Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair

Founded 1999 • With Angi since October 2007

4.6

(125) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

850 Western Ave 2nd Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15233

Description

Additional DBAs - On The Level Inc Dba. A1 Concrete Leveling & Structural Repair .

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kyle N.
5.0
10/22/2019
I thought A-1 did a really great job on my front porch. The job was to stabilize my front porch and, in the process, seal up a large network of holes that a groundhog left underneath it. I reached out to A-1 through their website and received a response within a day or two. I met with one of their project managers to review the job. I thought Christian was very open and honest, and did a great job of explaining what needed to be done. I received the quote within a day, and had it scheduled less than a week later. The crew arrived right on time to my appointment, and completed it within the window that was provided. If I needed similar work done, I would certainly go with them again. To top it off, they also provide a 1-year warranty to cover the work that was performed.
Description of Work
Stabilizing front porch
Category
mudjacking
Kelly W.
5.0
08/18/2019
We called A1 for an estimate for a mudjack on a cracked driveway. Christian came over to look at our driveway, and quickly determined that because of lifting due to tree roots, mudjacking would not work. He was punctual, professional, and did not try to upsell us. We will consider A1 in the future if we ever have an appropriate project.
Description of Work
Estimate for driveway mudjacking
Category
mudjacking
Andrew P.
2.0
05/07/2019
I reached out to the company twice to get an estimate for the work needed. There was never a response.
Description of Work
I need several large slabs in my driveway leveled
Category
mudjacking
Richard E.
5.0
04/22/2019
The team was here last friday. They arrived early and immediately set to work. They worked quickly, finished the releveling of the driveway slabs, and cleaned up after themselves. Their work looks good and the price seemed fair. I'll have them back for another small job that I \should have thought to have done initially.
Description of Work
releveling driveway slabs
Category
mudjacking
Richard E.
5.0
04/22/2019
These guys are good they were on time, did the job quickly and it looks great
Description of Work
leveled driveway and walk
Category
mudjacking
Eileen P.
5.0
02/16/2019
Fine. Workers were punctual and work was neat-an amazing process!
Description of Work
Raise depressed sidewalk to divert water/tripping hazard
Category
mudjacking
Donald T.
5.0
10/17/2018
Turns out A-1 Concrete doesn't do the kind of work we needed for our foundation. This isn't a swipe at them, because Gary (the inspector) told us that upfront after seeing our house and the areas we were concerned about. He suggested we get a structural engineer to come out and do a report so we know exactly what needs to be done, then call a company that does the type of repair we need. I was very pleased to have been told something that made perfect sense to me. Gary was a consummate professional by not trying to sell me something I don't need. Very personable also. He did a very thorough job looking at every area of the house both inside and out, gave us recommendations on what he thought the problem was and made a suggestion that I have an engineer look at the problem. I did that and the engineer did end up telling me pretty much the same thing Gary had, although much more extensively. If A-1 Concrete did the kind of repair I need, I would not hesitate to consider them for the job. I will be calling them in the spring to do a driveway repair for me, though.
Description of Work
Foundation repair
Category
foundation repair
Janet G.
5.0
09/03/2018
Christian arrived on time and after evaluating what I needed repaired, informed me that the process used by A-1 could not be used to resolve my problem and explained why. I appreciate his honesty and professionalism.
Description of Work
subsiding walkway needed repaired
Category
mudjacking
Karen I.
5.0
08/07/2018
They showed up on time and finished in a timely manner. Andy came out while we were on vacation as promised and gave us an estimate which was far better than Bakers Water Proofing gave us. We called A-1 when we got back from vacation and within a week the project was done. Friendly workers and worked until we were satisfied.Thank you!
Description of Work
Leveling 6 concrete slabs on driveway
Category
concrete driveways, mudjacking
James L.
5.0
06/12/2018
All went well. They came out to review the scope of the job and provided a written quote, On the day of the work they were punctual and did a great job and cleaned up any debris created by the leveling process. You could hardly tell they were there except that the walkway was now level.
Description of Work
leveling a sidewalk next to our garage
Category
mudjacking
Marie and William L.
5.0
03/14/2018
They did a very good job on our driveway leveling four concrete slabs. It is still nice and level every season after two years.
Description of Work
Concrete Leveling of Driveway
Category
mudjacking
DIANA K.
5.0
10/25/2017
Arrived early, did a good job, quick & effective!
Description of Work
Level sections of driveway.
Category
mudjacking
Dana E.
5.0
10/08/2017
I'm very happy with the work A-1 performed. The price was reasonable and the work quality was first rate. They showed up on schedule and the workmen were very friendly. I would use A-1 again in the future.
Description of Work
Repair of concrete porch foundations and of a concrete step
Category
foundation repair
Edwin R.
5.0
07/08/2017
Mitch came out and gave an estimate which I thought was reasonable. Work was scheduled in a timely manner. Work crew (Ben and Jason) showed up as scheduled. Work was done professionally and results were what we expected. They also cleaned up the area. Job took about 1 1/2 hours. Very pleased with the work and would definitely recommend this company.
Description of Work
Back screened in patio had sunk a bit causing pad to crack. The sinking cause the screen to pull away from the frame.
Category
mudjacking
Jeffrey P.
5.0
06/09/2017
I was not impressed with the materials that they use. The estimate was free.
Description of Work
I received a quote from them.
Category
mudjacking
Robert K.
5.0
06/08/2017
Extremely well. Within budget, punctual, work was explained, waiting period explained. Workers were diligent/steady. Caulking does not allow water to penitrate under concrete pads. Raised pad directs water as originally intended.
Description of Work
Raise a small sunken concrete driveway pad and caulk many pad areas that had lost their caulking over the years.
Category
concrete driveways, mudjacking
David S.
5.0
05/09/2017
Worth every penny. The process began at the Pittsburgh Home Show. The A-1 exhibit made it clear to my wife and me that A-1 had a superior and eco-friendly process, and decided then and there that we wanted to have A-1 provide an estimate for our project. Mitch bid the project. He was thorough and professional. His estimate met our expectations (Honored a 5% discount for seniors as noted in Angie's List General Information for A-1). We scheduled the work via Jessica - she was very considerate as we worked out the details. The A-1 crew (Andy and Jason) exceeded expectations. They were prompt, efficient, friendly, and professional. In the end, you would not know they were here. Results were as expected, with surfaces raised, leveled, and made flush where necessary (with no surprises); and better than expected, with several joints and the 1 inch injections holes in the concrete all caulked as neatly as could be. After job clean-up was 100%.
Description of Work
Small job - 1 sidewalk slab, and 2 patio slabs - raised, leveled, and made flush.
Category
mudjacking
Mary Grace M.
5.0
04/27/2017
Perfect. The driveway looks like it is new. And they repaired damage caused by a previous company that did a very poor job
Description of Work
Raised fallen slabs on my driveway and sealed the seams
Category
mudjacking
Charlie W.
5.0
10/24/2016
Very well. They showed up when they said they would. Work was done as promised. A little confusion between the person quoting the job and the people doing it. But all worked out without any issues.
Description of Work
They raised and leveled a footer. Also then pumped grout in to support the floor.
Category
concrete repair, mudjacking, foundation repair
Autum K.
3.0
10/24/2016
Below our front porch are a couple steps, a landing and additional concrete steps that lead in two directions away from the house. They looked like they had sunken over the years. When the project manager visited initially (when only I was present) he was very confident he could level our concrete. I was pleased with the price and his assurance. As soon as the worker arrived on the day of the project (when only my husband was present) he expressed his doubt that the landing area could be leveled. He completed the work that day, but one set of steps and the landing were still slanted. I could only see a noticeable difference in one or two sections. I called A1 immediately to express my concern that the project wasn't done to our satisfaction. The worker and the office staff were very receptive and helpful to us. When the project manager returned to see the finished product, however, he was rude and dismissive. He claimed he never told me they could fix the landing because it was "poured funny" originally. (That was never part of our original conversation.) My husband and I were very put off by his attitude and I felt very misled by our first meeting. Had we known a central part of the project couldn't be fixed properly we may have spent our money elsewhere. The company did send the crew back to try again and I saw an improvement in part of the steps. The landing still looks uneven, but apparently it can't be fixed. WARNING: Ask directly if your concrete area can be made LEVEL - not just raised - based on the way it was poured originally or if your improvement/results may be limited with this company's services. Again - multiple employees were kind, receptive, and professional. Just beware of those selling the services.
Description of Work
Leveling of concrete front steps and landing.
Category
mudjacking
Arnold F.
5.0
10/14/2016
They sent out an estimator and he made an offer for the work. He estimated the work, a small section of what we needed done for $1000 dollars. We told him we would looking for have the whole section lifted, and he agreed to do the whole job, and he gave us an Angie's List discount! He did the job for $800 dollars. They drilled a small hole in to the sidewalk and poured the stuff in to lift it.The sidewalk was sinking to do the ground moving and the tree roots in our yard. They finished the job in less than hour. It was very well done, and we are very happy. I'd give him an A on all aspects. I would recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
One of the sidewalks had sunk down and it was a huge trip hazard. There were several pieces of the sidewalk that had sunk.
Category
mudjacking
Diane R.
1.0
09/27/2016
Initially it looked great, but first rain, it was quickly discovered that instead of the water penetrating the foundation, it now ponds on the porch making the area unusable for porch furniture and will create slip and fall hazards during the winter months. Upon contacting them, the salesman said there was nothing that pucks be done, and the operations director said that he would provide a solution. That was a proposal to spend an additional $600. Based on the email transactions it is clear that he was aware this project would not be successful, but he choose not to disclose that information up front.
Description of Work
Porch/deck area not leveled. Slabs were uneven with trip hazards, water penetrating into the foundation
Category
mudjacking

Service Provider Response

The customer's original problem was that water was being directed into her home's foundation wall because the concrete patio was sloped and sinking toward the home. This was causing water to penetrate into her basement and garage through the wall. It was also deteriorating the concrete block. We were contacted to fix this problem. We concrete leveled all of the areas/slabs and sloped the concrete away from the home. The water is no longer getting into the block wall or inside her home. The problem for which we were contacted and retained has been fixed. In fact the customer praised our work when completed and agreed to provide a positive review. However, after the first rain, it was discovered that one of the concrete slabs had enough of a low spot in it that was created when the concrete was originally poured and finished that puddling of water was now occurring. The concrete was finished incorrectly by a cement finisher years ago. This low spot held water even after we leveled the slabs. This was not a condition that A1 created. This was not recognized until the first rain, which occurred sometime after we completed the job. The dip in that slab was not visually noticeable and would have been impossible to predict post leveling that water would pool on it. Once we were aware of the customer's complaint, the project manager who originally estimated the project inspected the area of concern. In his opinion the client had two ways of correcting this issue. One was to use a surface patch to raise the area to fill in that low spot. This is not ideal on an exterior slab due to longevity and appearance. The other option the client had was to install a drain to reroute the water. If you were to look at Mrs. [Member Name Removed]'s concrete there are two drains on the entrance side but none on the far side of the patio where the water sits. It's not clear why as nothing is different to our observation. So our proposition was to install a drain in the area that lacked one. We gave a quote to perform the work at a greatly reduced cost due to the nature of the situation. The quote was unsatisfying to the customer. Mrs [Member Name Removed] felt it should be done for her for free. We attempted to negotiate terms for a solution but the issue was perceived by the client to be entirely A1's fault. We did not feel that this was the work we were out to correct initially, nor did we have any influence on making the matter worse. This was an additional project that was identified after the original project was successfully completed. We empathized with the customer and tried to come to some arrangement. We were willing to suffer substantial loss to make the customer happy but there was no meeting, not half way, not a quarter of the way, not an eighth of the way, no way. At the end of the experience we felt like we were being taken advantage of and made financially accountable for a situation that had nothing to do with our work. We are sorry that her past concrete finisher did a poor job, but to make A1 culpable for that is in our opinion a little beyond what we are willing to accept.
Harry T.
3.0
09/11/2016
It was a mix. Half and half. Side to side of the floor the floor is level. From rear to front they couldn't level it. The rear of the garage floor is lower than the front.
Description of Work
This was the second time I called A-1 to level my garage floor. The first time was a few years ago. I didn't know then, but the first leveling did not bring the floor level. It was sinking on the right side from water runoff in the wintertime. The second time, they were able to level the access side of the garage floor but they could not bring the floor even from the back to the front of the garage floor.
Category
mudjacking
MAUREEN W.
5.0
08/16/2016
Great. They came out in few days with an estimate and then came back less than a week later to complete the job
Description of Work
Driveway, sidewalk and front step needed to be raised
Category
mudjacking
Sara F.
5.0
08/16/2016
Everything went very well. Christian came out as scheduled to review what we wanted, discussed what, how, and cost. I had the written estimate the next day. At the time of estimate, he said they were about three weeks out. The work was actually done in one week (smallish job). It was very interesting to watch the two men work. They were very methodical, and constantly checking how the porch and walk were rising. Very satisfied.
Description of Work
Leveling of front porch and one slab of walkway.
Category
mudjacking

    Other local Pros in your area

    Highlander Waterproofing & Foundation Repair

    At Highlander Waterproofing & Foundation Repair, we are the area's trusted experts specializing in basement and crawlspace waterproofing and encapsulation, along with foundation repair services for bowing and buckling walls, floor and wall cracks, and full foundation rebuilds to name a few. We have recently updated this page on Angi for the 2023 new year, and we look forward to sharing the 100's of past and present reviews we have accumulated from reputable sites like Homeadvisor, Google and the Better Business Bureau, where we are a two-time Torch Award For Ethics Winner! We offer custom waterproofing solutions our customers trust, with warranties that have stood the test of time. With more than a century of experience, we have mastered repairs and installations. Highlander is family owned and operated with a brick and mortar office and warehouse location in Mars, PA to conveniently service the entire Greater Pittsburgh Metropolitan Area. Our company has a 100% commitment to our customer's satisfaction. Much like the foundation repair work we specialize in, building on a strong foundation is the key to success,which is why we have built our business on hard work, endless energy, knowledge and integrity. Contact us today to schedule your free inspection. Twenty-four hour emergency services and a lifetime, transferable warranty are availble!  

    Angi Certified

    Green Landscaping

    Green Landscaping is a family owned and full service landscape and hardscape company serving the North Hills of Pittsburgh. We take pride in our work giving you a quality product. The owner Cullen looks over all jobs and and ensures customer satisfaction no matter the size or price. We are fully insured and offer free estimates.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Johnson Masonry Restoration LLC

    At Johnson Masonry Restoration we specialize in restoring residential/commercial masonry work to its original beauty! We offer many masonry related services. We are a small family business with years of experience and pride ourselves in offering the best price for the customer. Some services we offer are; concrete resurfacing. repointing, chimney repairs, acid wash, graffiti removal, weather sealing, retaining walls, lentil repair, parging, chimney sweeping/cleaning, power washing And more!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Raising & stabilizing existing concrete slabs and structures that have settled, through pressure grout injection and mechanical means. Piering sinking foundations & Repairing and strengthening bowing and stressed foundation walls.

    Services Not Offered

    Retaining walls, pouring or tear-outs of concrete.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair

    How is A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair overall rated?

    A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair open?

    A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair provide

    A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offers free project estimates.

    Does A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offer a senior discount?

    No, A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair?

    No, A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair does not offer warranties.

    What services does A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offer?

    A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair offers the following services: Raising & stabilizing existing concrete slabs and structures that have settled, through pressure grout injection and mechanical means. Piering sinking foundations & Repairing and strengthening bowing and stressed foundation walls.

    Are there any services A-1 Concrete Leveling & Foundation Repair does not offer?

    Retaining walls, pouring or tear-outs of concrete.