Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mels Floor Refinishing

Founded 2004 • With Angi since June 2004

4.5

(384) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1015 Amery Ln

Harris, MN 55032

Description

We honor Senior discounts and Military personel in service. Please still get in touch with me if you are interested in my services so we can get something scheduled. Thanks so much!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/16/2021


Dave ..

The service was excellent. They were very professional, on time and hardworking.

Description of Work
Refinishing hardwood floor.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/19/2019


Thang D.

Mel did a good job on the hardwood floor and the floor look great. I would hire him work on my hardwood floor again in the future. I would recommend for other to hire him for hardwood floor.

Description of Work
sanding hardwood floor and apply polyurethane on floor.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/11/2019


BILL O.

It went great - on-time and great work.

Description of Work
Refinished Wood Floors

Category hardwood floor

5.0

09/07/2018


Kathy M.

My floors looked atrocious and Mel made them look beautiful. I couldn't believe the transformation. My husband and I were very happy with the results. We had pulled up carpet in the living room, bedrooms, and hallway and took out old linoleum flooring in the kitchen, where we found plywood in a large area by the back door, inside the closet, and the niche where the refrigerator goes. Mel removed the plywood and installed reclaimed wood in it's place. It blends very nicely with the original hardwood floor. We had Mel refinish the entire main floor. The price was very reasonable for the amount of work he had to do and he did the work quickly. In addition, Mel is a really nice man. He's honest, conscientious, and he's easy to work with. We had to push back the start date for work to begin and Mel was very flexible and understanding. I would definitely recommend Mel. He really wants to do a good job for his clients.

Description of Work
Refinish hardwood floors on entire main level of home (except bathroom).

Category hardwood floor,remodeling

5.0

09/06/2018


Pati B.

We are thrilled with the way our 50+ year old hardwood floors look after Mel completed the refinishing! He was professional, prompt and very easy to work with. He recommended additional sanding and finish coats in 2 of the bedrooms due to stains that had been under carpet for quite time. We felt that his assessment was accurate and honest, and had him complete the additional work. It was well worth it. I would recommend Mel to anyone who needs hardwood floors refinished.

Description of Work
Refinishing of hardwood floors

Category hardwood floor

5.0

03/10/2018


dane W.

Did a great job at a great price. I would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
refinish and stain hardwood floors

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor,floor cleaning

5.0

11/29/2017


George C.

Very well. We discussed several options before going ahead.

Description of Work
Sanded and poly-urethaned hallway

Category hardwood floor,floor cleaning

5.0

11/01/2017


Ruth L.

Love the work they did! Great great communication and very timely service. Reliable and easy to work with. Happy to recommend to anyone. There were a couple areas on the floor that look like the sander skidded (ripples) but otherwise a great job.

Description of Work
Refinishing around 300 sq ft of hardwood floor.

Category hardwood floor

2.0

10/31/2017


Nick T.

Never got the job done. Was told that the "discount" wouldn't be enough for a complete job. This seems like a bait and switch, as the discount is presented as an offer to do a completed job. When I called to schedule the owner was quick to cancel the job, put me in a bad place as I detrimentally relied on having the job done by a certain time and was not behind schedule. I will say the owner did respond quickly, but at the end of the day spent more time finding a way not to do the job than trying to find common ground. Then he kept trying to put it off on Angie's list. Extremely poor experience.

Description of Work
Needed to have a 100 sf of floor refinished

Category hardwood floor

4.0

10/09/2017


SCOTT G.

The deal was for a sanding and two coats of polyurethane. He did it and it was pretty good, but there were places where the poly soaked into the grain and didn't completely cover it. I paid him to come back and give me a third coat which did cover the grain, but he didn't sweep the floor well and now there are a number of places where there is cat hair embedded in the finish.

Description of Work
He sanded and coated my maple kitchen and pantry floors.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Capital Siding Windows & Roofing

    ** #34 ** Different Time Angies List "Super Service Award Winners" in Roofing, Siding & Windows. A+ Rating BBB over 25 years with BBB (Better Business Bureau). 10% Angies List Discount up to $2,000. in Savings. 50 year Certified Roof Warranty. Locally owned & operated family business since 1987. We are a Licensed, bonded & insured general contractor / insurance storm restoration specialist serving the Twin Cities. We do not offer general repair service for siding, roofing or windows other than projects we completed on our own. Contact our friendly team today at 651-578-9205 for your 100% Free & NO OBLIGATION estimate for your new roofing, siding or window project. For professional, honest, quality service call Capital Siding, Windows & Roofing today! Tell us: Angies List Sent You!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Capital Siding Windows & Roofing on Angi
    Craftsman's Choice Inc

    Craftsman's Choice Inc. Founded in 1998, By Ben Juncker & Matt Enfield has grown and is currently a team of 20 hard working professionals. We are a full service exterior remodeling company. In the beginning we worked as an independent crew for larger companies. Our experience inspired us to form our own team to offer what many large companies did not: Service - Integrity - Quality. Our vision was to create a company offering superior products, honest salesmanship and highly skilled installation. To achieve these goals, we formed our own company, Craftsman’s Choice Inc. We are a James Hardie Siding Elite Preferred Remodeler. MN license # BC384780. Thank you for considering our company, Sincerely, The Craftsman’s Choice Team James Hardie Preferred Remodeler. Marvin windows 27 Super Service Awards. Pella & Anderson. Additional phone number- 7632767465 Additional fax number- 7632767467  

    Barnhouse Exteriors LLC

    Barnhouse Exteriors, LLC is a family owned and operated company specializing in exterior renovations. Barnhouse Exteriors, LLC has provided quality construction services all over Minnesota and is especially known for the integrity and professionalism that they put into every job they do. Barnhouse Exteriors is licensed and insured and is accredited by the Better Business Bureau. Additional phone number - (612) 201-1779.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    IR778762
    Trade License Locale
    MN
    Trade License Authority
    Minnesota: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Sanding & refinishing, staining, buff & coat, repair& replace bad boards, commercial & residential. re-surface cork flooring & re-polish marble floors.

    Services Not Offered

    Re-surface & repair laminate flooring.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mels Floor Refinishing

    How is Mels Floor Refinishing overall rated?

    Mels Floor Refinishing is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mels Floor Refinishing open?

    Mels Floor Refinishing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Mels Floor Refinishing provide

    Mels Floor Refinishing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Mels Floor Refinishing offer free estimates?

    No, Mels Floor Refinishing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Mels Floor Refinishing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mels Floor Refinishing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mels Floor Refinishing offer a senior discount?

    No, Mels Floor Refinishing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mels Floor Refinishing?

    No, Mels Floor Refinishing does not offer warranties.

    What services does Mels Floor Refinishing offer?

    Mels Floor Refinishing offers the following services: Sanding & refinishing, staining, buff & coat, repair& replace bad boards, commercial & residential. re-surface cork flooring & re-polish marble floors.

    Are there any services Mels Floor Refinishing does not offer?

    Re-surface & repair laminate flooring.