Dexpert Design & Build

About

Founded 2020

Dexpert Design & Build, BC#771168. Most General Contractors try to do every job within their means, from windows and siding to remodeling, decks and additions. The problem with this is their scope of work is too broad and back and forth to ever really fine tune anything they do. As well as the

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

The Glen View Farms Lady in White

decks & porches

202155128
Another stellar project for the Dexpert 2021 Portfolio! The pictures don't do this one justice, this deck needs to be appreciated up close and personal to get the the real picture. Check out our website for the drone flyover video of this beauty for some of the $ shots. The level of collaboration, thought, detail, and craftsmanship that went into this one is difficult to describe. We absolutely love how this one turned out, and look forward to doing more work in the neighborhood!
View project

Verified Reviews

4.7

(16) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

14

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (14)deck cleaning (3)screen repair (1)handyman (1)house painting (1)
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
5.0

10/27/2022


Karen L.

Carter was professional and the work was completed well. The permit was handled behind the scenes. I am happy with the work.

Description of Work
Front and Back Trex Deck & Stair Resurfaces

Category decks

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2022

5.0

10/21/2022


Ryan S.

Our deck turned out beautiful. The project went very well. We are happy with our deck.

Description of Work
S.S. Trex Deck & Stairs with Royal Westlake PVC Trim

Category decks

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2022

5.0

10/19/2022


Traci K.

The work was done very good. I was very happy with the end results of my new deck. The price was well worth it. And it was done in a very short time. I would definitely refer them to anyone that’s needs any work done at your home. Great job done.

Description of Work
16’*12’ Green-Treat Deck Replacement

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2022

5.0

10/11/2022


Cara B.

Carter and his crew did exceptional work. He designed and built our deck with precision. He works hard and had it done within a week. Excellent craftsmanship!

Description of Work
14'*12' Ground-Level Trex Deck W/ 3 course mitered picture-frame border.

Category decks

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2022

4.0

05/26/2022


Danielle S.

I was looking for someone to build a new set of stairs that led to my back patio. Carter called me back immediately to discuss what I was looking for. He explained what product options were available, the timeframe for completion and the price. He kept me updated as the project moved forward, called out any concerns, and made sure the project was completed to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Rebuilt a set of stairs surrounding a cantilevered floor section

Category decks, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2022

1.0

01/29/2022


Moe K.

I will never never recommend them to anybody. He's a liar. Worst thing ever. Didn't know how to mix the cement. They don't have proper and right equipment. They use plastic bag and they only shake it. Every time that he did a mistake to the materials he wants me to buy a new one. The materials are very expensive. He also over charge me and charged me again for another 4 hours. He did everything wrong. I told him to be careful with the grass he can use the rocks to to the cement but he didn't care. When I paid him the last balance $500 he was so nice and said that he will come back to clean the garbage left. Then today I texted him and asked him when he will come back to finish the project and he texted me back with full of bad words.

Description of Work
cement post in the ground,stairs

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2022

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately this client was unhappy with anything less than free. Because of that he hovered over us the entire time trying to nit pick everything we did. He thought it would’ve been less invasive to his grass if we were to drive a tow behind concrete mixer and wheel buggies through his soft soil.... He hired a unlicensed contractor to start with, the city flagged the project and he had to hire a proper contractor to finish it out. He eventually paid close to what it would’ve been to have just hired a real contractor to begin with and feels as though we wronged him for charging him appropriately and shepherding him through his mistakes. Let him be a good-bad-example for everyone. He’s now trying to retaliate and make false claims which will land him in front of a judge for libel and slander...
5.0

10/11/2021


Steve K.

Carter and his team were a joy to work with since day 1. At first, he was very responsive to my inquiry. Over the phone, he provided a nearly to the dollar estimate. We quickly scheduled a visit where a specific estimate was prepared. We got the project started right on schedule. His team was a delight. Always on time, and worked hard through full days, of which several were very hot, the team always worked with a positive spirit. The outcome was beautiful. Carter was essentially obsessed with ensuring the details were all attended to with the highest level of professionalism. In the end, the costs came in as estimated. No surprises. I highly recommend Carter and his company Dexpert.

Description of Work
400SF Ground-Level Cedar Deck

Category decks

Cost $21,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2021

Images

Review for Dexpert Design & Build - Located In, Hugo, MN - 39563222

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was an awesome client to work for, so much so we (the crew) like to relive the camaraderie that we all shared with him. His project turned out phenomenal with all the design credit going to him personally. He designed his landscape with inspiration and admiration for Japanese water gardens. We felt honored to be trusted with bringing his vision to life and feel like we absolutely nailed it. Were going to miss [Member Name Removed], his family and the beautiful cedar deck we built for him, but we will never forget the experience we all shared throughout this project. If could rate customers and project experiences this one would be a resounding 10/10.
5.0

07/29/2021


Tom E.

Very professionally executed. I requested a cedar landing with emphasis to highlight the characteristics of the wood. The landing was framed creating a pattern that is amazing.

Description of Work
Dual Landing Cedar Garage Stairs

Category decks

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2021

Service Provider Response

This was yet another great client we are blessed to be able to say we did work for. He contacted us in need of a more elderly accommodating set of entry stairs. We love how it turned out in both finish and function and were happy to help one of our more senior clients prepare for their later years and bring some natural wood aesthetics to his luxurious abode.
5.0

06/16/2021


Lee L.

Dexpert was wonderful to work with while redoing our deck. Carter was patient while presenting us with all the different options available to select from, constantly communicated updates to us in a timely manner and paid attention to all the small details that resulted in a final product we love. I highly recommend Dexpert to anyone looking to build or refinish a deck.

Description of Work
Composite/Maintenance-Free Deck Resurface

Category decks

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was a great client to work with, and an entertaining person to talk to. Between the two of us we were able to come up with the best design for him and his family's style, needs, and price point. We love how this deck turned out and know he and the family do too. This was a great job for us, we had an awesome client to work with, carefully selected products and design features, and the Dexpert's on the job. With all that in this deck's favor it was destined for greatness. 10/10 project could not be happier with the overall experience we had and quality of work produced in our time on this project.
5.0

06/11/2021


Lesa C.

My deck is BEAUTIFUL! I appreciate the symmetry of the materials and the quality as well. Carter and his team were a delight to work with. He listened to my needs and explained each step of the process. He was professional and respectful. I would welcome anyone who is contemplating a new deck to come and see mine.

Description of Work
New 23*13' Maintenance-Free Fiberon Deck Build

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was a dream to work with, she knew what she wanted and what was within her budget which made the planning and budgeting stage of the project a breeze. We had an awesome time working on this project, everything went as smooth as could be without any surprises. We loved building this deck and couldn't be any happier with how everything turned out. Her deck was built using Fiberon Promenade PVC cellulose decking, backed with a 50 year stain/fade warranty, and Westbury C10 Tuscany railings backed with a 25 year stain/fade warranty. She is now the proud new owner of the nicest deck on the block with the best vantage point/view. This deck is a piece of art with so much to admire, but [Member Name Removed] is completely right the real focal point/admirable feature of this deck is its seamless symmetry. Awesome deck, awesome client, all around an awesome job to have had the privilege to be a part of. We're proud to be able to say this is a beautiful deck that is going to retain it's beauty for generations to come.
5.0

04/29/2021


David H.

Cárter was very professional and his team was super polite. They worked hard to get the job done on time. Would recommend for sure!

Description of Work
Entry Door Install, closet door installs/repairs, cabinet repairs, drywall repairs, tile work, siding repair, brick acid wash, funtiture repairs.

Category decks, handyman service, deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was and is a great client to work with, we helped him get his house prepped to show on the market in a time squeeze and got everything done seamlessly. [Member Name Removed]'s house sold 2 days after we wrapped up there, we're sure most of that is due to the volatility of the housing market right now, but we'd like to think we played a sizeable role in that. [Member Name Removed] is currently in the planning and budgeting stage with us for his next project on his new house, and we can't wait to work closely along side him again in the not-so-distant future. All in all this was another great project for us to regale on, and another satisfied customer we have the pleasure to continue to work with. Thank you [Member Name Removed], and we're looking forward to working with you again soon!
5.0

08/11/2020


Joy H.

They did a really good job. They cleaned up after themselves just fine.

Description of Work
They had to change the deck around and away from the tree that was growing.

Category decks

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]was a character and we really enjoyed her company as we altered some of framing for a large oak tree that grew through a stair landing of hers. We were happy to help and appreciate the business, we hope with our work we were able to stretch the life of her deck another 5 years or so. Thank you Joy! We hope to serve you again in the future.
5.0

08/10/2020


Barbara S.

They did a fantastic job and one of the best contractors I have worked with. They were responsive, punctual, and did the work with outstanding quality. They were a pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend them. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
They refinished my front porch and back deck. They also did some structural work, did some re-screening and repainted everything.

Category decks, screen repair, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2020

Service Provider Response

This client was a fantastic to work with, she originally called us out to give her a bid to reseal her decks. We noticed a couple other things we could do to help improve upon the decks such as bringing them back into code and redoing the screens on her screen porch. She was delighted to hire us for all the proposed services. We enjoyed working with them and were happy to provide them and their property what we'd like to describe as the "Dexpert touch", of nailing all the bases and leaving the client as happy with the work as we are. This was a great client, great project, and we are happy to be able to add this to the Dexpert 2020 Portfolio.
5.0

08/09/2020


Laurie W.

There was a quick response for getting an estimate and the Work was done on time and affordable pricing.

Description of Work
Deck maintenance along with repairs to an aged deck.

Category deck cleaning

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] contracted us to do some deck repair to ready her house for the market. It was a quick little one day job and we were happy to take care of it for her. We hope the work we did for her helps to stretch the life of that deck another few years before the new homeowners have to bite the bullet on having it replaced. A special thanks to [Member Name Removed] for contacting us and being so great to work with, we hope to hear from you or anyone you've referred us to in the future!
5.0

07/23/2020


Julie C.

They were on time. They showed up when they said they were going to. I was satisfied, they didn't let me down.

Description of Work
They installed an outside deck, an elevated deck for me.

Category decks

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2019

Service Provider Response

This client had a 12'*12' second story ledger supported deck. We were hired to reface it with Azek Morado and install new Westbury Tuscany Powder Coated Aluminium rails and drink rail. This was a great little project for us and came out sharp, a fully maintenance free deck backed with a 50 year stain & fade warranty.
5.0

07/07/2020


Marnie M.

Carter was very professional and did a fantastic job on my new siding that he replaced on my house. He also did a great job updating my maintenance-free deck and installing the beautiful new aluminum maintenance free railings. Carter shows up when he says he will be there and worked hard to Finnish my projects in a timely manner. He’s a very talented carpenter and I will definitely hire him again on future home improvement projects.

Description of Work
Siding and Deck work

Category remodeling, deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was an awesome client to work with, she had a very good idea of what she wanted out of her project and we collaborated together to find the best options for her budget. This was an awesome project to take on and we were both very happy with how well it turned out for such a fair price. This will be a project I will always look back on and smile about.

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    Located In

    Hugo, MN 55038

    Wednesday
    7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Services Not Offered

    Handyman type odds & ends. We are a residential building contracting company, not a local handyman service.

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    Automatic 5% off for clients 65 and older
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    BC771168
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    Minnesota: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    COVID-19 Update
    We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

    We’ll take any preventative measures you find necessary. We wear masks for sales and anytime we enter your home or need to speak with a homeowner.

    Health & Safety Measures

    We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
    We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
    We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
    We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
    We accept remote payment
    All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Dexpert Design & Build

    How is Dexpert Design & Build overall rated?

    Dexpert Design & Build is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Dexpert Design & Build open?

    Dexpert Design & Build is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM

    What payment options does Dexpert Design & Build provide

    Dexpert Design & Build accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does Dexpert Design & Build offer free estimates?

    Yes, Dexpert Design & Build offers free project estimates.

    Does Dexpert Design & Build offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Dexpert Design & Build offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Dexpert Design & Build offer a senior discount?

    No, Dexpert Design & Build does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Dexpert Design & Build offer emergency services?

    Yes, Dexpert Design & Build offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Dexpert Design & Build?

    Yes, Dexpert Design & Build offers warranties.

    What services does Dexpert Design & Build offer?

    Dexpert Design & Build offers the following services: We are a full service design and build, general contractor with full-time carpenters that have been trained in our methods of construction. We design it. We build it. Whatever we are not qualified or comfortable doing internally we subcontract out (electrical, plumbing, flatwork, etc.)

    Are there any services Dexpert Design & Build does not offer?

    Handyman type odds & ends. We are a residential building contracting company, not a local handyman service.