines are always open. Call us, email us, send the smoke-signals! Whatever suits your fancy.
5.0

03/13/2015


Benjamin K.

Honest install came out and did a wonderful job. They were professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Ran Coax Cable

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Kind words, [member name removed], very kind indeed! We certainly look forward to the next visit—make it soon, ya hear? We have free cookies and yellow pens, (okay let's be Honest, there's no cookies just pens).
5.0

02/11/2015


Carla B.

I found them through Angie's List and they were also recommended by a neighbor. Their website is extremely professional, so I assumed they were part of a large company, but it turns out they are only a few miles from me. I called on Friday and was able to make an appointment for 9 am on Monday morning. They arrived 10 minutes early. Both guys were in uniform and were very polite and well-groomed. City codes require an electrical outlet directly behind the TV bracket, otherwise, you have cords running down the wall, which we did not want. That costs an extra $169, but it looks much nicer. The total price also included the tilt bracket for the TV and the install, plus hooking everything up to the cable box, DVD, etc. They also gave me a $25 Angie's List discount. All of this cost almost as much as the TV, but we got a good deal on the TV at Sam's so it was worth it! I was very pleased with their service and would recommend them to anyone who wants a professional looking job.

Description of Work
Mounted 48" flat screen TV in Master Bedroom

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Thank you for being a fantastic customer as well! It's been a pleasure [member name removed]— just promise you'll keep enjoying your new Home Technology system!
5.0

02/04/2015


Ted M.

Honest Installs was a Fantastic Customer Experience. I hired Honest Installs to install a wall mount flat screen 42" plasma with hidden in wall cabling system at my 93 year old Mom's house. The phone contact was perfect. The install team showed up on time. They were nice, quick and efficient. The flat screen TV was installed perfect. The in wall cabling install is perfect. The vacuumed the entire work area after the install was completed. Perfect experience. Highly recommended. And, because I used Angie's List, I received a $25 discount! Awesome!

Description of Work
I hired Honest Installs to install a wall mount flat screen 42" plasma with hidden in wall cabling system at my 93 year old Mom's house.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Honest thinks you're cool too, {member name removed}! Make sure to keep in touch, and check back for our Angie's List Deals on the regular.
5.0

01/08/2015


EDWIN S.

See above...they did a lot of work and did it very well.

Description of Work
Ran speaker wires in attic and installed surroundsound speakers/ Put flat tv on wall. Ran 110 volt service behind wall to behind the television. Connected all the equipment--a jillion wires--into a new media credenza we bought. Bundled the wires with zip ties and Vencro fasteners. Brought their own vacuum and cleaned up work area. Spread a work blanket on the den floor before spreading out all their tools.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Awwwwww… Our thanks for leaving such a nice review - we work at walking-the-walk. And it certainly is not always easy, your kind words serve as encouragement to keep up the cause. The cause for a superior customer experience that is! ;)

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pro Audio Video Systems

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Stereo and Home Theater services, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Prairie Sonlight Electrical

    Owner/operator with 34 years of experience, in all phases of commercial and residential electrical work. With my company a Master Electrician will be the one doing your work for you. I will not be sending an employee with limited experience to your home. I offer free estimates.  

    THE AV TEAM

    We offer all aspects of audio visual installs for the home like TV mounting, movie rooms installed, TV antennas, FM antennas, outside speakers and surround sound systems around the pool ,we offer camera system with app viewing on any smart device. We do not repair TV's  

    Internet Service
    VCR Repair
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    HOME TECHNOLOGY & COMMERCIAL AUDIO/VIDEO: TV Installation & Mounting. Home Entertainment & Theater Installation. Smart Home Services. Home Automation. Projector & Screen Installation. Low Voltage Wiring & Pre-Wiring. Speaker Installation. Universal Remote Control Programming. Surround Sound Installation & Setup. Electronics Recycling. Media Rooms. Whole House Audio. Smart Thermostat Installation. Lighting Control. Motorized Blinds.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Honest Install

    How is Honest Install overall rated?

    Honest Install is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Honest Install open?

    Honest Install is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Honest Install provide

    Honest Install accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Honest Install offer free estimates?

    Ask Honest Install for details on free project estimates.

    Does Honest Install offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Honest Install offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Honest Install offer a senior discount?

    No, Honest Install does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Honest Install?

    Yes, Honest Install offers warranties.

    What services does Honest Install offer?

    Honest Install offers the following services: HOME TECHNOLOGY & COMMERCIAL AUDIO/VIDEO: TV Installation & Mounting. Home Entertainment & Theater Installation. Smart Home Services. Home Automation. Projector & Screen Installation. Low Voltage Wiring & Pre-Wiring. Speaker Installation. Universal Remote Control Programming. Surround Sound Installation & Setup. Electronics Recycling. Media Rooms. Whole House Audio. Smart Thermostat Installation. Lighting Control. Motorized Blinds.