Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Hardscapes LLC

Founded 2006 • With Angi since December 2011

4.6

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1000 Old Hickory Blvd

Brentwood, TN 37027

Description

Custom Hardscapes is a locally owned and operated business serving Middle Tennessee. We are committed to quality installation and customer service on a personal level with each individual client. With over 20 years experience in hardscape construction, we work with a variety of materials from

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Amy C.
1.0
10/01/2020
8 months after the work was completed the wall collapsed. One year latter they have not remedied the problem. Unprofessional defensive attitude, takes no responsibility, and very sorry we hired him.
Description of Work
retaining wall
Category
masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Dana B.
5.0
12/05/2016
Very professional - punctual. Easy to work with - great product, lovely selection of stones. Pavers match driveway perfectly. Excellent work.
Description of Work
Pavers off driveway
Category
hardscaping
Rodney K.
5.0
09/22/2016
Brien was responsive and engaged throughout the project. The end result is better than we hoped it would be.
Description of Work
We had a deteriorating 7 ft high railroad tie retaining wall supporting a concrete driveway. Brien gave us great advice and ideas about how best to not only replace the wall but greatly improve the integrity and style of the project. He gave us a competitive bid and promptly got his crew to work. The crew was great.
Category
masonry
Gerd W.
5.0
05/12/2016
Not really knowing what our options were nor what we were actually getting into, Brien did a great job explaining all the details and leaving us with lots of alternatives as far as material, layout and cost. The crew worked pretty hard in spite of the cold weather and made sure that everything looked as clean as possible once they left for the day which I really appreciated. It took a little longer than expected but that was partially due to the weather conditions and to my OCD, (I had to make some last minute changes and adjustments) :^) Overall we are very happy with the outcome and get compliments on it all the time. It is a great addition to every yard and makes outdoor living so much more comfortable and enjoyable. Since I was not quite ready to complete the gas fire pit (all the internal parts and glass beads to make it run on gas) , I got a wood fire pit sitting on top of it for the time being and Brien said he would come back and guide me on completion of that once I'm ready which he actually already did a couple month ago, calling me to just check on everything and I was surprised that he remembered the unfinished fire pit. Should I decide to have another project of that nature, I would definitely hire them again.
Description of Work
Brien and his crew built us a patio in the backyard with a fire pit and retaining/sitting walls as well as a walkway leading to it from the driveway in front of the house
Category
hardscaping, patios
brigitte W.
1.0
05/05/2016
I left a message looking for a call back to discuss my needs. They called back two days later. The gentleman wanted me to figure out if the job was worth his time. He didn't want to be bothered coming out and giving an estimate just wanted to throw a number out on the phone and have me agree. Most unprofessional company I have every been in contact with. Perhaps they should include that they only do jobs $25,000 and above. These folks shouldn't even be on Angie's list. wow.
Description of Work
I needed a 40 ft retaining wall and various hardscapes throughout my property. My neighbor who has an a long and high wall needs it replaced roughly 60ft maybe more. We thought it made sense to do them at the same time. PROVIDER DID ZERO - COULD NOT BE BOTHERED TO COME TAKE A LOOK AND GIVE AN ESTIMATE.
Category
concrete repair, masonry, stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

I'm very sorry but this review has been posted for the wrong company. I never spoke with this member, and would have been happy to meet with them right away for a price quote. As you can see by all of our positive reviews we do many small jobs and always complete them with quality & care. We take a lot of pride in every project from the start to finish. Thank you
Lindsey S.
5.0
02/10/2016
Overall, this was a good experience. The patio ended up looking great. Brian and his crew were punctual and worked hard from beginning to end. Brian was great about bringing me samples of the pavers and countertops for the outdoor grill area, so I always knew what I was getting in advance. The only issue we had with the project was the fireplace/grill company, Embers. There was a bit of a miscommunication in the beginning. Brian mentioned that they worked with Embers, but I thought they would just be running the gas line and setting up the firepit. I was not aware that I had to order my grill from them. I ordered my grill elsewhere and I was left with no one to install it. Embers was extremely rude and difficult. One of Brian's men eventually hooked up the grill, but I'll never be sure if it was done correctly. Embers did run the gas line, but I later found out from Piedmont Natural Gas that it was run incorrectly. Embers had to return to fix it. That's much more a reflection on Embers that it is on Custom Hardscapes. I just wish they had clearly communicated that my grill needed to be purchased from Embers in order to have it hooked up. The patio is beautiful and we've spent many days and nights out there in the almost two years since it's been completed. They also installed a drainage system as we were having issues with the porch flooding. We haven't had any such issues since, so I believe they do solid work.
Description of Work
We had a screen in porch taken down and a patio with built-in grill and fire pit built in our backyard.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens
Eric B.
5.0
12/04/2015
Service was great. Everything was completed on time and within budget. Excellent experience.
Description of Work
Poured concrete driveway, walkway and patio.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Christopher G.
2.0
11/09/2015
Work was completed in March 2014. By November, we had begun experiencing structural issues with the roof and gutters. Brien asked me to contact Jon Rossi (whom Brien had hired to do his roofing work) and let him know. Instead of Brien taking the initiative, I attempted to contact Jon and he was unresponsive. I let Brien know that my multiple attempts to contact Jon were unsuccessful. I didn't take any further action through the holidays and re-contacted Brien in Feb after developing additional leaks and structural issues - I sent pics to him showing the evidence. He asked me to wait until the weather warmed up to pursue further which ended up being in April. By then I was getting ready to deploy (I'm a National Guardsman) for a few months and wanted to get plans in place before I left so that my wife wouldn't be left with resolving in my absence. At that point he referred me (again lacking the initiative on his part to resolve) to contact Dave Mansfield. I began my communications with Dave Mansfield before I left in April and they continued from long distance until July after several communications in which I repeatedly asked him (as I had asked Brien) to go by my home and see the situation with the roof structure and gutters. I had even sent pics to Dave Mansfield several times in which he claimed he didn't have them, lost them, etc. Finally on July 16, 2015 I gave Brien notice that I would give him 30 days to get a plan in place to resolve. By August 4, 2015 I reached out to him since he had not responded to me. He then told me that the 30 day timeframe to simply get a plan in place was "unrealistic". All Brien had to do was coordinate/schedule a plan and let me know how it was going to be resolved. To date, there has NEVER been a single instance of any follow-up on Brien's part since the day he was first contacted one year ago. Brien is good with coming out to arrange the initial plans/estimate/build of a project when you express interest in his services. What Brien does NOT understand is the service aspect AFTER the sale and being responsible for your product and those products/services provided through him. His lack of willingness and inability to be proactive and take control of service issues and actually follow-through AFTER the sale is a reflection of his service integrity. Not one time did he proactively get in contact with me to ask further questions and attempt to resolve, I had to reach out to him each and every time. I would advise anyone who's contemplating using Brien's services and values service (if needed) AFTER the sale to be extremely cautious! Based on my experience, I would NOT recommend his services.
Description of Work
Custom Hardscapes built a covered patio and fireplace behind our home.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Marcia W.
5.0
10/27/2015
It took about 3 weeks, turned out beautifully. It is exactly as we envisioned. He didn't do wood work, but provided us with the name of a deck builder to finish the job.
Description of Work
We had tiers placed in the front of the townhouse, a large patio with gas fireplace, a garden bed and small path put in to get to the deck from the back.
Category
decks, landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Vincent R.
5.0
10/15/2015
Brien and his crew did a great job on our back patio. Brien is very professional and his crew worked very quickly and efficiently. It was an easy contractor to work with. No issues.
Description of Work
Removed failed slate tiles from patio and installed pre-cut natural stone over existing concrete patio. Brien also repaired a broken section of brick wall and installed landscaping boulders.
Category
concrete repair, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
Michael B.
5.0
10/05/2015
Custom Hardscapes was very professional. They worked with me on price and style. What I wanted originally was difficult due to the site so Brien came out 3 separate times and kept working with me. Now I have an amazing driveway. I will certainly use them again.
Description of Work
Semi circle drive way.
Category
hardscaping
Albert J.
5.0
10/01/2015
Removed small concrete patio and installed larger paver patio. Turned out great.
Description of Work
Removed small concrete patio and installed larger paver patio. Turned out great.
Category
concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Thomas B.
5.0
08/24/2015
Custom Hardscapes was the 7th business we reached out to for a quote on our outdoor backyard project following 6 meetings with other local companies that produced no actionable results. Brien DeGryse met with us and provided a detailed competitive quote within the week we first met and reviewed each phase of the project line by line allowing us to make the necessary adjustments to keep the project within budget. Despite many interruptions in the project due to poor weather in February and March Brien kept in constant communication by phone or text ensuring we were aware of when his team would be onsite to work. Brien provided creative alternatives and suggestions to the project and directed us towards suppliers that offered a broad range of material options. His team kept the project site clean and organized and we never had an issue with anyone on his crew. Our fireplace and entertainment area was truly a custom designed project and we have greatly enjoyed our new backyard this summer!! Thank you Brien!!
Description of Work
Build a Custom Patio, Walkway, Grill Station, Fireplace, Retaining Wall
Category
landscaping, masonry, hardscaping, patios
Gail P.
3.0
06/17/2015
Once I added the deal on Angie's List it was totally up to me to get the contractor to connect. It took a couple of weeks We agreed on additional service, but communication and follow through were spotty. The final product was great - getting there was a chore. Job was finally completed yesterday when contractor came back to put down straw over the grass seed I had to spread. Not part of the original agreement. Will not use vendor again!
Description of Work
Built a stone border for mulch beds, installed retaining wall and improved drainage issues on side of home.
Category
masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Gail S.
1.0
06/11/2015
The initial work was great. We did not know at the time but the stone on the steps was not glued as it should have been. Only the sand was put in the seams. Move the last 2-1/2 years the sand has washed out and the stones are now loose causing a hazard. I talked to the owner of Custom Hardscapes who we worked with on the project and he said he would come fix them. This was in April. Since Inspoke with him he has not responded to text or phone calls. I contacted the Better Business Bureau and am waiting for a response from them. The stone on the steps now presents a falling hazard as they Rock when stepped on. I would not recommend this business as they will not follow through to repair work that was done incorrectly the first time.
Description of Work
Did a stone patio with steps from house.
Category
pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
Lynn R.
1.0
04/28/2015
They don't even call me back. I am not sure I would use them again.
Description of Work
I contacted Custom Hardscapes on April 3rd and they never did any service.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We are located in the Nashville, Tennessee area....Panama City Beach Fl? Is a further response to this complaint really needed???
Amanda M.
1.0
03/10/2015
He never called me back after giving me an estimate
Description of Work
I could never get him to answer my questions
Category
hardscaping

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], I have been looking over my schedule over the past couple months and I am unable to locate the date that we met, please send me that information if you don't mind. If I was did not respond to any questions you had in time I apologize, but we consistently working on improving customer service and I would personally appreciate any feedback that you can offer to help provide the level of service that you and all of our potential clients deserve. Thanks, I look forward to hearing from you, and again, I appologize for not responding in adequate timing. Brien
Marie D.
5.0
02/04/2015
We had 4 different landscaping companies look at our property, discuss design ideas, and provide an estimate. Brien's vision for the space FAR exceeded what the other 3 companies had to offer. As we had the work done in an off-peak season, he was able to get his team on the job quickly (a 3 day wait as they finished another job). The team that came to do our work was professional and courteous. As they were working it was plain to see they knew exactly what they were doing and although ours was a large project, they had it well in hand. Brien was quick to answer any questions I had via text or phone and when adjustments or changes to the plan were requested he handled them with ease. The result of the project was even better than how Brien described it during the design phase! We could not be happier with the outcome of the project and look forward to having Custom Hardscapes do more work for us in the fall. I highly recommend this company and will definitely be doing business with them again soon.
Description of Work
Made enhancements to an existing retaining wall, added another small retaining wall, installed steps on either side of a large retaining wall, and extended a paver patio an additional 20 feet.
Category
hardscaping
James D.
5.0
11/11/2014
From the first contact to the last, Brien was incredibly professional and courteous. I thought I would be pleased with the finished product, but I had no idea how much. It is amazing! When all the work was done the guys threw seed grass seed down and covered it with straw as well. I'm very pleased with my new patio and fire pit, and I can not recommend these guys enough.
Description of Work
Built paverstone patio with fire pit and sitting wall over existing aggregate patio
Category
hardscaping, patios
Eva W.
5.0
11/11/2014
It was an excellent experience from start to finish. I truly couldn't be happier with the service and the work completed. Brien arrived to assess the project within hours of initially calling him. The quote was delivered soon after and was clear, detailed and accurate. Communication and updates were timely and helpful. Also, the project began sooner than expected, which was definitely an added bonus. The work performed was not only well done, but the team did an excellent job keeping the work area organized and clean during the entire job. The dividing wall was exactly what I asked for and exactly what was promised in the quote. Brien and his team were great to work with throughout the entire process. I definitely recommend Custom Hardscapes and will be using them for future projects.
Description of Work
They replaced a large dividing wall between my condo patio and my neighbor's.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Nancy R.
5.0
10/06/2014
This is our second time to use Custom Hardscapes. They did such an excellent job remodeling our front porch, front steps, and landing a few weeks ago, that we chose to go ahead and finish the walkway to the driveway and add a rock wall as well. We are very pleased with Brien and the work of his men. Brien always answered my questions when I had concerns about anything, and helped talk me through the design process when I wasn't sure about how I wanted the wall done. He gave me good ideas and used his extensive design knowledge to show me what would look good and why. I would definitely use his company again.
Description of Work
Installed a new stone walkway from the driveway to the front door, and put in a new rock wall from end of walkway to garage.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Nancy R.
5.0
09/25/2014
Brien was great to work with. He was always available to talk to me about concerns along the way. The workmen always cleaned up at the end of each day. I had some issues with some of the work the subcontractors did, but Brien was able to correct things when needed, and It turned out great in the end. We are so pleased, and are in fact, hiring Brien again to finish the walkway with the same stone.
Description of Work
We had our front porch redone from 1970's aggregate and brick with a wrought iron post, to a beautiful stone and natural rock, with a square, wooden column and new wrought iron rails.
Category
masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Gary D.
5.0
08/26/2014
Brian met with us and went over the cost and design of the patio. He was very helpful with suggestions. He finalized the design and gave us a quote on the project. We agreed on a price and signed the agreement ( contract was not done). The work was begun on time and was completed on time. The work crew were excellent (though limited in English). They worked long and hard were artisans in the work. They exceeded my expectations. The workmanship was very good. I had seen picutures but the final product was superb. The patio floor design was inticate, the seating wall was well placed and the walk was beautiful. I can't understate how well the patio turned out. There was one minor problem we had. I called Brian and his crew came out and fixed it to my satisfaction with no hassle or cost. Brian is a man of his word. His crew are hardworking professionals.
Description of Work
Patio, seating wall, steps, and walkway.
Category
hardscaping
Marianne G.
5.0
08/22/2014
He was prompt and personable. We ended up not putting in the pathway at this time.
Description of Work
Came and did an estimate for a paver pathway
Category
hardscaping
Brandon B.
5.0
08/22/2014
I was very happy with Brien and the quality work from him and his team. Brien was very easy to work with and I never had any issues getting a hold of him or setting up appointments to meet up. He answered all of my questions and even provided suggestions/input on some of the details of the project that I hadn't thought about. His crew was exceptional. They were extremely efficient and worked very hard, long hours to get the job done as quick as possible. Anytime I noticed a small chip here or there throughout the project, they had no problem attending to it right away. They were very friendly anytime I had direct contact with them. I am planning on having a second patio built with a fire pit and will use Custom Hardscapes again as I was very happy
Description of Work
Built an outdoor patio with pavers, a kitchen and fireplace that were faced with manufactured stone. Coordinated gas line installation as well.
Category
fireplaces, gas leak repair, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mckennon's Concrete LLC.

    Mckennon's Concrete has been up and running for 6 years. We do concrete work, driveways, porches,steps,slabs,walkways,and plenty more of your concrete needs. But we don't end there we also are Licensed Septic installers ! We work with gravel,churt,and rocks.  

    Angi Certified

    Volts & Bolts

    Here at Volts & Bolts we are your Outdoor Landscape Lighting expert for installation and Services! Is it dark in front of you home? That’s where we can help. LED Up lights, path lights, any lights we can get them! Serving all Middle TN. FREE Estimates!  

    Angi Certified

    Elite Grading and Excavation

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today! You can find us on Instagram at elite grading and excavation  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial Installation & Custom Hardscape Design, Stonework, Patio, Retaining Walls, Masons, Landscape Lighting, Fireplaces, Driveways & Pergolas.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Hardscapes LLC

    How is Custom Hardscapes LLC overall rated?

    Custom Hardscapes LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Hardscapes LLC open?

    Custom Hardscapes LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Custom Hardscapes LLC provide

    Custom Hardscapes LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Custom Hardscapes LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Hardscapes LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Hardscapes LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Custom Hardscapes LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Hardscapes LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Custom Hardscapes LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Hardscapes LLC?

    Yes, Custom Hardscapes LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Hardscapes LLC offer?

    Custom Hardscapes LLC offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Installation & Custom Hardscape Design, Stonework, Patio, Retaining Walls, Masons, Landscape Lighting, Fireplaces, Driveways & Pergolas.