Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carrington Lawn & Landscape

Founded 1998 • With Angi since August 2010

Carrington Lawn & Landscape provides the Landscape Experience you deserve and is unique from other companies in our industry. We are a full-service company that provides every service your lawn and landscape requires to look its best. We have built a reputation in the Madison area for high quality service, skilled craftsmanship, and reliability within all of our divisions. At Carrington Lawn & Landscape we build long-term relationships with our clients through designing, installing, and maintaining their landscape in a way that showcases its unique features. Partner with us to enjoy your experience while appreciating more from your outdoors.

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
No License Required for Trade
Trade License Number
93-022545-013353
Trade License Locale
Wisconsin
Trade License Authority
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture
Trade License Expiration
12/31/2017
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(63) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 63 reviews
Andrea W.
5.0
06/04/2019
It was perfect. They created a design that fit our needs and walked us through it in detail. They communicated when they would be on-site, if there we're delays (rain), and if there we're unforseen issues (needed large tree stump removal) in a professional manner. Very trustworthy!
Description of Work
Front and side yard, two retaining walls, patio and entrance stoop
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
Dianne S.
5.0
04/03/2019
A very positive experience: the crews were knowledgeable, courteous, and reliable, and the lawn looked great with their mowing and treatments. I was billed for exactly the price that was quoted.
Description of Work
Mowing and treatment for weeds and fertilizing
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Ross H.
5.0
11/30/2018
Staff were very courteous and accommodating as my request came in late in the season. I was concerned that the project wasn't going to be able to happen before the end of the year but thankfully they were able to fit me in before the frost came. Fast working team that certainly focuses on quality and care. I did landscaping in another life so I feel like I know a few thing and I was impressed by the finished product. I will certainly use their services again!
Description of Work
Small rock wall, step pavers
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Christine H.
5.0
10/29/2018
We've been using Carrington for lawn care services the past 3 years and couldn't be happier. They have great customer service and are always very responsive to any questions we have. The crews are friendly and extremely knowledgeable. They also did a small firepit/patio project for us a few years ago that turned out great. They are a bit more expensive than other contractors we've used in the past, but feel strongly that you get what you pay for!
Description of Work
Lawn care (mowing, fertilizing/weed control, mulching, aeration, clean ups, pruning) and a landscape project
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch, hardscaping, patios
Joe B.
5.0
10/16/2018
The worker covered all areas very thoroughly, going over certain parts two and sometimes three times.
Description of Work
Lawn aeration
Category
lawn service
alissa S.
5.0
10/15/2018
Carrington maintains my lawn on a weekly basis for the past two seasons. They do an excellent job and are consistent and punctual. We also have utilized Carrington for various landscape projects including the installation of a natural stone retaining wall and landscape lighting. Their attention to detail is impeccable, and their communication is second to none.
Description of Work
Weekly Lawn Maintenance and Landscape Project Work
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping, outdoor lighting
Emily N.
5.0
10/11/2018
i was so impressed with Carrington! They were by far the most professional of the services we contacted. Everything was done on time and within budget. I would recommend them to anyone, as they truly were impressive.
Description of Work
Landscaping work
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel
Michael S.
5.0
08/20/2018
Carrington removed an old patio and replaced it with a new patio. Design was simple, per our wishes, and was approximately 300 square feet, using Unilock pavers. We were impressed with Carrington staff from the first time we met them during a home show, which is why we invited them to our home for an estimate. Although they weren't the lowest estimate we received, we chose them due to their ability to fully turn our vision for our new patio into reality, from discussing our concerns of the problems we currently had with our old patio, as well as preserving a favorite tree next to our patio. They carefully listened to our concerns and made a design that met our expectations, giving recommendations when we needed them. When they encountered some additional difficulties in the midst of laying the patio, they discussed this with us before proceeding and help us come up with a revised plan (including the refunding of some cost of materials we would no longer need). Throughout the process, from the estimate phase to the completion of our patio, their communication with us was top-notch, better than any other contractor we have worked with for other projects for our home. This was another reason we chose them over other contractors. We knew what to expect from the beginning, and they readily kept us updated on timelines (ending up being able to move up the start of our project sooner than expected) and delays due to weather. All staff, including Mark (our landscape designer), Brian (our foreman) and the rest of their crew, were highly professional and courteous. We are very pleased with our finished patio and hope to enjoy it for many years to come. We would not hesitate to use Carrington again or to recommend them to others!
Description of Work
Patio replacement
Category
hardscaping, patios
Jim B.
5.0
06/21/2018
We were looking for a retaining wall tear down, rebuild, hardscaped patio installation. Mark met us and was very responsive and punctual in our discussions and meetings. He had excellent ideas and knowledge of the product options. A proposal was provided shortly after his visit to our residence. We ended up using another contractor, but would be very confident that Carrington would do a great job.
Description of Work
Patio hardscape with retaining wall
Category
hardscaping
Andrea C.
5.0
10/03/2017
Bug spray was added when they sprayed.
Description of Work
Sprayed the lawn.
Category
lawn service
Steven C.
5.0
07/28/2017
Outstanding in every respect. Design, workmanship, quality of materials were all superb. They started when they said they would and they finished on time. Very punctual each day and easy to talk to when we had questions or suggestions. The entire team worked very hard to make sure we were happy and we are completely satisfied!
Description of Work
New patio with pavers, walkway from street to house with pavers, redesign of perennial beds, expanded with new plantings, flagstone pathway through garden
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Peter S.
5.0
07/21/2017
They are a small company, and as such their responsiveness can be a little slow sometimes (e.g. during storms, if you have branches fallen and you call them immediately and you're put on their schedule for a day but they won't be able to come). Also, they are a little expensive - their pricing for mowing is higher than others' and they tend to charge for a service more when other companies wouldn't. For example, if the grass is a little taller because of seeding they did earlier in the year, they will charge you extra for double mowing. While prices are not unreasonable, they are certainly not a deal either. Nevertheless, their work is top notch on most occasions and despite a few minor issues, we are very happy which is why we continue to work with them.
Description of Work
We have been customers with Carrington for many years. They have done all sorts of work for us, from tree and plant care (pesticide application control etc.), to spring/fall cleanups, to dethatching to mowing and trimming our lawn. Their work is very good, and they have an arborist specialist among their crew who is quite knowledgeable and has provided many suggestions over the years.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service
Eric P.
5.0
06/20/2017
Working with Mark was a breeze, start to finish. He was very knowledgeable and responsive. I had quite a few questions throughout the process and he answered every one of my emails and phone calls the same day, usually within the hour! The crew showed up for the job on time and did exceptional work. Very clean and efficient - hardly even knew they were there!
Description of Work
We had our backyard re-sodded and some ground cover planted underneath a large maple tree.
Category
lawn service
Susan P.
5.0
06/14/2017
Excellent. Very pleased with service.
Description of Work
weed control, lawn mowing and mulching
Category
lawn service, mulch
Carol N.
5.0
06/05/2017
It took awhile to see the results, but there definitely was an improvement
Description of Work
We did a lawn care package of adding nutrients back in the soil with a weeding slow release plan as well. We also had aeration done.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Lew T.
5.0
07/25/2016
The crew was professional, hard working, polite and punctual. They knew what they were doing and it showed. The result was better than we expected. They put in extra time and effort when needed and didn't complain when things didn't go the way they had planned. Carrington administrators kept in touch during the project and made sure everything went well. I highly recommend this business and its workers. This is the type of business where it is easy for things to turn out less than ideal and Carrington was just the opposite. Things went very well. Everything was outlined in detail before the project and every change was noted and documented. It was a pleasure working with them.
Description of Work
Install a large paver patio, landscape the back yard, put in many plantings including a fair sized tree and upgrade all plant beds around our home.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch, hardscaping, patios
Lew T.
5.0
06/07/2016
Carrington transformed our back yard! We love the patio, new tree and plantings; they did an excellent job translating our vision into a design reality. The crew was professional, friendly, organized, neat, and hard-working! We definitely recommend Carrington Lawn & Landscape to others.
Description of Work
Installed a large patio with pavers, landscaped the entire backyard, planted trees and shrubbery, installed multiple ornamental plantings, cleaned and mulched flowerbeds and put on topsoil and seeded around the front yard.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service, hardscaping, patios
Adam B.
5.0
02/22/2016
My email request was immediately returned in less than 2 business days. Met with the lawn technician who was very professional and polite. He made very good suggestions on how to improve our lawns overall appearance. I couldn't believe the list of services provided by them for lawn and landscaping.
Description of Work
Estimate for seasonal lawn care treatments(5-step) and a double pass aeration for next year(s).
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
Ryan Y.
5.0
12/07/2015
I was very impressed most of all with the service and responsiveness of Carrington. BUT, they were also the best price! They were the "medium" sized company that we priced out, and they came in cheaper than the "small" company, and the "big" company. Great company. Our rep was Phil Carrington. We plan on using Carrington in the spring for more work, lawn maintenance and tree trimming.
Description of Work
- Replace landscape lighting system - LOTS of mulching - Underground downspout work - Move edging - Remove trees / shrubs / stumps - Plant hydrangeas - Add Flagstone - Weeding
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping, outdoor lighting
Jean S.
5.0
10/19/2015
went to another company my husband wanted to use
Description of Work
cut and trim yard
Category
lawn service
Frank L.
5.0
10/05/2015
I contacted Carrington Lawn and Landscape for an assessment and quote regarding improving the grading around our house and installing a retaining wall. I worked with Phil who was extremely professional and responsive. I told Phil that this was mainly exploratory as we had just moved in and I wanted to get a rough idea of what to budget for future seasons. Regardless, he treated my request with utmost professionalism and took time to come out and assess my property. Even though, I only needed an unofficial, back-of-the-envelope estimate, he took the time to draft up a quote with a couple options. I have not used their services as this was mainly exploratory and we aren't taking on major landscaping projects at this point. However, I was very impressed from this experience.
Description of Work
Assessment and quote
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
yibin P.
2.0
09/22/2015
I call the provider for a possible lawn repair work. They agreed to come to have an estimate in " next 1 or 2 days". I left my email and phone number. Eight days passed by and I have yet to hear anything from them.
Description of Work
Nothing despite promising
Category
lawn service
Jeff B.
5.0
07/03/2015
Carrington is very reliable. They show up on the same day, each week, to mow the front and the back yards, and they do the sidewalk/walkway edging as well. It is so wonderful for us not have to worry about having this extra chore. Our back yard is rather large for a city lot and would take a good deal of time and effort with our push mower. Carrington Lawn Service arrives with large power mowers and the job is taken care of in 20 minutes or so, and it's one less thing we have to worry about. With the 4th of July coming, they arrived a littler earlier in the week to take care of things... Wonderful!!
Description of Work
We contracted for summer mowing service
Category
lawn service
Adam K.
5.0
06/25/2015
Nothing but praise for Carrington! We had a massive complex project for our residential property, got estimates from 4 reputable and highly rated landscapers in the Madison area, but ultimately chose Carrington over the others for at least two major reasons. First, their estimate was neither the highest nor the lowest (we had estimates from $10K~$50K), seemed completely reasonable for the solution they were pitching to us for our drainage issues, and they assured us that their estimate was what we would end up paying (barring any major surprise)?and in the end they were right. Second, we felt strongly that their architect, Phil Carlson, listened better than anyone else from the competing landscape companies, and was more responsive to our concerns and needs as these became clarified in the process of discussing his proposal, which he gladly and promptly modified. Phil didn't try to push unneeded work on us. And he worked hard supervising the project, making frequent on-site visits to supervise the crew, and when there were the inevitable unforeseen problems, did his level best to accommodate us without raising the price of the work. For instance, when the pavers they installed between our sun room door and deck turned out to be lower than anticipated, they installed and painted steps to match the deck. All in all, this was perhaps the best experience I've ever had with any contractor in my two decades of home ownership. A few other points worth mentioning: Carrington took especial care in not harming the any of our large trees. Carrington not only established a safe path for their heavy machinery at a distance from the trees recommended by our arborist, they carefully laid down thick material over our yard so that the extensive root system would not be damaged. I also liked the 3D plans Phil did for us, which made it easier to understand what the final product would look like, and the time elapsed photography of the project. Also, the crew?led by Flint?was great: professional, respectful, hard working, experienced, intelligent. Finally, and most importantly, the entire project was a huge success. Although completed at the end of last summer, I wanted to wait for the spring snow melt before writing this review, since the proof is in the pudding. The snows on the steep slope next to our house melted, but the drainage system, hardscaping, and retaining wall worked perfectly to divert the runoff clear of the house and deck. I would recommend Carrington in the strongest possible terms!
Description of Work
A major landscaping project involving the demolition of a failing retaining wall, replacement with a new and improved retaining wall, steps, geo grid system, permeable paver installation for a patio, grading, installation of an underground drainage system connected to the downspout and permeable patio pavers, etc.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios
Eelco S.
5.0
06/24/2015
The crew was great, very responsive and professional, and the lawn looks great. Very happy with the experience and results.
Description of Work
Trimmed tree; dug up, graded and reseeded lawn.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service

Phone

Address

4387 Schwartz Rd.

Middleton, WI 53562

Other Information

Services offered

Design, Landscape Construction, Hardscaping, Woodworking, Landscape Lighting, Lawn & Landscape Maintenance, Premium Lawn Care, ISA Certified Arborist Tree Care, Commercial Snow & Ice Management

Services not offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

Carrington Lawn & Landscape is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Carrington Lawn & Landscape is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Carrington Lawn & Landscape accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

No, Carrington Lawn & Landscape does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Carrington Lawn & Landscape offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Carrington Lawn & Landscape offers warranties.

Carrington Lawn & Landscape offers the following services: Design, Landscape Construction, Hardscaping, Woodworking, Landscape Lighting, Lawn & Landscape Maintenance, Premium Lawn Care, ISA Certified Arborist Tree Care, Commercial Snow & Ice Management

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We are a professional lawn irrigation and landscape lighting company serving all of SW Wisconsin and Dubuque, IA. We provide quality irrigation systems to efficiently water your lawn to keep it green and thriving! We aren't just "pipe fitters" but are skilled technicians who ensure even water coverage for a uniformly watered, and green, lawn. For those in need of repairs, we are able to take on repairs of all sizes from a small line leak to the more skilled art of finding and repairing electrical problems. We service all customers from small residential to large commercial properties, and we service all areas in SW Wisconsin and Dubuque, IA that is within a 70 mile range of Dodgeville. We aim to impress, and always do a quality job! Give us a call today.  

Greenscapes LLC

5.0

(74)

Angi Certified

Greenscapes LLC

Winner of the 2014, 2016 and 2017 Angie's List Super Service Award, Greenscapes LLC has established a reputation as a leader in commercial and residential landscape design, construction, and maintenance in the Greater Madison Area. As a full-service landscape company, we are a one-stop shop for all your landscaping and snow removal needs. Our knowledge, attention to detail and personalized customer service, ensures that our customers’ needs are met and services are delivered in a timely manner.  

At Hanke Landscaping and Snow Removal our belief is that our customers needs are the utmost importance. Our team with 10+ years experience is committed to meeting those needs. We welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service. No job is to big or to small, please contact us for a free estimate!