Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Moving APT - Long Distance Movers

4.6

(138) Verified Reviews

Founded 1999 • With Angi since September 2017

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Licensed
Trade License Number
MC2247863
Trade License Locale
Federal
Trade License Authority
US Department of Transportation Motor Carriers
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

936 Sw 1st Ave., Suite 130

Miami, FL 33130

https://goo.gl/maps/j9nry2tBJVE2

Description

Moving APT provides long-distance moves, packing and storage. Call Moving APT for the best cross-country moving, at affordable prices....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(138) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

118

4

1

3

5

2

1

1

13

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

movers (135)hauling (30)
Showing 1-25 of 138 reviews
4.0

01/22/2022


Chelsea J.

I hired Moving APT early last year when I relocated for work. The move was approximately, an 8-hour drive away from my home. Customer service was very responsive and friendly. I would consider the cost of the move fair as it was booked a few weeks out. The only two issues I had were that the movers arrived a day later than I requested. Because of this, I had to stay in a hotel. Also, my boxspring arrived with a hole in it. Basic insurance was included in the cost of my move and customer service kindly expedited payment to me. I have hired other companies for long distance moves in the past and out of all of them, I had the best experience with Moving APT.

Description of Work
Long Distance Move

Category hauling services,moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

1.0

11/15/2021


Christopher S.

They lie (in that they deliberately withhold relevant information), and manipulate. I needed my stuff immediately, and our original contract was for immediate delivery (picture posted) but at some point they just changed it. So now I am stuck in a completely empty house waiting until the last day legally allowed to deliver. They have this game they play where no person you can talk to can ever answer the question, but they will leave a message for the person who can answer it to call you back. They never call you back. My belongings were taken 5 weeks ago, still no word on when it will be delivered, and they don't care. They literally say that they aren't the moving company, they just represent you to the moving company. But they don't represent you! They take a fee from you, and DO NOTHING. One example of my interaction with them, where Carmen is the customer "service" and Tarik is the operation manager: Me: I would like to know where my belongings are. Carmen: Only operations knows that, I don't know. Me: Can I speak to them? Carmen: I will put a message in for them to call you. ONE WEEK LATER - I CALL BACK (as they never called me) Carmen: Your delivery will be there the 14th or 15th. I CALL ON THE 15TH AFTER HEARING NOTHING Me: Can I please speak to operations now? They've never called me back. Never do. Tarik: I just spoke to the moving company, your delivery will be there the 17th or 18th. Me: You told me it would be the 14th or 15th. Tarik: No, I just told you the 17th or 18th. Me: Do you keep a record of calls, and can see what Carmen told me last week? Tarik: Yes, I see you were told the 14th or 15th. Me: And today is the 15th.... Tarik: Oh. Yes, someone should have called you, I apologize. Me: Can you please tell me what you are obligated to do? What I am paying you for? Tarik: I don't have to do that. Goodbye. So they take your money, and then do literally nothing for you. Will only talk to you if you call 4-6 times over days and days, and then hang up on your when you point out they didn't do their job. DO. NOT. USE. It is literally pointless. Just find your own moving company. This place is a joke.

Description of Work
Interstate Moving

Category hauling services,moving companies

Cost $4,445

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2021

Images

Review for Moving APT - Long Distance Movers - 936 Sw 1st Ave., Suite 130, Miami, FL - 39544090

+1 More

5.0

11/11/2021


Danny R.

Moving APT did a great job for less money than the other moving companies I got quotes from. Of the three guys who did my move, it seemed like only one spoke English but it was straightforward to communicate through him. Definitely recommended!

Description of Work
Moving companies

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2021

1.0

11/02/2021


Harriette L.

One of the worst companies I have EVER worked with!! Once you book with them and give them your deposit, it is almost impossible to get hold of them after that. They hired out another moving company to do out move, which turned out to be a scam company. We paid moving apt to have the movers repack a number of boxes and for a number of packing materials. This money apparently never went to the movers and then the movers that they hired out charged us another $650 for that. The movers did a terrible job at repacking- everything was literally thrown in boxes and so took up extra space (which we were charged extra for). When the movers brought us our items they gave us 20 minutes notice. ALL of our furniture was damaged as well as other bits. Worst of all was that about $6000 worth of our items had been lost/ stolen. This happened 2 months ago. It is almost impossible to get hold of Moving APT and they are taking no responsibility for hiring a scam moving company. The moving company they hired out was Coast to Coast Moving in NJ, who I have rung 30-40 times over the last two months and the only time they answered the phone was when I used someone else's phone to make the call. I rang the police on this company and the police said they were a scam company and that Moving APT should take responsibly- which they will not. The move cost over $10,000, then a lot of extra fees that they kept adding on, and then they lost $6000 worth of items. Do not use this company!!!

Description of Work
Moving from the East Coast to New Mexico

Category hauling services,moving companies

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2021

3.0

10/28/2021


James B.

The pickup went pretty well, except the charge for packing materials was several hundred dollars higher than the APT estimate. It turned out that Moving APT does not move anything -- they are a broker located in Florida. Everything is great when you talk to them. But they assigned our move to Streamline Moving and Storage, a small company located in Las Vegas, NV. Our move was from NV to CA.] Streamline told us they charge their rates, which seemed excessive, for boxes, plastic wrap, etc. It didn't matter what the estimate was. A year later Streamline failed to call us to inform the day and time of delivery to our new home. Thankfully we were there, and the movers were friendly and helpful. Several pieces had minor damage, but several had badly cracked and warped wood. They had assured us that our furniture would be stored in an air-conditioned warehouse. If the warehouse is environmentally controlled I cannot understand how the wood could become so badly warped and cracked. After submitting photos of the damages we received ZERO response. Streamline stopped responding to my calls, texts, and emails. I know that APT is only the broker, but I would not deal with them again. I would prefer to deal with one company for the entire move.

Description of Work
Pack furniture, store in warehouse, and deliver to new home after one year.

Category moving companies

Cost $9,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2021

Images

Review for Moving APT - Long Distance Movers - 936 Sw 1st Ave., Suite 130, Miami, FL - 39524658

+2 More

1.0

10/05/2021


Sarah S.

I'm going to start out by saying I'm no stranger to cross country moves (I've moved to Hawaii from Kentucky, Ohio from Hawaii, and Ohio to Florida). I've done it three times and this will be my fourth permanent move. If I could give negative stars I would. The whole point of my post is so someone doesn't have the same thing happen to them as it did me. First I had called several companies for quotes and they gave me the one. Around 1K less than any other company. So I booked with them. It was explained to me my belongings would arrive 14-21 days however, most customers received their home goods closer to 14. We specifically chose a week and half earlier pack date so when I arrived in Vegas my belongings should be shortly behind me. I was fully aware it could take the 21 days total. Move day comes. The movers arrive 4 hours early which was great. They were professional. They did say the gentleman on the phone underestimated my cubic feet however. The price went up by a little over 1K. I was slightly confused to how this could be considering my belongings were in storage units with exact dimensions. However, I went forward as once they are there to pack and I had flown in (I'm a health care first responder working with Covid) I was almost at their mercy as I was on an extremely tight schedule. When the price did go up the moving company told me they had to get preapproval for the new price and would call them. I was assuming "them" was APT. The packing went without a hitch and during that time I was given many papers to fill out. One of which had first delivery date. It was NEVER explained to me by marking a date (because I was told to fill everything out in it's entirety) it would DELAY my move until THAT date. I unknowingly put down the first day that would be best for me which was the day after my arrival to Vegas. I should clarify Moving APT only contracts out moving companies they themselves do not move your belongings. They are what was referenced as a shadow company. So let's fast forward to 11am the original move time. T. Shields called from Moving APT. She was quite surprised the company was already there. She also didn't know they had increased the price. Now my belongings were already on the truck and there was two trips left to have everything moved. The manager on site spoke with her and to my understanding everything was resolved. It was not. T. Shields calls back to inform me her price was also going up as the company gets money as well even though this WAS NOT told to me when I signed the new paperwork. My new cost was 2K total in price. Making a 4K move now a 6K move. She told me I could speak with whom I wanted but she would be calling back to get the rest of the money. Also might I add when she called back she did reduce what the movers had quoted because they over priced their packing materials used. I explained to her in no way was I ever told about this. And I had assumed the phone call earlier was to them. The movers had left at this point and she was surprised they were gone. She told me I should have called to which that was never explained to me and when the manager on-site had called "them" it was not Moving APT but their company. Remember they contract out. So now Ive called for an update to see if my home goods have left the warehouse. I have zero response for over 48 hours despite being told each day I called that I'd have an update by end of the working day. So today I get an update and since I put down October 5 as my first available date my move starts TODAY. So now I'm at the 14-21 day window. I told them again NO ONE explained this to me. To which their reply was well it kinda is what it is. For those of you who don't want to read: 1. Don't pick them. They are poor with communication and my move went up by 2K on pack day. 2. My move dates was completely misquoted and they do not explain anything to you. 3. They contract other moving companies. Find them and book directly with them. It will save you a lot of headache.

Description of Work
Moving from Florida to Nevada

Category hauling services,moving companies

Cost $6,971

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2021

1.0

09/13/2021


Tonnee L.

I asked them to contact the Cross country ban company and I' m asking for a credit because what happen there is also an antique that they did not pickup so I need to rent again a larger U-Haul to pickup some of my furniture. The representative assure me to credit me on the 22nd of August. I continue to contact them to fix my problem.

Description of Work
Moving

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2021

Service Provider Response

Moving APT is very sorry to hear that the customer had an issue in their move with Cross Town Van Lines. The customer has already been credited everything that was processed through Moving APT as a courtesy from our part. We are currently working with Cross Town Van Lines's insurance in order to ensure that the customer 's claim with Cross Town is also taken care of.
5.0

09/06/2021


Trevor B.

I was looking for the most convenient way to move from Miami, Fl to South Carolina. Everybody was charging me over 2.5k to rent me a truck that I had to load and drive. Moving APT was one third of the price (I called a month before I moved). The boxes looked small at first sight but the smallest one fit my 2-1 apartment. They picked up the box, I took my time to enjoy the road trip to SC, not worrying about hauling the big load. They arrived in about a week and everything was just like I packed it. The drivers were fast, but careful and very friendly.::::}}}}

Description of Work
Moving APT was one third of the price

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2021

5.0

08/25/2021


Vanessa F.

What a great job these folks did. We basically were only moving furniture, as we had "pre-moved" most of our clothing and knick-knacks, but what a great job they did with furniture: taking apart and reassembling furniture, wrapping and protecting finishes, and securing our goods on their truck. They did move one closet of clothing, hanging it in wardrobe boxes and rehanging at our destination. They were as busy as bees throughout the process. I highly recommend Moving APT.

Description of Work
I highly recommend Moving APT.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2021

5.0

08/19/2021


Joseph M.

I can only say that my moving experience with Moving APT was great. Everything was taken care of as promised, arrival time of the container, pick up of container, transit time to my new destination (2,100 miles), delivery to my new home and pick up after unloading. Customer service in Miami and Colorado was excellent. If you need a company to take care of your belongings to be moved, I strongly recommend Moving APT.....:::

Description of Work
I strongly recommend Moving APT

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2021

5.0

08/17/2021


Beatrice R.

Great experience! Made my move so much easier. The movers were very efficient, respectful, and on time. They called to check in prior to the actual move in date and were very clear with no hidden fees. Will definitely be using them again for any future move.

Description of Work
Moving Home

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2021

1.0

08/17/2021


Libby L.

I am so upset right now I can't even think. I hired them because they were on Angi's List. I would never hire them again. When we would call them it took forever for them to answer their phone. Then when they did they had no answers. They are not a moving company but a brokerage. We called daily to find out when the truck would come and it did not show up until a day late after hours and hours of stress and calling. Then when it did come -it was a Uhaul and not a moving truck. We could have done the move ourself with a Uhaul. They showed up late a day later and they are still not done. They promised wrapping furniture, mirrors and ATV's. They promised taking things apart. They promised a 26X8X8 truck and we have a Uhaul with has four feet above the main cabin. We had to do everything ourself and even help pack the van. This operation is a few guys renting a truck as probably a side job. Do Not Hire and I am not planning on using Angi anymore. I guess it has changed since it was ANGIE. We have to pay extra days because we were supposed to be out of the house. I am going to write more later. Please feel free to call me.. I will be using many social media's to get this out since I would never want anyone to go through such a horrible time. I would give a zero if I could.

Description of Work
Cross Country Move

Category hauling services,moving companies

Cost $13,500

Work Completed On 08/16/2021

Images

Review for Moving APT - Long Distance Movers - 936 Sw 1st Ave., Suite 130, Miami, FL - 39442612

Service Provider Response

Moving APT is truly sorry to hear about any issue experienced in your move; however, we do not have any customer by this name in our files. Please confirm that Moving APT was who assisted you in finding you a carrier for your move, and if so, please provide an order number that we may look you up by in order to better assist you. You may also send it to our Customer Service Department at cs@movingservicesteam.com. Thank you.
5.0

08/15/2021


Patricia T.

Just used Moving APT for the second time for a long distance move. Love how absolutely simple it is to reserve and communicate via text for every step of the process. It's so easy and so affordable! Hope not to have to move long distance again, but if we do - I'd pick Moving APT again!

Description of Work
Moving Apartment

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2021

5.0

08/13/2021


Zachariah D.

Amazing group of movers. They were on time, incredibly efficient despite heavy rain. Moving APT moved out some items from my vacation house in Miami to the storage in west Miami. My movers did all of the packing and they were over the top careful packing and moving my expensive furniture and boxes marked fragile. I called Moving APT and a few other moving companies. Their rates were very fair. There were no hidden costs or fees. These guys are trustworthy and good with communication. I am so over top impressed with Moving APT! From now on it is my go-to moving company in Miami::::::::::)))

Description of Work
I am so over top impressed with Moving APT

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2021

5.0

08/10/2021


Alejandro C.

We needed movers to deliver furniture from the store to our condo in Miami. Moving APT is very organized and has professional movers. I had a heavy couch but my movers handled it with great attitude and sense of humor. When a business gets 5 stars from me it is well deserved. Thank you for your help!!!

Description of Work
Moving APT is very organized

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2021

5.0

07/29/2021


David M.

I had a wonderful experience with Moving APT. Without a doubt I will use them again and I highly recommend them. The crew came prepared and was highly skillful in taking apart and assembling our furniture. They were COVID-19 ready and super clean. The prices and service was right on. Thank you guys for living up to your name as Moving APT you are all the way.""""

Description of Work
I had a wonderful experience with Moving APT

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2021

5.0

07/28/2021


Jennifer W.

These movers were amazing! Three guys came and powered through the day and moved us from my apartment to our new 3 story town home. They stayed and placed and assembled all the furniture and made our move so easy. I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Moved us from my apartment & all the furniture's

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2021

5.0

07/19/2021


Halle B.

These guys are awesome!! They took amazing care of the furniture that I had moved, wrapping everything up with tons of furniture pads and wrap so that it was all transported safely. They also took expert care of the grandfather clock I needed moved, a precious family heirloom that I was admittedly quite nervous about moving. Raymond took the time to talk me through how he would wrap and move it so that I knew it was in good hands. Super nice guys all around. Would highly recommend this company and will definitely be using them again!!!!

Description of Work
Moving Furmiture

Category hauling services,moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2021

1.0

05/19/2021


Mike B.

The actual moving itseld went very well, there wes some light damage and they did not provide me with any follow up information about fixing the said damage. They overcharged me $597 which is equal to almost 30% of what they quoted. Finally, they also have not returned my phone calls so the charges would be rectified.

Description of Work
residential move

Category moving companies

Cost $597

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2021

2.0

04/28/2021


Jennie S.

Wow. Couldn't have been worse. Accepted the 3-day flexible time period, but was told they'd be able to tell me the day the move would occur. I was informed it would occur, took the day off of work, and traveled to my old home. Waited 6+ hours with some phone calls along the way saying the mover was in traffic etc. At the end of the day I finally spoke with the driver who said he'd been waiting for 9 hours for someone to give him a check so he could do the job before mine. He told me to be there the next morning 8am. I told him 10. I had to take another day off of work and commute the hour+ each direction. He arrived and said "oh, there are stairs, that's another $75". I'd informed APT that I had 20 stairs and refused to pay. For the rest of the day my phone was ringing regularly with calls from APT saying I should pay the guy and we'd work it out after. I stopped answering my calls and did not pay. APT insists that you use 2 USPS money orders for jobs. I got them the night before, and because I did not want to carry around large blank checks I filled in APT's name. When the mover arrived he told me that it had to be made out to his company's name. It took over an hour to work that out - I had to purchase new money orders from the post office and later cashed in the old ones for one that was made out to myself. When APT's "quality assurance" person had called me before the move, the cost went up about $500 because he added things like bubble wrap and special packing for certain pieces of furniture that could not have anything stacked on top of them. There was no bubble wrap used and the furniture was set up on their sides so the more fragile surfaces were no issue and things could be stacked on them. I left before the truck and figured I'd arrive at my new home first since it would take a while for the guys to get the large truck out of my small street. I was about 20 minutes from my new house and got a call saying they were waiting outside the house. I told them there was nothing I could do and I"d be there asap. I was told I'd be charged extra for their time. I arrived and they were not there. I called and they said that they went to the correct address in the wrong city. They didn't show for another hour and a half. They guy said "This is the second time this happened to me in New Jersey". The guys worked hard and I appreciated that, but it was incredibly poorly coordinated and taking two days off of work cost me and additional $400 more than I was already having to spend. Thankfully everything arrived safely - the only reason I'm giving them two stars. The movers, despite all of the miscommunications and other issues, moved things professionally. But I would never recommend this company to anyone. Poor communication, extra charges at every turn (I refused to pay the extra $75. The mover said he'd probably never recoup it from APT. It was APT's fault. I clearly told them that there were 20 stairs with no turn. Someone didn't record that). I don't believe this company should be represented here on Angi's. I expected so much more. Very, very disappointed, frustrated and angry. Moving is stressful enough. This was ridiculous.

Description of Work
I moved 70 miles - approx 2br unit to a house

Category hauling services,moving companies

Cost $2,600

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Moving APT is a booking agent who reserves truck space with a carrier for a customer's shipment. The customer's move and moving contract were conducted by and with Eastland Movers. That said, we are always here to assist customers and mediate whenever necessary. Services such as stair fees, packing materials, etc. come directly from and go directly to the customer's carrier, not to us, so we definitely feel that there was some miscommunication here between the customer and the carrier regarding us. Since receiving this complaint, we have tried reaching the customer in order to offer our assistance, but the customer to date has not replied. We are here and willing to assist whenever they are ready. They may get back to our Customer Service Department at either 786-528-6086 or at cs@movingservicesteam.com. Thank you.
5.0

04/19/2021


Robert P.

These guys are awesome. Second time using them and both times had the same level of great service. Their main leadership team clearly has laid down a great culture/ethos that the folks on the ground execute. John and his crew were very reliable, on time and communicative. Took care not to damage my stuff and the building. Super organized about how to move. The all-in-cost:service ratio makes hiring this company a no brainer.

Description of Work
Super organized about how to move.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2021

5.0

04/17/2021


Kevin S.

This was the best moved I've ever experienced and I've moved A LOT. They were on time, efficient, helpful, and nothing was broken or damaged, not even a scratch. Friendly guys, asked where we wanted everything, were willing to relocate things when necessary. Quicker than I could've imagined and the price was fair and worth every penny. Will never move with anyone else. I highly recommend this company, you won't regret it. I can't believe I'm saying this because I didn't think it was possible, but this move was totally stress-free. Five stars!!

Description of Work
They were on time, efficient, helpful, and nothing was broken or damaged, not even a scratch.

Category moving companies