Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc

Founded 1985 • With Angi since November 2002

4.5

(185) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

120 E Lake St

Elmhurst, IL 60126

Description

The Midwest’s Largest, Most Respected Fireplace and Chimney Company Fireplace & Chimney Authority has over 100 years of combined industry experience. We are the Midwest’s largest full-service chimney company from building, restoration, installation of gas or wood-burning appliances and chimney cleaning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/15/2022


GLORY B.

The technicians arrived on time and performed the dryer vent clean-out as expected. They were able to clean the vent from outside without moving the dryer away from the wall inside. They also checked the seal on the outside vent. It took about 40 minutes. I've used their services before and was always happy with their work. I should have this done every 2 to 3 years, but it had been longer - he got 1/2 of a bucket of lint. Now the dryer works well. $190 for this service.

Description of Work
Dryer Vent Clean-out

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your business and for such kind words. We strive to meet and/or exceed expectations on every job and we are so glad to have done so for you. With three decades of serving the Chicagoland area, we pride ourselves on putting customers like you at the forefront of our focus as well as maintaining a reputation for honesty and fairness. We are so honored to have you as part of the FPCA family and look forward to being of service in the future. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
2.0

02/14/2021


Jacqueline S.

This company came out because our fireplace would turn on but then after a couple of minutes it would turn itself off. Their technicians arrived around 8:10 in the morning as scheduled. They cleaned our fireplace. We told them that our remote for the fireplace was no longer working. We were told that the company that installed our fireplace is out of business and that parts are no longer available. He suggested we look on EBAY to find the same remote. Then we were told we needed a part. However, nothing was said other than we needed a part. No explanation was given. By 8:30 the two technicians had packed up their bags and headed to our front door and began preparing our invoice. I said to them, “Please stay at least 5 minutes to be sure the fireplace stays lit”. As I was speaking, it turned off. I explained to them that I was not willing to pay $189.00 for a service call that left our fireplace in the same non-working condition that it was in prior to their service call. I was then told again that we needed a part. I then asked the tech, “What part do we need?” He told me the name of the part. I then asked him, do you have the part? He then said, “Yes”. I then asked how much would it be? He gave me the price. I asked him if he could install the part? He tells me, “yes, I think the part is in my truck”. He goes to get the part, installs it and the fireplace is working properly. My complaint- the two young technician’s skill level seems to be cleaning of fireplaces but they had no ability troubleshoot and determine the problems or the solution to the problems. They were not knowledgeable when it comes to repairs. Before they left, I asked him why did he not tell me from that he had a replacement remote in his truck and that he was able to do the repairs. His response was, “it did not come to his mind, and it is early in the morning”. What??? When I called their office and spoke with J.P. who claimed to be a supervisor. I requested a discount because had I not walked them through the above steps, our fireplace still would not be working. Of course, he refused. He did tell me that he would speak with his technicians. To date, I have not received an apology, phone call, or a discount. This issue for me is they have a very bad attitude and could care less about satisfying their customer needs. I do not plan on using this company in the future, and I would recommend others to do likewise.

Description of Work
Clean Fireplace and replace remote.

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

5.0

11/21/2020


c W.

We visited the Lisle showroom several times & received very helpful information and explanations about the products from Adam McMahon . Our order came in 4 weeks later as expected. We were really glad that they could install the next week which got it in for Thanksgiving. Danny & Omar arrived on time to install, were neat, careful, & accurate. We had a very good experience with Fireplace and Chimney Authority in Lisle.

Description of Work
Adam McMahon at Lisle Fireplace and Chimney Authority helped us select & order exactly what we wanted.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed] Thank you for your business and for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We strive to meet/exceed expectations on every job and we are so glad to have done so for you. We are honored to have you as part of the FPCA family and look forward to being of service in the future. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
1.0

11/16/2018


James P.

We purchased a gas fireplace insert with logs and a remote start in December of 2017. Th total price was approximately $2,400.00. They did everything as contracted and we have been happy with the purchase with the only proviso that the installers kept trying to sell us other services like duct cleaning and tuck pointing and when I declined, they seemed a little annoyed. A week ago (11-07-2018) the fireplace mysteriously shut down and we could not start it up again with the remote. The control box in the fire place box began to beep and I manually shut off the gas just to be safe. We called in the problem to their service department and the receptionist mockingly asked my wife if the batteries in the remote were still good. They were just replaced and the remote worked fine. An appointment was set-up and a technician came out. He asked me for four AA batteries that I gave him. He replaced the ones in the remote (which were fine) and then pulled out the control box and replaced those batteries as well (which we did not know existed). After doing this everything worked as before. Then the service man sat and looked at the fireplace for over an hour. At first, I thought he was doing his due diligence, but it was apparent that the unit only need a battery replacement and I politely showed him the door. Here are my complaints: 1. They charged us $175.00 to replace 4 batteries. 2. The serviceman stayed at least an extra hour padding the bill 3. If this company was professional, they would have told us over the phone to check the batteries in the control box and if the problem persisted, then they would send someone out. 4. I should have researched this before we called. I trusted them, that was my mistake.

Description of Work
Service call

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr [Member Name Removed], It is unfortunate that our technician was unable to explain himself clearly or that his information was missed upon completion of the service call. Upon his arrival, he visually inspected the entire burner system to evaluate the possible cause of the problem. This included inspection and cleaning of the eight (8) logs, adding embers to the burner system for aesthetic value, cleaning the thermocouple (there was some moderate build-up), checking the gas pressure to the unit (6.8-in w.c., well within operational limits) and checking the batteries in the receiver box and remote. Once the problem was found (the batteries in the receiver), the remainder of the the time spent on location focused on cycling the system through its burn and off states to insure that the problem was corrected. Since our service call is not on a timed basis, there was no "padding" of time. It was simply due diligence to make sure your problem had been resolved. We have reviewed our phone recordings and although we do not hear the same intonation that your wife took as mocking, we do apologize if that is how she interpreted the conversation. It is not and never will be how we deal with any of our customers. If you have any additional questions regarding the service call, please feel free to contact our General Manager Scott Bogat at 630-279-8500 and as always, the owners manuals for the log set, burner system and remote system can be a wealth of knowledge. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
5.0

10/20/2018


Tom W.

Bernard told us that everything looked so good that he didn't have to do any cleaning and that it would only cost $85.00 instead of $129.00 saving us some money. He also checked the chimney and discovered that the storm collar was cracked and needed to be replaced. He took pictures of the collar to show me. Overall a great experience!

Description of Work
General inspection before the heating season.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a great job for you. We will pass along the kind words to Bernardo as well. We are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations. Best regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
1.0

10/19/2018


Craig P.

They gave me a price to inspect the fireplace. I asked for an appointment. I gave him my address, and Joseph states they don't do Kankakee County. I told him the web page states, we install and repair in Kankakee County and surrounding areas. Joseph states that the job is too small, and they don't have anybody to come this far. I asked for the manager, Joseph states that what the manager said. I asked to speak to him again. Joseph states that he is out. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY

Description of Work
flue and or damper repair

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], We apologize if our sales staff was unclear in their conversation with you. We certainly do service Kankakee County. However, we do not have routes scheduled every day in that area. Perhaps Joseph misunderstood you and thought that you were looking for a specific date. Either way, it is not our intention to upset any customer. We thank you for taking the time to let us know of a possible shortcoming and we will use your comments as a training tool for our staff. Sincerely, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
1.0

10/10/2018


Patricia M.

I contracted FCA in 2007 and paid an extra $500 for a 10 year Extension of their standard 5 year warranty. I called in November of 2017 to advise them that the new bricks were spalling and that I had damage on my living room ceiling above the fireplace. They told me that I was no longer under warranty - that the extension was for a total of 10 years and did not bring my warranty to 15 years as I had been told when I paid for the work. I tried arguing definitions of extension - "addition to" but the refused to honor my warranty. The tech came out 11/29 /17 and wrote on my receipt, "Flashing had some gaps sealed with silicone. I think this is what damaged the drywall. They quoted me $4200 to have the work redone. I now have to have the work redone and have my drywall repaired and my entire living room repainted. Can Angie's List please help me?

Description of Work
Fireplace Rebuild from roof line

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Ms. [Member Name Removed], It is regrettable that there was so much confusion regarding the 10-year extended warranty. As is the case with most extended warranties, the time frame is always based on the date of purchase and is clearly indicated on the paperwork provided at the time of executing the extended warranty. If the sales staff were unable to clearly explain the document to you, for that we apologize. Since we are a masonry company, we do not install flashing on a roof. At most, we will reattach existing flashing per industry standards but the flashing and shingles fall under the scope of professional roofers. It is certainly possible that the water damage could have occurred from the failure of the flashing (a shingled roof should be inspected every [Member Information Removed] years by a professional roofer for potential problems). Our quote did not include any replacement of the flashing, simply the masonry work required on your chimney as it appears it has suffered water damage as well. The flue tiles were damaged from age and a chimney liner is needed to contain any combustion byproducts. In addition, the smoke chamber needed to be parged smooth. The quote also included the removal of the damper frame and an energy efficient top damper. I biggest concern is that the fireplace should not be used due to the cracked flue tile. If your concerns of water damage remain, we highly suggest finding a professional roofing company to inspect and repair any issues with your roof. If you plan on using the fireplace, we stand behind our original evaluation of the condition of your fireplace and chimney. Whether you choose our company to do the work or not, we highly recommend refraining from using the fireplace until it is safe to do so. Sincerely, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
5.0

09/26/2018


Rob S.

They did a great job took before and after pics so we could see difference Explained all work preformed very informative answered all our questions.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job! We appreciate your business and hope that we can be of service in the future. Best regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
5.0

02/25/2018


Evonne W.

These guys are great! We tried 2 other places to get our Gas insert Fireplace cleaned and repaired - Firefixer and American Heritage. American Heritage was terrible - couldn't even get someone to answer the phone politely. Firefixer seemed to be responsive, but then came out and basically just cleaned the firebox and didn't seem to be able to figure out how to repair the switch or blower. Well, third times a charm, as they say, and we decided to give Fireplace and Chimney Authority a try. These guys know what they're doing. Came out on time, re-cleaned the box showing us a significant amount of sooting still present and recommended replacing the blower and switch. They ordered the part, returned and ta-dah... done! And at a fair price - reasonable. Hooray! Don't waste your time waiting on hold for American Heritage - call these guys instead. repaired the firebox,

Description of Work
Fireplace clean and repair

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. We will pass along your comments to our field staff as well! Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
4.0

10/10/2017


F G.

I Can't climb up on the chimney ,so I Can't be specific!

Description of Work
Repair chimney/Cap

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us your assessment of the job performed. We are sorry to see that you graded us a "D" on pricing. We strive to bring quality work to our customers at a fair price. Keep in mind that unlike many companies, none of our technicians are sub-contracted. We may not be the cheapest on the market, but then again, would you really want to pay a cheap price for sub-standard work. We do hope you will contact us for any future fireplace and/or chimney work needed. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority Team
5.0

10/01/2017


John K.

They replace the flute and the damper. Also, at the top of the chimney the metal part they replaced that, the smoke cap. They were very professional. It was two guys. They were informative. This guy was really nice, he made sure we understand what was going on. He took pictures. He was pretty happy with his work at the ned and I was happy too.

Description of Work
I had a fireplace redone.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. We will pass along your comments to our field staff as well! Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
5.0

05/26/2017


PHYLLIS H.

Job was done well. Only small glitch was they thought they could order a replacement back panel from the original manufacturer, but it was not available. They needed to fit a generic panel instead, but it looks fine.

Description of Work
Clean and inspect chimney, replace cracked back panel, replace cap

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
1.0

04/04/2017


Thomas D.

Sent email to inquire about Louisiana pellet grill but no response. I don't know why businesses have a "contact us" email and then never respond

Description of Work
Sent email to inquire about Louisiana pellet grill but no response. I don't know why businesses have a "contact us" email and then never respond

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], It concerns us that you were not contacted after your email. As we continue to track down what may have happened to cause this breakdown in the communication process, we would encourage you to call our Lisle store at 630-969-8800. Please feel free to ask for Adam, our general manager. However, if he happens to be unavailable, any of our sales staff should be able to assist you in your questions. Once again, we apologize for the communication breakdown. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
5.0

11/28/2016


Arthur M.

Great!! They cleaned the glass too--it never looked so good.

Description of Work
gas fire place cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
5.0

11/16/2016


H F.

The sales person was helpful and knowledgeable; and the installation techs paid great attention to detail. The installation was done neatly and cleanly.

Description of Work
We purchased a new gas log set.

Category chimney sweep,gas logs

Service Provider Response

We are pleased to know that you are happy our staff and with installers work. It was our pleasure to be able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
5.0

10/31/2016


Emily S.

Excellent. Work was performed on time, efficiently, cleanly and cost stayed true to their estimate. Fireplace is now looking beautiful and operating safely and efficiently.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning, then subsequent chimney repairs: rebuild top 6 rows of chimney and pour new crown, plus re-do the entire interior of the chimney (remove flue tiles, install SS liner, new damper, smoke chamber, gas logs, etc).

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

Service Provider Response

We are pleased to know that you are happy our staff and with our masons work. It was our pleasure to be able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
1.0

04/20/2016


Michelle C.

The rebuild was good, the crew of two guys that showed up were punctual, courteous, and professional. They showed us their work, and explained what was done. We were very satisfied with the quality and the price. This was in October/November 2014. Fast forward to April 2016 (18 months later), when a storm blew one of the chimney caps off the front chimney. I called, assuming there was a guarantee of their work. WRONG! Only if they identified the chimney cap in the itemized part of the estimate. I spoke with Dan, who said we'd have to pay for the service call for their guy to come put the cap back on ($75). I was a little ticked, because this was a $5K job, and I would assume there would be a warrantee on this job (I swear they originally said 10 years, but that's not on the paperwork either). They sent a guy out on April 15, who looked at the clearly newish cap and said he didn't know if it was theirs, and since it wasn't itemized on my bill that he didn't know if he could put it back on (honestly, would anyone have them do 99% of the job by building the chimneys, then hire and pay someone else to do the caps?!?!?). I called again yesterday (4/19) since no one called back after the service call on 4/15 and "the person who deals with service calls", Dan, was off on Tuesdays. I was told he would call back today (4/20). Minutes ago, I got off a very frustrating phone call with Dan. Dan said they would not fix the cap (which looked like it had been silicone glued to the mesh grate, not screwed on like is typical, apparently, which I theorize is why it blew off in the first place) because it wasn?t clear that they had done the work, and said he could have it put back on for $239 + the service call. He said since it wasn't detailed on the estimate, "if you're looking for a free chimney cap, that ain't gonna happen". For the record, I don't want anything for free, I just want the work I paid for to last more than a year and a half. I told him no one else has been on our roof and asked him if they are in the habit of rebuilding chimneys and not finishing the job with chimney caps. He said the caps are part of rebuilds but that if it wasn't detailed they 1) didn't do the caps or 2) we weren't charged for it the first time. I told him I paid for the rebuilding of my chimneys, and all that includes, and whether their guy forgot to write that on my bid was not my concern. I am very disappointed that we hired this company in good faith to do a fairly decent sized job, and they are not standing by nor guaranteeing their work. Dan refused to give me the name or contact information of the owners of the company when I asked for it, but said ?Scott, the manager? could call me back. Needless to say, I?m not holding my breath for a resolution. I would not recommend this company to anyone I know based solely on what happens if their work ends up being compromised somehow. H*** will freeze over while they bicker with you, the customer, over fixing something that if it had been installed properly to start with, would not have been compromised by the weather in the first place.

Description of Work
We hired the Fireplace and Chimney Authority to repair our fireplaces in our 1897 farmhouse. When the masons came out, they told us we needed to rebuild the chimneys because they were structurally unsound. Bernardot gave us a bid of $5104, and honored an online discount that brought the total to $4493, which included tearing down the existing chimneys from the roofline (back chimney) and the attic floor (front chimney). The bid also included a "precast crown to the specifications of the chimney". The "other" category on the bid included "Rebuild chimney from second roofline which is 20 courses 8BPC and 13 on roof total of 33 courses and 8bpc, install precast crown--$2952; furnace chimney from roofline--$2152." NOTE: we hired this company to rebuild and finish our old, unsound chimneys, and all that entails. We are not masons or chimney experts, but assume rebuilding means finishing them from where the rebuild starts to where it ends.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

01/18/2016


WILLIAM S.

Serviceman arrived on time and cleaned the chimney flue. In doing so, he noticed cracks in the chimney top and after showing me the problem, I authorized the replacement, It was done quickly and efficiently. Very satisfied with the result.

Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney and replaced the top.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We are pleased to know that you are happy our staff and with our masons work. It was our pleasure to be able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
1.0

01/14/2016


Ed P.

Had chimney cleaned by this location. The crew did a good job on this BUT WHEN GIVEN WRITTEN QUOTE BY THEM for Real Fyre vent free gas logs pricing as I found out in investigating other authorized local and Internet RealFyredealers was way over list. When I called and taped to sales they referred me to another individual who never called me back I had to call him back and then he argued with me saying they had high overhead but if I would bring in the quotes from the local dealers he wouldl look at them. He was so rude and condescending Told my wife no way would i buy from this locations. Was about to order from another authorized dealer (three quoted me much lower prices ALL SUBSTANTIALLY BELOW RETAIL AND THEY WOULD INSTALL AS WELL). We were in Lisle and saw their store and we're just going to look at the log set before going to one of the other dealers THE LISLE STORE WAS A180 DEGREE DIFERENCE. THE SALESMAN WAS PROFESSIONAL AND QUOTED A PRICE COMPERABLE TO THE 3 OTHER DEALERS WITOUT OUR EVEN TELLING HIM WE HAD THOSE QUOTES Lisle store got the order and did the install yesterday and it was expertly installed SUGGESTION IFYOUWANT TO USE THIS COMPANY O TO THE LISLE STORE AS THEY ARE PROFESSIONAL, HONEST AND ETHICAL SKIP THE ELMHURST LOCATIONS N

Description of Work
Quoted but did not install fireplacelogs

Category chimney sweep

3.0

12/29/2015


Chrysa C.

We visited Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc and showed them pictures of an existing gas line to a BBQ (that had been removed). They were very cautious and came out to look at the line in person before giving us a quote. The salesperson personally inspected the line and said it would work just fine. At installation, everything seemed to go well. the installers were quick and clean. However, the next morning, we woke up to a house filled with gas smell. We immediately vacated the property and called the gas company. The gas company told us that the installers should never have hooked up the new line to the existing line, which was obviously corroded. They cut supply to the line and removed the corroded section. We called Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc the next day. They sent out their "best" installer, who agreed that the line was not safe to use. Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc proposed a $850 solution, which would have required digging up a concrete pad and replacing it later at an additional cost. They failed to take into account that we could have lost our house or died if the gas had continued to build up. We contacted our own plumber, who remedied the situation at a much lower cost and without disturbing the concrete pad. Although Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc agreed to not charge us for the original gas line install (a savings of $450), we were very disappointed in their failure to take the situation seriously. We were hesitant to post the details to Angies List, but given the potential danger for future customers, we thought others should be aware. Overall, we are happy with the product. However, if you are hooking up to an existing gas line, you might want to have your own plumber do the work.

Description of Work
Installed new gas logs and extended a gas line.

Category concrete repair,masonry,fireplaces,gas logs

5.0

10/06/2015


Yvonne L.

This company installed a wood burning insert into our existing fireplace. The company was incredibly professional, from the sales team to the installers. We had a tricky install as the fireplace surround is real river rock and some of the rock intruded into the opening. The guys who came to install took their time, cut only the rock that was needed and added a few to make the entire feel of the insert as though it was built into this wall. This service was just done yesterday, so it is a couple of a days before we can actually use the unit as we have to let the motar dry, but after consulting with another fireplace installer and being ignored, it was such a relief to work with a professional and customer service oriented company. So far I am completely satisfied and would recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
Installed wood burning insert, cut and repair surrounding river rock.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. Your kind comments have been shared with Jason (your salesman) John and Jose (your installers). All are happy that you love the new fireplace. We wish you many warm nights in front of your fire. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
3.0

09/29/2015


Roger K.

Update: the estimator made a mistake. I will move on and not hold it against him.

Description of Work
They came out and determined that my chimney needed to be replaced rather than repaired. We talked in detail about the rebuild and how the bricks would be closely matched.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Sir, It is regrettable that you feel that you were misinformed. However, we have interviewed each of the individuals involved and have come to the conclusion that there has been a great deal of confusion and/or misunderstanding with this situation. When our inspector, Daniel, arrived at your home in Downers Grove, he was there initially to determine if your chimney could be repaired. After a thorough inspection, Daniel informed you that the top 29 rows of the fireplace chimney would have to be removed and replaced due to the poor condition. Prior to completing the quote for the work, you stated that the chimney was no longer being used and could we cap it off at the roof line to save money. Although Daniel did state that we could do that, he also informed you that it would not be the best option. However, in an effort to assist you in your project, Daniel agreed to quote for the removal of the existing chimney down to the point of no damage (which was approximately 4 courses under the roof line) and to rebuild it to the roof line and cap the unused chimney. During this time, you continued to ask Daniel questions regarding brick and motor color matching as well as discussing the reduced height. When Daniel completed his estimate, he reviewed the work to be done and the cost with you. At that time, you choose not to do the work. You did not sign the estimate nor did you provide the 50% down payment for the work as explained and quoted. The quote left with you was for the verbally agreed upon work entailing the removal to under the roof line of the damaged chimney and replacement to the roof line and capping the chimney for non-use. When you called to schedule the job, you discussed the complete removal and rebuild of the entire chimney which caused some confusion to the scheduler based on his copy of the estimate cost. To alleviate the confusion, when Daniel returned to the office, he called you to discuss the project and the quote. He reminded you of your conversation and that the quote was for the lowered chimney based on your desire to save money. The general manager of our Elmhurst store (Scott Bogat) was consulted on what would be the price to be offered at basically our cost. You were informed that we would complete the full chimney at a cost of $XXXX.XX. At which point you asked for additional discounts to “meet in the middle”. We value our relationship with our customers above all else. We believe we were more than fair in the revised quote to change the job to your new specification. Discounting the job to our cost in an effort to alleviate any frustration you may have experienced from the confusion, seemed to be a fair and equitable solution. The job itself should be at least an additional $500-$600 dollars. Since we know you are a shrewd and conscientious consumer, we are sure that you have had quotes from other companies and they most likely bear out that fact. Although you originally decided not to accept the re-quote. We will stand by it. If you choose to have the original work done (tear down damaged and rebuild to roof line) or have the requote work done (tear down damaged and rebuild), we will stand by either quote. As a reminder, you had also asked Daniel to repair/replace some of the foundation. Unfortunately we do not work on foundations so that work will need to directed to another contractor. If you have any questions, please feel free to call our office and speak with our general manager, Scott Bogat, at 630-279-8500.
3.0

06/29/2015


Marshall W.

Requested that the chimney be cleaned and expected mortor to be replaced in firebox. Service man came alone and had me helping him do his job because he came out alone, and then attempted to sell me thousands of dollars of upgrades to the chimney. Might as well have the thing rebuilt for the cost quoted. All i wanted was the box cleaned and the mortor replaced. He claimed that he needed to come back with another person to fill in mortor in the firebox. Basically I paid service rep to come out and sell me services I didn't request. Will look for another vendor in the future.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney

Category chimney sweep,pavers, gravel,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear Sir, We are sorry that you feel you were mislead. We do not employ deceptive practices nor do we approve of them. The price you paid includes a standard cleaning and inspection according to industry standards. Upon inspection, out technician did note that the fireplace was very dirty and should be placed on a standard schedule for cleaning. The images of the firebox before cleaning showed a heavy build up. Based on his observation, he did recommend a deep cleaning (known as roto-cleaning) which would be a two man job. Based on the condition of the chimney identified in the standard visual inspection, it was also recommended that the crown be sealed and a thorough video inspection be completed after the deep cleaning. Due to the lack of maintenance, we had no choice but to make suggestions on getting the fireplace up to par. To fix the firebox, the estimate was $415.00 which included tuck-pointing the back wall, sides, floor and a lintel seal. Whether you choose to have Fireplace & Chimney Authority complete the work above, we highly suggest that this be done both for safety reasons and to avoid further damage to your fireplace, chimney and home. The deep cleaning and video inspection is also recommended. However, the firebox repairs should be addressed immediately. If you feel that any work was misrepresented or would like to discuss our recommendations further, please call out manager Scott at the Elmhurst location. He can be reached between 9:00 AM and 5:00 pm at 630-279-8500. He has access to the job reports and pictures taken during our inspection. He will be happy to assist in completing the work or helping understand the recommendations of our technician. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority.
5.0

04/23/2015


sandra C.

They were prompt, punctual and efficient.

Description of Work
Clean chimney. Change fireplace from wood burning to gas logs. Installed custom cap on chimney.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority
5.0

03/24/2015


Addi M.

Overall, I was very pleased with this company. They responded promptly to my emails (via Angie's List), asked good questions, gave me honest, thorough answers, went out of their way to ensure the correct part was ordered, provided good advice, came when scheduled, and did an EXCELLENT job on the service call. My fireplace is working better than it ever has and the tech (Jason) made a clever improvement to the way it is set up and functions which will make it much easier for me to service in the future. The only negatives (which are minor) are that they have 2 locations each with their own phone number rather than 1 central phone number. Several times, I forgot which location I had called and it took a little bit for each of us to figure out that I needed to call the other location. Also, whoever answers the phone was not very knowledgeable and I had to press them to be able to speak to a technician or to someone who could actually answer my questions. However, once I was connected with the right person all of my questions were answered in a professional and courteous manner. Would I use them again or recommend them? Absolutely!

Description of Work
Diagnosed problem over the phone, ordered part, performed service call.

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our sales staff, our technicians work and that we were able to assist you in completing this project. Thank you for pointing out your concerns with our phone system. We have taken it to heart and will attempt to make it easier in the future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job. Best Regards, The Fireplace & Chimney Authority

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fortune Restoration

    Fortune Restoration is a full service painting, tuckpointing, and restoration company that serves residential homeowners from Hyde Park to Lincoln Park to Oak Park and River Forest, and the entire North Shore and Western Suburbs. Commercial, industrial and institutional projects are also taken on throughout the Chicagoland area. Additional email - fortunerestorationbob@gmail.com Additional contact name - Mr. Bob Fortune, Mr. Tom Fortune.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    F.S Masonry LLC

    F.S Masonry is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers.  

    Bald Eagle Masonry

    For over a decade, Bald Eagle Construction has been widely known as the go-to expert for a wide variety of construction projects in Chicago and the Chicagoland area. We’re also proud to be the leader in handling City of Chicago building code violations. From taking care of fixing the issues straight through to dealing with the paperwork. For you that means you not only get the job done to our exacting specifications – you’ll also be assured that any project we start will comply fully with all Chicago Building Department regulations. 11 employees. Uses subs for specialty work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Award winning.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Masonry restoration, cultured stone & chimney building, relining, covers and dampers, repair and cleaning & fireplace sales. Barbecue grills, barbecue sauces and rubs.

    Services Not Offered

    HVAC

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc

    How is Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc overall rated?

    Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc open?

    Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc provide

    Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc?

    Yes, Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offer?

    Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc offers the following services: Masonry restoration, cultured stone & chimney building, relining, covers and dampers, repair and cleaning & fireplace sales. Barbecue grills, barbecue sauces and rubs.

    Are there any services Fireplace & Chimney Authority Inc does not offer?

    HVAC