Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Standby Power Systems

Founded 1968 • With Angi since March 2013

Alternate business name: Paris R Minuto LLC. Additional website: www.standbypowersystems.biz. Fully licensed for electric & plumbing installations. Factory trained & certified for GENERAC and KOHLER. Ability to monitor both residential, commercial & industrial generators through the internet 24 hours a day 365 days a year. 100% Turnkey Installations. See website for other details.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(25) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews
David B.
1.0
08/25/2020
I called Standby Power during an extended power outage because my generator failed and the company that installed my generator 7 years ago was not answering phone or responding to voice mail messages. Standby Power , which also has the name ASTEROID on its service contract, returned my call but I found their service to be dishonest and totally unacceptable. I strongly recommend to stay clear of this company for the following reasons: 1. I believe their prices are inflated. A part they were going to replace for over $300 was replaced for about $100 by another company 2. They were not honest with me and left me with a non-functioning generator. I told them the company that originally installed my generator had looked at it recently but the other company didn't return my phone messages so I asked Standby/Asteroid to come back and fix it. I provided Standby/Asteroid with a list of everything the original company had found wrong with the generator. The scheduling receptionist at Standby/Asteroid assured me that a senior member of their team would come to my home with a more junior technician to diagnose the problem and take it from there. On the scheduled day, the senior person did not come, the technician who came knew nothing about the list of problems the original company provided and then after looking at my generator for about 15 minutes he drove away. When I called Standby/Asteroid they said they would not pick up the problem that another company started. I had clearly indicated the generator needed a major repair and that the original company had also looked at the generator. In short Standby/Asteroid is unreliable and more interested in managing their paperwork then they are in helping customers get their generator fixed.
Description of Work
Generator Repair
Category
concrete repair, generator service
laura H.
1.0
03/10/2019
they never contacted me. I found someone on my own
Description of Work
generator tuneup
Category
generator service
Amy W.
5.0
06/26/2017
As usual, excellent.
Description of Work
Annual maintenance of my 14kw Generac backup generator. Includes 1) checking the oil level and, if necessary, filling the oil, 2) checking the battery (replacement of the battery is a separate charge), 3) making sure all vents are cleared, 4) ensuring the generator unit remains level and correcting it if necessary. In past years, they have also, as part of the maintenance, painted the pipes connecting to the house with some protective coating.
Category
generator service
Steve L.
5.0
01/20/2016
Very well. Rob and Paul were great.
Description of Work
Installed kohler generator
Category
electrician, generator service
Patricia C.
5.0
01/01/2016
Excellent. With the exception of numerous issues with South Jersey Gas, from my initial contact with Standby Power to the completed installation, it was an extremely good experience. Russ and his crew of generator ninja's (Rob and Paul) were absolutely wonderful to work with. Rarely do you find such professionalism these days....they reported on time, they worked very hard and always cleaned up at the end of the day. It took a little longer to complete than anticipated, but thru no fault of theirs. I have a 200 year (+) old house so not everything is easy to work with. I don't often write reviews, but this really was such a pleasant experience and the guys were so terrific, I wanted to give them the praise and credit they deserve.
Description of Work
Installed a whole house generator.
Category
electrician, generator service
BARRY G.
5.0
11/18/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Installed a whole house standby generator and upgraded my electric service to 200 amps.
Category
electrician, generator service
Jane S.
5.0
11/18/2015
unknown
Category
generator service
mary stephanie B.
5.0
08/05/2015
unknown
Category
generator service
David P.
5.0
06/11/2015
unknown
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member name removed]: Good morning. We hope that you are well. Over the weekend, Angie's List sent a notification to us of your A Rating of our service. THANK YOU! We do have two questions regarding the review, though. 1) Your review states that we did a service on June 8th. However, the last we were out at your home performing service was April 9th. 2) Though you gave to us an A rating, you indicate that you would not use us again nor recommend us. These in addition to no other correspondence from you regarding the April 9th service call lead us to believe that you may have rated us when intending to rate another company. Please advise if your rating was intentional and what specifically occurred to make you not want to utilize us again or to recommend us. Sincerely, Daniel Keelan Standby Power Systems 609-499-3400 ext 805
James C.
4.0
04/02/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Ordered whole home generator and installation. Dan came out and did thorough review and recommended generator that would best fit our needs. He was also very clear with how long it would take for generator to arrive (usually takes several weeks - for us it was about 90 days - which he indicated at the time). Once the generator arrived, installation was fast and efficient - takes about two days. The installation crew was fantastic - very professional. Only reason I didn't give an overall "A" score is that the inspection process did not go smoothly. I had to get significantly more involved in this process than I expected, and communication flow with the office was slow. Not a huge deal and certainly not a reason to avoid Standby, but owners should be aware of this potential slowdown. That said, still recommend Standby and expect to work with them for ongoing maintenance of my generator.
Category
electrician, generator service
Jennifer F.
5.0
02/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
SPS installed a 20KW Generac system. All went well except for a problem with passing the final code inspection. It took two return visits of the town inspector before problems were corrected. | |We're satisfied with the courtesy and timeliness of SPS staff during annual maintenance. | |We have had problems in reaching the correct person using SPS' confusing voice mail menu. It often takes several calls to get hold of someone.
Category
concrete repair, generator service
Brian G.
5.0
12/31/2014
The local account rep. came out: 1. Asks a lot of questions to best understand what my needs were 2. did a full survey to understand what a full install would require 3. provided recommendations based on the above items 4. got back to me in writing within 24 hours with a detailed quote and estimates timeline. Very professional!! Reasonable quote as compared to other quotes I had received. Would definitely move forward with this company, but have decided to relocate out of state. I would highly recommend this company of anyone is considering a whole-house power back-up system.
Description of Work
The local account rep. came out and did a site survey to best understand my needs to provide a quote.
Category
generator service
Jerry B.
3.0
12/08/2014
They were very good on the estimate process and we signed an agreement with them. The pricing was on the lower end of other estimates we received. While they did a good job with installation, one of the pieces isn't working properly regarding the prioritization of shutdown. They have not returned my phone calls. Russ seems to return to 1 out of ever 3 or 4 phone calls.
Description of Work
They were supposed to install a generator in September and ended up installing it in mid-Novemer.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

(Member Name Removed) We apologize for the delay in getting the Load Management Module installed. That is certainly an issue that is related to the high demand we are experiencing. As you know from the conversations that you and I had yesterday December 10, 2014, this will be addressed next week. Regardless, though it does not prevent the generator from operating, this is an inconvenience to you and we apologize. Regarding the September installation date: We provided to you a quote on August 5, 2014 and you accepted it on the same day. However, it was not until August 11, 2014 that you informed us that you did not have a property site plan for us to use as part of your Zoning Permit submission. Thus, there was a delay of 6 days. Additionally, via our NEXT STEPS document that we send out upon receipt of an order (we also discuss this during our visit), we provide an estimated installation time frame (from completed order until installation) of 70 days - weather dependent. So, even when ignoring the 6 day delay, this would put your installation on October 29, 2014. Please recall, on August 12, 2014, you and I reviewed the above referenced document via an e-mail exchange. We do take complete responsibility for the delay on the Load Management Module and for Russ' delay in call you back.
Ernest A.
5.0
10/27/2014
We decided to hold off on project
Description of Work
Estimate
Category
generator service
Nancy A.
5.0
10/08/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Standby Power systems installed a natural gas generator at my house several years ago. I have had an annual maintenance contract with them since. When doing the installation and each time they come for service, they arrive on the day scheduled and on time and are professional. The work is done right the first time. I also receive monthly e-mail tips from them which is most helpful. A first class operation! I highly recommend them.
Category
electrician, generator service
Thomas C.
5.0
10/03/2014
Contacted Standby in February 2014 to express interest in a whole house backup generator. Was contacted by Dan in sales and we set up an appointment to talk details. Dan walked through our expectations and answered all or our questions. He made sure that we were getting the right size generator to cover our entire house. Within a few days he provided the estimate and we signed a contract. Fast forward to July - after the cold weather had passed and our turn came up for installation. Rob did the majority of the install, running the gas and electric lines. He was respectful of our home and yard, keeping everything neat as he worked. Paul came to work with Rob when the generator was brought in for hookup. They got it installed, tested the unit and then it was ready for inspections. Total install took 3 days and passed all inspections. We haven't had a power outage yet, but the unit self tests once a week and has run flawlessly so far. It's great to know if we ever have a power outage, we probably wouldn't notice unless we hear the generator running! Standby provides maintenace contracts as well, so we will continue to use them to keep the generator maintained.
Description of Work
Installed a 20Kw Generac whole house standby generator.
Category
generator service
mark F.
5.0
08/05/2014
Excellent work all the way through the process. Our first contact, Dan, came to the house. discussed all options and prices, and gave us a clear work order with a reasonable price. The permitting process is long and involved in our town, but the company took care of all the details. The installation was done by Rob, a smart, pleasant, hard-working man, who explained everything he was doing and why it had to be done a certain way. I am very pleased with the outcome.
Description of Work
Standby Power installed backup generator for our home.
Category
generator service
Rick S.
5.0
07/03/2014
Jeff was very easy to work with and did a terrific job. The install was extremely professional and the TWP inspections went without a problem.
Description of Work
Installed 20KW generator and transfer switch.
Category
generator service
Jennifer F.
5.0
12/13/2013
The work went very well. They installed the base for the system. They had good routing for the wires and the gas. They followed up on the inspection. We are very satisfied with them. The base was a pre-cast concrete.
Description of Work
They installed a new whole house generator. This was on a new installation. They had to do the gas and electrical lines.
Category
concrete repair, electrician, Uncategorized, generator service
Randi L.
5.0
12/13/2013
The project did take a while to complete because of an increase in demand for generators after the blackout of Oct. 2012. However, they were very professional and knowledgeable about the entire process. I was impressed at how efficient they were while working, and how mindful the guys were of being in my home. They have been doing this for a long time; long before it was a popular trend to start working with generators. It is the only thing they specialize in. Hopefully as the company grows larger, they will open a more local office to me!
Description of Work
They installed a standby generator.
Category
generator service
Roman G.
5.0
12/11/2013
I did not have any problems or anything to complain about. Pleasant experience.
Description of Work
Installed whole house back up generator.
Category
S K.
5.0
12/11/2013
The work was very good. I talked to a number of different people and the service was very good from everyone.
Description of Work
They provided electrical service. They installed a stand-by generator.
Category
electrician
Roman G.
5.0
10/11/2013
Complete whole house standby generator system installation. Installation was meticulous; personnel professional and courteous. No problems to report.
Description of Work
Installation of an emergency residential 20KW Generac standby generator
Category
generator service
Mark G.
5.0
05/10/2013
In July 2012 Dan Keelan from Standby Power Systems came to our house to give us an estimate for a 20 KW (natural gas powered) standby generator. I received his estimate promptly, the price was good, and so I placed an order, with my down payment of 50%, in early August 2012. Usually a contractor provides 2 copies of a signed contract. In this case they did not send me a signed contract, although I had their original email, and I did not even receive a receipt for my down payment, although I had my canceled check. The process of obtaining permits was quite complicated at the time and the Township of Princeton was in the process of consolidating (Princeton Borough + Princeton Township). So the Township was slow in issuing these permits, but Standby Power was also slow in following up, and I had to write to them a number of times, reminding them to find out what was happening with my permits. As a result, the permits were not issued until December, which was after Sandy. I very much would have appreciated having this generator when Sandy hit, but no such luck. After Sandy, of course, everything was a mess. The company was swamped with emergency requests from people all over New Jersey. We finally had the generator installed in early January 2013, 5 months after we had ordered it. In summary, I felt that the company was not very efficient in their handling of the paperwork, but it was a hectic period and many different factors contributed to the delays. On the other hand, the installation crew was wonderful. Our installation turned out to be much more difficult than had been originally anticipated, mostly due to the fact that the walls of the house are stone, about a foot thick, and our electrical system is somewhat antiquated. The crew of two (plumber and electrician) spent almost 5 days working on the installation. They were smart, thoughtful and courteous. They did the work for the agreed-upon price. They cleaned up afterwards. The inspector did not like a few minor things, and the crew came back immediately, did the modifications, and the unit passed inspection. I am now ready and waiting for the next hurricane Sandy! --June 2013 corrected spelling mistakes
Description of Work
20 KW standby power generator (natural gas powered) was purchased from this company and was installed by this company. The company applied for and obtained all the permits from the Township. Generator was tested out and the company was available when inspectors came. I have also contracted with this company for yearly maintenance of the generator. The price offered by Standby Power Systems was substantially lower than that of other nearby electricians.
Category
generator service
Amy W.
5.0
03/19/2013
The price included everything but the permits. It is a 14 kilowatt generator with an automatic switch that is natural gas powered. They were great and they knew what they were doing. They were fast, efficient and professional. I got them at a time before everybody else got them. The product they installed and the actual installation really made my life a heck of a lot easier with having no power for 10 days. I put down a deposit so the price was locked in for the 2011 prices so the price was wonderful. I have a contract with them to do the maintenance on the generator.
Description of Work
I used StandBy Power Systems to install my generator. They were last here to service the system a week or 10 days after Sandy because the generator had been running 240 hours straight.
Category
generator service

Phone

Address

1606 Tanner Ave

Burlington, NJ 08016

Other Information

Services offered

Service & Support, Installation of Residential Generators, Commercial Generators & Portable Generators. In-Home Survey, Repair & Warranty

Services not offered

ask for details

Payment options

Check
Financing Available
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Standby Power Systems is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Standby Power Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Standby Power Systems offers free project estimates.

No, Standby Power Systems does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Standby Power Systems does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Standby Power Systems offers emergency services.

Yes, Standby Power Systems offers warranties.

Standby Power Systems offers the following services: Service & Support, Installation of Residential Generators, Commercial Generators & Portable Generators. In-Home Survey, Repair & Warranty

Other Local Pros In Your Area

B & B Lightning Protection is the premier Lightning Protection System and Surge protection specialists in the Tri-State area. We strive to give our customer the easiest flow for their project. Starting from the sales/estimating side to the project management and installation. B & B has been in business for 8 years. The senior staff has a combined 100 years in the industry. We are an owner-operates business with a family oriented feel.  

Martinelli Plumbing and Heating, Inc. Is a full service plumbing and heating contractor serving all of New Jersey. We offer a full line plumbing services from Repairing leaky toilets, to fixture replacement, to hot water heater replacement, to high efficiency water heater or boiler upgrades. We also offer emergency service and repairs. We have in house excavation equipment and replace your water or sewer service. We have sewer cameras and inspection equipment and trouble shoot and diagnose any residential or commercial plumbing issue with confidence. We have a dedicated staff focused on assisting you with your issues and going that extra mile to see that you are satisfied. We have an Instantaneous Hot water specialist on staff as well a boiler design and repair specialist. So next time you have a plumbing issue or simply wish to upgrade Call the professionals at Martinelli Plumbing & Heating , Inc.  

Hector L Torres Concrete . LLC

5.0

(50)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Hector  L Torres Concrete . LLC

WE ARE A SMALL BUSINESS COMPANY, WE TAKE CARE OF OUR CUSTOMERS NEEDS NEVER LEAVE THEM DISSATISFIED,WE ARE PROUD AT WHAT WE DO,WE WANT TO KEEP OUR CUSTOMERS HAPPY, WE ARE REASONABLE WITH OUR PRICING, WE ACCEPT VISA,MASTERCARD,DISCOVER,CHECKS AND CASH, THE BILLING IS HALF DOWN AT START OF JOB AND THE OTHER HALF WHEN JOB IS COMPLETE