DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since April 2015

My name is Shane Nelson I am the owner of DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS. We have been in business for 16 Years and we pretty much can do it all. The only service we do not provide is carpet. We specialize in bathroom and kitchen remodels. We are very well trained with plumbing, tile, electrical, drywall,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Basement renovation

electrician

202027106
Turned unfinished basement into family room and built out walls and ceiling and added lighting new plumbing and relocation of pipes. Also put down waterproof vinyl planking floor. Also refinished downstairs step and stained. Added new handrail and hardware
View project

Verified Reviews

4.5

(46) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

35

4

4

3

2

2

1

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.4

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (29)handyman (19)woodworking (16)plumbers (14)interior painting (12)door installation (8)flooring (7)pressure washing (5)electrician (5)drywall (4)basement remodeling (3)floor cleaning (3)
Showing 1-25 of 46 reviews
5.0

07/12/2022


Joyce B.

Smooth and fast done right and in a timely manner

Description of Work
Plumbing, Handymen, Foundation Repair

Category handyman service, plumbing, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2022

5.0

02/06/2022


JUDY M.

It went wonderfully as always with Shane The steps were very challenging and we're said not possible to be done but he worked his way right through it.

Description of Work
Lvp floors throughout house and steps

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, chimney repair, interior painters, doors, floor cleaning, basement remodeling

Cost $15,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

Images

Review for DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS - 7845 Dusty Trl, Germanton, NC - 39620506

+7 More

5.0

02/01/2021


Michael M.

Everything went great. Mr. Nelson is was very precise with all of the work he did. He worked hard at getting us the best prices for what he installed and his labor cost was very fair. We will always choose him to do any of our home repairs

Description of Work
install new garbage disposal,dishwasher,refrigerator and line, metal building install,electrical wiring,gfci instalation,new hvac split system install,ductwork fab

Category electrician, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, air duct cleaning, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2021

1.0

09/04/2020


Mike F.

Discount Renovations, Shane, was a huge mistake. I would have completed this review in September, 2020 when the work was supposedly completed but there were major problems. He took down a double garage that was beyond repair, and stated he could replace it with a single door, and enclose the other half since I didn't need a double door. The door was installed but would not go up and down properly. Shane made two trips back to look at the door, and never corrected the problem. He told me if he had to make another trip I would be charged. With that said I was not going to pay him more money for work half done. So here in January of 2021 I called a professional garage door company to work on the door. The door that Shane installed didn't even have the correct track. There was nothing to do except tear his junk out, and put up a new door with a cost of $2,600. He did do other projects at the house which included a new hot water heated, well tank bladder, reworked the front door to open and close, replaced the rear door, a few feet of crown molding, removed a three foot divider in the kitchen, and a small amount of drywall repair. He charged me $14,000. At that time there was some code violations with the county and I needed to get work done. Shane took full advantage of that situation. Looking back, I should have paid any penalties to the county until I could have gotten a professional plumber and carpenter. Using professionals would have probably saved me $4,000 to $6,000 and I certainly would not have had to pay an additional $2,600 to have the job done right.

Description of Work
hot water heater, well tank bladder,exterior door, crown moulding, masonry repair, plumbing update,drywall repair, garage door install, framing ,electrical

Category electrician, garage doors, gutter repair, handyman service, home inspection, plumbing, remodeling, chimney repair, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

Service Provider Response

WOW.. LETS START BY SAYING THAT MR. [Member Name Removed] DID NOT COME THROUGH ANGIES LIST OR KNEW OF ME HAVING AN ANGIES LIST ACCOUNT UNTIL I TOLD.HIM ABOUT IT AND HE DECIDED TO SMEAR MY NAME. THE REST OF MY REVIEWS SPEAK FOR THEM.SELVES. First off this job came about by word of mouth. I was checking my voicemail and I recieved one from [Member Name Removed] I was already booked solid and after speaking to [Member Name Removed] he was in a desperate situation His 1900 farm house was under investigation by social services called by his tenant that had been there for years and was unhappy with the upkeep and the disarray which the home was in befor I got ahold of it. he had a deadline to have 10 pages of repairs to be done on the house or it was getting condemned,So me being the nice person I am put his job ahead of several jobs that were previously booked to help this out of towner out there was much but a hope with my company.He had hired some Jack leg contractors befor me to come in and do sloppy work and ended up letti.g them go,so I stepped up and offered my services. yes I recieved the money to which was dicussed..A small fee for the countless hours I put into that farm house. once the rats and vermin living in the house were erratically and dont forget the roaches too..the tenant left..so I spent over a month there 5 weeks to be exact and documented over 30 line item repairs to the property making it livable once again and passing inspection. this is all happening g while my other job have been pushed back..I started out thinking it would take a weeknor two but me being ocd I spent more than enough hours repairing the property. I have pictures to back up all the work I did all while I didnt even recieve a dime of money til 2 weeks in which was 1000 dollars and I had over that amount in materials at that time..so basically I'd been working there for free..llooll..then the rst of the money was paid to me well after the job was complete atleast 2 weeks. so keep in mind ive recieved 1000 dollars in 7 weeks to.live off of ,keep the business going and pay my labor which was already spent in material's. lucky I know how to manage my money..By the way about 5k of that money was material's covered by the company with 0 interest at all and receipts and digital.copies to back it up. im not going to get into every little thing I did but to name a few tear down an existing 18' garage door and reframed out space to accomidate one single door (metal with motor i provided),then I put up osb and vinyl.siding to match the garage, I put up gutters 60 linear foot with downspouts and concealed clips to.try and divert water problem. I changed out an exterior main door which neither the front of the back door was operable and or secure part of Inspection.by the way this wooden door had been cut down to 76 inches so the steel door I put back was a job in its self. the wonderful builder had the soffit of the roof come.down so low the door ahead to have 4 inches taken off to close and dont even think about getting a storm.door to fit that.after tears g put the wall and lowering the floor an inch ,rebuilding a load bearing header and getting g a functional door in the new nice elderly lady he got to come into live there could finally rest at night without worry of intruders and creatures. I added an outside freeze proof faucet, a new water heater with a new electrical disconnect, a new well m pump bladder tank, new refrigerator and icemaker line amd I can go on forever...but well over the 10k that I ended up.giving back 1000 of it because he couldn't understand where I was pricing things from, but m I hate to say it if you.would of called I divided repair men for this job u would of never made out for 10 k. thats all this is about is$$$$. I think this just backfired on you my rep speaks for itslef.. Thank you [Member Name Removed];)
5.0

06/28/2020


Marcy H.

Shane came out quickly and did a great job. The hallway where we needed a door is narrow and uneven, but he got it in flush and it looks fantastic. The price was right too! Would rehire, would recommend.

Description of Work
Doors, Carpentry - Woodworking, Remodeling - General

Category remodeling, woodworking, doors

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2020

5.0

05/06/2020


Tim J.

i have used Shane services for close to a decade now and have never been disappointed with him or his work. He Built my 2nd story back deck, cut out and framed an interior wall window, installed glass panels in my kitchen cabinents, cleaned and installed gutter guards on my rain gutters. he has also installed outdoor flood lights and 3 way electrical outdoor light switches and outdoor outlet. He has also installed ceiling fans and a chandelier in the foyer with a cathedral ceiling. Shane has installed a bathroom toilet and kitchen sink. in fact he stayed until 9:30 pm that night to finish the job right. he also stayed until 10pm one other night in the pouring rain on the roof fixing a leak. He always goes above and beyond what you would expect. The bridge you see in his photo album is the bridge he built for me in the back yard and I have been extremely happy with his craftsmanship not only with the bridge but with everything he has done for me. I will never call for another contractor. Shane is reliable, trustworthy, talented and hard working. I never let anyone in my house unless I'm home except for Shane. I have total trust and faith in him and my dogs also love him. he is great with them and treats them as if they are his own. Shane has become not only my contractor but a true friend.

Description of Work
Carpentry, electrical, plumbing, roof repair, indoor/outdoor lighting.

Category drywall, electrician, gutter repair, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, chimney repair, deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, interior painters, dog fence

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2011

5.0

11/13/2019


Joyce B.

Very well lot of work once old door remover very old house

Description of Work
tear out front door and frame and reace wirth new door frame and storm door

Category remodeling, woodworking, doors

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2019

5.0

10/20/2019


val P.

Very hard workers, renovated both bathrooms from plumbing to shower doors and trim. It looks great. We have 26year old house and apparently 15 years ago the plumbing was recalled due to failures. Justin Shane changed plumbing in crawlspace to all lines into the house and outside spickets. Found out during this process that our hot water heater was rusting and was replaced. We had bath walls and vanity damaged and had to be returned and replaced. This put us behind and Lowes never offered to deliver any of the products that had to be returned. Justin took items back and got replacements. The return process took over an hour each time due to Lowes unorganized process. There was 5 items damaged when we got back here with them. Justin worked late several nights in order to keep on schedule due to Lowes terrible quality control. All in all, Justin did a great job and we would hire him again.

Description of Work
w bath renovations ,tub to shower conversions, flooring,drywall ,electrical,plumbing,pressure washing

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, pressure washing, woodworking, drain pipe, doors

Cost $19,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2019

1.0

01/31/2019


Don V.

Horrible, this guy is an absolute crook he got $4700 of my money and screwed up the entire place I am still months later re-doing everything that they did . He’s an absolute liar, he plays this little game where when you get back to the house he says oh by the way the toilet was leaking I went ahead and fixed it etc. etc. then When he asks you for money he adds more for those extra things that he didn’t actually do.Then he rushes you to get paid, and you assume because he’s on Angie’s list that he’s a professional when actually he scamming the whole time to get your money as screw you over which is what he did to me I made the mistake of trusting him. Half of the electrical in the house Don’t work at all so I asked him to do was replace an outlet and he completely screwed it up made a mess of everything he did and hid it.. if anybody has any questions or need more pictures they can call me at 336-988-9589 or text me. If you don’t get me leave a message and I’ll get back to you

Description of Work
I hired Shane to get my house ready for sale

Category remodeling

Cost $4,700

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2018

Images

Review for DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS - 7845 Dusty Trl, Germanton, NC - 37688136

+9 More

Service Provider Response

evidently this weirdo has nothing else to do but try and damage my character more and more. I tried to be classy about this situation. enough is enough. this guy came from. New York and was fired for sexual misconduct with waitresses and somehow fell Into a ton of section 8 dump a** houses. I tried to help him out but refused to put my name on anything at the house I was working on ..which btw I was the fourth contractor there and followed by his horrible workmanship. open wires in walls,live wires hanging from ceilings. things I do not do.. he wouldnt pay to have it done right.. the roof wouldnt even hold my weight. if someone bought this house I feel so sorry for them because it's a polished turd. then he rips me off for all my materials and accused me of taking a couple of 2x6s... really.. he sold 15 of his mansions for 40 k. so does that tell you anything about this registered s** offender.. hes so low as to put his 1st name on the garbage cans at his section 8 dumps. then lost at least 5 tenants why I was working there while he was riding around putting buckets in his tenants house for roof leaks instead of fixing them. wow....wonder why he was losing tenants. scatter brained man who wont even answer his phone because hes not man enough to speak to anyone except behind a text. I was there a month trying to help this scum lord and should have left after 1st week. but he promised money that was never paid and after stealing my help and trapping him in one of his shed of a homes that sits on the railroad tracks. a total of 800 sq ft which apraises for 13000 dollars and then charges him 500 a month. wow ..he pays for half the home in a year.. what a stand up guy. I have pics of all these code violations and saved text messages where he knew about these violations but wanted me to cover them up instead of fixing them. also his trade mark gutterless house is really good for the foundation too..lol. so after he conned me like the crook he is. I hope you know [Member Name Removed] no one believes this as far as I could throw you. then he came and cussed me out cause he lost his little section 8 properties. which 2 he sold he lied and said the tenants still had things in there because they were missing the entire ceilings. this is monthes later and he still has nothing to do but try and harass me so get a life YANKEE [Member Name Removed] . LET ME POST THESE WONDERFUL ADRESSES OF THESE SO CALLED HOUSES.. BTW HE KNOWS INSPECTORS SO HE CAN PAY THEM OFF BUT UR CROSSING THE LINE. WHY DONT YOU COME ON BY MY HOUSE AND WE CAN SOLVE ALL THIS IN A FEW MINUTES.. TRUST ME IT WONT TAKE LONG. THANKS HOUSE BURGLAR. oh I remember the house was [Member Information Removed] court highpoint.. maybe I'll stop by and show the homeowner a few of your code violations. keep playing this game. grow up man how old are you?? hopefully house hasn't burnt down yet or maybe I can get my materials out of it... I d*** sure dont want to start putting your text messages on my page so quit with the high school stuff. you're not hurting my business ur only making yourself look more foolish
5.0

12/15/2018


JUDY M.

The experience is always wonderful. We have uses this company since it was Nelson remode long 10 years ago. Shane actually went out of his way to come on nights and weekends to come and finish our job before the holidays. Which he usually doesn't work weekends or night. We weren't in a hurry but just wanted it done before xmas. Didn't think it was going to happen but to my surprise it was completed 10 days befor. Very professional as always and a joy to talk with. His work is very detailed and look amazing. Thanks Shane I'm not to good with technology but with the help of my daughters I finally got to leave him a review. Merry xmas Shane thank you and your team!

Description of Work
Refinish pines steps,tile front porch and paint entire house.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, interior designers, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, floor cleaning, basement remodeling

Cost $7,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2018

Images

Review for DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS - 7845 Dusty Trl, Germanton, NC - 37610268

+5 More

5.0

06/04/2018


Richard B.

Initially we asked for a full bathroom to be place in the laundry room of our basement. We also asked for the washer and dryer to be set up to work in our garage. Shane gave us an estimate of between $6000 and $8500. This was about what we wanted to spend and gave the ok. As he began to buy the materials that would address our needs he came back to us and recommended that we move one wall out 2 feet. The bathroom will be used primarily for my father who is 82 and he asked for a special shower with a seat and handles. We felt this was reasonable and were actually happy with Shane’s plan which would allow Dad more room. Shane also found a pump that would work for the shower, toilet and sink. Understandably, another estimate had to be drawn up and this brought the total cost to $11,000. Considering everything that was being done, we felt the increase was reasonable. Shane explain to us what actions he was taking throughout the project and we felt confident he would do the job right. He completed the job two weeks ago now and we are totally satisfied.

Description of Work
Adding full bathroom in basement

Category drywall, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, floor cleaning, basement remodeling

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2018

Images

Review for DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS - 7845 Dusty Trl, Germanton, NC - 37123714
5.0

05/17/2018


Natasha C.

Jon Starling did a great job & it was a pleasure having him work here. He amazed me w/how quickly & efficiently he was able to knock out the work we asked him to do. I thought he'd have to come back several times but he finished everything!

Description of Work
Various fix-it jobs

Category handyman service, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2018

5.0

09/20/2017


kenan S.

Fantastic! Couldn't have asked for better work! On time and curtious, even went as far as only using necessary tools outside because of our sleeping newborn, Mr. Nelson went above and beyond and deserves your business!

Description of Work
Replaced our shower surround and repaired rotting wood on the wall and the sub-floor; also installed a new deverter and shower head.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2015

5.0

09/12/2017


Timothy S.

Everything done well. Very particular about painting (which is good). Cleaned up and rehung all materials on walls. Friendly but not time wasting. Everything done well and as expected.

Description of Work
Painting a small bathroom, fixing a tissue hanger that was "hanging" loose, and shaving a door that was sticking.

Category woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $239

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2017

4.0

07/24/2017


Donna H.

The representative worked very hard to complete the project. The person who initially inspected and estimated the job lost the estimate. This caused some confusion and delay in getting the work completed.

Description of Work
Replacement and paint to outside of hpuse.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2017

1.0

07/10/2017


Bob P.

It took them 5 days to respond and this was it: No proem shoot me a. Axress a d ill see if i xan vet by rhere thia weem

Description of Work
I needed someone to cap the plumbing lines so I could start a bath remodel.

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

Service Provider Response

Was very busy at time and I always call people back. This person didnt call me or text me only one message through Angie's list. This would ha e been a 5 min job which if he would ha e called me I would have told him how to fix it himself with a rubber stop and a screwdriver. I wouldnt have even felt right chargi g for a service call for 5 mins of work. I cant please everyone ..
5.0

06/19/2017


Bill N.

Work was completed after additional support that was recommended was installed. Despite awful hot days the job was finished nicely and in a timely way.

Description of Work
Portions of the deck needed rotting wood replaced in much the same construction style as was originally used with new treated lumber.

Category remodeling, woodworking

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2017

4.0

06/05/2017


Laurel F.

Shane was get professional and punctual.

Description of Work
I needed to have a shower door installed. I was hoping to do some other things but I did not realize that the shower would take that long.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

5.0

05/20/2017


Kristen D.

Shane did a fantastic job - finished everything on my punch list and did it with such professionalism. I'm very pleased and will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I needed rotted boards and rails replaced on my porch; weatherstripping put on my doors; caulking for my tub; molding replaced in a closet; a covering added for the opening between my closet and whirlpool tub.

Category handyman service, woodworking

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2017

5.0

05/15/2017


kenan S.

Perfect! Couldn't have asked for a better contractor! Respectful, Clean, as well as thorough throughout the whole process and made sure every detail was to our satisfaction! Shane is a great guy with an even better work ethic and provides quality work at reasonable prices that you just don't find often nowadays.

Description of Work
Replaced shower surround and removed rotting studs as well as black mold on drywall.

Category plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2016

5.0

04/16/2017


kenan S.

Without a hitch, couldn't have gone any more smoothly!

Description of Work
Tub surround replaced.

Category home remodeling

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2016

2.0

04/15/2017


Stephanie G.

Paid for 8 hours up front. No call & no show at agreed-upon time. We were finally able to reach after several attempts & Shane & a helper showed up 6 hours later. This is what was accomplished in 4 hours (x2 workers): moved a small cabinet/island (no top on the island- easy to move) 20 feet & secured it to the floor with 8 screws. They sent my husband to buy nails (that they said ahead of time they would supply) & did nothing while he was gone. Shane used two nails to secure a piece of baseboard to a wall. Initial coat of mud applied to drywall patch. Spent the rest of the time (a LONG time) "measuring". Announced their time was up & said they'd need another 8 hours to complete the work. They took the nails we purchased for their nail gun (they used two- we spent $12). Will ask Angie's list for a refund of price paid plus the nails. Will never allow these people in my house again. It was very clear they intentionally moved very slow (or not at all) so we would have to pay for additional hours.

Description of Work
Reset a kitchen island, install shoe molding, patch a hole in drywall

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2017

Images

Review for DISCOUNT RENOVATIONS - 7845 Dusty Trl, Germanton, NC - 34832701

+1 More