Americo Construction

About

Founded 1969 • With Angi since August 2011

Americo Construction has been in business for the past 42 years. We are affiliated with the BBB. And we have a wide range of sub contractors....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.3

(21) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

15

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

3.9

Punctuality

4.2

Quality

4.1

Responsiveness

4.1

Read reviews by category

concrete driveways (10)general contractors (9)concrete repair (8)stamped concrete (2)mudjacking (2)masonry (2)drywall (2)interior painting (1)house painting (1)home builder (1)siding companies (1)roofing (1)
Showing 1-21 of 21 reviews
1.0

09/01/2022


Sandy B.

Very badly, driveway started Cracking, flaking. Pitting within four months of being done there solution was to put a cheap sealant on it. Do not use this company

Description of Work
Concrete driveway

Category concrete driveways

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2021

Images

Review for Americo Construction - 225 Butler St, Pittsburgh, PA - 39858220

+5 More

5.0

07/05/2022


Alex M.

The city notified us our sidewalks needed to be repaired. John met with me two days after I called them and walked me through the whole process. America took care of the permits and communicating with the city inspector. The work was done to spec, on schedule, and to the contract price. John kept me updated throughout the process. The sidewalk looks great, the price was fair, and they kept me in the loop. Easy to work with and they answer their phones.

Description of Work
Repaired sidewalks to comply with notice from the city

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2022

5.0

10/31/2021


Gary A.

looks great, took a little longer than expected due to weather

Description of Work
concrete drivewy

Category contractors, mudjacking

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2021

5.0

05/08/2021


Constance Z.

I just want to thank Rick Criscella and his crew for a job well done. They are competent, courteous, particular with detail and interactive with me the owner. Rick actually answers his phone and I called a lot! He did all the work in the contract time frame no matter how many change orders I did. His foreman Dave, was there every day along with his crew. They were courteous to the neighbors too. I just sold the house (it is a 4 apartment house) and my realtor said this was his first time an inspector said the building and workmanship was awesome! It was the same with the appraiser. That is huge praise. I would recommend him to anyone. 5 stars +

Description of Work
Extensive addition and total building remodel

Category home builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2013

5.0

10/19/2020


Charles B.

Excellent. The work crew was very courteous and provided very helpful recommendations.

Description of Work
Replace an 11foot X 9foot concrete pad in my driveway.

Category contractors, concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2020

5.0

09/25/2020


Colleen K.

John and his crew installed a concrete parking pad at my home and it was a great experience start to finish. John was so patient, explained everything and mapped out prices. I didn't feel pressured to make any decisions and he guided me through the whole process. His crew was quick, courteous and completed the project in 2 days. They made sure I was happy with every part of the process. We are beyond happy with the finished product!

Description of Work
Concrete parking pad

Category concrete driveways, stamped concrete

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

1.0

09/03/2020


Ronald M.

never got response from contractor. I called a second time and received the same answer. "will contact you soon ". Never received any call. Really a poor way to run a business,

Description of Work
garage floor replacement.

Category contractors, concrete repair

Work Completed On 09/02/2020

5.0

08/15/2020


Bob J.

Americo did a great job. They did what was contracted for. They were timely, organized and careful with our property. They were super efficient. They removed a 23,000 square ft asphalt driveway and completed the new concrete driveway in four days. The quality of the forming, pour, and finish work was A+. Very neat, start to finish. can’t say enough, they delighted us with quality work. Their crew worked hard and delivered.

Description of Work
Removal of old asphalt driveway and replace with new concrete driveway

Category contractors, concrete driveways

Cost $1

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2020

5.0

08/03/2020


Kathy Y.

Everyone with the company was extremely friendly and professional. Work was done on a timely manner. They did excellent work and the driveway looks great. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking to have concrete work done.

Description of Work
Removed asphalt driveway and replaced with a cement driveway.

Category contractors, concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2020

5.0

06/16/2020


stacey P.

Excellent service. We put a concrete patio. Super courteous efficient and patient with my husband and myself. Very professional and very punctual. We will be inviting John and his team back real soon!!

Description of Work
Driveways - Concrete

Category concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/04/2020

4.0

06/16/2020


james R.

Good only ..but bet left a little concrete splashing on the wall that wasnt cleaned off..but other then that they did a good job

Description of Work
Driveways - Concrete

Category concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2020

5.0

06/14/2020


Robert B.

Excellent work done for a very good price. Quick and easy, friendly company, friendly crew. Done quickly and exactly what we wanted.

Description of Work
replace existing asphalt driveway with new concrete driveway

Category contractors, concrete driveways

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2020

5.0

05/29/2020


james P.

Good ! showed up for estimate on time & for job , finishing the work in the time they said, friendly workers great job!

Description of Work
Sidewalk/ steps Concrete

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

5.0

05/29/2020


Steve L.

Americo did a GREAT job at a very decent price. I got three quotes and went with Americo mostly because I was comfortable with the Supervisor's knowledge and willingness to discuss and explain the job with me. The work crew was hard-working and congenial. Good guys. Very happy...A+.

Description of Work
Driveways - Concrete

Category concrete driveways

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

Service Provider Response

I
5.0

05/23/2020


Gene C.

Excellent, on time and on budget. We have been using Americo for over 20 years.

Description of Work
Masonry and concrete installation and repairs. We have also used Americo for office construction and remodeling.

Category contractors, concrete repair, drywall, picture framing, masonry, remodeling, mudjacking, stamped concrete

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2020

5.0

05/22/2020


Mike O.

It went very well, they were professional and friendly, he never let me down.

Description of Work
He did a concrete tab.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2020

5.0

05/22/2020


Craig C.

No issues. Everything turned out well.

Description of Work
Construction of commercial space

Category contractors, concrete repair, drywall, picture framing, masonry, roofing, siding, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2020

5.0

05/22/2020


Jonathan R.

The two driveways, heated and finished in exposed aggregate are the showcase of my neighborhood. The finisher was a true craftsman. They also corrected multiple drainage issues that caused the first driveway to deteriorate prematurely. I believe that the true advantage to using them is that they understand how the driveway performs over decades. Anyone can pour a slab of concrete and it will look great when they are done. The difference is understanding the details that allow that concrete to hold up for decades. The substrate and the provisions for drainage are the things that you don't see but that determine the lifespan of your driveway. A properly installed driveway should last for 50 to 100 years, o maybe longer. If yours needs replaced sooner, it is likely that you have water drainage issues. This is a second generation family business. The current owner has been in business approx 40 years and his father for 30+ years before him. Some guy doing driveways for two years doesn't know what he doesn't know because he hasn't seen his work over the long term. These guys have.

Description of Work
Americo installed my driveway and a second governor's drive.

Category contractors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2020

Images

Review for Americo Construction - 225 Butler St, Pittsburgh, PA - 38586126

+2 More

2.0

07/23/2018


Sara-Summer O.

Americo did a sidewalk job at my place of business in July of 2017. They were extremely unprofessional when they came out and the original job was terrible. It was very sloppy and there were crooked lines. They came out and corrected it. Then, after only six months, we noticed the concrete chipping in many spots. This is not a heavily used sidewalk and it should NOT be falling apart. We have called and emailed them numerous times since February 2018, and as of July 2018 we have yet to have anybody come out to look at it or rectify it. I would caution people when considering this company.

Description of Work
A new concrete sidewalk installed

Category concrete repair

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2017

Images

Review for Americo Construction - 225 Butler St, Pittsburgh, PA - 37260024

+1 More

1.0

03/19/2013


Theda J.

The concrete is now discolored and they have been ignoring my phone calls regarding the issue to resolve it.

Description of Work
They replaced the concrete steps on the front porch of my home.

Category concrete repair

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2009

3.0

09/20/2011


Briana Z.

Came 2 weeks early while on vacation, didn't call cell, only left rude messages on home machine. Came home late from airport with luggage and no access to front door due to wet cement. Porch furniture coated in concrete dust, downspout broken, flower bed wrecked, potted plants knocked over, vegetables missing from garden (which is locked inside gate). Found out next day they jumped the gate to get access to water (and what ever was growing my the garden), used neighbors electricity (with their permission), and left cigarette butts in neighbor's yard after neighbor found them sitting on their front steps while ours were being replaced. Called to complain to Tony, who gave estimate. Deflected any responsibility and had someone else call us. Someone did come back to power wash porch, reset flower bed bricks (but half the flowers died from bricks being left on top on them) and replaced downspout. Told someone was let go for missing vegetables and apologized to. Work agreed upon in contract was done to specifications, but I would not let them on my property without being home.

Description of Work
Very responsive and quick to preform estimate. Price was fair. Planned to replace steps to porch, 6 blocks of side walk, and patch cracked concrete on sandstone basement walls. Gave 50% deposit, scheduled tentative date and gave contact numbers, including cell.

Category concrete repair

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2011

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    225 Butler St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15223

    Hours

    Sunday
    Closed
    Monday
    8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
    Tuesday
    8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
    Wednesday
    8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
    Thursday
    8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
    Friday
    8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
    Saturday
    Closed

    Website

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    PA023995
    Trade License Locale
    Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    07/01/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Americo Construction

    How is Americo Construction overall rated?

    Americo Construction is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Americo Construction open?

    Americo Construction is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Americo Construction provide

    Americo Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Americo Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Americo Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Americo Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Americo Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Americo Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Americo Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Americo Construction?

    Yes, Americo Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Americo Construction offer?

    Americo Construction offers the following services: We offer free estimates on all jobs.

    Are there any services Americo Construction does not offer?

    Ask for details.