Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

NorthWind Designs

5.0

(24) Verified Reviews

Founded 2007 • With Angi since July 2015

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
HIC.0648763
Trade License Locale
Connecticut
Trade License Authority
Connecticut
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Hours

Sunday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

270 Greenwich Ave

Greenwich, CT 06830

http://northwind-designs.com
Lifestyle Landscapes Westport CT

Lifestyle Landscapes Westport CT

lawn & landscaping201906880
Landscape Design- Terraced Seating area Irregular terraced garden bed Real look synthetic turf Drainage system Irregular bluestone piano walkway Custom cedar fencing Custom metal bed edging River jack bed accents Beach Stone Retaining walls

Description

Crafting the perfect landscape takes more than a green thumb and a shovel, it requires the knowledge and experience to bring your vision to life. With over 20 years of experience helping develop the best landscapes in Fairfield County and surrounding areas, NorthWind Designs has the skills and dedication needed to tackle any challenge. We offer both landscape and masonry design services, and with every estimate we also provide an image of your proposed final result. We are fully licensed and insured....
Lifestyle Landscapes Westport CT project
Lifestyle Landscapes Westport CT

lawn & landscaping

201906880
Lifestyle Landscapes Fairfield  project
Lifestyle Landscapes Fairfield

lawn & landscaping

202006824

Verified Reviews

5.0

(24) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

21

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

masonry (20)lawn & landscaping (17)hardscaping (10)decks & porches (1)mulch delivering (6)lawn care (6)landscape lighting (2)drain pipe installation (1)window replacement (1)
Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews
5.0

03/17/2021


Elizabeth T.

Quick response, excellent communication throughout the job (my guy Brennan always answered his phone), work well done. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
drainage

Category landscaping, masonry, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2021

5.0

07/05/2020


DARRELL K.

We hired NorthWinds in August of 2019. Brennan's crew were excellent- conscientious, with attention to detail and a desire to do the job exactly to the customer's spec. Brennan was willing to brainstorm ideas to get to a good solution and so was a good partner. We would not hesitate to hire again and would be happy to give a good reference to others.

Description of Work
2 rock walls, a new patio and related landscaping and drainage

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2019

5.0

05/08/2020


larry M.

Team showed up on time, as scheduled, did an excellent job on the area in need of repair, and left the work site spotless. I would highly recommend them, and would use them again.

Description of Work
masonry

Category masonry

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

5.0

04/29/2020


R K.

Northwind did a fabulous job on our retaining walls and front porch. The quality of work was superb and I highly recommend them. They did everything and more that they promised.

Description of Work
Landscaping, Masonry

Category landscaping, masonry

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2020

5.0

04/29/2020


Gary N.

Outstanding work. The front yard landscaping looks beautiful and unique.

Description of Work
Landscaping, Masonry

Category landscaping, masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2020

5.0

03/09/2020


Rocco W.

The work was done very quickly and professionally. Everything looks great and was built to last. Brennan has a very good eye for landscaping and masonry design.

Description of Work
Stone work (Steps, wall, and walkway) and Landscape Design

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2020

5.0

01/22/2020


Cheryl N.

Northwind far exceeded our expectations. Brennan has a unique talent at being extremely creative, as well as skilled at landscaping techniques. We selected Northwind on the basis of previous reviews and felt fortunate to work with them.

Description of Work
Landscape Design & Bluestone patio

Category masonry, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2020

5.0

07/24/2019


Steven T.

Brennan and his Northwind Designs team rebuilt our front steps and porch, side and back steps, all with blue stone. In addition, they improved the drainage/downspout flow while building two walkways also constructed with blue stone. Finally, they built up part of our yard with topsoil to improve the walkway grade. Work turned out great and we have already received many compliments. Highly recommend Brennan and his team of pros.

Description of Work
Masonry, landscaping and drainage

Category landscaping, masonry, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2019

5.0

11/03/2018


Jason M.

We needed to have our tired looking front yard plantings and landscape features all removed and refreshed, the backyard grass turned and reseeded, and several trees/branches removed. Brendan and his crew got to work quickly, got the job done in a couple of days, and everything looks magazine worthy. Will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
New lawn, plantings, tree removal

Category hardscaping

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2018

5.0

10/18/2018


Matt D.

Excellent! They arrived on time, did exactly what I asked for and finished in only a few hours.

Description of Work
Excavation

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

5.0

10/16/2018


Tim M.

Brennan was incredibly responsive and punctual. He and his crew did a fantastic job. Would absolutely recommend.

Description of Work
Improve drainage in trouble areas of backyard

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2018

5.0

09/13/2018


Joshua F.

Brennan and team did a top quality job at a very fair price.

Description of Work
Stone wall, regrading of property, drainage

Category landscaping, masonry, mulch

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

5.0

08/07/2018


Paul B.

All work was top notch. Lawn and landscaping has never looked better

Description of Work
Landscape design, new front walkway, new stonework around mailbox, lawn maintenance

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2018

5.0

08/07/2018


Bob C.

Very well ! He had great design ideas and a very professional team to execute all work. Very accommodating to changes. I would definitely recommend him for any outside work!

Description of Work
Yard - lawn and tree work, stone wall repaired

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2018

5.0

07/31/2018


Mike M.

It went very well! Brennan came right out when we called - he gave us quotes immediately for the original job and the additions we made. Brennan offered design ideas and photos to help us make design decisions. The stone workmanship was excellent! The plants have done very well. Brennan promised we would be happy with project in the end and we definitely are!

Description of Work
Stone patio for hot tub and adjacent seating area - surrounded with river rocks and plants - plus stone walks to patio.

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2018

Images

Review for NorthWind Designs - 270 Greenwich Ave, Greenwich, CT - 37288026

+1 More

5.0

12/09/2017


Kellie B.

Brennan and his employees did an incredible job. He promised I would be pleased and I was. He was very honest about cost and advised me on how I could save money rather than take advantage of the scale of my project. He checked in frequently with me while his employees were working and stopped by a few days after the project was complete to make sure I was happy. The work was stellar, they even did a few extra little things along the way. I will be having them come back in the spring to get my garden ready for the season. I highly recommend hiring Brennan, you won't be disappointed!

Description of Work
I had a very large garden area that needed a major overhaul; weeding, edging, pruning,mulch and a rock wall fixed.

Category landscaping, lawn service, masonry, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2017

5.0

11/27/2017


Pat C.

Went very well - work was done within the time frame expected and Brennan McGrath kept in close touch to report on status throughout. It cost more than I originally planned to spend but I got what I paid for - quality was excellent, work proceeded smoothly and any issues I raised were promptly addressed.

Description of Work
New deck in the back of the house; new front walk and entrance to front door; new window installed in master bedroom.

Category decks, masonry, replacement windows

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2017

5.0

11/18/2017


Phillip S.

They did a great job. The job was completed on schedule and met/exceeded expectations.

Description of Work
Front steps cement and railing work for 40 townhouse-style condo units. The Northwind team patched up some cracked concrete, repaired broken railings, and demolished/rebuilt some broken cement/brick walls.

Category landscaping, masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2017

5.0

11/18/2016


Randy D.

Excellent, Brennan is a top notch mason, great communicator and diligent. we are thrilled with the stone walls he built along with a beach area and new lawns. Brennan's crew is professional, polite and responsive. the clean up in the end was perfect too.

Description of Work
Masonry work and Landscape

Category landscaping, masonry

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2016

5.0

06/22/2016


charlotte D.

All the work was done well, in a timely manner, with a smile during a brutally hot spell. The laborer who did the grading, seeding, and mulching was especially diligent, and the stone mason was a real gem. Prices for materials were fair and the plants were in superb condition. Some may say that the prices are a little high. BUT, the work was done with NO damage to the rest of my plantings, on an expedited schedule that I specified, and the results for grass and plants were as promised. There was no "two steps forward, one step backward" aspect to NorthWind, which is not the case for most landscape providers. So, I judge that the pricing is reasonable because I did not have to recover from damage, etc.

Description of Work
Brennan and his crew regraded and seeded one side of our property, mulched all of our extensive planting beds, created a small stone-walled planting area, extended an existing stone wall, and procured 15 Sweet Woodruff plants for me to personally plant.

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Cost $3,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2015

5.0

06/22/2016


Barbara S.

We are very pleased with the results, and have received many compliments. The sidewalk is much more solid and safer to walk on.. It actually looks better than when it was first installed by a different mason. I am also very pleased with some special red gravel Brennan found that matches the mulch. Brennan used it to edge a sloping pachysandr bed, where the mulch always washes out quickly. We were impressed with Brennan's initiative and creative problem solving.

Description of Work
North Wind built up level of the lawn on both sides of our driveway. They then seeded and filled in some other low spots in the front yard. We also had the slates in our front sidewalk reset. The last step was to mulch all of the beds in our front and back yard, reset some edging rocks, and trim the pachysandr and some bushes.

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2016

    Services Offered

    Complete Landscape Service Company. Landscape & Masonry Design, 3D Plant Design, Tree Removal, Excavating and Interior Masonry.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NorthWind Designs

    How is NorthWind Designs overall rated?

    NorthWind Designs is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are NorthWind Designs open?

    NorthWind Designs is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does NorthWind Designs provide

    NorthWind Designs accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does NorthWind Designs offer free estimates?

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers free project estimates.

    Does NorthWind Designs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does NorthWind Designs offer a senior discount?

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does NorthWind Designs offer emergency services?

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by NorthWind Designs?

    Yes, NorthWind Designs offers warranties.

    What services does NorthWind Designs offer?

    NorthWind Designs offers the following services: Complete Landscape Service Company. Landscape & Masonry Design, 3D Plant Design, Tree Removal, Excavating and Interior Masonry.

    Are there any services NorthWind Designs does not offer?

    Ask for details.