Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Carpets by E.J. Alemar

4.7

(25) Verified Reviews

Founded 1971 • With Angi since May 2010

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Licensed
Trade License Number
1989015175
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Company Contact

2600 Lancaster Ave

Wilmington, DE 19805

Description

Since 1971 Carpets by E.J. Alemar has been servicing the carpet and flooring needs of hundreds of homeowners and businesses in New Castle County, Delaware, Landenberg PA and surrounding communities. Formally known as Ernesto’s Carpets we offer expert carpet and flooring advice, incuding vinyl. Great selection with all the latest flooring styles and colors, as well as superb installation with every floor we sell. Residential and commercial flooring in Wilmington, DE. Free estimates and financing available in surrounding Delaware areas too. Visit our showroom to see every sample under the sun! Or call 302-658-3738...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(25) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

19

4

4

3

2

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

flooring (21)carpet installation (17)hardwood floors (2)carpet cleaning (2)oriental rug cleaning (1)tile installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
5.0

06/22/2021

It was wonderful, the price was great, The owner (Ernesto) and his assistant (Jean), went above and beyond to help us to picking the right carpet to the install. They both were friendly and honest. It was a great experience.

Description of Work
installed carpet in Bedroom

Category carpet cleaners,carpet installation

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2021

5.0

02/28/2021

They were timely and professional with the estimate process.

Description of Work
Basement carpeting.

Category carpet installation

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2021

5.0

10/21/2020

It went great they did a great job. if I need more work I will be calling them.

Description of Work
Laminate floor installation

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure to have you as a customer. E.J. ALEMAR & STAFF
4.0

02/26/2020

Mechanic spoke little English. Did scratch some of the hardwood flooring. Never showed up before 11am. But worked til 5 or 6. Had to provide him with several tools for him to do his job.

Description of Work
Removed wall to wall carpet

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2020

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR LETTING US DO THE JOB. WE DO OPEN AT 10:00 AM SO BY THE TIME OUR MAN ARRIVED AT YOUR HOUSE IS ABOUT RIGHT. THE JOB WAS VERY LARGE AND HAD AN INMENSE AMOUT OF STAPLES TO TAKE OUT. I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT TOOLS YOU LET HIM USE BUT THANK YOU FOR THAT. IN THE END TO JOB LOOKED BEAUTIFUL!!!! AND YOU AGREED YOU WERE SATISFIED. HE IS GOING TO SCHOOL TO LEARN ENGLISH. ERNESTO J ALEMAR
5.0

12/12/2019

EJ Alemar carpeted our large 3rd floor and stairs and we absolutely love both the quality of the carpet selected and the work that was done. We decided to carpet our den a few month later and we also love the carpet and the quality of the installation. They were easy to work with and there were no issues. Oth prompt and courteous.

Description of Work
Carpet purchase and installation

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

Images

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you Ms [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure to do business with you. We are glad that you are satisfied with our work. Looking forward to helping you again in the future. We at E.J. Alemar wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
5.0

04/24/2018

Very Well. Mr Alemar has a top notch business and store front. I Don't think there is a floor that he does not offer. His team is very knowledgeable and know their craft. Guirellmo and his team (maybe misspelled) did a fantastic job of installing carpet which required a lot of furniture moving and taking apart and putting back together. You would never know they moved or touched any of my furnitur...

Description of Work
Carpet Install, Carpet Cleaning

Category carpet cleaners,carpet installation

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2018

5.0

01/30/2017

Awesome. I met Ernesto at his showroom and he was great to work with. He helped me find the right carpet while staying within my budget. He was super helpful and his crew knocked out the work very quickly. They showed up on time and were very respectful of our home.

Description of Work
Had to replace carpet in 10x13 room.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2017

5.0

06/10/2016

They did an awesome job and the carpet looks much better throughout the house.

Description of Work
They stretched out some rolls in our carpet throughout the house, repaired a creak in our hallway, and made other repairs to the carpet as needed.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2016

5.0

11/23/2015

Fantastic company to deal with. EJ is a great local business owner who gives a fair price. The contractor that he deals with was completely professional and a pleasure to deal with. We will do business with them again and would recommend anyone else local to do the same.

Description of Work
Large area rug and carpeting of all second floor bedrooms including stairs.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,oriental rug cleaning

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2015

Service Provider Response

I HOPE EVEERYTHING IS GOING WELL AND I THANK YOU FOR YOUR BUSINESS.
5.0

08/24/2015

E. J. Alemar has a good track record and reviews on Angie's List. We also had a personal referral. We secured several bids and his bid was very competitive. I was able to cross reference his products and compare them "exactly" to those in another store (s). EJ Alemar personally came to the house to measure everything. EJ Alemar's installation crew, Guilleremo and Joe, did an excellent job. I belie...

Description of Work
E.J. Alemar installed carpets and hardwood flooring in a 2,500 squrare foot home. All flooring in the house was replaced with either new carpet or new 3/4 inch hardwood flooring of very good quality.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much Mr. [Member name removed]. You were very gracious and quite a gentleman. You chose nothing but the best and made it wonderful to work with you. Please let us know if we can do something else for you. The installers were saying how easy it was to work with you

Services Offered

Carpet, Wood, and Vinyl Flooring. We also offer carpet cleaning and area rug cleaning

Services Not Offered

Ask for details.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes