Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Hills General Contracting

Founded 2010 • With Angi since February 2013

I am the general contractor and I run every project as if it were for my own family. My crews are comprised of 'Nice Guys' which I have hand picked. Billing is handled according to an agreed upon payment schedule prior to commencement.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

5.0

(15) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
Charles O.
5.0
04/04/2017
They did a very nice job. He is a very nice guy. His wife works with the business and did some design work for us. We were very pleased.
Description of Work
We had damage to our chimney because of an earthquake. They fixed the chimney and they did such a good job we had them put a new roof on and they re-enforced some floor joits in one room.
Category
roofing, chimney repair, foundation repair
Yuri K.
5.0
05/07/2016
James provided us with a detailed breakdown off all work to be done prior to start, including cost breakdowns. Upon agreement work began. James is a perfectionist and so are his crews. All good guys you can trust. The job isn't done until you're happy. James kept us abreast of what work will be done today and tomorow, which crew will be there and what time. No problem. Overall job was done on time and on budget. James then sent a complementary cleaning lady on the last day to do a very thorough total clean-up. We proudly show our new second floor to our envious neighbors! This is the second time we used The Hills GC (James). He remodeled our three bathrooms last year. They're beautiful! BEST GENERAL CONTRACTOR IN LA!
Description of Work
remove wall to wall carpeting throughout second floor and replace with high end laminate. Smooth popcorn ceiling and paint. Paint entire three bedrooms and large hallway with staircase. Upgrade all closets, including walk-in. Custom storage cabinets under bedroom windows. Upgrade office cabinets.
Category
remodeling
Stephen T.
5.0
12/27/2015
Did a nice professional job.
Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen and other repairs
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Ivanette P.
5.0
12/20/2015
I picked the Hills General Contracting because I instantly felt comfortable with Jim when he came over to give me the quote for adding a shower to the bathtub area. (Plus he told me he could get it done before Christmas - 2 weeks away) He was very personable, listened to what I wanted, made suggestions and made me feel like my voice counted. Other contractors I talked to tried to tell me what I wanted and wouldn't listen when I told them what I wanted. Marco Sr. and Marco Jr. did excellent work in my bathroom. Each day they arrived promptly and were very respectful and courteous through out the whole process. (there was a bit of miscommunication in the beginning but was straightened out the next day). At the end of the work day the Marcos would clean up the area(they even swept part of my front room) and store supplies in the tub or on my porch off to the side so it wasn't in the way of the door. They even painted 2 extra walls where no work was done so the paint on that side of the bathroom would all match. I was in contact with Jim on a daily basis and he let me know exactly what was to be accomplished each day. If I had a question or problem and contacted him he would get back to me within a few minutes with an answer or an agreeable fix to the problem. I was quoted a week and if the patch work would have been dried enough it would have only taken 4 days. I am very happy with the end result and would recommend the Hills General Contracting to my friends and family.
Description of Work
built wall to accomodate adding shower to bathtub area, added plumbing required for added shower, installed requested fiberglass surround, bought/installed shower/tub fixtures, caulked around tub/shower, patched removal of old tile, painted
Category
glass repair, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Marsha S.
5.0
12/10/2015
Excellent outcome. Beautiful tile work, glass work, counters. The job did take longer than anticipated but this was due to custom mirrors being damaged in transit a day before the Thanksgiving holiday, so took a week longer to get them installed. Then the electrician had to be rescheduled to put in the light fixtures afterwards. Looks beautiful, though. Jim apologized profusely about the problem, but it wasn't his fault, since the damage was done by the mirror company. He was available to answer any question we had & explained everything. I learned a lot from him. He was willing to walk us through everything and was here to oversee the job most of the time. I wasn't used to that since when we've had other contractors here for various things, we maybe see them once or twice & that's it. Jim was here a lot, sometimes by himself, just to check up on the work that had been done that day. He is a very detailed person and I, for one, really appreciate that from someone in charge of a project. Jim's quote was a little more than some others, but the quality & outcome make up for the higher price of the project. It truly is, "you get what you pay for". In this instance, good service, good quality, beautiful bathrooms that will last a life-time. I would trust him for any job and will be having him do some other projects for us, like a kitchen/ family room remodel.
Description of Work
Complete remodel of Master bathroom (down to studs) & guest bathroom.
Category
electrician, remodeling, home remodeling
Vivian R.
5.0
07/07/2015
Jim checked in with us throughout the entire project. He found the tile we needed to match the current tile. Jim also gave us ideas on how to maximize the space. He was an excellent communicator and professional. The workers were clean and covered everything during the project.
Description of Work
We had a bathroom that needed to be repaired. We had tile ,vanity , and a toilet replaced.
Category
home remodeling
Ira R.
4.0
06/25/2015
I did not use this contractor. His estimate was higher than the other estimates we received. I am sure his work would have been excellent. He uses Pacific Sales as his contractor of choice which implies to me, that he prefers top of the line materials and does high quality work. We just opted to go with a cheaper remodel from a different contractor.
Description of Work
Received an estimate for the remodeling of two bathrooms
Category
home remodeling
Stephanie H.
5.0
05/28/2015
I can't say enough good things about James McDugle (The Hills Gen. Contracting). He was beyond amazing. He finished ahead of schedule and stuck to his quote 100%. He kept in constant contact with me from day 1. The work is amazing and everything looks better than a showroom. No matter how many questions I had, even asking the same ones numerous times, he was always there to answer them. He was very patient when I couldn't decide about colors/handles/wood/floors/etc. and even helped me when I was stuck. They are warm, friendly, honest, and beyond professional. I will ALWAYS use The Hills for any and all projects I may have and I will ALWAYS recommend them to anyone needing help in any way. The Hills Gen. Cont. is now stuck with me as a customer for good. I can't thank them enough for everything - truly amazing work and people.
Description of Work
Total remodel of my kitchen. Gutted kitchen completely, removed peninsula, widen two doors, created new walls, total remodel of kitchen and all new appliances, etc. Blended in kitchen with dining/living room & family room. Painted to match, complete redo.
Category
flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Lesly H.
5.0
05/24/2015
The job began on a Monday and was completed by Wednesday. All damage was fixed and paint match was perfect. Crew was professional and punctual. I was very impressed with the craftsmanship by Mr. McDugle and his crew. I would definitely use his company again and refer him to friends and family.
Description of Work
After a car crashed into the corner of the house causing drywall, frame and stucco damage James repaired all the damage
Category
stucco, home remodeling
Charles E.
5.0
12/28/2014
Our house was built in 1953 and needed extensive work inside. We were not yet living there; I had inherited the house and wanted to have the work completed prior to moving in. We hoped to restore and update the house while keeping some of its original character. When we first met with James in late August, he listened carefully to what we had in mind, made suggestions and prepared a fully-detailed estimate. Work began in early September and James was in regular contact with us, provided samples for tiles, granite countertops, paint, etc., helped us pick out plumbing fixtures and bathroom lighting, and made suggestions as work developed. (The plumbing repipe was not in the original estimate but James suggested it was advisable after viewing the piping under the house and providing us with pictures of the condition of the pipes.) Work was completed in November and we are now living here and loving our house.
Description of Work
Remodel kitchen and 2 bathrooms, including restore and add to existing kitchen cabinetry, new vanities for both bathrooms, ceramic tiles and granite countertops for all three rooms. Rebuild old shower in master bathroom and convert tub to shower tub in second bathroom. Restore natural wood floors throughout rest of house. Fix extensive cracks in plaster throughout the house. Paint entire interior. Replace existing plumbing with PEX piping throughout home. New base moulding throughout. Decorative oak window moulding around living, dining, and kitchen windows.
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters
sylvia V.
5.0
10/15/2014
unknown
Description of Work
We decided to hold off with the bathroom shower/tub conversion. We will contact the The Hills General Contracting when we resume the work we need done.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Yuri K.
5.0
06/17/2014
James is the consummate professional. He sat down with us and actually listened to what we wanted. He gave us a detailed "scope of work" write-up complete with cost breakdowns. We were always on the same page. And we needed to make a change James took it in stride. James' work is beautiful. The work done by his sub-contractors is beautiful. We now have three bathrooms that are everything we envisioned and more. We show them off to our neighbors. During the time James was here he was always very friendly, upbeat, and trustworthy. No problem leaving our home alone with him or his subs. We already talking with James about our next project. We wouldn't consider anyone else.
Description of Work
Remodeled 3 bathrooms.
Category
home remodeling
Maria M.
5.0
05/31/2014
.
Description of Work
Bathroom, skylight, closet doors and added a door to access the garage from the office.
Category
remodeling, skylights, home remodeling, doors
Barbara C.
5.0
12/16/2013
We were very pleased with our kitchen remodel. James was very professional and knowledgeable. He gave us a four-page estimate stating exactly the scope of work and duration. Various problems arose due to the age of the house. These problems were solved quickly and expertly. James was very punctual. He kept us informed daily about the work he was going to be doing the next day. He kept all areas clean. He even provided a person to clean our house when the job was all done. His sub-contractors were very professional and skilled. Once work began, the tasks were completed in a very timely manner. We absolutely love our dream kitchen. I would highly recommend The Hills General Contracting and I will use this company again.
Description of Work
James did a complete remodel of our kitchen including new hardwood floor, cabinets, granite counter top, lighting, new plumbing under the sink and washer/dryer area and an upgrade of our electrical panel. He also installed a new water heater and installed a granite vanity top in the bathroom.
Category
drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, water heater repair, home remodeling, interior painters
Maria M.
5.0
08/27/2013
A friend of ours recommended The Hills General Contracting for our bathroom remodel. We met with James, the contractor, and discussed our desires with the bathroom in addition to some other small work we were looking to have done. James promptly quoted us with a thorough breakdown of costs and we signed a contract shortly thereafter. The bathroom turned out magnificently! We couldn't be happier with the outcome. James was prompt, clean, and polite during the entire process. I would highly recommend The Hills General Contracting.
Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel, Closet Doors, Fire Door into Garage
Category
custom cabinets, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review!

Other local Pros in your area

K-Blinds

At K-Blinds, we bring you high quality window treatments you will love at an affordable price. We offer a wide selection of blinds and shades that are vetted for every style and taste. We are dedicated to creating a personalized space that will allow you to feel replenished, restored and recentered. We use excellent, quality materials from Korea and custom make your order in our warehouse to ensure the perfect fit for your windows. We handle everything for you, from design consultation to installation to create a hassle-free experience. Let us transform your space into your dream home! Contact us for a FREE consultation and estimate! We offer both English and Korean speaking services.  

Angi Certified

Aerations Plus

Since 1994, Aerations Plus has been serving Southern California residents with top-notch sprinkler repair and irrigation system installation services for residential and commercial properties. Our team of technicians undergoes thorough background checks to ensure the safety of our customers, and we are dedicated to building long-lasting relationships with them through high quality work and exceptional service. Our mission is to be the go-to provider for all your lawn care needs, and to consistently exceed your expectations. Contact Aerations Plus today to learn more about the different irrigation systems available and to schedule a free lawn assessment. With our Water Wise program, our technicians will also conduct regular inspections to make sure your system is functioning properly and not wasting water, helping you conserve resources and save money.  

Angi Certified

3 Phase Electric

We specialize in electrical services, repairs, installs, lighting, panel upgrades, ceiling fans, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

5538 Norwalk Bldvd

Whittier, CA 90601

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

We do not offer relocation services.

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

The Hills General Contracting is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

The Hills General Contracting is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

The Hills General Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, The Hills General Contracting offers free project estimates.

Yes, The Hills General Contracting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, The Hills General Contracting does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, The Hills General Contracting offers emergency services.

Yes, The Hills General Contracting offers warranties.

The Hills General Contracting offers the following services: Residential contractor covering all phases of construction from breaking ground to hanging curtains. I excel in Kitchen and Bathroom renovations, and love addition projects too. I have multiple crews for demo to finish, and I am known as the on time and CLEAN contractor.