NorthWind Designs

Founded 2007 • With Angi since July 2015

FAIRFIELD COUNTYS PREMIER DESIGN & BUILD FIRM. Crafting the perfect landscape takes more than a green thumb and a shovel, it requires the knowledge and experience to bring your vision to life. With over 20 years of experience helping develop the best landscapes in Fairfield County and surrounding areas, NorthWind Designs has the skills and dedication needed to tackle any challenge. We offer both landscape and masonry design & build services, and with every estimate we also provide an image of your proposed final result. We are fully licensed and insured. From beginning to end we handle all aspects of the project. We are a full design & build company. We employ the most talented craftsmen in there perspective trade. Contact us today. We look forward to working with you on your next project.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Natural Stone Landscape DesignTree Removal

Lifestyle Landscapes Westport CT

lawn & landscaping

201906880
Landscape Design- Terraced Seating area Irregular terraced garden bed Real look synthetic turf Drainage system Irregular bluestone piano walkway Custom cedar fencing Custom metal bed edging River jack bed accents Beach Stone Retaining walls
View project

Verified Reviews

5.0

(25) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

25

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price
4.6
Professionalism
5.0
Punctuality
5.0
Quality
5.0
Responsiveness
4.9

Read reviews by category

masonry (21)lawn & landscaping (18)hardscaping (11)decks & porches (2)outdoor kitchens (1)Patios (1)stamped concrete (1)stone & gravel (1)
Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews
TOM K.
5.0
10/19/2022
Great! Brennan took great care in thinking through the design and design elements. Craftmanship and materials were topnotch. Project was a large patio, including an area for pets, pavilion and the use of artificial turf to enhance the look and functionality. We were very pleased with the outcome and would use Brennann and the Northwind Designs team again.
Description of Work
Remove existing patio and replace with a larger set up that included a pavilion, fencing
Category
decks, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, stamped concrete, patios, outdoor kitchens
Cost
$100,000
Hire Again?
Yes
janis F.
5.0
04/21/2021
Would definitely recommend this company for any landscaping projects you have in mind. Brennan is fair, competent, and easily accessible throughout the job. He has a very friendly and hard working crew. Astro turf in my dog’s fenced in area eliminated the mud problem- on my shoes and the dog.

Images

Review for NorthWind Designs - 270 GREENWICH AVE, Greenwich, CT - 39302497Review for NorthWind Designs - 270 GREENWICH AVE, Greenwich, CT - 39302497
Description of Work
masonry landscape design turf lawn
Category
landscaping, masonry
Cost
$21,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Elizabeth T.
5.0
03/17/2021
Quick response, excellent communication throughout the job (my guy Brennan always answered his phone), work well done. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
drainage
Category
landscaping, masonry, drain pipe
Hire Again?
Yes
DARRELL K.
5.0
07/05/2020
We hired NorthWinds in August of 2019. Brennan's crew were excellent- conscientious, with attention to detail and a desire to do the job exactly to the customer's spec. Brennan was willing to brainstorm ideas to get to a good solution and so was a good partner. We would not hesitate to hire again and would be happy to give a good reference to others.
Description of Work
2 rock walls, a new patio and related landscaping and drainage
Category
landscaping, masonry, hardscaping
Cost
$40,000
Hire Again?
Yes
larry M.
5.0
05/08/2020
Team showed up on time, as scheduled, did an excellent job on the area in need of repair, and left the work site spotless. I would highly recommend them, and would use them again.
Description of Work
masonry
Category
masonry
Cost
$2,200
Hire Again?
Yes
Gary N.
5.0
04/29/2020
Outstanding work. The front yard landscaping looks beautiful and unique.
Description of Work
Landscaping, Masonry
Category
landscaping, masonry
Hire Again?
Yes
R K.
5.0
04/29/2020
Northwind did a fabulous job on our retaining walls and front porch. The quality of work was superb and I highly recommend them. They did everything and more that they promised.
Description of Work
Landscaping, Masonry
Category
landscaping, masonry
Cost
$7,500
Hire Again?
Yes
Rocco W.
5.0
03/09/2020
The work was done very quickly and professionally. Everything looks great and was built to last. Brennan has a very good eye for landscaping and masonry design.
Description of Work
Stone work (Steps, wall, and walkway) and Landscape Design
Category
landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, hardscaping
Hire Again?
Yes
Cheryl N.
5.0
01/22/2020
Northwind far exceeded our expectations. Brennan has a unique talent at being extremely creative, as well as skilled at landscaping techniques. We selected Northwind on the basis of previous reviews and felt fortunate to work with them.
Description of Work
Landscape Design & Bluestone patio
Category
masonry, hardscaping, outdoor lighting
Hire Again?
Yes
Steven T.
5.0
07/24/2019
Brennan and his Northwind Designs team rebuilt our front steps and porch, side and back steps, all with blue stone. In addition, they improved the drainage/downspout flow while building two walkways also constructed with blue stone. Finally, they built up part of our yard with topsoil to improve the walkway grade. Work turned out great and we have already received many compliments. Highly recommend Brennan and his team of pros.
Description of Work
Masonry, landscaping and drainage
Category
landscaping, masonry, mulch
Hire Again?
Yes
Jason M.
5.0
11/03/2018
We needed to have our tired looking front yard plantings and landscape features all removed and refreshed, the backyard grass turned and reseeded, and several trees/branches removed. Brendan and his crew got to work quickly, got the job done in a couple of days, and everything looks magazine worthy. Will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
New lawn, plantings, tree removal
Category
hardscaping
Cost
$9,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Matt D.
5.0
10/18/2018
Excellent! They arrived on time, did exactly what I asked for and finished in only a few hours.
Description of Work
Excavation
Category
lawn service
Hire Again?
Yes
Tim M.
5.0
10/16/2018
Brennan was incredibly responsive and punctual. He and his crew did a fantastic job. Would absolutely recommend.
Description of Work
Improve drainage in trouble areas of backyard
Category
lawn service
Hire Again?
Yes
Joshua F.
5.0
09/13/2018
Brennan and team did a top quality job at a very fair price.
Description of Work
Stone wall, regrading of property, drainage
Category
landscaping, masonry, mulch
Cost
$7,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Paul B.
5.0
08/07/2018
All work was top notch. Lawn and landscaping has never looked better
Description of Work
Landscape design, new front walkway, new stonework around mailbox, lawn maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch
Hire Again?
Yes
Bob C.
5.0
08/07/2018
Very well ! He had great design ideas and a very professional team to execute all work. Very accommodating to changes. I would definitely recommend him for any outside work!
Description of Work
Yard - lawn and tree work, stone wall repaired
Category
landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, hardscaping
Hire Again?
Yes
Mike M.
5.0
07/31/2018
It went very well! Brennan came right out when we called - he gave us quotes immediately for the original job and the additions we made. Brennan offered design ideas and photos to help us make design decisions. The stone workmanship was excellent! The plants have done very well. Brennan promised we would be happy with project in the end and we definitely are!

Images

Review for NorthWind Designs - 270 GREENWICH AVE, Greenwich, CT - 37288026Review for NorthWind Designs - 270 GREENWICH AVE, Greenwich, CT - 37288026
Description of Work
Stone patio for hot tub and adjacent seating area - surrounded with river rocks and plants - plus stone walks to patio.
Category
landscaping, masonry, hardscaping
Cost
$14,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Kellie B.
5.0
12/09/2017
Brennan and his employees did an incredible job. He promised I would be pleased and I was. He was very honest about cost and advised me on how I could save money rather than take advantage of the scale of my project. He checked in frequently with me while his employees were working and stopped by a few days after the project was complete to make sure I was happy. The work was stellar, they even did a few extra little things along the way. I will be having them come back in the spring to get my garden ready for the season. I highly recommend hiring Brennan, you won't be disappointed!
Description of Work
I had a very large garden area that needed a major overhaul; weeding, edging, pruning,mulch and a rock wall fixed.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch
Hire Again?
Yes
Shannon E.
5.0
11/27/2017
The entire process was smooth. Brennan communicated throughout the entire process from the first appointment through to the end of the job. We will definitely use him again!
Description of Work
We needed a combination of services from landscape design, walkways and patio work to a stone wall built.
Category
landscaping, masonry, hardscaping, outdoor lighting
Cost
$15,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Pat C.
5.0
11/27/2017
Went very well - work was done within the time frame expected and Brennan McGrath kept in close touch to report on status throughout. It cost more than I originally planned to spend but I got what I paid for - quality was excellent, work proceeded smoothly and any issues I raised were promptly addressed.
Description of Work
New deck in the back of the house; new front walk and entrance to front door; new window installed in master bedroom.
Category
decks, masonry, replacement windows
Cost
$35,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Phillip S.
5.0
11/18/2017
They did a great job. The job was completed on schedule and met/exceeded expectations.
Description of Work
Front steps cement and railing work for 40 townhouse-style condo units. The Northwind team patched up some cracked concrete, repaired broken railings, and demolished/rebuilt some broken cement/brick walls.
Category
landscaping, masonry
Hire Again?
Yes
Randy D.
5.0
11/18/2016
Excellent, Brennan is a top notch mason, great communicator and diligent. we are thrilled with the stone walls he built along with a beach area and new lawns. Brennan's crew is professional, polite and responsive. the clean up in the end was perfect too.
Description of Work
Masonry work and Landscape
Category
landscaping, masonry
Cost
$30,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Patty M.
5.0
06/28/2016
Great job, missed a few and came back to take care of it for me.
Description of Work
Weeding,edging, mulch.
Category
hardscaping
Cost
$1,800
Hire Again?
Yes
charlotte D.
5.0
06/22/2016
All the work was done well, in a timely manner, with a smile during a brutally hot spell. The laborer who did the grading, seeding, and mulching was especially diligent, and the stone mason was a real gem. Prices for materials were fair and the plants were in superb condition. Some may say that the prices are a little high. BUT, the work was done with NO damage to the rest of my plantings, on an expedited schedule that I specified, and the results for grass and plants were as promised. There was no "two steps forward, one step backward" aspect to NorthWind, which is not the case for most landscape providers. So, I judge that the pricing is reasonable because I did not have to recover from damage, etc.
Description of Work
Brennan and his crew regraded and seeded one side of our property, mulched all of our extensive planting beds, created a small stone-walled planting area, extended an existing stone wall, and procured 15 Sweet Woodruff plants for me to personally plant.
Category
landscaping, masonry, hardscaping
Cost
$3,400
Hire Again?
Yes
Barbara S.
5.0
06/22/2016
We are very pleased with the results, and have received many compliments. The sidewalk is much more solid and safer to walk on.. It actually looks better than when it was first installed by a different mason. I am also very pleased with some special red gravel Brennan found that matches the mulch. Brennan used it to edge a sloping pachysandr bed, where the mulch always washes out quickly. We were impressed with Brennan's initiative and creative problem solving.
Description of Work
North Wind built up level of the lawn on both sides of our driveway. They then seeded and filled in some other low spots in the front yard. We also had the slates in our front sidewalk reset. The last step was to mulch all of the beds in our front and back yard, reset some edging rocks, and trim the pachysandr and some bushes.
Category
landscaping, masonry, hardscaping
Cost
$2,800
Hire Again?
Yes

    Phone

    Address

    270 GREENWICH AVE

    Greenwich, CT 06830

    Sunday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Monday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Website

    http://northwind-designs.com

    Other Information

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Payment options

    Check
    Visa
    MasterCard
    Financing Available
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    HIC.0648763
    Trade License Locale
    Connecticut
    Trade License Authority
    Connecticut
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2023
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

    FAQ

    NorthWind Designs is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    NorthWind Designs is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    NorthWind Designs accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers free project estimates.

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers a 10% senior discount.

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers emergency services.

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers warranties.

    NorthWind Designs offers the following services: Complete Landscape Service Company. Landscape & Masonry Design, 3D Plant Design, Tree Removal, Excavating and Interior Masonry.