Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Sod Man

Founded 2014 • With Angi since August 2015

Let us help you create the lawn of your dreams! A professionally installed lawn that has the customer as the priority from start to finish!

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
2768
Trade License Locale
Lee
Trade License Authority
North Carolina
Trade License Expiration
07/31/2016
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews
THANH-TUYEN N.
5.0
07/31/2018
Overall, they did a very good job. They came for the ground prep on the first day and the crew worked very diligently to remove lots of roots running across the yard. They finished laying down 8 pallets of sod on the second day, setting up the automatic sprinkler system with their loaned timer and cleaning up. We really like their established procedure including the sprinkler system and visits during the 6-7 week period to check on the grass. The crew also came back to roll down the new grass after about 8 weeks. The old and new lawn now have joined nicely. Murphy also sent out a crew member to replace the sods on one spot that didn't grow well. I will definitely recommend The Sod Man to friends and neighbors when they have a need for new lawn.
Description of Work
Expanding backyard lawn with Bermuda sods
Category
lawn service
Ricky S.
1.0
04/08/2018
The work on my yard was done approximately 9 months ago. This job was a complete nightmare through the entire project. A simple 1-week project that turned into 2 months of having my yard a complete mud hole or dead looking grass after it was finally replaced. The process used to remove the old sod created a huge mud hole in my yard; it had to dry out before additional work could be done. The first 4 pallets of SOD were laid without sloping the yard for drainage, well that 4 pallets died. The next 4 pallets were laid after the yard was supposed to be sloped enough for drainage and the majority of that SOD died. After the last attempt the yard did green up before going dormant. For whatever reason the SOD has all died and is not coming back this year. I must have the yard replaced when the SOD farms start cutting SOD. The crew was extremely unprofessional, constantly argued amongst themselves, several walked off the job saying that they hadn't been paid, not one person on the crew had the necessary experience to cut out and lay sod. In all fairness, Murphy the owner, though unsuccessful, tried his best to produce a quality job. 9 months later EVERY piece of SOD they laid is DEAD. When looking at the PICs please notice the areas along the wall that are starting to turn green. This area of the yard was NOT replaced. All of the other areas where the grass is almost nonexistent and dead is what they replaced. I'm writing this review April 8, 2018. The yard will NOT come back this year, I must pay to have all SOD laid by this crew taken up and fresh SOD laid.
Description of Work
Repair damaged yard by removing and replacing SOD, approximately 4 pallets.
Category
lawn service
Frank Z.
5.0
07/10/2017
Not a mosquito all summer.
Description of Work
Mosquito spray
Category
pest control
Richard M.
5.0
06/15/2017
Very happy with the results. The team was very professional and knowledgeable. They installed the sod at 4 trouble spots in our lawn. First they removed the existing vegetation and then placed the sod while making sure our sprinkler heads weren't obstructed. Now everything looks great.
Description of Work
Sod installation for repair of an established lawn. Deal was for 1 pallet of tall fescue plus installation.
Category
lawn service
Karen L.
4.0
06/15/2017
Overall well. Originally we were told the job would take 1 day it stretched out to 5 with various crew members not showing up. Unfortunately we had pallets of sod sitting in our existing lawn for nearly five days which left large amounts of dirt and debris. The front loaded to their bobcat remained on our lawn for over a week I had to call and remind them it was still here. Overall pleased with the look and design.
Description of Work
Sodding about 3600 square feet
Category
lawn service
Rob T.
5.0
05/30/2017
Very professional outfit. They delivered to everything promised. Nice touch was to install a temporary automatic sprinkler system so I did not have to do anything. They have come back periodically to check the grass and make adjustments as needed.
Description of Work
Complete grass replacement
Category
lawn service
Patrick R.
5.0
05/01/2017
I couldn't of asked for a better job. They came out and worked diligently to get the sod laid in one day and were very responsive to any questions I had. Everything was cleaned up when finished and done professionally. A few months have passed and the zoysia is now a beautiful green color and I can't thank the Sod Man enough! Looks like a golf course fairway... Murph is easy to work with and provides terrific advice on caring for your lawn. I'd be happy to hire him again!
Description of Work
Murph and his team laid new zoysia sod in my front and backyard (around 1/3 acre) just a few weeks ago.
Category
lawn service
Michael B.
5.0
03/03/2017
The yard is now a yard. Its amazing. We are so pleased!!
Description of Work
The yard was so compacted, grass wouldn't grow. He came in and conditioned the yard. Lyme, fertilizer, seed.
Category
lawn service
Joe P.
5.0
02/04/2017
Was very pleased with overall service. Excellent work!
Description of Work
Lawn mowed and yard cleanup.
Category
lawn service
Louise M.
5.0
05/05/2016
.
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]!

Other Information

Services offered

Sod installation, Lawn care maintenance (mowing, edging, blowing, cleanup)

Services not offered

Tree services.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
PayPal
Financing

FAQ

The Sod Man is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

The Sod Man is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

The Sod Man accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing

Yes, The Sod Man offers free project estimates.

No, The Sod Man does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, The Sod Man does not offer warranties.

The Sod Man offers the following services: Sod installation, Lawn care maintenance (mowing, edging, blowing, cleanup)

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Family Owned & Operated.  

Bulwark Exterminating - Greensboro

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Bulwark Exterminating - Greensboro

Bulwark is a family-owned company serving customers across the country. We provide quality customer service and a guarantee. If you see bugs after the initial service we will come back free of charge. Call us today, and we will earn your business through our professional technicians that are respectable and knowledgeable.  

Locally owned & operated.