Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sto Sound & Vision

Founded 1984 • With Angi since September 2008

4.8

(82) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

320 Old York Rd

Jenkintown, PA 19046

Description

Welcome to STO Sound & Vision, your Best Source for Audio and Video, Sonos Systems, Wifi systems, Home Theater Surround Sound Systems. Professional installation. Serving Our Clients Since 1984 License #CL10 ....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/27/2020


Richard B.

Project went really well, very professional! I refer him often.

Description of Work
Entire Project, best value was Michael's knowledge

Category home theater design,internet service,tv sales

2.0

02/22/2020


Rob W.

Poor job. Component left uninstalled, a mess of impossibly tangled cables, nonoperative remote, and costly service calls. Company doesn’t have adequate insurance for high rise apartments. Very defensive. Caveat emptor.

Description of Work
Home theater installation

Category home theater design,home automation

Service Provider Response

For all completed work there is a personal demo of the system to the client showing everything is operational in the system which we did. All wires are each labeled and organized again a standard procedure on all our installations. Insurance we are fully insured and provide a certificate of insurance upon request. It is a complete fabrication that we do not have the required insurance otherwise we would not be permitted to be part of AngiesList, which requires the required insurance.
5.0

11/25/2019


Buzz B.

STO was referred by someone in Philly who sells/installs high end home theaters, and I was not disappointed. Spoke with Mike over the phone, and Lee came to my place in Center City to set up the equipment. I have 2-channel hifi stereo with receiver, turntable, CD player and two bookshelf speakers. Lee set everything up perfectly, including the app on my tablet to utilize wifi and blutooth with the new Yamaha receiver. Separately, he set up a soundbar for the TV and blu ray player. Everything works and sounds great, including wiring in a professional manner that can hardly be seen. Lee made a suggestion on placement of the soundbar to improve sound quality, and was spot on. He explained everything very well and seemed like a great guy. I highly recommend STO and will definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Set up Stereo and Home Theater system

Category home theater design

5.0

08/02/2019


Kevin M.

Ron responded quickly to my inquiry regarding the TV Mount job. Ron arrived on time and was able to assess the job and give me a quote on the spot. The job was completed by Ron and his tech John. They were very professional and the job was done very quickly. I will definitely use them again

Description of Work
TV Wall Mount

Category home theater design

5.0

07/05/2019


Bill C.

We were very pleased with STO. Not only did they show up on time and delivered on budget, they were also very professional - with a clean truck and in clean professional uniforms. Their work was first-rate and they also provided input on the project when we asked. They also advised on important safety concerns regarding the mounting, the wiring, etc... We would hire them again and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Flat Screen TV Mounting

Category home theater design

5.0

02/26/2018


Barbara S.

We were extremely impressed with the knowledge of the technician, as well as how thorough he was in diagnosing and repairing the equipment that was not functioning properly. We were contacted immediately to set up an appointment for service, and received a follow up call to give feedback on the services rendered. We would definitely recommend using this company.

Description of Work
Home theater speakers calibrated and repaired.

Category home theater design

5.0

02/08/2018


Jason B.

Awesome. Mike and Lee are very knowledgeable and easy to work with. They are thoughtful and proposed cost-effective solutions. I really appreciate Mike's recommendations to salvage my existing equipment (e.g. speakers, head units, etc.) and tune things up rather than recommending replacements. He demonstrated very high integrity and is very customer service oriented.

Description of Work
STO Sound & Vision made upgrades to my home audio system including additional speakers, sources (i.e. streaming music), and controls. In addition, they installed a new outdoor TV, dramatically improved the performance of my home theater system, and addressed a handful of miscellaneous issues.

Category home theater design,tv sales

5.0

01/05/2018


Laura I.

I couldn't be happier! From the moment we started everyone was extremely professional, responsive and proficient. The technician explained everything and even had a necessary part on hand. He made also suggestions I hadn't considered for future options since we are thinking of getting a new system. I wouldn't hesitate to use them again and highly recommended STO Sound and Vision.

Description of Work
They reconfigured wires, restored use of woofer, fixed prior incorrect installation of sound bar, and showed me how to utilize google chrome despite problems with the television ports.

Category home theater design

5.0

01/01/2018


Lucille R.

Ongoing as there was a delay over the holidays.

Description of Work
Refurbishment of home theater

Category home theater design

5.0

12/14/2017


Bernadette S.

The technician arrived on time and wasted no time in routing the wires so that I can diagnose any future problems. I was very satisfied with the results and would use this company in the future.

Description of Work
Organize the rat's nest of wires for my TV and sound system.

Category home theater design

5.0

12/01/2017


Dominic R.

AWESOME, once again. I strongly recommend using STO Sound and Vision for your audio/video needs. Mike the owner is great! He is responsive and makes helpful suggestions based after assessing your existing situation - unlike others, he does NOT try to sell you pieces of equipment you don't need. When it comes to installation, Lee is equally great - professional, friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. I refer all my friends and family to STO Sound and Vision, and I strongly recommend fellow Angie's List users to use them too!

Description of Work
Various types of audio/video projects, including TV, stereo, installation and home automation, etc. STO has all the latest audio/video equipment and services you need.

Category home theater design,tv sales,home automation

5.0

11/23/2017


ARTHUR M.

Two technicians arrived on time. The helper was only needed for the screen installation and was able to leave after a couple of hrs. Lee, the primary tech was efficient and very knowledgable. He made sure all systems were working correctly and instructed me on the operation. He also took the time to check out a defective subwoofer on a separate systems and cleaned up after himself before leaving. Total labor charge was significantly less than originally estimated, for which I was pleasantly surprised.

Description of Work
Installation of a new customer supplied 4k Sony TV, 96" manual screen, 4k DVD. All items were linked to an existing Direct TV Genie mini and the customers stereo. Supply and install TV mount, 2 25' HDMI cables and wire raceway etc.

Category home theater design

5.0

11/14/2017


George Z.

Better than expected. Mike came over and really took time out to make a plan that fit our budget and what we were looking for. He suggested a wireless box to replace our Verizon box and put all the equipment in another room. In addition his staff was able to install an outlet above our mantle where we had live wires available. This was an unexpected bonus! His staff was extremely courteous and professional. We had two other companies come and give us estimates and STO's was by far the most affordable. Mike did not try to take advantage of us and the final price was almost exactly what his estimate was.

Description of Work
I needed my TV mounted along with a soundbar above my mantle but did not want to drill any holes to hide the equipment/wires.

Category home theater design

5.0

10/13/2017


Johnnie P.

Fantastic,I was really impressed with the Professionalism they showed me.I had tried to contact other installers threw the yellow pages & on line. No one returned my phone calls or on line messages. I was starting to think no one wanted my business. Finally I tried goggle , a few names popped up , after being disappointed quite a few times I really had no expectation of anyone answering my calls I took a chance & I called Sto Sound & Vision. Mike the President of the company answered the phone after a brief conversation, I knew I had the right man for the job. I made an appointment for 9 am the following day & at 9 am sharp he was ringing my doorbell. I love that in a person being on time. Mike advised me what he would do & the cost. I purchased a Yamaha receiver & a sub woofer threw them. After everything was installed on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the highest I gave them a 1000. If you're reading my review please give Sto Sound & Vision a try. You will not be disappointed.

Description of Work
Stereo installation

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

I appreciate your business. It was a pleasure working with you. I'm glad your enjoying your new system. Thank you, Mike
5.0

07/21/2017


Toni M.

From start to finish everything was great!

Description of Work
Installation of 65 inch TV with Soundbar, Sub Woofer, Blue Ray.

Category tv sales

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business. Look for ward to working with you in the future Thank you, Mike
5.0

07/13/2017


BRENDA L.

The job was done in the time frame allotted and was done well.

Description of Work
Adding and amplifier and volume control to our stereo

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Your business is appreciated. Look for ward to working with you again. Thank you, Mike
1.0

07/13/2017


Brian A.

I called several times and left voice messages.

Description of Work
Signed up for this promotion "$149 for 2 Hours of Audio-Video Installation and Troubleshooting Services" Why run a promo if you can't handle the work?

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the inconvenience. Not our intention to not meet all requests, but due to calendar being booked was not unable to scheduled your work. Again sorry for this inconvenience
5.0

06/27/2017


Peter T.

Excellent. The expert advice from Mike and Lee was highly valuable to us. They made great choices in the purchase, set-up of the system along with integration into in-wall speakers already present. When we had ongoing problems with the cable provider, both Mike and Lee were patient to come to the home multiple times to ensure all of the functionality of audio and TV worked properly. Mike and Lee are experts who worked extremely well with customers. I will use them in the future for any A/V work in my home,

Description of Work
Purchase and install an audio system and television in my new home. Integrate it with speakers throughout the home and connect it with a cable provider.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Working on your project to meet your requirements from coordinating with your cabinet maker and painter to interfacing with the cable provider. Also, re-integrating your existing in wall and in ceiling speakers throughout your home with your new system. Thank you for your business and look forward to working with you in the future. Regards, Mike
5.0

06/05/2017


Sallie G.

All the work was done perfectly and in a timely manner. I am very happy wit the end result.

Description of Work
We purchased a new TV and SONOS sound system, they also mounted two existing TVs for us. They also set up an EERO system for Our wireless internet and now we have a great connection throughout the house.

Category home theater design

5.0

05/31/2017


Amanda F.

Everything went smoothly and the technicians finished the work in 1 day. The setup looks great and best of all, we didn't even need to patch up the walls as they made sure to cut very clean holes. I would definitely hire Michael again and highly recommend his services.

Description of Work
We hired Michael based on previous reviews as well as his prompt and honest approach to his business. Once I described to him what we wanted, he came out to our home to insure everything could be done. 2 days later, two technicians arrived at our home to complete the work. We had them snake wire to 2 rear speakers, 2 front speakers, 1 center channel speaker above our mantel, install our 65 inch tv above the fireplace and have all wiring connect to our receiver which is on a separate wall. To do this, they needed to run all wiring through the dropout basement ceiling. We already had all of the audio/visual equipment and tv mount.

Category home theater design

5.0

05/20/2017


Michael R.

Michael from Sto Sound & Vision did a great job understanding and analyzing our current system and making recommendations for updates that would modernize the system, while reusing our existing components where possible. He was curteous and informative, showed when expected and followed through as promised with an estimate for the necessary products and services.

Description of Work
I needed a consultation on restoring an outdated built-in home audio system and updating it to provide multi-room wireless audio.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I enjoy making your existing wiring / system to work with new technology. I always try to re-purpose clients system and integrate it with new technology. Look for ward to working with you. Thank you Mike
5.0

05/08/2017


Marilyn B.

EXCELLENT!!!! I had Home Audio Specialist of West Chester out here twice and they robbed me blind and didn't know how to fix a thing but overcharge me a boatload. STO came out and in less than 5 minutes found the major problem. Lee, the installer, was FANTASTIC!!!! He cleaned up everything, had my system and remote working properly since it was installed 4 years ago. I HIGHLY recommend this company. Honest, knowledgable, fast, professional and inexpensive compared to the other "so-called" audio specialists. 5 stars

Description of Work
Infared not working, wires looked like spaghetti, many problems with remote, etc

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Happy we could resolve your issues and within your budget. Appreciate you feedback and look for to working with you again. Thanks Mike
5.0

05/01/2017


ronald D.

Exceptional!!! Exceeded all expectations! 100% Satisfied!!! I even left my house to go to HOME DEPOT and everything was neat and in it's place!! I would recommend this Business to Anyone!!!!!!!!

Description of Work
the re-configuration of my basement Information Technology and my Audio Systems in addition paired my TV remote control to my Living room!

Category home theater design,tv antenna,internet service

Service Provider Response

We always like to make things easier for our clients when it comes to technology, from Smart TV's to Wifi, and all of the connected world we live in and exceed your expectations. Thank you Mike L.
5.0

04/26/2017


ben D.

Professional in all aspects of the job, from initial communication to final follow up. Work was completed as discussed in timely fashion. Would recommend without reservation.

Description of Work
Mounted two television sets

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business. Look for ward to working with you in the future Thank you, Mike Leshner
5.0

03/29/2017


Daniel R.

Excellent quality - and thoughtful advice giving.

Description of Work
Recommended a system for sound in two rooms, including Sonos and one set of existing speakers, one set of Paradigm in-wall speakers.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

It was nice working with you and your GC to optimize the the location of the Paradigm in wall speakers in your newly renovated space. Thank you, Mike L.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Your Electric Now

    **For fastest response, please call 215-941-1497** We are a full service residential and light commercial electrical contractor. We strive for customer satisfaction and always put quality & safety first. We offer 24 hour emergency service and provide free estimates.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    BuxMontGC

    Buxmont General Contracting is a locally owned and operated small business out of Horsham Pa (19044), specializing in residential electrical work, design and remodels. Our prices are lower than our competition while our work is second to none. We offer up-front pricing with a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.  

    ProTech Electrical Services LLC

    ProTech Electrical Services prides ourselves in providing all your electricity needs with our exceptional customer service and the quality we deliver. 15 years of Experience! Call today for an appointment!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    TV Sales
    Internet Service
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Audio / Video Systems & Installation, Control Systems, Home Theater Surround Sound Installations, Home Automation, Networking & Wifi Installations, Out Door Audio Installations, Commercial Wifi, Wifi Boosters & Range Extenders Installation, Conference Rooms, Cell Phone Repeater Systems, Wiring,

    Services Not Offered

    Appliance & Car Stereo Sales.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Sto Sound & Vision

    How is Sto Sound & Vision overall rated?

    Sto Sound & Vision is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Sto Sound & Vision open?

    Sto Sound & Vision is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Sto Sound & Vision provide

    Sto Sound & Vision accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Sto Sound & Vision offer free estimates?

    Yes, Sto Sound & Vision offers free project estimates.

    Does Sto Sound & Vision offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Sto Sound & Vision does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Sto Sound & Vision offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Sto Sound & Vision offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Sto Sound & Vision?

    Yes, Sto Sound & Vision offers warranties.

    What services does Sto Sound & Vision offer?

    Sto Sound & Vision offers the following services: Audio / Video Systems & Installation, Control Systems, Home Theater Surround Sound Installations, Home Automation, Networking & Wifi Installations, Out Door Audio Installations, Commercial Wifi, Wifi Boosters & Range Extenders Installation, Conference Rooms, Cell Phone Repeater Systems, Wiring,

    Are there any services Sto Sound & Vision does not offer?

    Appliance & Car Stereo Sales.