Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Gray Carpentry Services

4.5

(8) Verified Reviews

Founded 2014 •

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

336 Short Michigan Ave

Asheville, NC 28806

Description

Gray Carpentry Services is a local home improvement company with emphasis on improvement. Whether it's a minor repair to a full renovation our company looks to bring quality and efficiency to your personal needs. ...

Verified Reviews

4.5

(8) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

7

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.0

Professionalism

4.2

Punctuality

4.2

Quality

4.2

Responsiveness

4.2

Read reviews by category

woodworking (6)garage building (4)home remodeling (3)architect (3)door installation (2)decks & porches (2)interior painting (1)home builder (1)flooring (1)tile installation (1)general contractors (1)cabinet makers (1)
Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews
5.0

11/15/2020


Sam H.

It all went great. It was very helpful and necessary repairs on a 1952 house. It went smoothly and was reasonably priced. I am glad they were able to handle my homes issues professionally and I would recommend them and the crew. He was flexible with schedule and payments which was also helpful.

Description of Work
Roof extended, deck repairs, gutters, drainage

Category decks,deck cleaning,garage builders,woodworking,architect

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2020

5.0

10/14/2020


Dylan M.

Fantastic. Darrell made me feel great about it. We went with a more high quality wood and it was worth it! Job took two days once the wood arrived. Looks spectacular. Tubular, even. All in all great stuff. Fun guy. Give him a call.

Description of Work
Deck Installation

Category decks,remodeling,deck cleaning,garage builders,home builders,woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! I appreciate your business!
5.0

10/14/2020


Eleanor G.

Gray Carpentry Services built a custom outdoor garden structure with several raised garden beds. 2 doors to allow access to each aisle. Pleasant, professional and very easy to work with. Great work!

Description of Work
Outdoor Garden structure w/raised beds

Category picture framing,garage builders,architect,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2020

Images

Review for Gray Carpentry Services - 336 Short Michigan Ave, Asheville, NC - 38947188

+2 More

1.0

10/12/2020


Linda P.

It did not go well at all. In addition to being unethical, his skill level is severely lacking. For example, our upper cabinets were literally falling off the wall in less than 24 hours after being installed and they were empty! "Custom" pantry is a joke. He ordered wrong cabinets - both style and size. Three weeks of painting and repainting cabinets which he ordered pre-painted. His excuse-the humidity in Asheville.?Tile was done by his girlfriend. Ripped out and redone. He charged me labor and materials for redoing her mistakes. He lied about this, but I was able to produce dated photographs proving it. The tile is still way off center with terribly uneven grout lines and will have to be redone eventually. I caught him charging tools (including a $200 nail gun) to my credit card. He also overbought materials using my credit card. Not sure whether the intent was to return for refund or use on other jobs. We have had to hire someone to redo almost everything he did. I paid him nearly 20,000 dollars in LABOR to do a very small renovation. It was a complete disaster! Range hood off center. Wrong cabinets (both size and style). New door cut too short. I could go on and on but the bottom line is, he is an unethical, unskilled individual who will take advantage anyway he can. Do your self a favor and look for a different carpenter.

Description of Work
Small renovation

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,flooring contractor,picture framing,remodeling,garage builders,woodworking,architect,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2020

Images

Review for Gray Carpentry Services - 336 Short Michigan Ave, Asheville, NC - 38942446

+4 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], working for you was certainly an experience. I'm sorry you are unhappy. Best wishes.
5.0

09/11/2020


Brian N.

Darrell and his crew did a great job on our kitchen. Very professional and a super nice guy! Will definitely call again! 👍

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2020

5.0

08/24/2020


Paige H.

It was good, although it took so long to finish the job and he is also a nice person.

Description of Work
They did my covered deck.

Category woodworking

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2020

5.0

08/21/2020


AJ L.

It was good.

Description of Work
Custom cabin and deck work.

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2018

5.0

10/29/2019


Teresa N.

Very well with no conflict

Description of Work
Siding on an addition and gutters ...and a bathroom sink install

Category woodworking,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2019

    Services Offered

    I offer services from full renovations and permitted structural alterations to minor repairs and anything to contribute to the beautification and functionality of your property.

    Services Not Offered

    License required electrical installation

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    PayPal, Check
    Senior Discount
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes