Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

RJ Construction Inc

4.9

(39) Verified Reviews

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2010

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
General Remodeling
Licensed
Trade License Number
46606
Trade License Locale
Maryland
Trade License Authority
Maryland: General
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Company Contact

14432 Long Channel Cir

Germantown, MD 20874

Description

We are a local construction company with over 30 years experience. I would like to invite you to call today for a free estimate. With RJ Construction, your next project will be fantastic! Each project is started and completed on time. Take full advantage of our big discounts. Please call us for all your home improvement needs. You will be very happy with our expert service. Additional email: rj_construction@hotmail.com...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(39) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

35

4

0

3

0

2

3

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (35)concrete repair (6)woodworking (3)deck cleaning (3)garage building (2)patio enclosures (1)interior painting (1)house painting (1)home remodeling (1)window replacement (1)roofing (1)tile installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews
1.0

11/11/2021


Jean P.

We had our appointment and had a great conversation about what we could do to do our deck. We were excited to see the estimate and possibly move forward. The owner seemed so competent and kind. He was a great conversationalist. However, we never received the estimate from his visit. We did not pursue it. If we need to track him down before a sale, we do not want to deal with that type of customer service during a project. Too bad. His loss of business.

Description of Work
composite deck

Category ceramic tile,decks

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

5.0

04/01/2021


Victoria P.

Robert and his crew did a wonderful job constructing a deck. Great customer service and communication throughout the process, very responsive to questions, comments and concerns, and an excellent crew.

Description of Work
Deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], thank you so much for the great review. It is a pleasure working with you too. Please feel free to contact me anytime. God bless. Thank you, Robert Altendorf
5.0

01/30/2021


Colin C.

RJ Construction made significant repairs to our 30 year old cedar deck, stairs and screened porch. The old wood was replaced by Trex; a modern railing and screen system were installed; and the porch posts wrapped in a white pvc trim. The result is an outstanding modern looking porch/deck. Working with Robert was easy from beginning to end. He understood what we wanted, gave us good ideas and was timely in all communications with us. His team was also excellent in both the construction phase and in cleaning up the significant amount of wood and nails from the demolition of the old decking.

Description of Work
Decks and Porches

Category decks

Cost $42,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2021

Images

Review for RJ Construction Inc - 14432 Long Channel Cir, Germantown, MD - 39194628

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], thank you very much for the great review. It was a pleasure working with you and your wife. The screened porch and deck renovations look new. Now, they are beautiful and strong. I am so happy that you two are pleased. Thank you again for the work and for the wonderful review. God Bless. Thank you, Robert Altendorf
5.0

12/08/2020


Paul M.

I called RJ and they came out promptly. They were the third estimate I received for deck support post replacement repairs. They provided the most reasonable approach to the work with a competitive and fair price. I spent time with the owner, Robert, customizing the work. His crew was out within 2 days and did a top notch with no issues. Job well done. 👏👏👏

Description of Work
Replace deck supports.

Category deck cleaning,garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2020

5.0

10/18/2020


Jon B.

I called RJ on Monday after finding a deck support post rotted through and another one rotting worried for the worst. Robert was out Tuesday, reassured me, and provided a VERY reasonable quote. He also offered some ideas for cosmetic improvement. I accepted the quote Tuesday evening, his guys were out here Thursday replacing the posts!! They did a fantastic job, very friendly and professional, they left the yard cleaner than it was when they arrived! They returned the very next week to do the cosmetic work which looks fantastic. Great team, great work, great quality. Could not have a higher opinion of RJ Construction, very highly recommend.

Description of Work
Rotted support posts on a deck

Category decks,deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2020

5.0

10/18/2020


Philip H.

Written 7/2020 RJ construction built a screened-in deck for us 18 months ago. I’ve waited to post a review to let some time pass and see how everything is holding up, and so I can fully reflect on the project. Overall I would say it was a great experience. - First, design. While my wife and I brought a concept of what we wanted, Robert came up with an amazing design, and made it better than what we were expecting. He added small elements, such as cedar accents, that were inexpensive, but add an amazing look. Ultimately, the deck looks amazing and has held up over the 18 months. All who see it are highly impressed. - Sales Process. We were turned off by the pushiness of the sales folks of other deck companies. In contrast, Robert was very helpful, providing options to my wife & I, with no deadlines to decide, or hard ‘sells’ on materials or upgrades. Frankly, this is what had us choose him over a competitor, as it indicated that he’d be easier to work with during construction. He also had photos of countless examples of completed project for comparison, and gave us references to call, and to drive and see. - Construction process. If anyone hasn’t gone through construction and expects it to go smoothly, then don’t have construction done. It just doesn’t happen. It’s like expecting to drive to DC or NYC during rush hour (pre-COVID) without traffic. The question is how does the contractor handle things? (And this is the main reason one needs to wait some time before writing a construction review..) Robert started out ‘mediocre’, with a few missed opportunities to keep the schedule and communicate the status. The result was an intermediate inspection delay by a week or so. However, once he & I discussed the situation, he stepped up, and vowed to make things right. He had made a commitment to customer satisfaction and felt he had let us down, and was determined to make it up to us, and took care of everything from that point forward. - Completion/Timeline. His commitment to customer satisfaction was strong, and he took care of the few very minor punch list items within a few weeks of when the deck was complete, but we allowed him to work it into his schedule. We had stated up front that schedule was not an issue for us, and construction was slowly done over the winter. However once it got to the spring and we applied pressure, he stepped up the schedule. - Recommendation. We have recommended him to others in the past 18 months and we still do. Again, don’t expect perfection in construction, hope to find someone with whom you can trust on the journey. Update 10/2020 We had Robert come back and add stairs onto the deck above. The process was extremely easy. He was a pleasure to work with, again. This time was even better than the first. His crew was efficient, he met the timeframe he quoted and the work looks beautiful, just like the rest of the deck. And again, he finds the little add-ons, in this case flagstones, to make it look even nicer. I again highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Deck built 2019. Stairs added 2020

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2020

5.0

08/27/2020


Holly S.

Robert Altendorf and his team were AMAZING. From the drawings, to construction to handling permits and inspectors, RJ Construction (out of Germantown, NOT Baltimore) were professional, affordable, prompt, and courteous. Their craftsmanship and work guarantee are excellent. We were given accurate estimates, clear and easy to understand contracts, daily check-ins on work progress, and even suggestions how to make our project even better with small changes that did not affect our budget. We never once felt pressured to upgrade , Robert worked with us within our budget to create a professional finish we love! We will continue to hire Robert and his team for all remodeling work, inside and out, we have to do anywhere within his work district, even if we move to another property. It is hard to find such hardworking, honest crews who strive to understand what you want and then give you quality on a budget. Can't tell you how much easier it is to do a project knowing you can trust your contractor to do what you want, and to help you decide what you want even when you don't know it yet. They also replaced our roof in less than 2 days, for a price less than HALF that of their competitors, with better materials and a better work guarantee/warranty.

Description of Work
Replacement of deck, new patio construction, new stairs and fences

Category decks,roofing,garage builders,woodworking,sunrooms

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2020

Images

Review for RJ Construction Inc - 14432 Long Channel Cir, Germantown, MD - 38833135

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It is a pleasure to work with you too. Thank you for the awesome review and for being a wonderful client. I hope all the best for you and your beautiful family. God bless, Thank you, Robert Altendorf
5.0

08/21/2020


Joe S.

It was wonderful, and very professional Roberts crew was exceptional and knew their job. Very happy about my bew deck.

Description of Work
Deck

Category decks,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure working with you and [Member Name Removed] too. God bless. Thank you for everything, Robert Altendorf
5.0

08/20/2020


Karen M.

I interviewed 3 deck companies before hiring RJ Construction. Robert, the owner, was easy to work with. The estimate was very reasonable and thorough for removing the old deck, updating the sub structure, and building a new trex deck. The work was done shortly after signing the contract. His crew was amazing; very skilled and careful. The work was done within the contracted time, but not always on consecutive days. Periodically and at the end Robert came to evaluate the work and had the crew return to tweak a few minor issues. The end result was a deck that exceeded my expectations and met my high standards.

Description of Work
Deck

Category decks,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2020

5.0

08/07/2020


Kevin S.

replaced a deck with a deck and screened in porch

Description of Work
Wonderful experience. Every member of the crew who worked on the project was professional and hard working. Robert, the owner of the company, was very responsive to all of our questions and needs. He came up with great designs and suggestions that saved us money. Any time there was a concern, Robert was communicative. And, the pricing was very reasonable. Will definitely work with him again.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

Services Offered

Decks & deck refurbishing. Screened porches. 3-Season rooms.

Services Not Offered

Kitchens and Hardwood floors.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard
Senior Discount
3%
Warranties
Yes