Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT

Founded 1999 • With Angi since February 2008

We are a Family owned and operated company. We pride ourselves on excellent workmanship and jobsite professionalism. We are Owens Corning Preferred Contractors, G.A.F. Certified Installers and Accreddited members of the BBB.We offer the best warranties in the business,and only install the best materials.We offer all Angies list members a 10% dicount on all projects !

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.1

(8) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews
Mary P.
5.0
09/03/2013
They did the work a few weeks ago. I hit it off really well with the salesman. I liked him a lot. The price was really low. I spent a lot of time with the salesman. I changed the siding they were going to put on. I wanted the better siding. I got charged more, which I suspected. That is the negative thing. I don't know if it is negative or not. I have heard the quality of the person who puts it on, is more important than the quality of the siding. I have to say they did a spectacular job! The men that put it on were so nice and polite. Everything I did for them. They were so appreciative, if I bought them pizza. He did something else for me that was not in the contract. My garage is beautiful! I have the prettiest garage in the entire neighbourhood. I really liked the salesman. The bottom boards were very old and ugly. People are complimenting me on my garage. They put in a fan and windows. It made the garage really pretty. Technically, he did not have to put the fan in. It was not in the contract, but he did it anyway. They are very honest. They worked really hard. When it was finished they went through everything they did and told me if I had any problems, they would come right out. They worked really hard.
Description of Work
I used Harley's home improvement. They put siding in the garage and a new door and windows.
Category
siding, garage builders, doors
Neil H.
1.0
08/16/2013
They were horrible. They just coming to estimate and nobody ever followed up with us. Four times a different person came, it's a totally disorganized company. It's always a new person and they say they want to check the roof for storm damage and they do and they never come back and tell us what they found out. They never call, and then somebody new comes and the same thing. They've done this like four or five times. We just told them don't bother anymore. My husband called and they said well somebody died from cancer and then another person, there is always excuses. For a big company they never follow up, never. I don't know how they stay in business, I really don't
Description of Work
Harley's Home Improvement came to give us an estimate for our roof, but never followed through.
Category
roofing
David R.
4.0
07/15/2013
Not a fan of the sales guy, he was to fake for me, pretended he cared about me, but I did not get that vibe. They replaced my roof as part of an insurance job , hail damage. Sometimes it was hard to get a hold of my sales guy for questions or concerns, but when he wanted to know where is check was at he sured called alot, though he was willing to wait for final payment because I was out of town, very understanding with that. However they were supposed to be out weeks ago to comb my A/C, they just showed up a couple days ago. Everytime I called him about that and he always said I was a priority, he was on it, blah blah, blah, you see it took forever for them to come out. On the other hand the instillation crew was awesome!! They were on time, attentive to my needs, answered all my questions, made sure I was satisfied before they left, and id a good job cleaning up my yard. That is why I would use them again.
Description of Work
Replaced my roof. hail damage. insurance job.
Category
roofing
Heather M.
4.0
05/22/2013
Their craftsmanship was fine. Actually we went with them because they met the lowest price of another company. Their customer service is pretty poor. Actually we were told by the salesman that came here to solve the job that he was going to be here on the day that the job was done. But we have not seen him since he has come to take the deposit. We still owe them money and we are still waiting for them to come and collect it from us. Since the job was done we have heard nothing from them.
Description of Work
We used Harley’s Home Improvement to do the roof.
Category
roofing
Tim S.
4.0
01/22/2013
We experienced hail damage from a storm on July 1st, 2012, that, at first, appeared to be minor. Our neighbors came over a few days later to say that a representative from Harley's Home Improvement had stopped by to check out their house and they had asked if we would like him to inspect our house for damage. We agreed and their representative inspected the house, informing us that we had extensive damage to the roof, siding and trim on the house, as well as extensive damage to our barn. I contacted our insurance company and they promptly sent an adjuster, who agreed that their was extensive damage to our home. The adjuster asked the Harley's representative to prepare a written estimate and send to his office for review/approval. That estimate was never submitted. The insurance company prepared an estimate of damages and a copy was provided to Harley's Home Improvement. We received a check from the insurance company that required be sent to our mortgage company so they could distribute the funds as needed. The mortgage company required several items from Harley's but it took several weeks for our representative to get this information to us so that we could submit to the mortgage company. The roof work was completed in one day, and the work was excellent. Over the next few months there was no work done due to Harley's being overwhelmed with work. The siding guys showed up one day with no paperwork provided by our representative so they had no idea what work was to be done. At this time we noticed an oversight by the insurance adjuster (two walls were missing for siding replacement on his estimate) and he said that Harley's simply needed to send in an amendment to the work order. The siding guys and Harley's said that no amendment was to be provided so the siding guys had to pack up. A second adjuster had to be sent from the insurance company to note the additional work that was required. This delay and need for a revised estimate resulted in another month's delay in having our siding work completed. The siding guys, who performed excellent work, completed their work and then we heard nothing from our representative, or Harley's Home Improvement, despite numerous calls. And then one evening in late 2012 our representative showed up demanding payment for work performed. He refused to provide necessary paperwork so that the insurance company and the mortgage company could close out the account. We provided him with the checks that had been sent from the mortgage company, based upon their inspector's appraisal, and never saw him again. Several weeks later we finally received all necessary paperwork and the account was finally settled in the second week of January 2013. The work performed by the Harley's Home Improvement Company subcontractors was superb and we were pleased by the professionalism of their work. The Harley's Office Staff was easy to work with during this overwhelming period and they did not know the level of confusion that was occurring throughout the repair period. Our only discontent was that our representative showed little interest in the status of our repair/damages after the initial sales call and he was very disorganized (we found his files twice lying in our yard where he had set them down to take samples). We have since learned that he had parted ways with Harley's. Others in our area that had contracted Harley's spoke highly of their representatives - none of which shared ours - and we were all extremely happy with the work done on our homes. Despite the confusion/discontent with the representative, we would recommend Harley's Home Improvement for roofing and siding repairs.
Description of Work
Hail Damage Restoration
Category
roofing, siding
Gail H.
5.0
11/13/2012
They were great. Came when they said they would and did what they promised. Company kept in contact both on phone and coming by to check work. We had a wind storm right after, and a piece of siding came loose on the garage. We called them and they were right out to fix it at no charge. Would use them again in a minute.
Description of Work
Did roof on both house and garage. New siding on house and garage. Redid paitio roof, porch repairs and other work.
Category
decks, roofing, siding
Matt R.
2.0
08/20/2012
Our roof was damaged after a July hail storm. Harley's was one of the storm chasing contractors in the area trying to drum up business. The representative from Harley's offered to check my roof for damage at no cost. While he was up on the roof, he was loudly excited about just how much damage was up there; he was practically dancing with excitement at all of our damage. Kept shouting down to his partner about how they will not have to make the long drive for another pending job due to all the jobs they will be getting locally. I realize hail is sort of a windfall for contractors, but please have the professionalism to keep your glee to yourself when dealing with potential clients who are probably not so happy that they have to deal with this. We were also given business cards with an incorrect phone number.
Description of Work
Representative went up on roof to check for damage.
Category
roofing
Patricia H.
1.0
08/19/2012
No one showed up or called to cancel.
Description of Work
I called and made an appointment for someone to come out and give an estimate.
Category
roofing

Phone

Address

20041 Ecorse Rd

Taylor, MI 48180

Other Information

Services offered

We provide the following services Roofing, Siding ,Windows, Doors, Gutters, Leaf protection Masonry, Concrete, Stampcrete, Blown in insulation, Painting, Interior work, Remodeling and many other services.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT offers free project estimates.

Yes, HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT offers emergency services.

Yes, HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT offers warranties.

HARLEY'S HOME IMPROVEMENT offers the following services: We provide the following services Roofing, Siding ,Windows, Doors, Gutters, Leaf protection Masonry, Concrete, Stampcrete, Blown in insulation, Painting, Interior work, Remodeling and many other services.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Call CLI Concrete Leveling, Inc in Ypsilanti Michigan for all of your concrete contracting needs. With over 25 years of Concrete Leveling experience, our locally owned and operated business offers a wide variety of residential and commercial concrete leveling and Foundation Repair services to our customers. Our licensed and insured business is certified for foundation work to meet all of your needs. If you are a homeowner, apartment manager or commercial contractor, CLI Concrete Leveling, Inc is here to serve you. Additional phone - (734) 564-2925.  

From chimney cleaning to a new roof, we can help improve the look and value of your home or business. We have over 25 years experience adn we are fully insured and licensed. Above All Masonry & Construction, LLC is dedicated to home beautification and restoration for both Residential and Commercial properties. Protecting our clients' investment with durable, guranteed products, increasing home values and our professional, courteous employees are all sources of pride. We treat every project like its our own home. We are a member of the Better Business Bureau and the Detroit and Downriver Business Association.  

Chimney Cricket

Angi Certified

Chimney Cricket

Our fast and quality work, extensive experience, and many satisfied customers all attest to the fact that Chimney Cricket in Detroit, MI is the best chimney service company for homeowners and commercial businesses alike. Please contact us to enlist a Chimney Cricket expert to complete your fireplace, masonry or chimney work today.Chimney Cricket is a proud to support a team of CSIA certified chimney professionals. Our specialist are trained to perform a variety of services including chimney relining, tuckpointing, the installation of fireplace mantels, fireplace damper repairs, ventless fireplace installation, and much more.