Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc

Founded 2008 • With Angi since August 2011

4.3

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

32660 US Hwy 19 North

Palm Harbor, FL 34684

Description

Since our inception in August of 2008, Florida Energy Conservation Advisors has helped thousands of HOME OWNERS throughout the Greater Tampa Bay area. With the ever increasing demand to Conserve Energy and Go Green, thousands more are reaching out to Florida Energy Conservation Advisors, Inc. Additional email - admin@floridaenergyconservation.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

10/26/2017


Cheryl N.

Installation of the power corrector and the insulation on the door went fine. The installation of the radiant barrier was not finished correctly and someon had to come back a week later to tape up all the holes or gaps. The installer who blew in the attic insulation fell through the garage ceiling. Two men came out twice to try to fix it but did not do it properly. They told me that a professional would come out to give them a quote to fix it last Saturday but he never showed up. 3 Weeks later and the ceiling still hasn’t been fixed after we paid an extraordinary amount of money for the work.

Description of Work
Insulation and radiant barrier installed in the attic, insulation put on the garage door and a power corrector installed.

Category electrician,insulation,energy audit

2.0

07/13/2017


Kim M.

Had them come out for advice on excessive heat on 2nd floor of home. Very high pressure salesman. Convinced the radiant barrier would help, we agreed to putting it in our attic and also insulating our garage door. Attic is no cooler a year later. Would have benefitted much more with more blown in insulation for a lot less $$. Had them back and they claimed the temperature was much less, but it is not.

Description of Work
Attic radiant barrier foil and garage insulation

Category energy audit

1.0

07/23/2016


Kristopher P.

When the salesman arrived I was asked if my wife was home, when I told him no he said that it was company policy to leave. He explained that way the spouse couldn’t use the excuse of having to check with husband\wife. As for the in home energy audit, the salesman didn’t bother checking the doors and windows around the house for leaks, and as for the attic he peeked his head and said it was good. The following day my AC technician came out to do maintenance on my AC unit and was looking at the duct work in the attic, upon asking him about the insulation levels in the attic he informed me that it was only few inches. The following day I contacted an insulation company that came out and got my attic up to R38. Once he bought in his suit case I knew this was more of sales pitch then an energy audit. Since my house had everything but the surge protector and radiant heat barrier installed already the sales pitch didn’t last long. They show an old news report about a family saving money installing the surge protector, but googling the same device you can find plenty of other new stories saying how it’s a scam. The other product was the radiant heat barrier in which he sets up a heat lamp and shows how no heat goes through the material. I was interested in radiant barrier but when he showed me the price it was over $7000, this is where the fun begins. He then started showing the different discounts I could receive. So instead of just offering the product a decent rate, they jack the price up and give you “discounts” The price came down to about $5200. After explaining to him that it was out of my current price range he showed me the 12 months same as cash and the credit card\loan rates. Once I explained that I prefer to pay things right away, he seemed disturbed that I wasn’t willing to just sign on the dotted line. The day after I received an email from the company offering yet another discount on the product. I went back to Angie’s list and found other companies in the area that install the radiant barrier at a much better price. The supposed $200 gift was just 4 CFL light bulbs. Not worth the 2 hours for an Energy Audit.

Description of Work
Was looking to have an energy audit of my home done.

Category insulation,energy audit

5.0

04/03/2016


Michaelle G.

They were courteous and professional with a personal touch. Paul had the task of climbing in my attic for hours sucking out all the old installation which I am sure was the original from 1959 when the house was built. He unfortunately found a huge ant colony and even though they were crawling all over him he stayed and sprayed until all were killed. Thank GOD they were not termites. He also found a very old coin he could have very easily put in his pocket but instead handed it down from the attic thinking I would like it. What he didn't know was the story I have behind coins...so it is priceless in so many ways, just like his honesty. He and Anthony made quite the team, you could tell they were very proud doing what they were doing, of the service they were giving and the product they were supplying. Brian insulated my garage and you could tell what a great team the 3 were together. Now Richard comes along and jumps right in to help the guys as the weather was super bad and he was worried about his men; he is the owner. Enough said! I would recommend them to ANYONE!!! P.S. Chris has an honorable mention as he was the face I saw first who came to quote out. He took the time to explain exactly what they would do and the quality of the product that the attic would be replaced with. You can only hope that the team is what the sales guy tells you...they were that and more. Thank you Chris, you are a great face to this company!!!!!!

Description of Work
removed all old insulation

Category energy audit

5.0

04/02/2016


Gregory H.

Very prompt response. Technician did a thorough job and explained everything that was done. He did not try to sell us a new unit just told us it was very old and we should be prepared.

Description of Work
A/C check up and maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,energy audit

4.0

10/21/2015


Daniel M.

The gentleman that came was very knowledgeable about everything regarding energy and how it is used within the home. He provided me with extremely valuable information on how to improve the efficiency of my home. He pointed out some minor corrections that i needed to make, that even with a degree in this field i was unaware of. However, i believe he pushed the limits and became a salesman towards the end of the assessment. He was suggesting things that i KNOW i do not need to do, and would likely cost too much to equal out the energy savings. Be cautious to not jump on board with recommendations immediately, as some of them are not worth the money.

Description of Work
Free in home Energy Assessment.

Category energy audit

2.0

09/26/2014


Christopher G.

Walked around the outside. Provider used infrared heat gun on 2 windows to determine heat gain into home. Provider also used device to determine air temperature at supply registers. Did not use device to determine heat losses inside or where hot air might be entering...Doors, windows, etc. Check insulation depth at attic entry. Did not look at other areas in attic for heat loss into home. Provider developed pricing for radiant barrier in attic and on garage doors. Prices were adjusted for various discounts, but were still very high. in the $10k-$15k range. $200 gift turns out to be $6.97 worth of 4 CFL lights. Package says UP TO $200.00 IN SAVINGS. 2 are broken. Not worth the 2 hours for an Energy Audit. The company sells radiant barrier for attic and garages along with window films and impact resistant windows.

Description of Work
Evaluation of home energy gains and losses

Category energy audit

5.0

09/22/2014


michael M.

This company works fast. I had a meeting with an advisor on Saturday at 10:00 AM. The work was scheduled and completed same day. I was informed that the work would be completed by a Florida Energy Conservation employee. The work was sub-contracted out to an AWESOME family (father and son) company, who showed up the same day! The attic had sprayed insulation installed (InsulSafe) and the difference was noticed immediately! I looked at my Nest usage for the week before and my AC unit was running nearly 12 hours a a day! After the insulation was installed my AC unit is literally running HALF as much as it used to (5-6 hours a day now). With this insulation added I expect to see a tremendous drop in my electricity bill. We went from basically no insulation (4-6" thick), to 14" inches of insulation (R-38). I still can't get over how well the insulation works! Now let's get down to the reason why I am rating this company an "A" even though the work was actually sub-contracted. Florida Energy Conservation Advisors has a "Best Price Guarantee". This was the whole reason I did the work same day, because I could shop around afterwards and compare prices to make sure I was not getting ripped off. So after the insulation was installed I called around to several companies, received a various range of offers. Once I found my best price, I contacted Florida Energy Conservation Advisors, and they matched my best price! They really stand behind their "Best Price Guarantee"!

Description of Work
Installed attic insulation

Category insulation,energy audit

5.0

08/07/2014


JEFFERY D.

Thier performance was stellar! The company called me and an appointment was set to discuss this product. No high pressure sales teqniques! Florida Energy Conservation (727-787-9772.) Florida Energy Conservation has other products of the same materials with different mils for safety in case of danger from debris hitting the glass and shatters the glass but won't allow the glass to enter the home!

Description of Work
Florida Energy Conservation Installed a lifetime charcoal tint to the inside of all 17 windows including 4 glass siding doors. The purpose of this material is to block the uva/uvb sun rays and reduce electric bills. 3 very clean, professional and knowledgeable men installed and arrived on time. They installed in 1 day with no mess, odors, etc...the next day, I turned my air conditioner up from 78 to 80 degrees. Of course, this material, comparative to a car tint will pay for itself in 2 years, plus my HVAC system's life span will also have a longer life because it doesn't run as much!

Category window tinting,energy audit

5.0

07/15/2014


Cindy P.

They were really good. The guy was excellent. He pointed out not just the negative things but the positive things, too. He didn't try to sell us something we didn't need which was something we appreciated. They came in and a put a quality material. That was a fair price and did a great job. We were totally satisfied with them. They did great.

Description of Work
We used Florida Energy Conservation Advisors. They came and did an evaluation of energy efficiency.

Category insulation,energy audit

5.0

07/02/2014


Tamar T.

We would give them excellent rating too. It was Florida Energy Conservation Advisors. It was excellent, good work and a fair price. They had somebody come and do an estimate. He was punctual and polite. All the good stuff. He didn't try to oversell at all. I said what about doing this and he says you really are not going to need it. They finished the work today, yesterday it was one guy and the 2 workers came today. It cost 767 dollars. I would rate them all 'A's.

Description of Work
We just had our windows tinted today.

Category window tinting

5.0

04/14/2014


David K.

The installation team were efficient and helped us properly stack the slats for easy installation and spaced conservation.

Description of Work
Installed excellent hurricane window protection around my entire home. The slats fit snugly into tracks to form total coverage and glass protection. I feel much safer. My home is right in the middle of the Pinellas county peninsula (St Petersburg), FL.

Category energy audit

5.0

04/11/2014


Louise A.

It was a father and son that came. They were on time and in and out in half a day. They held true to price.

Description of Work
Put blown in insulation in our attic.

Category insulation

2.0

03/17/2014


Peter V.

The installation of the heat cutting dual side seals that Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc did was done fine, but the two gentlemen that did the work, they pulled one of those electric recliners out and they pulled the plug on the machinery that moves the two sides into a recliner. I didn't discover that until about four months later when I decided to use it and the recliner portion did not work on either side. I called the company and explained the situation. I asked them to repair it. They pulled the electrical plugs out and I have no way of knowing how to re-plug them and I certainly don't have the strength to lift a couch. They said it had been four months so I had to fix it myself, so I wound up paying $80 to have a crew from a firm that specializes in electric couches. They asked why I didn't call the next day and I explained I hadn't used the couches and they got an attitude, they were rude. I will never use them again because they didn't stand behind their workmanship. If they had done the work properly and not spoiled my couch it was a fair price. They didn't realize they were pulling the electrical plugs.

Description of Work
Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc installed dual windows.

Category security windows,energy audit

5.0

03/17/2014


Francis M.

When arrived began home energy audit. When we mentioned spray foam insulation, representative informed us the company does not do spray foam for several reasons. Provided some advice on research to conduct; then professionally and gracefully said goodbye. Have not worked with a more professional and courteous contractor.

Description of Work
Came to provide an estimate for insulation.

Category insulation,energy audit

4.0

03/13/2014


Ann S.

The estimator was very prompt and professional - well informed and well prepared. We were given an estimate, made a $1,000 deposit and the balance was due at time of completion. The installers had an impressive rig. They made adjustments to two attice accesses so the insulation would not fall out when the trap door was opened. Then one man went into the attic and blew the insulation in, dragging the big tube with him. The other installer emptied bags into the blower. Towards the end of the installation I heard a loud cry from the attic. I thought the installer had hurt himself. No....he had discovered an area of depression that was not on the estimate. I guess that meant he had to use more material than anticipated. He was furious and did not complete the job with the same professionalism he had started with. The second installer was very polite and professional. The final photos were not explicit as depicted in the original presentation. I have no idea if the correct amount was placed. That said, the immediate effect was that the house seemed quieter. Our electric bills have been lower, but the real test will be in the summer. Overall we are pleased and satisfied, but it was not an "A+" experience.

Description of Work
Insulated our attic with blown fiberglass insulation.

Category insulation,energy audit

5.0

01/03/2014


Laurie S.

We were hesitant having strangers in our home that did not come via referral. We were completely set at ease given the level of professionalism this company exhibited. There technicians were extremely knowledgeable about their product, very skilled and most professional. We appreciated that they were accommodating, punctual and respectful of our home and pet. Their work product certainly met with our expectations and we appreciated their honesty in what their product could and could not do. Will certainly recommend Florida energy Conservation Advisors and we plan to use them again for additional work.

Description of Work
We had several of the windows in our home tinted to afford us more privacy and also reduce energy consumption.

Category window tinting,energy audit

5.0

12/01/2013


Robin S.

Very through. I have done my home work and needed very little offered. The one thing proved not to be cost effective. Thought the auditor was nice and didn't pressure me. Thank You

Description of Work
Energy Audit

Category energy audit

2.0

08/12/2013


BO O.

They continued to haunt me by calling continually and would not take NO for an answer. They are very pushy and unprofessional.

Description of Work
Approximately 8 months ago their door to door representative came and gave me info and got my phone number so they could followup.

Category energy audit

5.0

07/25/2013


Edward J.

The truck arrived that afternoon and blew 15" of insulation in the attic. When they left, you wouldn't know they had been there.

Description of Work
They arrived and evaluated home energy requirements. Found inadequate insulation. Dan Macmurray also stated we needed a new thermostat to save even more on our electric bill.

Category insulation,energy audit

5.0

06/28/2013


Donald N.

Ward came out and did evaluation. He was honest and told us were it would not pay off or look good to install film. Their price was high compared to other providers. Ward did reduce initial price significantly after some hesitation from us. Brian came out and did installation a few hours later same day. Both Brian and Ward were very professional. We are very happy with product it did reduce heat coming from windows as advertised.

Description of Work
They put heat reflecting film on windows.

Category window treatments,security windows,energy audit

3.0

05/21/2013


Peter M.

Unfortunately, their prices are so bad that I felt I had to write a review warning people to get multiple quotes so that they can compare the same scope of work to these guys. They wanted the same amount of money to blow insulation in over the existing cellulose than other company?s wanted: to remove the existing insulation, air seal the living to attic area, and blow in new insulation. Now, they do have a price match guarantee, but the problem here is that I really don?t like dealing with companies that will overcharge by that much right off the bat. If I have to point out that their prices are over double the competitors then it is obvious what they are doing?hoping that someone won?t compare prices and think that this is fair.

Description of Work
This company is very responsive, respectful, and well organized. I had signed up for the in home inspection, they were very proffessional.

Category insulation,energy audit

1.0

04/29/2013


Shernette S C.

This was to be a energy audit but it turned out to be a sales pitch. They sold me a surg protecter unit for $399.00 plus $95.00 to install to my home. The installer did not call or show up the day of service. I called to cancel the order the manager tried to convince me to keep the uint and was willing to give it to me for FREE... That was a Red Flag for me, considering he could not give me a discount on the same unit. RED FLAG FOR ME!!!!!!!!!!!

Description of Work
ENERGY EFFICIENCY AUDITING. Not so, they are sales people...

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Ouch!!! I am so sorry our Good Will was misinterpreted by you. Who would have ever thought “A company who provides a customer with a concession due a purchase misunderstanding is a RED FLAG” and would lead them, you or anybody to post such a critical and brutal review because of that Good Will. Please understand that no ill will is/was ever intended. Our Company works very hard to maintain our earned and outstanding credible “A” rated reputation. Some of our accolades include: Angie’s List “A” ratings in four (4) categories, Angie’s List 2012 Super Service Award Winners in those 4 categories, Interviewed and featured in a recent article of the Angie’s List April 2013 TAMPA BAY Green issue, Have earned being Featured on the “HONOR ROLL” page of the upcoming TAMPA BAY July 2013 issue of Angie’s List Magazine and Maintain an Accredited “A” rating with the BBB. We are also Energy Star Partners, have been in business since 2008 and are invited to visit over 3,500 annually in the Tampa Bay Market. These hard earned High Ratings have not come to us by doing wrong to our customer. Part of my dismay and confusion over your harsh review comes from the Wonderful Comments you made regarding your Evaluation experience with us on the Evaluation Survey that was personally signed by you. In your signed survey you state that: “You found your Evaluation to be Informative, You Have learned more about Energy Conservation than you knew before, Your Advisor pointed out your Strengths and Weaknesses, Your Advisor was Polite Informative and Educated in Energy Conservation”. You even went as far as adding this hand written comment: “Mike (your advisor) was wonderful, he walked us through everything we can do to save.” Please remember, you contacted our company via a ValPak Insert to request your FREE Energy Efficiency Evaluation that included a FREE Energy Savings gift. The advertisement clearly stated “The evaluation will identify problems that may, when corrected, save you money” and that “We would provide you with Advice and Information on how to reduce your utility bills. We did indeed provide you with a FREE Energy Evaluation that pointed out your homes strengths and weaknesses along with your FREE energy Savings Gift. Our advice included energy improvements you could chose to do: On your own, with us, any company of your choice, or chose to not do any. At the Energy Evaluations conclusion you chose to invest in a “First Defense Surge Protection Unit” for the amount of $299. Not $399 as you state in your review. You also state that the Electrician did not show up on time to install the Surge Protector. Actually, We Do Not install any electrical devices that require a licensed electrician. We are simply a provider of the unit. A “Licensed Electrician” is strongly recommended to install that type of device. In the event a homeowner/customer does not have their own electrician we will recommend a credible electrician and then act as a liaison. You chose the option of our suggested Electrical Contractor. This is why in the Special Notes section of your Purchase Agreement it clearly states the “$95 install cost is to be paid direct to the recommended Licensed Electrician and not to us”. In your presence our Advisor contacted the referenced electrician. The electrician took down your contact info and said they would call you the next day to confirm an install. You contacted our office in the afternoon of the next day and spoke with our Operations Supervisor expressing your dissatisfaction that the electrician has not called/nor showed up to install the Surge Protector (I was in our office with our Operations Supervisor during your call). Our Operations Supervisor asked if he could place you on hold…so he could immediately contact the electrician. The electrician acknowledged he was to contact you that day, however, he also shared that he was confused because the day was not over. When our operations supervisor returned and explained the misunderstanding, you said “Just cancel my order”. Obviously there was a misinterpretation of expectation. I truly am sorry for that. Immediately after your call ended with our Operations Supervisor, I instructed him to contact you back and express that “We were Sorry that there was a Misunderstanding and as an expression of good will and conducting good business that we would credit you back 100% of the purchase price of the SURGE Protector ($299 + tax) and to please accept the Surge as a Gift. In a statement you say “He Tried to Get Me to Keep It for FREE. Actually, we did indeed give it to you for FREE. In essence…You did keep…you never sent it back, it was for free. Certainly not as you state: “That He tried to get you to Keep It for FREE” In closing, you received a FREE Energy Evaluation where you received great value (your signed survey validates that), received a free energy savings gift designed to save you aprox. $175 in Energy costs, and in addition also received a $299 Surge Protector for FREE (We reversed the charge the day you called). In return you interpret that as a RED FLAG and Bad Business. If I could, I would offer to do more for you so as to prove our mission and actions to do good for our community are pure. However, above all that has already been done for FREE, I can only offer this addition: “I am sorry that you misunderstood and misinterpreted our good will and therefore lead to your harsh rating”. “Sometimes we hear what was not said” and “Other times we say what is not heard”. Richard V. Muscarella -President/CEO
4.0

03/25/2013


JERRY C.

They came on time as promised. They found unexpected rotted wood around the frame, and did a good job of repairing it without extra charge. To my surprise they even fixed another unrelated board also without charge. All of the folks I dealt with were very courteous and helpful. They spent much more time than they estimated, but did not add to the quoted price--very fair.

Description of Work
They installed a new sliding glass door and two new PVC windows.

Category glass repair,replacement windows,woodworking,doors,energy audit

5.0

03/15/2013


Pamela S.

They said this may occur & to call them if it did. We called & they came out the very next day. The bubbles had only happened on two of the windows but they redid all of the windows with the heavy-duty film. We haven't had any issues since.

Description of Work
They had to come out & take care of a few bubbles that came up withing 30 days of film installation on our windows.

Category security windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bozarth Contractors

    As a Florida state certified contractor we specialize in window and door sales and installations only! We do not offer window or door repair services. Choosing the right replacement windows or doors is just as important as choosing the right contractor. Whether it's hurricane impact resistant or new construction energy efficient only the highest-quality products are offered. Products that provide lifetime guarantees, little or no maintenance and energy savings are key. Choosing the right contractor is just as important as choosing the right material for your project. That’s why we not only expect you to get the best product but also the best installation service. Bozarth Contractors does not use any sub-contractors for installations. Our in-house professionally trained employees provide exceptional service and quality workmanship that our customers expect. Our goal is to make you comfortable and pleased with both our work and value of service.STATE CERTIFIED LICENSE #CBC1253999.  

    Offers by Bozarth Contractors on Angi
    Ridge Top Exteriors LLC

    Our team members have the training and experience required to deliver top-notch home remodeling services. We answer your calls promptly, show up on schedule for all jobs and get the job done to specification at the first attempt. That is why we provide lifetime warranties on labor for all our projects. This has enabled us to develop an excellent reputation within the communities where we offer our services. Now, you can also enjoy the same commitment, dedication, professionalism and customer care when you call on us for roofing, siding, windows or gutters! When upgrading your home exteriors, we understand there are two things are that are important, a perfect installation and price! Ridge Top Exteriors is happy to offer both to homeowners like you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Ridge Top Exteriors LLC on Angi
    Morgan Exteriors Inc

    Tampa Bays premier home improvement company for 27 years. Specializing in Windows, Doors , Siding , Kitchens and Baths . Free estimates . All projects include lifetime guarantee on product and installation. Office - (813) 931-4663. Call Now and receive 50% off installation  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Energy Audits/Evaluations, Insulation Installation, Insulation Removal, Co-Efficient Window Films, Garage Door Insulation,

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc

    How is Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc overall rated?

    Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc open?

    Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc provide

    Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc?

    Yes, Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offer?

    Florida Energy Conservation Advisors Inc offers the following services: Energy Audits/Evaluations, Insulation Installation, Insulation Removal, Co-Efficient Window Films, Garage Door Insulation,