Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc

Founded 1970 • With Angi since March 1999

Additional DBA - Upton's Roofing & Repair Service and Vintage Remodeling & Restoration. Additional phone - (317) 634-8416. We have a Military Discount!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.3

(19) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
Montrial H.
5.0
08/28/2016
Job went well and satisfied.
Description of Work
Had a new Roof added.
Category
roofing
Anna A.
4.0
07/20/2015
unknown
Description of Work
The hail storm hit in May 2014. I didn't get the insurance filed until mid June. Since I share a roof with my neighbors and I had just moved in two days before the hailstorm, I went with my neighbors choice as I agreed that one roofer would be best. Although the work when completed was good and the roofers themselves nice and polite, the owner was not very timely. My neighbor across the street had her roof on in 3 days. My roof took from Mid July (two days in September for roof) to November(one day for gutters) to complete! Even the bank was suspicious when I brought in the insurance checks so far apart. Mr. Upton's wife does a great job in returning calls, but she cannot make Mr. Upton do his job in a timely manner. Perhaps he needs to hire a manager that is interested in doing this.
Category
roofing
Jake K.
5.0
06/25/2013
Grover Upton had been introduced to me by a painting company some years ago, when their contractor did not use a drop cloth and spilt paint on the roof. Upton's Roofing matched the color of the roof and completed the repair. Over the last years, I had been having my house painted and repainted in certain areas, where water was getting into the wood. None of paint jobs lasted, and none of the well known building contractors I had do the repair analyzed the real problem - they just coated the gutters and then repainted. There was a leak in the roof after a storm last year and I had Upton's Roofing fix it (which of course they did excellently). At this time, I asked Grover Upton to look at the problem areas at the edges of the roof, and he told me what needed to be done. This is the repair that he completed recently. He also matched broken slats on the chimneys and completed this repair at the same time. The slats look better than they did before they cracked - he finished all the edges and touched up the paint at the same time. He went above and beyond. How did it go? Excellently! They are very busy, I had to call several times, but once they came out the job was completed, again - above and beyond. Grover Upton is very personable, he is a gentleman you could trust. He has a hard working crew, again very personable, courteous and pleasant. The important thing is that they get the job done, correctly. Prior to this, I had many contractors apply the wrong 'fix', costing me so much money each time. No homeowner wants this. I wish I had I got Grover Upton to look at the issue years ago. I would not have any other company do a roof repair on my house, and I would not hesitate to recommend Upton's Roofing to anyone else. You can trust the company to do a correct (and intelligent) repair, with integrity.
Description of Work
Grover Upton repaired the roof at the edges, where water was leaking into the wood. He also replaced slats that had cracked. There were many places where similar repairs had to be completed.
Category
roofing
Brian H.
3.0
06/14/2013
The quality of service that Upton's Roofing and Repair Service Inc provided me was not good. I last used their service last summer of 2007 and now I'm having my roof done again on some of the things they did and it was under warranty and they just sort didn't cover it. They put my gutters in wrong place so it leaks. Now I never have them come back and do anything for me.
Description of Work
I used Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc for roo555ing and gutter services.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Duane B.
1.0
02/18/2013
Every few weeks he would verbally confirm his intent to repair my roof. His statement was always that he was behind schedule and should be able to make my repairs in the next 2-3 weeks. Unfortunately this scenario occurred over and over again for seven months with no actual results. He had several opportunities to back out of his verbal commitment, but instead each time stated his intent to make the repairs. His pleasant tone on the phone was nothing more than lies repeated over and over again. Do not trust what this man says!
Description of Work
Grover Upton visited my residence in April 2012 and stated his interest in making necessary roof repairs. Repairs involved were to be addressing water leaks at the chimney and roof ridge. No estimate was provided as cost was to be based on time and materials.
Category
roofing
WILMA Z.
5.0
09/10/2010
They were courteous and professional. They were prompt. A promise made was a promise fulfilled with this company. They did a wonderful job cleaning up.
Description of Work
They put new shingles on the roof.
Category
roofing
PATRIK M.
5.0
07/06/2009
They were simply excellent. They were responsive to all our request. They did a top notch job and they were very reasonable.
Description of Work
The replaced our entire roof.
Category
roofing
PHILLIP L N.
5.0
06/26/2008
I made an appointment for them to estimate the price. They showed up on time and they showed up to the estimate ready to make the deal. I thought that was very professional. When they got here they all went straight to work and I never saw anyone standing around. Their pricing was very close to market price. They were very knowledgeable about what they were doing. They answered every question I had. They were very professional in making sure everything was clean. They laid some tarps down and even used a magnet to pick up all the little nails. When it came time to pay them, they had a walk around and anything that I saw that they might have missed or was questionable, they made a list and the guy came out the next day and fixed it. We then did one more walk around and since it was okay I wrote the check.
Description of Work
They put on a new roof and some gutters on my house. They tuck pointed two chimney's on my room. They replaced all the vinyl siding on my house as well. They had to strip off all the old aluminum of my two story house to do this.
Category
roofing, siding, chimney repair
Trish G.
2.0
04/17/2008
The roof installation went as planned except for the following issues: roofing nails in the driveway, also 2 electric ventilation fans were put in next to each other in a small portion of the attic space (?) so they didn't really know where the outside roof correlated with inside attic space (too rushed). They put in 4 fans when at most 3 would have done the job. No electrical support for the fans and one had the wiring blocked by the fan support, sloppy. NOW we have a place where the roof meets the siding at a peak and there is a hole/opening so the squirrels are now in our attic. I called 2.5 weeks ago to get it fixed (20 minute job) since it is too high for me to reach with a ladder and I can't get them to respond to come out and fix it. I've pleaded that the squirrels are keeping us up at night but they still don't have a work order for this simple repair. I've called 3 times with no call back even after speaking to Irene and leaving my name and number each time.
Description of Work
The old roof was completed torn off and a new roof installed. Electric ventilation fans were installed to add life to the new roof along with static ventilation.
Category
roofing
JONATHAN M.
4.0
02/07/2008
Very nice quality and good clean up. One issue with working out the cost with the insurance company. They are good people.
Description of Work
Tear off and replaced roof.
Category
roofing
Holly H.
3.0
01/07/2008
I was displeased with the fact that Mr. Upton didn't return any of my phone calls after the initial visit to my house.
Description of Work
I called to get an estimate on replacing siding on my house and garage. Also dealing with the insurance company about needing a new roof. Grover Upton was very prompt about coming out to do the estimate and very nice to work with. However, after that is when the communication broke down. I was dealing with the insurance company, and got back to Mr. Upton several times about wanting the estimate, but he never returned any of my calls. I called probably 4 times after his initial visit, and still have not heard from him.
Category
roofing
ED & CECELIA B.
3.0
06/18/2007
The bulk head over the kitchen cabinet was deteriorating so had Upton Roofing come out and check for leaks. It was decided it was leaking from the vent above the kitchen sink. Temporary caulking was put on the vent till they could get out and replace it. A man from the company was to come out the following week. However no one show up or called. After several calls someone show up a month later. Three months later we are still having the same problem and water now is leaking through the cabinet. After having problems with Upton returning our calls and taking so long to show up we called a different roofing company. They came out the same day and found out Upton Roofing did not replace the shingles back correct around the vent boot and was causing it to leak even more. The problem has now been fixed.
Description of Work
Tear out and install new neoprene pipe boot above kitchen sink.
Category
roofing
KAREN H.
1.0
12/11/2006
They have done an estimate and I have been trying to get them out to do the work since April. I am on the phone with them every 2 weeks.
Description of Work
Have been trying to get them to come out to do roofing work.
Category
roofing
JOEY & SARAH N.
5.0
07/26/2006
They did an excellent job, at a good price and they got it done quickly and they didn't leave a mess.
Description of Work
They replaced the whole roof on our house (including the decking).
Category
roofing
JEFF C.
5.0
06/09/2006
Excellent service. Would highly recommend this company. Grover Upton was very professional and handled his staff well. The foreman on the roofing job did a great job. Very happy with both my roofs.
Description of Work
Second layer dimensional roof put on house. Complete tear-off and new dimensional roof on detached garage.
Category
roofing
JIM & JANET L.
5.0
10/28/2005
unknown
Description of Work
HE SUBMITTED AN ESTIMATE FOR ROOFING. VERY NICE MAN, PROMPT, & A GOOD ESTIMATE. WE DECIDED TO HIRE ANOTHER ROOFING COMPANY THAT ALSO DOES CHIMNEY WORK.
Category
roofing
Pamela D.
5.0
04/20/2005
GARAGE ROOF ($1500) + HOUSE ROOF($3500) AND SIDING ON FRONT OF GARAGE ($900). THEY DO EXCELLENT WORK. THEY ARE FAST. THEY STARTED ON 2/18/05 AND THEY WERE DONE IN THREE DAYS. THEY CLEANED UP AND HAULED AWAY EVERYTHING AND LEFT MY HOUSE IN BETTER CONDITION THAN THEY FOUND IT. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE IN NEED OF A NEW ROOF.
Description of Work
THEY PUT A NEW ROOF ON MY GARAGE AND PUT NEW 30-YR DIMENSIONAL SHINGLES ON MY ENTIRE HOUSE.
Category
roofing
tom H.
5.0
06/04/2001
STUCK TO THE ORIGINAL ESTIMATE EVEN THOUGH HE HAD TO REPLACE MOST OF THE DECKING IN ROOF. A+
Description of Work
TEAROFF OF FIVE LAYER(!) AND REROOF OF WOOD THAT WAS VERY DAMAGED.GUTTER AND SIDING WORK WITH SOFFITS AS WELL.DONE
Category
roofing
5.0
03/12/1999
COMPLETE TEAR OFF AND REPLACEMENT. REASONABLE QUOTE AND STAYED TO THE ESTIMATE. VERY THOROUGH AND QUICK. CLEANED UP WELL. (INSIST ON 24 HOUR NOTICE FOR WORK) HAD ONLY GIVEN HIM 4 HOURS.
Category
roofing

Phone

Address

4130 Madison Ave

Indianapolis, IN 46227

Other Information

Services offered

Roofing, siding, gutters, soffit, chimneys, windows, doors, decks, pole barns, sheds, remodeling general, kitchen & bath.

Payment options

Check
Financing Available

FAQ

Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

Yes, Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc offers warranties.

Upton's Roofing & Repair Service Inc offers the following services: Roofing, siding, gutters, soffit, chimneys, windows, doors, decks, pole barns, sheds, remodeling general, kitchen & bath.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Arvin Masonry

5.0

(52)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Arvin Masonry

Welcome to Arvin Masonry your full service masonry contractor proudly serving Hamilton County and the surrounding areas as well as Indianapolis. We have been in the business since 2002 and have experience in residential and commercial work. We are insured with Indiana Farm Bureau.  

With over 20 years of window experience, we are here to help you with all your installation and warranty needs that come your way. We are THE value dealer in the central Indiana market for quality windows. We offer triple pane windows with a true lifetime warranty at the same price, and sometimes lower, than the majority of window companies that offer ordinary dual pane windows. Our window manufacturer has won the Energy Star partner of the year award for the last 7 years! The current windows we offer to our homeowners already meet and exceed the Energy Star Most Efficient requirements to qualify for the Energy Star tax credit.  

Window Universe

Angi Certified

Window Universe

We can now offer our complete window price list to our Angie's List customers before you even schedule an appointment with us. We're the easiest company in town and we LOVE our Angie's List customers. To get our complete price list go to WindowUniverseIndy.com/prices. We offer energy efficient replacement windows and doors to homeowners and businesses all over the Indy area! We have a full line of products to meet the needs of all of our customers. From the budget minded to the performance oriented, we offer the full range of products and we let you decide what is right for your home. ALL of our products come with a complete transferable lifetime warranty that even includes glass breakage. Best of all, everything we do is backed by our 110% Best Value Guarantee which ensures there is no company on Angie's List offering a better deal. Give us a ring today, we offer exact quotes (not estimates) for FREE. Thanks for taking the time to meet with us to discuss your project!