Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

James Taylor Construction Inc

4.7

(559) Verified Reviews

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2006

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Hours are not available for this pro right now. Please check back later.

Company Contact

102 Southbank Dr

Cary, NC 27518

Description

James Taylor Construction Inc. was formed by James Taylor in 1989 originally as James Taylor Roofing. For 25 years we have successfully served the Triangle and surrounding areas performing different projects from home repairs to custom building and commercial roofing. Led by James Taylor, JTC has performed well over 5000 small and large renovation projects with over 5000 satisfied customers. At the end of 2013 James Taylor Construction expanded to include the Triad area which is being led by Bryan Sepich who currently resides in Winston Salem. In 2014 JTC added Kevin Beddingfield as a partner to offer services in window treatments products including interior shutters and blinds. Kevin comes to JTC with over 20 years experience in window treatment production and installation. Today our focus is on quick and reliable renovations for existing homes and businesses. Most projects we perform today are completed within a week. We were recognized as a super service provider for Angie’s List customers for four consecutive years with one of their highest ratings in the roofing, siding, window, and gutter categories. We are proud of this achievement and have continued plans to operate at the highest levels for service and workmanship. We have worked hard to develop and maintain what we believe to be a stellar reputation for great customer service, good work, and highly competitive pricing. We look forward to serving you now and in the future. Additional email - jtc@jtcroofs.com. Additional Contacts: Nat Taylor 919-395-8661 Award winning....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(559) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

429

4

48

3

26

2

17

1

39

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

roofing (389)window treatment (123)gutter repair (79)window replacement (51)siding companies (18)decks & porches (10)house painting (7)skylight installation (4)general contractors (4)home builder (3)hurricane shutters (1)handyman (50)
Showing 1-10 of 559 reviews
3.0

01/03/2021


Dan R.

We had an excellent experience getting a new roof with JTC about six years ago, and to be fair I meant to jump on and write a very positive review then. However, we've since had some serious water damage along one section of eaves / soffit, to the point where we've now had water run down through our wall/flooring and into our HVAC ducts. I've emailed twice and called but haven't gotten any response at all. At this point, I'll try someone else, but I did have a very positive initial impression and would have thought that JTC would have at least come out to take a look at the problem for me.

Description of Work
roofing repair

Category blind cleaning,roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2021

5.0

10/31/2020


Jason S.

Roof replacement went well. Easy to stay in touch with roofer via email. Would call for other work.

Description of Work
Shed roof replacement

Category roofing

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2020

5.0

10/06/2020


Ken B.

James was personally involved with the roof replacement project. He gave a date to perform the job and his team came on time, and replaced the roof in a day. He is knowledgebable has been in the business for 25 yrs.is honest, very competitively priced and follows up if you should have any questions.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

1.0

08/06/2020


Tom L.

I think they are out of business. They do t answer phones and don’t return calls.

Description of Work
Gutters and ext painting

Category gutter repair,house painters

Cost $15,000

Work Completed On 08/06/2020

5.0

06/24/2020


Richard L.

Arrived on the sppointed day. Work completed on schedule. Roof looks very nice. Minor piece of follow up work to be complete in the next day or two.

Description of Work
Total roof replacement

Category blind cleaning,roofing

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

Images

Review for James Taylor Construction Inc - 102 Southbank Dr, Cary, NC - 38668105
1.0

05/06/2020


Jan T.

This is a follow up to the company’s “rejection” of our dissatisfaction. We followed up their inspection with another roofer and our insurance company. Our insurance company said we did have damage and needed a new roof, which we got.

Description of Work
Roof inspection

Category blind cleaning,roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2020

Service Provider Response

I once again reject this review. There was no hail damage on this roof. I personally inspected it. Hail chasing companies have popped up all over the country. They go door to door telling people they probably have hail damage. Then find little spots here and there on the roof and call it hail damage. Then independent insurance adjusters often give the roof to the homeowner because they get paid more if the roof is actually replaced. This is especially true if they don't want to actually go on the roof because its too steep. I have witnessed this over and over again for the past 5-10 years. When I inspect roofs I am honest about it. I don't make it up to get the roof replaced as it can be detrimental to the home owner in the future should they need to make another claim. This homeowner now has a claim against them for a roof they didn't need to replace as it was already new. This option is great for a homeowner with an old roof but not for one that is new. They didn't need it and now they need to hope they don't have to make another claim in the future. James Taylor
5.0

09/24/2019


Leslie B.

Excellent service and work. Very smooth experience. Kevin responded quickly with quote and setting expectations for timing of delivery and installation process. Our shutters were ready before we were as we were in the process of painting and remodeling. They patiently waited until we were ready for installation. Installation took about an hour and they look beautiful! Ended up ordering more for other rooms and I can’t wait for them to be ready! Highly recommend JTC.

Description of Work
Plantation Shutters installation

Category window treatments

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2019

3.0

06/11/2019


Jan T.

The actual roofing job in 2014 went fine. We were pleased with the initial work and the price. However, the company’s follow up is sorely lacking. They responded when we had a concern about some of the new roofing within a couple of weeks. Our second issue it took much longer to get a response from them. Now in 2019, we have been trying to get them to come and check out our roof for hail damage. We can’t get anyone to call us. Just some texts and passing off of responsibility. Their customer service is poor.

Description of Work
Replacing roof in 2014

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2019

Service Provider Response

We reject this grade. This customer sent me an email on June 6th. I was on vacation that week. I responded June 7th while still on vacation. They requested we look at their roof for hail damage which was not an emergency. We have since responded, inspected the roof for free, and found no hail damage. I suggest they call someone else in the future.
5.0

02/17/2019


Henry S.

Gave quick quote and then performed work in a very professional manner

Description of Work
Replaced asphalt shingles roof after Hurricane Florence

Category roofing

Cost $24,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2019

1.0

01/17/2019


Kenneth P.

No replies. Too small. Had a siding contractor in our neighborhood that did the repair for one of my wife's pound cake.

Description of Work
Small siding repair.

Category siding

Work Completed On 01/17/2019

Service Provider Response

We were and are only offering full roof replacements in this customer's area. It should be advertised this way. We do not advertise in the siding category for this area. We've tried to make that known as soon as we are contacted.

Services Offered

Roofing, Metal Roofs, Tesla solar, siding, exterior painting, gutters, wood repair, windows, interior plantation shutters and blinds, decks & flooring.

Services Not Offered

Foundations.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Check, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Yes