Cantey Foundation Specialists

About

Founded 2000 • With Angi since May 2013

Cantey Foundation Specialists is a trusted foundation repair company providing residential foundation repair, crawl space repair, wood rot replacement, and concrete slab leveling throughout South Carolina and Augusta, Georgia area. Our focus is to provide homeowners with permanent, affordable

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Foundation Push Pier Installation

foundation repair

202129020
These homeowners called Cantey Foundation Specialists after finding a giant crack in their foundation. This crack was caused by movement in the soil surrounding the family's foundation. Since the gaps in these cracks were pretty wide it makes for a more serious problem needing immediate foundation repair. These cracks are an indication of foundation settlement. Our specialist identified the problem and suggested push pier installation to move the foundation back to where it should be. This not only fixed the crack but also aligned the foundation in such a way to permanently prevent further foundation damage.
View project

Verified Reviews

4.5

(27) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

18

4

2

3

1

2

2

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.4

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (22)basement waterproofing (3)concrete repair (3)hardwood floors (1)
Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
1.0

09/14/2022


Lewis G.

First time they cancelled. Showed up the second time. Repaired the cracks and salesman stated the work was guaranteed five years. The workers confirmed five years. The warranty they left stated some part of the work was guaranteed five years and other part was ONE year. Crack filler they used only lasted one month.

Description of Work
Concrete Driveway Repaired

Category concrete repair

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2022

5.0

09/07/2022


Micah A.

Cantey was on time and called to give a heads up. The team was incredibly professional. Joe personally showed on day of project who did the original inspection. Communication was amazing and the team explained everything and followed through on what they said. All doors were working properly working by end of job except one which was thoroughly explained on reasoning it could not be adjusted. They even accommodated with extra supplies without additional costs to the contract. I highly recommend them and the team was knowledgeable, excellent and went above and beyond. Even offered additional insight to fix certain things that technically wasn’t in the exact job description since we didn’t fully get the expected results due to no reasons on Cantey part. Walked through the project at the end and answered all questions. Would definitely recommend if you want professional services done to your crawl space.

Description of Work
Installed 8 jacks and several beams to add additional stability to house and lift flooring for door closing issues and cracks in drywall.

Category foundation repair

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2022

5.0

11/09/2021


Larry T.

They were unable to bring it all the way up to it’s original elevation, but, they tried. They explained to my satisfaction as to why it couldn’t be accomplished. It is definitely a major improvement.

Description of Work
PolyLevel

Category concrete repair

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2021

5.0

12/14/2020


Bonnie L.

good

Description of Work
repair the foundation

Category foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2020

1.0

07/24/2020


Dana A.

Interestingly, I had a very similar experience to another reviewer who had a quote done by a Canty salesperson. Let me just preempt that I don't go out of my way to write a negative review. It really has to be something where I morally feel I need to warn others on "Buyer Beware". This is exactly that type of review. And to be clear, the other negative review was read for the first time 2 days after my appointment. I do not jump on bandwagons. This is my actual experience. Like the other reviewer, the "saleperson", a friendly, energetic, good-looking, well-dressed young fellow came out and did a measurement of the perimeter. He went under into the crawl space but was there for 30ish minutes. This pales in comparison to other (literally 4 foundation companies) who went under and spent quality time inspecting 23 piers. When the salesperson emerged from the crawlspace, it was "Whew! That is really bad!! Your house won't stay up for another 2 years!!". This is a 1930s house that has dry-stacked piers - hasn't moved yet! But let's put that aside. He proceeded to tell me that I need to replace ALL 23 piers at $900.00 per pier, a $20,700 quote!! Here's the kicker: Remember I had several companies in already to look at my foundation. Not one company said I need to replace ALL piers. Instead they each gave very realistic view of my foundation. I had one huge competitor who was in my crawlspace for 3 hours and he gave an in-depth write-up along with a diagram of where my piers sat and his recommendations along with optional recommendations. An 8 page write up and he wasn't close to being the highest quote. But not Canty! Canty does not give your an analysis of your existing foundation. Canty does NOT offer solutions. THEY DO NOT REPAIR!! They only replace! He did not go over issues individually because it did not matter to him. He was going for the full replacement based upon his "warranty". More on that in a sec. Had I known, I would have never made an appointment with them which I waited over 3 weeks for. How absolutely greedy can you be? My other 4 companies all averaged between $6K-$10K. This salesperson's excuse? "Well we warranty it so we have to do them all". No dear, you warranty the product not the items you do not do. Your logic and the rebuttal you have been fed to serve to customers does not apply to an educated researched person. Lastly, they use a jack-system but only warranty it for 25 years. Huh? 25 years? They say its the manufacturer's warranty but Canty does not warranty at all. I would hope my house stays up for another 25, 50, 100+, years but you saying on the 26 year, I may be looking at another $20,000 estimate from Canty because you can't guarantee the quality of your product? This is not a car. This is a house! No thank you! You clearly don't stand behind your product. You clearly don't do what is in the best interest of the customer. And you will never have my business! If this review helps one household to look at their full scope options, research and educate yourself on what is the real issues with your foundation and then make the best decision (whether its Canty or not), this review has done its job. Please do your research.

Description of Work
DO YOUR RESEARCH! DO NOT GO ON ONE QUOTE ALONE

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $21,000

5.0

03/31/2020


Karen S.

Well. Workers were polite and timely.

Description of Work
Installed 4 jacks, dug trench and installed drainage pipes and sump pumps.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review [Member Name Removed]! Have a wonderful day!
5.0

11/28/2019


Christine B.

good, work done as promised.

Description of Work
encapsulation

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2019

5.0

07/12/2019


Bob L.

They did a really good job and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They encapsulated my crawl space and put in a dehumidifier and sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We will be sure to share them with our team.
1.0

06/10/2019


Craig A.

This is a review to help others who may be in a similar situation. Cantey Foundation came to our 90 year-old house to look at the basement for leakage and cracks in the basement walls. We purchased the house in 2015 and we were present for the home inspection and the inspector was kind enough to walk us through the home and present any notations he made. One of these was the basement wall cracks which he indicated were purely cosmetic. Fast forward 4 years and I requested Cantey come give us an opinion on the water which comes in the basement during heavy rain, and to look at the cracks. The "salesman" came to the house, was complimentary of our property, we walked the perimeter and I pointed out the only crack I have seen around the brick foundation. We then went down to the basement and the Cantey rep started in with the schtick. A few of the comments were; “this is the worst I’ve ever seen, you have a major problem”, “you all have done a really nice job on the inside but I’d hate to see this all cave in”, “can you get me the inspection report as I think there could be legal action against the home inspector”. You can see where this is going, so I requested a ballpark figure and was told ~$30k for repair. Little did this gentleman know, I have renovated 3 homes in my past, two of which were nearly 100 years old. Suggestion for the rep: just bc a customer is in their golf clothes, doesn’t mean he/she cant get their hands dirty. Oh, and im a sales rep and Sr. Trainer for a fortune 100 company, so learn to read your audience. I returned home after playing golf to my wife who was fairly upset about the $38K quote she received to “fix our basement” walls. I assured her, this house has stood for nearly a century, im confident without major seismic activity, it will still be standing for a long time to come. The character from Cantey followed up with me the next day (probably the mocking “if I can pay for this in cash, can you give me a discount?” I gave him before I left the day before) and said he could cut the price in half. I let him know that he can give the presentation if he’d like but, any decision that goes into the basement, especially for that amount of money would be quoted out and evaluated by a structural engineer. His response was a “snark” and then “you do know we’d have a structural engineer involved as well, right?”… Well, I’d **** sure hope so for that type of cash. I eventually spoke with two structural engineers who both LOL’d at the quote, told me to install a French drain, that the cracking walls weren’t our basement walls but where the crawl space was dug out to install the basement and they were indeed purely cosmetic. The footers for the foundation were intact far behind those walls. Ultimately, the system Cantey was selling is something the owner of the company invested in which has done very poorly and even if it isnt the solution, these crooks try to push the system anyway. For something this expensive, don’t you think they’d have some miraculous before/after pictures?? Yea, they don’t. It’s called “CarbonGuard” and its used to hold back cinderblock walls by increasing the downforce of your house to the footers. Maybe it works, maybe not, but its not even close to the solution we need and would have been a total waste of money but a great payday for Cantey. Don’t fall for the non-sense. There are other services in the area which will come take a look for free and give an honest opinion. I could go on but no need. Just do your research and never stroke a check for anyone without getting multiple opinions because they’ll happily take it and you’ll be SOL.

Description of Work
Assessment of basement water leakage and wall cracks

Category foundation repair

Cost $38,000

Work Completed On 06/06/2019

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], sorry to hear you did not have a good experience when dealing with our company. As a team we strive to make sure all of our customers as well as potential customers are given the best experience possible. I will be looking into this further but in the meantime if you would like a member of our management team to speak to you more on the solution that was proposed we would be happy to go over it. Please reach out to our customer care department. Thank you.
5.0

02/14/2019


Dean S.

They were fantastic and we'll definitely use them.

Description of Work
They did foundation for us.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2018

5.0

02/05/2019


Art S.

We found Cantey Foundations to be the solution to our sagging floors and cracking walls - even after speaking with some of the other popular alternatives. Our team, consisting of Dallas, Corey, David, Dallas and Alex((2 Dallases),were professional, knowledgeable, polite and efficient. Not only did we see a definite change in the sloping floors, but the cracks closed up and doors stopped sticking. When the crew was done, they cleaned up everything. Although it is only a week since the work, we do not have any concerns because of Cantey's warranty, which guarantees the work for 25 years. We were able to put off other recommended work for a later date, and plan to take advantage of that when our pocketbook allows. I will have no problem calling them back.

Description of Work
Correct sagging floors

Category foundation repair

Cost $7,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2019

5.0

12/17/2018


Brad H.

Everyone we dealt with from Cantey Foundation Specialists were very professional, timely, and caring throughout the entire process from job estimate to the actual work done. While the work done did not bring all areas back completely to their original states, with the exception of one area, they were all pretty close. Realistically, It's very difficult to fix in two days what has taken place over a period of years. I am very satisfied with the job done. Grayson (job estimator) and Estevan (crew leader) were very helpful and great to work with through the entire process.

Description of Work
Raised and leveled flooring areas by doorways where settling issues made it hard for doors to close properly. Support jacks were added to fix and stabilize those areas affected.

Category foundation repair

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2019

5.0

07/23/2018


Jim S.

Called Cantey, and Alex came out promptly. He was on time, very professional. Recommended exactly what needed to be done. I'm very happy and would recommend.

Description of Work
I had a problem with my foundation. Cracks interior and exterior of the home.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your review! We will pass along your kind words to Alex. Thank you for recommending us!
5.0

11/22/2017


Alison K.

Everything went well from start to finish. First, Dallas came to give us an estimate based on our needs. He was very thorough, measuring and taking pictures of the affected areas of the house and its corresponding support in the cellar. He also mapped out a chart for the crew so they would know exactly where to work and what needed to be done. The day the work began, Dallas was here to coordinate with the 3-man crew. There was constant communication between us, checking floors, etc., as they went along, and they replaced the dirt and vapor barrier when they were through. We are very pleased, and would highly recommend them to anyone needing their services!

Description of Work
Cantey installed 15 steel jacks in our cellar. We had uneven floors and cracked plaster walls from settling in our foundation.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for taking the time to send us a review! We appreciate your kind words and will pass them along to Dallas! Thanks again!
5.0

09/20/2017


LaSonya O.

It went well, just some cracks left on top of my foundation from the holes that were drilled. Still waiting for company to come and fill them.

Description of Work
Level my concrete foundation

Category foundation repair

Cost $7,560

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2017

2.0

08/28/2017


Robert K.

The salesman sat down with his computer to explain us the process (which was professional), but then it went down hill from there. He asked us if we have ever heard of helical piers? We stated that's what the other companies said they would use. He then stated that they were junk and showed a video that uses patented piers. The video was very scripted and the salesman went off of the video and didn't show knowledge. When I started asking basic questions he couldn't answer them and started bad mouthing other companies. Which is a tactic that appears to be accepted. When he got to the price it was double of all the other companies. When my wife asked if that's the best he can do he said "well no if you buy today, I can do a special price for you". Pressure is not the way to sell something when it is so easy to get other options. No other company did this tactic. If they can give me a discount one day why can't they other day? We did not use them because we felt this whole tactic was like a car salesman and less like someone trying to help us.

Description of Work
I needed my chimney repaired since it is moving away from our house.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,000

Work Completed On 08/28/2017

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr. [Member Name Removed], I apologize that you have had a bad first impression with our company; we strive to give our customers only the best, and we apologize if we have fallen short of your expectations. Manager Luke Stemple will be calling you today to follow up and try to remedy the situation. Thank you for your honesty, and we hope we can change your opinion of our company.
5.0

01/03/2017


Michael M.

.

Description of Work
.

Category hardwood floor

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed] for your A rating of Cantey Foundation Specialists! I will let your Specialist Jason Hardage and Production Team Leader Sean Hawkes know of your great review. Thanks again for your business.
4.0

12/12/2016


Robert G.

Overall, the job went well. I was disappointed that the fireplace wall which had separated from the house(by over two inches at the top of the fireplace) did not come back to the house but, as was explained to me. they guarantee that structure will be stable but can not guarantee a return to the original orientation. The weather(it rained during most of the job) prevented them from doing a good cleanup at the end of the job, but that's why I downgraded them to a "B".

Description of Work
Foundation at fireplace and corner of house needed to be shored up.

Category foundation repair

Cost $5,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your honest review! We apologize if the clean up was not up to par, and I'll be sure to pass the word on to your crew so that they may continue to improve. If you have any future questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call our office at (803)-424-8380. Thanks again for your business.
5.0

08/29/2016


IRIS F.

Review by Iris F. in Camden, SC Project: Repair a Concrete Foundation I had a unique problem with termite damage to an old Pier and Beam home. Damage was causing floor sagging and instability in the foundation of the home. (It failed several inspections). I was trying to sell the home and had to have the problem fixed. I had several estimates from general contractors in the Camden area. ALL of them wanted to fix the problem by going through the interior floors to get to the support beams. I did an online request to have an estimate from Canty Foundation. From the initial contact with William Yarbrough/Sales to the Onsite foreman Jonathan Driggers I was impressed. This is a 100 year old home and going thru the inside floors would have created damage that would have been difficult to fix. CANTY did all the work from the crawl space. They were professional and work was completed on time. The home passed all 3 inspections and I completed the sale. When you have a foundation problem I learned to call the experts. AMAZING job guys!!!!!

Description of Work
Extensive Pier and Beam work due to termite damage. 100 year old house.

Category foundation repair

Cost $20

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2016

5.0

07/22/2016


Wayne W.

Description of Work
Great work I highly recommend.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

4.0

05/30/2016


Frank M.

Online advertisements for providers offering polylevel work for the Augusta, GA, region is quite sparse. I went with Cantey Foundation Specialists because their website appeared the most professional. I initiated contact through their website in early March. Due to a vacation and work schedule,I was unable to schedule an estimate until 4 weeks later, so the timeliness for the initial appointment was my fault. Nonetheless, a week before their representative's arrival, Cantey Foundation Specialists sent a package with a picture and bio of their representative in addition to some brochures on the polylevel process. The representative called to verify the appointment a few days before. On the appointment day, the representative drove over a 100 miles and was right on schedule. After introducing himself, we went to the backyard where we had a questions-and-answers exchange. Shortly after, he set about surveying the work area. This took some time as he was measuring the square footage of the area to be re-leveled which ended up being 396 sq ft total (area plus material costs). The initial cost estimate was $4,752 ($12 per sq ft), but, after an offer of reducing the price by 10%, the price was lowered to $4,276.80 ($10.80 per sq ft). Now, there's an upfront 20% deposit ($855.36), which is reasonable, but it turns out they're quite busy--actual work could only be scheduled in just over 7 weeks...mid-July. Until then, I hope there won't be too many stubbed toes and mama bear stink-eyes thrown at me. Along with the contract, a warranty was included. It's a 5-year warranty which is transferable to new owners. Basically, if the worked area drops 1/4" or more, Cantey will fix the problem.

Description of Work
Cantey Foundation Specialists has only provided an estimate for leveling the patio around my inground pool using the polylevel method, so far. The actual work has been scheduled, and a review for the work is pending.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,276

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2016