Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring

Founded 1986 • With Angi since June 2001

4.6

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

428 Madison Ave

Covington, KY 41011

Description

Our staff offers the years of real-world flooring experience and knowledge not often found in the large national chain stores. Because we are locally-owned, we want to help you make the right flooring and installation decisions for your home and ensure your satisfaction for years to come. Family owned & operated. Uses the same subs regularly. Charges by the sq yd or sq ft....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/05/2016


Kelly S.

Horrible! The only time anything went smoothly, was the initial visit to quote the job. The Estimator was on time, measured areas, looked a the Hardwood I was supplying to install and estimate was emailed 04/04/2016. The proposal was the second to the highest bid I had received, however due to an install "guarantee" for a year and long time established company, I accepted. I asked the bid to be broken down, as it was received as one flat rate, with nothing specified of cost. Again, I was supplying the wood and advised them of their bid being rather high. I received this response "I’ll talk to the owner and get you the very best price he will allow and give you what you ask for below. It’s our folks and all work is 100% guaranteed and it will be done the right way. We also would love for you to go with Earl Franks." After back and forth emails to basically get specifics, finally on 05/02 (ONE MONTH LATER) I got an email saying the install date was established. I should have turned away then. Install date. They were 2.5 hours late, but they did show. Nice people and when they told me they had not worked with this Estimator before, I again, should have run then. This is just the beginning and after THREE MONTHS of problems from actual install, finishing, removing finish AND refinishing. I finally decided there was no longer a choice but to get this company out of my house. I worked with an "Owner" as the estimator advised me when I initially asked them to come out and look at the finished job he was just a "middle man" and to work with the "Owner". WOW! Ok, so I did that and after the initial conversation I realized then, I certainly choose the wrong company and I was going to be stuck with bad Hardwood Floor install, at my cost. I will try and break it down the best I can: 1. Estimator bailed on any communication and had problems with supporting bid costs 2."Owner" was horribly rude and did not know about installing Hardwood floors 3. Told many times that an example or the finished product would be shown done and never followed through 4. 'Owner" confirmed the finishing/Install job was not the best, but would try to make it better 5. The "better" was the exact same poor finishing job that was done previously, ie, floors not sanded correctly, knots filled with opposite coloring, sanding damage not fixed, poor boards that were chosen not replaced with leftover good boards. 6. Customer relations is horrible, literally lied to and told this was "he said/she said" with emails and poorly finished product supporting the lies. This company is clearly riding on the shirt tails of their Grandparents establishment of what might have been a good local company. Unfortunately, they are prime example of why small, local companies loose business. I would stay as far away from this company as possible. In the pictures, the color of the filler used is exactly how it finished out. HORRIBLE . Oh, and a bonus was a stain in my driveway of stain spilled!

Description of Work
Hardwood Install in Living Room and upper Hallway

Category flooring contractor

2.0

09/02/2015


LESLEY M.

Unfortunately, the company never followed up with an estimate after our initial meeting.

Description of Work
I contacted them for a flooring estimate.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

05/20/2015


MARY B.

We can't say enough good things about this company!!!!! Outstanding and excellent work!! The designer, Karin Shelton, helped us tremendously in deciding what style of tile and hardwood flooring to choose for our home. She came to our home with samples to help us make the best choices. The men who did the various flooring installations did superb and quality work. We were in a time crunch in getting the flooring done before an event and the company was very accomodating and completed the work in a timely fashion. We definitely will use them again in the future as we continue to remodel our home.

Description of Work
Tiled entry way, kitchen, and 3 bathrooms. Laid hardwood flooring in living room, dining room and hallway. Carpeted a stairway.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

09/23/2014


Gary T.

I would highly would recommend them, and they are very professional.

Description of Work
I hired them to install ceramic tile and do alot of work.

Category ceramic tile,hardwood floor

5.0

07/14/2014


judy E.

I'd give them an A+! I wish all companies were like them! They were very competent, answered all my questions, were very professional, and the quality of their work was extremely high. They were also very transparent in terms of other work I did and did not need done. Their pricing was very competitive. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
We had them install some laminate tiles.

Category flooring contractor

1.0

04/14/2014


dennis J.

They subbed the job out to somebody else who put the wrong finish on the floor, varnish on our custom bookcase, and missed a spot in hall that was 18 x 4 inches. After we do that and complained about it, all these other people told me, that's everybody on Angie's list does after they get good ratings then they just stop their work out. They didn't sand or clean after when they varnished underneath the kitchen area. All I can say is that we were very unhappy with them. We only paid them half because they screwed up everything. They didn't get back to us when I called up and told them all these things for like a month until they found out that I stopped the payment on Visa.

Description of Work
I used Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

09/04/2013


Andrew F.

Super. From the estimate to finish, no surprises.

Description of Work
Wood floors in our entire home -- great work, super job and it took only a week.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/10/2013


George H.

Everything was outstanding !! Very professional, courteous, skilled. The finished product was great and we enjoy showing it off !! From when Diane the design girl came to give us the estimate, to completion of the work, my highest compliments to Earl Franks entire staff !!!

Description of Work
Laid new laminate flooring in kitchen and dining room, laid new carpet in living room area

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

06/03/2013


Roger A. K.

The job went perfectly. The flooring was part of our kitchen remodeling. The flooring installed by Earl Frank and Sons, was the only part of our kitchen remodeling that we had no trouble with.

Description of Work
Installed new vinyl one piece flooring.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/11/2013


Andrew M.

Gave us a quick & simple way to fix the problem ourselves. Potentially saved us a TON of money. Very honest & professional, definitely recommend.!

Description of Work
Had a problem with gaps in our laminate flooring.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

11/19/2012


Andrew F.

We felt very comfortable with Earl Franks Flooring from the time we called, to the walk-through, to the estimate. Diane was very professional and answered all of our questions. Our estimate was given within 24 hours of her visit (which was the same day as we called). The Earl Franks people worked diligently from the time they arrived until they left each day. The attention to detail was incredible. The fact they could work around 4 people, furniture and electronics was amazing to us all. The only trace of them was the hammer sound. Even the dogs didn't bark! They answered all of our questions and they were right on the given time frame - in fact, finished a day ahead of schedule. I can't say enough about this company - SOOOO glad the other people didn't call back for an estimate. We WILL call them again for master bath tiling. No doubt about it. Thank you Earl Franks!!

Description of Work
These wonderful people tore out old carpet, moved funiture and laid new hardwood flooring in our whole upstairs PERFECTLY! They took care of 20 years of furniture, electronics and memories.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

07/30/2012


Leah M.

They were nice. They really seemed to know that they were talking about.

Description of Work
Earl Franks & Sons & Daughters Flooring gave us a quote for our bathroom floor, and tiles surrounding the shower.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

07/17/2012


patricia W.

The workers were good. They were all friendly. They did their job. So far, we do not have complaints.

Description of Work
Earl Frank Sons and Daughters Flooring did hard wood flooring in our house a month ago.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

03/08/2012


Jason J.

Great service, they clean up after themselves and they are so fast.

Description of Work
Best price + best quality = Best value. I would use them again.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

01/15/2012


JOY F.

Satisfied, the selection of tile and carpet was endless

Description of Work
Had new carpeting installed in basement and tile by sliding door removed and replaced... They did a excellent job with the tile..It looks phenomenal. They carpet was installed in one day and looks great. They do not hire subs, everyone is an employee...

Category carpet installation,ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

07/27/2011


RANDY & CINDY K.

We did not spend any money for it. They were on time. The lady who came out kept telling me that they focused on ceramic tiles. I think they were a little bit more expensive than the others.

Description of Work
We contacted Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring to get an estimate for hardwood flooring.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

11/17/2010


Gary T.

Work progressed swiftly. Franks helped us move furniture from dining room to living room so work could proceed. Floor joists were trimmed to level floor and hardwood flooring installed, trim reinstalled and cleanup completed. Furniture was then moved from the living room to the dining room and the living room was completed.

Description of Work
Remove carpeting, level floor, and install 3/4" hardwood flooring in Dining Room. Match hardwood flooring with that installed the previous year in kitchen, breakfast room and hallway. Remove carpeting and install 3/4" hardwood flooring in living room. Match flooring with other installed hardwood flooring.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

11/17/2010


Gary T.

Old flooring removal and floor leveling was completed in two days. Installation of new floor, replacement of trim and cleanup was quickly completed. Estimates for additional work in dining and living room were completed.

Description of Work
Removed old flooring in kitchen, breakfast room and hallway. Leveled floor by shaving joists. Installed 3/4 hardwood flooring. (work was completed in June 2009).

Category flooring contractor

5.0

11/17/2010


Gary T.

Overlay treads and risers were quickly installed. We were very pleased with the results and quality.

Description of Work
Supply and install NUSTAIR (color Butterscotch) wood overlay treads on 11 steps and wood nosing on steps from first to second floor

Category flooring contractor

5.0

09/28/2010


Brian P.

We had a wonderful experience with Earl Frank & Sons (& Daughters). This is a family run business and it shows in their professionalism and customer service. My wife worked with Amy over the phone and she offered to order us several sample ceramic tiles so we could look at them before any work was done. The sample tiles were delivered to the house and we were able to make a decision quickly. We had someone come out to look at the floor and give us an estimate. He was very professional and on time. We felt good about our interaction with him as he was very knowledgable and conducted himself in a very professional manner. We contracted with them to do the work and agreed upon a time. The process took 2-3 days due to all the tear out and the reinforcement of the floor, etc. Every day they were on time and the guys were all very professional and courteous. They were nice guys and did not look like "questionable" characters which we have had before in dealing with other contractors. I felt fine leaving them in the house alone to do their work and they locked up every day after they left. They cleaned up nicely as well disposing of the old floor and making sure things were nice and clean. This is a family business and you could tell it mattered to them that they did the job right. We had very nice 6"x24" ceramic tiles installed and they did a wonderful job. Everything looks great and the floor is solid as a rock. It has now been a little over two months since the installation and the floor has been perfect with no issues. It makes a huge difference to our kitchen and it's nice to finally have a great floor with no soft spots or drastic drop offs. I definitely feel like this was money well spent. From our experience I would highly recommend Earl Frank & Sons.

Description of Work
Earl Frank & Sons ripped out two layers of our old linoleum flooring. They then fixed some odd angles and soft spots in the floor and proceeded to put down cement board and lay ceramic tile.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

02/09/2010


PAT H.

They were very professional, on time, and within the estimated price.

Description of Work
They laid a new tile kitchen floor.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

3.0

11/10/2005


TODD & TERESA U.

WE ASKED FOR AN ESTIMATE FROM THIS COMPANY AND HIRED THEM BECAUSE OF THEIR REPUTATION ON ANGIE'S LIST. THE INITIAL VISIT WAS GREAT. JAN CAME TO OUR HOUSE AND WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND SEEMED TO BE KNOWLEDGEABLE. WE WERE CONSIDERING HIRING THEM TO ALSO RE-TILE OUR MASTER BATHROOM. HOWEVER, AFTER I REDUCED THE SIZE AND SCOPE OF THE WORK TO JUST THE WOOD FLOOR WORK, IT WAS HARD TO GET THEM ON THE PHONE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT, EVEN AFTER THEY CASHED MY DEPOSIT CHECK OF $183.00. THE JOB WAS ESTIMATED BY JAN AS A 4 HOUR JOB. TWO MEN ''COMPLETED'' THE WORK IN 45 MINUTES. THEY WERE NICE AND PROFESSIONAL. HOWEVER, THEY TOLD ME I WOULD NEED TO SCRAP OFF ANY EXCESS PUTTY. AND, AFTER THEY LEFT, I THOROUGHLY INSPECTED THEIR WORK ONLY TO FIND THAT THEY MISSED SEVERAL NAILS. $363.00 FOR A 45 MINUTE JOB THAT WASN'T EVEN DONE RIGHT AND THAT I HAD TO FINISH. VERY UNSATISFYING EXPERIENCE. WE HAD HIGH HOPES THAT WE COULD USE THIS COMPANY FOR OTHER PROJECTS. NOT SO NOW.

Description of Work
TAP DOWN NAILS IN A WOOD FLOOR THAT WAS IMPROPERLY INSTALLED BY A PREVIOUS OWNER. FILL THE HOLES WITH WOOD PUTTY.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/07/2005


STEVE N.

THEY DID TERRIFIC JOB. THEY DID A JOB THAT WAS ON A DIFFICULTY FACTOR OF 8 OUT OF 10. WE WERE CONCERNED THAT THE TILE WOULD MAKE OR BREAK THE PROJECT. NEEDLESS TO SAY THE JOB TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. THEY WERE ABLE TO HIDE MANY IMPERFECTIONS WITH THEIR EXPERTISE. IT IS A FAMILY RUN BUSINESS AND THEY TAKE PRIDE IN THEIR WORK.

Description of Work
TILED A MASTER BATH.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

11/17/2001


PATRICIA M M.

JOE THE CARPET INSTALLER CAN HANG ORIENTAL RUGS ON THE WALL

Description of Work
CARPET PURCHASED AND INSTALLED IN UPSTAIRS HALLWAY AND LARGE STAIRWELL.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/25/2001


PATRICIA M M.

JOE THE INSTALLER WAS VERY HELPFUL. HE EVEN HUNG AN ORIENTAL RUG ON THE WALL FOR ME.

Description of Work
PURCHASED AND HAD INSTALLED NEW CARPET IN HALLWAY AND STAIRWELL.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    S&R Flooring and Design Consulting LLC

    We have over 13 years experience in flooring sales and installation. We wanted to take our knowledge and become a family owned business. Our installers are family and friends no sub contractors. They have been trained for over 5 years. We offer 1 year installation warranty as well as manufacturer warranties through big names like Shaw, Mohawk etc.  

    Fabulous Floors of Cincinnati

    Resurfacing only 99 cents per square foot! This remarkable Fabulous Floors ® system brings back the beauty and character of your hardwood floors by gently buffing minor nicks and scratches in your floor's finish, without sanding away precious wood. Then adding a protective polyurethane finish to bring out the natural color and shine. Your home is a reflection of you. Your taste! Your Style! By restoring your hardwood floors to their original luster, you add beauty and value to your home. We also offer traditional refinishing and installation at discounted rates.  

    Weickert's

    8 Employees, jobs are priced individually, no travel costs. Weickert's Hardwood Flooring Company requires a deposit to begin work with remaining balance due upon completion.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Flooring, Carpet, Hardwood Installation & Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring

    How is Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring overall rated?

    Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring open?

    Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 AM

    What payment options does Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring provide

    Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offer free estimates?

    Yes, Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offers free project estimates.

    Does Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring?

    Yes, Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offers warranties.

    What services does Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offer?

    Earl Franks Sons & Daughters Flooring offers the following services: Flooring, Carpet, Hardwood Installation & Repair.