Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J.S. STOKOE LLC

Founded 1985 • With Angi since November 2012

Building and Remodeling , small projects to large

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
Steven F.
5.0
12/26/2019
Jon worked extremely well with my parents (the work was performed at their house). He was professional and very respectful to perform the work with minimal interruption for them. He did a great job and the results are even better than expected. I highly recommend Jon for any similar projects you may have!
Description of Work
We needed bathroom remodeled to be handicap accessible and also needed laundry moved from the basement to the first floor.
Category
home remodeling
David C.
5.0
03/23/2017
John was very professional and receptive to my family's needs.
Description of Work
We needed a walk in shower unit installed for safety reasons for our mother. John took out the old shower and tub, installed a new unit, new fixtures per my choice, put down a new vinyl flooring and cleaned up each day at the end.
Category
remodeling
David P.
5.0
03/10/2017
These guys were great!!! They are professional skilled craftsmen. All the work they performed was perfect. They took care of every detail of the job and went above and beyond when they thought it would improve the outcome. They kept us informed as the job progressed. We have a very old house and they handled the "surprises" that are always present when remodeling an old structure. They were very considerate of us as they worked. They also cleaned up when finished so you would not know anyone had just worked on the house. If you are looking for a top notch outfit to work on your property look no further. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
removal and installation new kitten flooring. A new set of french doors were installed and significant carpentry to rebuild the framing around the new doors. Set of storm doors for the french doors were installed. New sheetrock installed around new construction for doors. The deck off the french doors was repaired and lowered to reduce splash. siding had to be removed and was replaced. Also failing plaster in a closet was removed and new sheetrock installed.
Category
hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling
Dorothy B.
5.0
03/09/2017
Jon and his assistant panelled out cellar. It was a time consuming project with lots of difficult cuts due to the plumbing etc. Jon and his assistant took the time to do the job right. They arrive on time and stayed until it was finished. They cleaned up after themselves and didn't leave us any mess. Our cellar has never looked so nice!! Great people to do business with ..we are very impressed with there skills and professionalism. We recommend them highly!!
Description of Work
Paneling the cellar
Category
remodeling
JoAnn S.
5.0
01/30/2016
It is a pleasure to write a review for Jon Stokoe! We cannot express the level of satisfaction with the work Jon has done in our home. We undertook the gutting and renovation of our master bath. In addition to major construction improvments and remediation of mistakes made by our builder, Jon crafted an amazing space that looks like a deluxe spa. Tiling the walk-in shower, and moving walls, it is a space that is functionally efficient and just gorgeous. Jon has since replaced all of the laminate flooring in three rooms and closets of our home. Two weeks ago, he recently completed the painting of our kitchen, living room, and hallway. The work was done flawlessly. His work is meticulous, and every task he completes is done with the care and craftsmanship he would do in his own home. We have yet to find any project that he doesn't do with pride, quality, and professionalism. This will be a long-term relationship, as Jon is the ultimate professional! He is punctual, creative, committed and leaves the space more beautiful (and cleaner!) than he found it. I would recommend Jon with absolutely no reservations, as it has been a wonderful experience!
Description of Work
Painted kitchen, living room, hallway, and finished up floor installation details
Category
remodeling
Daniel D.
5.0
06/18/2015
John was very responsive from the first phone call. He was always on time and stayed in contact with me via email and phone calls to communicate any changes in schedule. John was great at explaining the process and answering any questions I had about the jobs. He and his colleague were quick and efficient and did not miss any details. It was also great to not have to worry about having to clean up after a job, as John works in a clean and organized manner. In the past, I had to worry about scratches on the walls and floors from tools and materials, but I never had that issue with John. My house is over 80 years old, yet it looks like my floor was put in today. I also had John update plumbing and replace a laundry sink in my basement. Everything is working great. I did not have to think about removing the old, heavy, concrete sink since John took care of that too. When I asked him if he would be able to take on the plumbing job along with the floors, which I though was a big job, John handled it as if it was second nature and had the job done with no issues and no delays to the schedules for the flooring job. I trust J.S. Stokoe implicitly and and intend on hiring them again for upcoming projects. I highly recommend others do as well.
Description of Work
Refinished wood floors in bedroom, living room and dining room. New plumbing and laundry sink in basement
Category
hardwood floor, remodeling
John B.
5.0
06/15/2015
When one of the big boxes and a local appliance store both refused to replace/install a dishwasher, I turned to Jon Stokoe for help. As agreed, he arrived on a Saturday morning (6/13/15) at 9:00 am. He removed the old dishwasher, rerouted the water and electrical supply lines so that future replacements could be done more easily and installed the new unit. Upon completion, the work area was thoroughly cleaned. He also hauled away the old dishwasher for disposal. The amount charged was fair and the quality of the work was first rate! Jon Stokoe has done work for me previously. In 2012, he did a complete renovation of my home which I had inherited from my dad. The house had not had much maintenance in recent years and extensive work had to be done (roof, windows, siding, doors, floors, structural, insulation, kitchen, bath, plumbing, electrical, HVAC, etc.). In less than three months (March through June of 2012), Jon and his assistants completed all of the work. The quality of the work was excellent, and the house had the look and feel of a new home. Before the renovation, I received an offer of $35,000 from a prospective buyer (I refused). After the renovation was completed, a local bank appraised the house for just over $195,000. In 2014, Jon did repairs on the garbage disposal. He came over on a week night. Again, the work was well done, and the charges were reasonable. Jon Stokoe is the first person I turn to when I need any type of work done on my home.
Description of Work
Replaced dishwasher. Rerouted water and electrical supply lines.
Category
remodeling
Amber M.
5.0
06/08/2015
Jon was always professional and very easy to work with. His attention to detail is outstanding and he remembers all the little details we tell him. Because of his expertise, he was able to help us on some design issues for our basement. I would recommend Jon in a heartbeat. If he can't do something, he'll let you know and won't just pretend he knows what he is talking about. We have chosen to hire Jon for some things and do some ourselves and he is always a pleasure to work with. He will do pricing by the hour or full-bid pricing, which can be really handy. We know two other people who have done major remodels/additions with Jon and they were not disappointed. The only negative with working with Jon is that sometimes he underestimated the time it will take to finish a job. Or maybe we just kept adding more to his plate. Either way, we are still very satisfied with Jon and will hire him again.
Description of Work
Jon framed our basement for us. He has also done other small jobs. I know he does just about everything and we will be hiring him again in the next few weeks/months.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
JAMES B.
5.0
04/20/2015
He did a lot for the money. Everyone else's estimates were much higher. The job was completed to my full satisfaction. This is an old home which had a very small bathroom. The tile floor was a wonderful improvement and the window molding was done to perfection. I had numerous estimates prior to meeting this contractor. The others would only do part of my list, but he took it all on.
Description of Work
The molding was rotted around the window in the tile shower area and he replaced all that molding. He also removed the old bathroom door and replaced it with a new one and replaced fixtures - doorknob, towel bars, etc. Then he put in a new ceramic tile floor and replaced the toilet drain pipe.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Phone

Address

416 Charles st

Scotia, NY 12302

Other Information

Services offered

All phases of home construction and remodeling. general contracting

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

J.S. STOKOE LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

J.S. STOKOE LLC is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

J.S. STOKOE LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, J.S. STOKOE LLC does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, J.S. STOKOE LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, J.S. STOKOE LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, J.S. STOKOE LLC offers emergency services.

Yes, J.S. STOKOE LLC offers warranties.

J.S. STOKOE LLC offers the following services: All phases of home construction and remodeling. general contracting

Other Local Pros In Your Area

1st Choice General Contracting

5.0

(63)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

1st Choice General Contracting

Our mission at 1st Choice General Contracting is simple: to provide high-quality services for our valued customers. We go above and beyond to cater to the specific needs of each customer and project. Contact us today for more information or to schedule a FREE Estimate! Call Us at 518-860-9371 or visit us at www.1st-choicegc.com  

Fiore & Sons Renovations, LLC

5.0

(12)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Fiore & Sons Renovations, LLC

We are a family owned business that pays attention to every little detail ensuring the projects come out flawless. Customer satisfaction is our top priority. Remodeling basements is our specialty, making a whole new living space out of your existing home! Please give us a call today!  

We fabricate our own high quality custom seamless gutters in house and offer affordable seamless gutter solutions as well as premium gutter protection. We are a fully insured family owned business that creates its own value by cutting out the big time corporate gutter companies that offer a grossly over priced product with minimal quality.