Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Van Allen Plumbing

Founded 1991 • With Angi since October 2012

4.5

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 20014

Sun Valley, NV 89433

Description

"Family owned & locally operated complete plumbing services". "Fully licensed and insured to operate in California and Nevada. with LIC # 67868 and CA LIC #620656". "23 1/2 Hr Emergency Service call 775-828-5202". We also provide service through American Home Shield and Old Republic Home Protection Services....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/12/2019


Frank B.

Van Allen was assigned thru home warranty company. Gabe provided a verbal estimate on repair and identified unit was no longer supported by manufacturer. No written estimate provided and no documentation on issues found. Stated he would follow up next day and did not. Called twice for follow up and no return call. Emailed office for follow up, still no response. Verbal estimate was ridiculous for pipe work. Very poor customer experience. Many better choices out there though overall contractor experience in Reno is challenging.

Description of Work
repair water heater

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

06/17/2017


Chris S.

I had one bbq already hard-lined to natural gas, and after getting a second grill needed that one added to the line as well. I called several plumbing companies to get quotes, and Van Allen Plumbing’s owner answered the phone (unlike the others who did not return my call) so we were off to a good start. He said he would send a plumber later that day; when he arrived, he said he would need more parts and asked if he could return the next day, which was fine. The work was completed in a timely manner and at a reasonable cost. I recommend Van Allen Plumbing and feel confident using them for future plumbing projects.

Description of Work
I needed two bbq grills hard-lined to natural gas.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/23/2016


Kimberly B.

Great I love them , a little bit you have to call a service and then they put you back sometime it not as instantaneous but you still get a hold of him. They are always respectful, they are nice we've used them before they remember us so it always feels like your not a stranger.

Description of Work
I used Van Allen Plumbing for heating & A/C.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/26/2016


Thomas Y.

Description of Work
Plumbing work. Plumbing works.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/02/2015


Jeanne B.

I called Van Allen Plumbing, because I had noticed rust and white material around screws in my toilet tank. Mr. Van Allen checked my tank and told me that the rust around the screws was normal, and the white material around the screws was only a seal. He told me that he would not feel right charging me for this service call because nothing needed to be fixed. Mr. Van Allen is a very honest man, who could of replaced whatever in my tank, and charged me for unnecessary work. I will definitely call him in the future for any plumbing issues that I might have.

Description of Work
Checked my toilet tank for a possible screw replacement.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/20/2015


Shelley H.

First of all, LOVE MIKE! He went above and beyond to get me a faucet I liked at the price point (+ a little more out of pocket) my home warranty company would allow, and I am one picky woman. He was super accommodating to my schedule, which is horrible, and he put that faucet in the sink like in 10 minutes! And it looks great! He even came back and did a repair my home warranty company wouldn't cover for a steal of a deal, again on my terrible schedule. He did great work on both the toilets, and the faucets, cleaned up after himself, and even left me a pair of free needlenose pliers! Actually he forgot them, but because he is probably the busiest plumber in town, he hasn't had time to come back and get them, so they are sitting on my counter, Mike, when you swing back into my part of the wilderness! He answered his phone when I would call, or call me back within an hour or two. Nice guy, professional, and qualified. Can't say enough about his work ethic or his agreeable way with difficult customers like me. Would hire him back in a New York minute!

Description of Work
The top of my kitchen faucet broke off. My home warranty sent out Mike with van Allen to check and then replace the faucet. Also replaced the insides of both toilets, and the insides of both bathtub faucets.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/24/2014


michael G.

I called them after I found water running from behind a wall adjacent to my water heater. They could not come right away, so I had to go with someone else that showed, but failed to fix the issue. In fact, the issue was harder to correct as a result of the 'fix' the previous plumber put in place. Van Allen showed up as promised. Took about 2 mins to diagnose and only another 20 mins to do five times the work of the previous plumber who took an hour. I paid 160 to the first plumber and just 75 dollars to Van Allen. Even if not part of my insurance, the job would have been just under $100. Learned that from now on, Van Allen is the place to go.

Description of Work
Fixed leaking hot water pipe.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

05/31/2014


Tom B.

It was fine. They were very good, very prompt, helpful and informational.

Description of Work
Van Allen Plumbing did the water heater.

Category water heater repair

3.0

02/11/2013


SANDRA W.

Referred by home warranty company to repair faucet .Waited over a week for a call back to schedule service call. Had to recontact home warranty for assistance. Service provided next day. Plumber assessed problem and efficiently performed service. Even though plumber was busy, a courtesy call to explain the delay would have been nice and resulted in a higher overall rating.

Description of Work
Plumbing

Category plumbing

5.0

10/06/2012


Carol H.

It went extremely well and the response was impressive. (Details of work see above)

Description of Work
We had a problem with our hot water circulator pump which had not been working. The pump was not circulating the hot water at all. Circulator is probably 9 years old. We called our Home warranty programme and the appliance was covered in our policy. The following morning, Wallace Van Allen from Van Allen Plumbing called and came right over with his assistant and replaced the unit. The were fast and efficient and knew exactly what they were doing. We were charged a service fee of $75 dollars which is agreed in our contract so I do not know how much it would have cost if we did not have the Home warranty programme. However these guys are good. They also fixed the faucet in our powder room for free. I would definitely use them again.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Aquious, Inc.

    Tankless Water Heaters, Traditional Water Heaters, and Gas lines. We also can help with remodel projects. We specialize and focus on the installation, service, and retrofit of tank water heaters to tankless water heaters. Perfect solution to any residential or commercial application. They have an endless supply of hot water, and save over 40% on you water heating bill. Whether you are running out of hot water or you spend time away from home and tired of heating hot water when you don't need it. Tankless is the right solution for you. Additionally, we offer installation of traditional water heaters and residential and commercial gas lines.  

    Mansfield Plumbing LLC

    Mansfield Plumbing is a veteran owned & operated business serving the greater Reno/Sparks area. We strive to provide the best technical expertise with exceptional customer service. Call us now to schedule your appointment!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Millennium Plumbing

    Whether you need a simple faucet installation or complete re-pipe, we offer a wide range of residential and commercial plumbing services to meet your needs. We continually strive to exceed expectations by ensuring that each client receives the very best service, from start to finish.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    yes free estimates
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10% off of a minimum $150 service
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    "Clogged Drains and Toilets, Faucets and Hose Bibs, Toilets and Water Heaters, Sewer Line Detection and Locations, Partial and Whole House Repiping, Water Service Repaired and/or Replaced, Patio and Storm Drains, Tankless and Standard Hot Water Heaters, Sewer and Drain Line Inspection, Disposals and Instant Hot Water Dispensers, Underground Pipes and Tanks Located Without Digging"

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Van Allen Plumbing

    How is Van Allen Plumbing overall rated?

    Van Allen Plumbing is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Van Allen Plumbing open?

    Van Allen Plumbing is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Van Allen Plumbing provide

    Van Allen Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Van Allen Plumbing offer free estimates?

    No, Van Allen Plumbing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Van Allen Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Van Allen Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Van Allen Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    No, Van Allen Plumbing does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Van Allen Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Van Allen Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Van Allen Plumbing?

    Yes, Van Allen Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does Van Allen Plumbing offer?

    Van Allen Plumbing offers the following services: "Clogged Drains and Toilets, Faucets and Hose Bibs, Toilets and Water Heaters, Sewer Line Detection and Locations, Partial and Whole House Repiping, Water Service Repaired and/or Replaced, Patio and Storm Drains, Tankless and Standard Hot Water Heaters, Sewer and Drain Line Inspection, Disposals and Instant Hot Water Dispensers, Underground Pipes and Tanks Located Without Digging"