Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Controlled Air

Founded 1977 • With Angi since November 2003

4.6

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

-

Farmington, MN 55024

Description

When selecting a home comfort dealer, the length of time in business says much about their customer service, products, financial stability, and overall success. Controlled Air has served the south metro area since 1978, that's over 37 years! In many cases we are now installing home comfort equipment for the children and grandchildren of many of our original customers. 60 employees. Uses subs for electrical and plumbing work. Charges a flat rate. Additional contact Tom Wright & Denise Lucier....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/19/2019


Janet H.

Scheduler responded within 15 minutes and repair person was at my house within 3 hours, after they completed other already scheduled stops. The problem was intermittent and we opted not to install a new part at this time. They spent quite a bit of time explaining how I could check things myself if it happened again.

Description of Work
furnace failure on a cold Saturday

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

08/07/2018


sharada B.

A capacitor needed to be replaced. It costs $35. They charged 292. I feel It is price gouging. On talking to a manager, he said that insurance, inventory cost etc more than justifies their “reasonable” charges.i will never go near them. Only reason I went with them was because they installed it. At that time I could talk to the owner and he was very reasonable.

Description of Work
Fix heat exchange fan

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/10/2018


Nancy L.

Checked furnace and air conditioner. Both found to be meeting specs and in good condition. Air Conditioner is older and no repairs recommended.

Description of Work
HVAC tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/20/2017


Scott T.

Confirmed other company's diagnosis, but beat their price and found warranty coverage.

Description of Work
confirm work needed

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/09/2017


Richard E.

Appreciated the professionalism and quality of work.

Description of Work
Had new furnace and ac unit installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

05/01/2017


Nate D.

Called Controlled Air up to check my appliance gas connections, as I suspected possible small leak(s). They scheduled a window of 8 to noon to come out for the following day. The person arrived right about noon, did just a quick smell test, and said there was a leak in the gas dryer connection. I expected it would be fairly standard parts required, but he had to leave and fetch some things, and then came back to replace both the shut-off valve and the the tubing leading to the dryer. Actual time worked was about a half hour, so the $298 tab seemed a little bit high to me ($99 just to come out + $199 quoted to fix the identified leak), but better than having a house explode, and probably good that he replaced the local shut-off valve and not only the appliance connection. Unrelated, many years ago at our previous home, Controlled Air installed a new A/C and A-coil, and price/work done then seemed reasonable.

Description of Work
Check/fix gas appliance connections

Category gas leak repair

5.0

03/28/2017


Brian M.

top notch experience....sales team is very knowledgeable (engineering background), installation team was also very capable and efficient in how they worked.

Description of Work
Purchased and installed new HE Furnace and Air Conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/28/2017


Gary S.

Work was top quality and was completed quickly. Previous service call charge was credited to the purchase. Sales agent was clear about a range of options with no pressure. Previous positive experience with this company fixing a faulty air conditioner was what guided us to them. It was a good decision to do repeat business with them.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace; upgraded ducting, added evacuation pump; added wifi thermostat

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/01/2016


Deb A.

Excellent work! Very swift, and knowledgeable workers. Everything went slick! I would hire them again, for sure!

Description of Work
Installation of a new air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/10/2016


Steve S.

They provided the approximate start date well ahead of the actual date. They then sent follow up emails to let us know exactly when they were starting. They did the work as scheduled, within the expected time frame and at the exact price quoted. I like the work to not only be done well, but look good (i.e. straight runs, plumb, etc.). They met my expectations. Everything was great...until we had a problem with the cooling mode of the ASHP. They came out within hours of my call (on an extremely hot Friday afternoon) and took care the problem in short order. The technician was an A+ in my opinion. Courteous, knowledgeable and efficient. P.S. They made processing the three utility rebates (two electric and one gas) a breeze.

Description of Work
Removed old AC unit and furnace. Installed air source heat pump, high efficiency furnace, WiFi thermostat and some ducting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    IclDuctcleaning

    Why should you choose us ? We are here to provide a healthy cleaning environment for your pets , family and friends  

    Offers by IclDuctcleaning on Angi
    Twin Cities Finest

    ***COVID-19 UPDATE - WE ARE AN ESSENTIAL BUSINESS. WE ARE OPEN AND READY TO SERVE YOU!!*** Twin Cities Finest only uses top-of-the-line equipment and Truck Mounted Butler System that gives your carpet, tile and rugs a deeper clean. Nothing cleans better! If furniture needs to be manipulated during the cleaning process, we have special tabs and Styrofoam blocks to protect your carpet and furniture. We use special corner guards to make sure your walls and personal belongings are protected while in your home as well as protecting your floor surfaces such as wood floors we might have to walk over with our special floor protection coverings. We know that the hoses can create damage to stairs, hardwood flooring, wood railings, and sheet rock corners. The last thing you want to deal with is having to hire another contractor to fix what was damaged after getting your carpets cleaned. We feel that these details are often overlooked in the industry.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Twin Cities Finest on Angi
    Integrity Furnace & Duct Cleaning

    Cost is determined by the job.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Integrity Furnace & Duct Cleaning on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    HVAC Replacement & Service Maintenance. Air Conditioners. Gas Fireplaces. Air Exchangers. Air Cleaners. In Floor Heating. Ductless Air Conditioning. Commercial HVAC Installation & Service Maintenance. Air Duct Cleaning. Heat Pumps. Humidifying Equipment. Sheet Metal Services. Garage Heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    AIR DUCT CLEANING.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Controlled Air

    How is Controlled Air overall rated?

    Controlled Air is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Controlled Air open?

    Controlled Air is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Controlled Air provide

    Controlled Air accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Controlled Air offer free estimates?

    Yes, Controlled Air offers free project estimates.

    Does Controlled Air offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Controlled Air does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Controlled Air offer a senior discount?

    No, Controlled Air does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Controlled Air offer emergency services?

    Yes, Controlled Air offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Controlled Air?

    No, Controlled Air does not offer warranties.

    What services does Controlled Air offer?

    Controlled Air offers the following services: HVAC Replacement & Service Maintenance. Air Conditioners. Gas Fireplaces. Air Exchangers. Air Cleaners. In Floor Heating. Ductless Air Conditioning. Commercial HVAC Installation & Service Maintenance. Air Duct Cleaning. Heat Pumps. Humidifying Equipment. Sheet Metal Services. Garage Heaters.

    Are there any services Controlled Air does not offer?

    AIR DUCT CLEANING.