Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

WINTER'S FLOORING

Founded 1977 • With Angi since June 2010

4.5

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4696 DRUCK VALLEY RD

York, PA 17406

Description

Hello and welcome to Winter's Flooring. We are a full service, flooring contractor, serving the York area since 1977. Our exceptional service to residential and commercial clients is evident in every job we have taken and we stand by our work - always. We have handled all variety of jobs, from

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Judith F.
5.0
02/25/2021
very, very well; a good thorough job and neat work, and cleaned up well; and reasonable price
Description of Work
strip carpet and finish hardwood flooring
Category
hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed],. I hope your new floors give you much enjoyment
Rebecca J B.
5.0
10/09/2018
I could not have been more happy with the job Mike did and his extremely fair price. When I saw the floors after I had the carpet removed, I thought to myself, omg; this is going to cost me an arm and a leg, because it figured it was very labor intensive. I could not believe the reasonable estimate Mike gave me and I said yes, immediately, cancelling all other appointments because he showed me pictures of his work and another person couldn't even come to give an estimate for 2 weeks after Mike was there. Mike stuck to the price, the schedule and everything. His workers were extremely polite. The only thing that was not in the estimate, and Mike explained this before hand, if he could not sand out some of the deeper spots he might have to replace the boards. This did happen; but, he gave me the choice to replace and didn't do any without checking. Again the price was more than fair, less than I expected and you just cannot imagine how much I love my new hard woodfloors. I would absolutely hire Mike and Winter's Floors again and I would recommend him to my friends. I will because I have another large room, but just didn't have the money. Only one bad thing and it's not really Mike's fault -- it's technology. Before I had all the rooms painted, I washed down the baseboards and window sills, etc. While Mike has dust containment equipment, it is not 100% perfect. While hanging the new draperies, I noticed just a slight amount of dust on the window sills and baseboards. Dang, I had to do it again and don't like it. But that's not Mike's fault and I just love my floors. If I could give Mike 10 stars, I would. You cannot miss with him doing your hardwood floors.
Description of Work
I had hardwood floors redone in a house that was built in 1954. At least 30 years ago, if not 35, they covered the wood with carpet and it stayed that way. There were a lot of spots where the padding like stuck a little to the floor and more animal urine stains than I ever imagined.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much! I hope your new floors give your home the fresh look you were looking forward to. Always a pleasure to serve you.
Nicholas M.
5.0
03/09/2018
Mike and his team did an amazing job refinishing our hardwood floors. They took worn floors and restored them to beautiful floors. They fixed any part of the floor that needed it and left our house clean and dust free. They did such a great job that we immediately hired him to tile our downstairs hallway. The young man who installed the tile floor did a fantastic job. Mike and his team are very nice, courteous, respectful, and knowledgeable. They transformed our home, not just our floors, from dated to updated and rejuvenated. If they could do that for our house, they can do it for yours. Thanks for jobs well done.
Description of Work
Refinishing hardwood floors and installing tile floor
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Bill G.
5.0
02/26/2018
Mike's team ran into an issue with subflooring by the sliding door, but quoted and repaired the issue to keep the project on time. They helped us find an excellent product and installed it on a diagonal with a 45 deg angle for high traffic area to the basement doorway. The other contractors who came in afterwards commented that his work was 'meticulous'. We love it!
Description of Work
quoted, helped in selection, and installed a new kitchen floor within timeline of kitchen remodel. on time and on budget!
Category
flooring contractor
John I.
5.0
10/23/2017
Absolutely beautiful work. Very professional, highly responsive, and worked within our availability and timelines. High quality work. We honestly didn't realize just how nice our house could look until they had come through! We've received countless compliments, and I've touted the Winter's Flooring name on multiple occasions, now. We'd use them again in a heartbeat!
Description of Work
We had our entire first floor (but for bathrooms and kitchen) replaced with hardwood.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Jennifer G.
5.0
10/23/2017
Both jobs were completed in a timely and professional manner. I would happily use Winter's Flooring for future jobs and have recommended them to family and friends.
Description of Work
Winter's Flooring has completed several flooring jobs for me and I have been extremely pleased with the results. Their work has included installation of hard woods in my living room and sun room and installation of ceramic tiles in the basement.
Category
ceramic tile, hardwood floor
Trent D.
5.0
10/19/2017
They did an amazing job. It went very fast and everything met or exceeded our expectation.
Description of Work
Winter's flooring installed a new tile floor in our break room and carpet throughout our office.
Category
flooring contractor
Paul C.
5.0
10/19/2017
Everything when just as planned. Started on the date that was scheduled and completed on the scheduled date as well. Job was left clean and professional contractor.
Description of Work
Re-finish hardwood floors
Category
flooring contractor
Harold S.
5.0
10/11/2017
The men showed up on time and assisted in moving the furniture out of the way. They began work and when done cleaned up and assisted me in replacing the furniture.
Description of Work
Replaced the carpet in my home office.
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir all in a days work with Winter's Flooring LLC
Shaun F.
5.0
10/11/2017
Did a fantastic job on the floors. They look better than new. Also came back and repaired some damage I had done at a reasonable price. Mike is very knowledgeable on what needed to be done to get the floors to look as best as possible
Description of Work
Refinishing hardwood floors and also installed a tile back splash in the kitchen
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir. If you need anything let me know.
James G.
5.0
10/09/2017
Mike did an awesome job! Our kitchen (720 sq. feet) had two levels and Mike's team of very hard working, professional and courteous men were able to make it one level. The tiles came out beautifully. We have Brazilian Cherry hardwood floors (2000 sq. feet). The floors look amazing. Unfortunately, we put some scratches on the floor right after Mike was finished and he came back and repaired them. I give Mike my highest recommendation!
Description of Work
Wood floors refinished and kitchen tiles replaced.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work for this customer. He had a need of getting his Tile flooring torn out and replaced. and had a lot of pre finished Brazilian Cherry to restore. He had a mishap with his floor and scratched it moving in a appliance but we were able to fix it for him good as new. This job was done during the same time frame as my previous review and is a better example of a fair review of how we take care of our customers. If your looking for excellence just give us a call. Michael Winter Winter's Flooring LLC
Melissa Y.
1.0
10/01/2017
DO NOT HIRE for Hardwood Floor installation and/or refinishing! Worst experience ever. They totally messed up our house. Broke a couple of items, installed and sanded the floor incorrectly. Marked up our walls. Made a total mess of our house. Never cleaned up anything. When we questioned or pointed things out, the customer (we) were blamed by Winters. Do NOT recommend. Astonished that this company is in the business of installing and finishing real hardwood floors.
Description of Work
New hardwood floor
Category
hardwood floor
Diann C.
5.0
07/03/2017
Very nice job. Can't tell the old from the new.
Description of Work
Sanded and refinished existing hardwood floors. Added new hardwood to three rooms.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Julia M.
5.0
09/09/2016
Mike and his crew were punctual, dependable and friendly. They did an outstanding job repairing areas of damage and matching to existing floor. Dust control was remarkably effective and the floors which I once thought were hopelessly in need of replacement now look like new! Mike is highly responsive to follow up calls and concerns no matter how small. It was a pleasure to have them do our refinishing job which involved approximately 1000 sq feet of oak hardwood flooring.
Description of Work
Hardwood floor refinishing.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], Customers like you make the job fun!
Suzanne R.
5.0
06/09/2016
Our goal was to spruce everything up and re-sell. Mike was easy to work with and was able to recommend the optimal and most cost effective products for our needs. A second estimate that we had received was very close and confirmed that the pricing was within the proper range. Mike worked well within our time constraints and has been very attentive. I liked that he was comfortable using texting as our main mode of communication, as this was easiest for me. The job was done very quickly and efficiently. The place looks great.
Description of Work
Mike and his co-worker removed and replaced all of the carpeting in our two bedroom town house and installed new vinyl in two baths, kitchen and foyer.
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Glad we could get the opportunity to work for you on this project. Job went smooth, on schedule and results were like the customer was imagining. I love it when a plan comes together. Michael Winter Winter's Flooring
Larry W.
5.0
11/29/2015
Winter?s Flooring used a truly dustless sanding system to remover years of wear and tear from our hardwood flooring, they sealed it, and then put on 3 (not 2 like the others quoted!) layers of Polyurethane to protect our floors for YEARS to come. They also filled in where the old radiator pipes had come through the flooring just because it looked so much better! When they were done, other than having done an AWESOME JOB, you wouldn't have known they were here because they cleaned up so well. Don't mess with the rest, go with Winter?s as they did a great job - on time and on budget!
Description of Work
They repaired and refinished our hardwood flooring on two floors as well as the steps.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

This Job was done in a two part schedule. Sand one side finish and the other at a different time. Thanks L for the work and all the referrals you have sent me so far. Michael Winter Winter's flooring LLC
Shyla L.
5.0
11/17/2015
We purchased a 90-year-old house with beautiful oak floors with walnut inlays. At least, the floors had been beautiful once--they were in pretty rough shape. We had planned to refinish at some point, but when our out-of-state house sold and we needed to move in our grand piano within a couple weeks, suddenly we were in need of an immediate floor refinishing. I called Mike Winter, who came over to look at the situation. What a great decision we were hurled into! Having gotten unbelievably short notice ("Everything has to be done in a week!"), Mike scheduled his guys to come in the next week--including on a weekend--to completely refinish 1000+ square feet of flooring. Not only were the fellows absolute professionals, they were personable and gracious, when I was completely frazzled. The end result was just spectacular. Underneath 90 years of living were floors more beautiful than I had ever imagined. The finish we agreed on brought out the wood's beauty. The skill with which it was applied was obvious--there simply wasn't a flaw, anywhere--and we have two dogs who are serious shedders (nary a dog hair wound up in the finish). And the top coat is tough--Mike recommended a commercial finish to stand up to dog nails, and it is perfect. Mike was also thorough in explaining how to care for it initially (as it cured), and long term. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Winter's Flooring, nor recommend them strongly enough. When we are ready to have our remaining floors refinished, there is no question that we will use Mike and his crew. Just wonderful!
Description of Work
Sanded and refinished 90-year-old oak floors with walnut inlays.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] and her husband were a pleasure to work for. I hope to do more work for them in the future.
George C.
4.0
11/09/2015
The job went well and we were mostly happy with the results. One little problem came up as one of the oak planks delaminated and the fix was a little sloppy. The hole was filled with resin. The plank probably should have been replaced
Description of Work
revfinished oak floor
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] was a pleasure to work for and we were able to restore his floor. He had a older pine floor that had a splinter in in and our option was to replace the board with a new piece or epoxy the existing one. we run into this problem with old floors alot. If you replace it with new the new board sticks out like a sore thumb. if you epoxy it it is less noticeable from a distance but you can see it up close. all in all the floor came out really well i only wish we could have found a board the same age and species as his floor to make it perfect. I would like to work for Mr [member name removed] again.
Mark D.
1.0
11/09/2015
I was shocked when I saw Winter's Flooring pop up on Angie's list and felt I needed to warn people despite my problem happening 6 years ago. I would not allow this man into my home again, he has no respect for property. We hired Mike Winter to install a kitchen backsplash using expensive green marble tile we had pre-purchased. He assured us he knew what he was doing and promised to protect our new kitchen countertops while he worked. It was a two day installation. I came home on the second day and found my house completely trashed. He appears to have grabbed his tools and bolted before we came home to see the mess. The tile job itself was bad, tiles were installed uneven and the grout was really bad with gaps and holes everywhere. Worse, it appears he tried to polish the grout off in some type of hurray by using a power tool. The result was that he basically sprayed white, gritty grout water all over my kitchen, up under all of the upper cabinets, splattered my Stainless Steel refrigerator and stove, splattered my new quartz countertops (that he never covered as discussed) and even splattered this mess to the lower cabinets and onto our wood floors. It was like a bomb of white residue had exploded in our kitchen and he literally left it that way for us to clean up without so much as note or message. The lack of respect for our home was appalling, it took hours to cleanup and the end result of his handiwork was $700 of beautiful marble tile being chiseled off the walls. I would absolutely never let this man do work in my home again. I wasn't a member of Angie's list then, but I am now specifically because of Mike Winter.
Description of Work
Installed kitchen backsplash tile (tile was purchased by us).
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

This is a surprise to me. I do not recall ever doing this job. I have never installed a tile jobe that a customer was not happy with. I never used power tools to buff off grout. I have never used sanded grout on marble tile( everyone knows you cant do that it will scratch the marble. I believe these customers who I do not recall doing work for have me mixed up with another company.
Nancy S.
3.0
07/17/2015
The floors look beautiful. My only complaints were that he did not clean up and left saw dust all over the first floor. He also got stain on my carpets in three of my rooms and hallway. I have had a professional carpet cleaner out to try and get the stains up. The carpet cleaners were not able to get the stains up and they will more than likely have to be replaced. When I called and brought this to his attention he denied leaving saw dust and refused to respond. The experience went from A to F.
Description of Work
Refinished my hardwood floors in my kitchen, eating area, hallways, and powder room.
Category
hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

I was contacted by [removed member name]to do some flooring work and she had wanted to purchased a deal I had on Angies list. She waited a couple months to start the project and the deal expired. I gave it to her anyway because I wanted to keep her happy. we finished the job and restored her flooring which was in terrible condition. dirt and grime ground into the floor and to the point it had to be sanded off and restored. I should have gotten an A for the work we did but I am used to getting this kind of unfair grading from some of my customers who no matter how hard i try to make happy still complain. there was a little dust I had but it was minimal only in kitchen area and I cleaned it all up before we pulled final coat. after giving her a discount that had expired, restoring her floor to like new conditions and waiting six month to get paid for the job I got a bad review. She never told me she had any stains on her carpet, if I had know I cold have addressed that. in her one words she said the floors are beautiful, why not an A for quality? I had my attorney go after her for the money she owed me and that is why she is coming up with all this stuff. I had a feeling when I started this job she was going to be trouble and no matter how hard I tried to please her she was difficult. I get customers like this every once and a while and there is no way to avoid it. I only hope my customers will notice that most of my customers have a great experience with Winter's Flooring LLC.
EDWARD R A.
5.0
06/17/2015
It went very quick. He was very professional.
Description of Work
Measured 4 rooms and provided quotes for Carpeting, Tiling a Basement Floor and Installing a wooden Floor. The prices on the room quotes were much higher than I expected. I decided to wait until I have more money to do the jobs.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for the good review. Let me know when you are ready and we can proceed.
Jennifer N.
5.0
10/03/2014
Mike and all of his crew were very communicative and courteous. They walked us through the process ahead of time, always shows up on time, and finished the job on the completed finish date. Mike wasn't happy with one part of the work (trim around our fireplace) and he redid it all before they sanded and finished it. They have a keen eye for detail. I'm a relatively detail oriented person and they noticed things I would have looked over. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Phase #1 (approximately $3K) Refinished upstairs (Sanded, finished with 3 coats of oil based polyurethane. Phase #2 (approximately $7K) Demo tile and carpet. Installed select grade oak, sanded and finished it with 3 coats of oil based polyurethane. Sanded and refinished stairs and treads. Stained to match floor. Finished with 3 coast of poly.
Category
flooring contractor
Michael M.
5.0
09/24/2014
The quality of the work was beyond our expectation! With this new floor we turned our nice sun room into a masterpiece. Winter's Flooring was very easy to deal with and their attention to detail makes this room beautiful.
Description of Work
Porcelain Ceramic Floor for Sun Room.
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Quality in service is our motto. It gives me allot of satisfaction to know that my work has pleased my customers. Mr and Mrs [removed member name] were a pleasure to work for.
Patricia K.
5.0
03/03/2014
They patched in flooring to cover the hole from an old gravity furnace (36" square opening in the middle of the living room) then sanded and refinished all the wood. They were courteous and very responsive to my schedule and tried to keep me informed if there were any schedule changes. I was very happy with the people and the work. They are craftsmen.
Description of Work
Refinished pine floors in a 1920's home refurbishment, 5 rooms, hallways and stairs.
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work for [member name removed]. Her floor was a challenge but we like a good challenge.
Lisa F.
5.0
08/27/2013
Excellent response time. Needed the work done immediately and he accommodated us. Starting the day after we accepted the quote and the job was done within a week. The floors were wavy and stained. All wave is gone and most of the stains. It almost looks as if we put in new floors. Quality and professionalism was fantastic. Would definitely use again and recommend to others.
Description of Work
Sand and finish foyer, living room, dining room and steps.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

This floor was in really bad shape. It was cupped really bad and had a lot of stains. Another contractor that I will not mention his name showed hesitation in doing this job but we like a challenge. With a little t.l.c. the job was restored to like new conditions. Really proud of this one. This house is up for sale and if you want a good looking starter house this is it, floors are beautiful.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Basement Gurus

    We have over 30 years of combined experience. We are family owned and operated and certified. We aim to please we want 100% guaranteed satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    Liberty Basement Systems

    Liberty Basement Systems is your trusted local expert for basement waterproofing, crawl space repair, and foundation repair services. Using patented products with industry-leading warranties, we provide permanent solutions for your home. Have a wet basement or nasty crawl space? Tilted, bowing, or cracked foundation walls? Our team of professionals can help. Basement Systems, Inc. products and solutions have been used to fix homes in the Eastern & Central PA area since 2009. We proudly serve homeowners and businesses throughout Eastern & Central PA. This includes Scranton, Reading, Allentown, and the surrounding areas. Contact us today to schedule your free evaluation and no-obligation cost estimate at 570-998-4540.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Devere Flooring & Remodeling

    DeVere Flooring and Remodeling is a small family owned Lancaster county based business. We specialize in hardwood, bamboo, luxury vinyl plank and laminate flooring installation and repairs. We also offer services ranging from carpentry, tiling to painting and much more. Ben(the founder and owner) has been in the construction industry for over 15 years and brings a strong work ethic, skilled craftsmanship and integrity to every job no matter the size. We look forward to making your dream for your home a reality.  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    PA014752
    Trade License Locale
    Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    Office of PA attorney general
    Trade License Expiration
    07/01/2020
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We sell and/or install any type of flooring including tile, carpet, vinyl, laminate, hardwood, Luxury Vinyl Tile and Luxury Vinyl Plank.

    Services Not Offered

    Floor cleaning,stripping and waxing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about WINTER'S FLOORING

    How is WINTER'S FLOORING overall rated?

    WINTER'S FLOORING is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are WINTER'S FLOORING open?

    WINTER'S FLOORING is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does WINTER'S FLOORING provide

    WINTER'S FLOORING accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does WINTER'S FLOORING offer free estimates?

    Yes, WINTER'S FLOORING offers free project estimates.

    Does WINTER'S FLOORING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, WINTER'S FLOORING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does WINTER'S FLOORING offer a senior discount?

    Yes, WINTER'S FLOORING offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by WINTER'S FLOORING?

    Yes, WINTER'S FLOORING offers warranties.

    What services does WINTER'S FLOORING offer?

    WINTER'S FLOORING offers the following services: We sell and/or install any type of flooring including tile, carpet, vinyl, laminate, hardwood, Luxury Vinyl Tile and Luxury Vinyl Plank.

    Are there any services WINTER'S FLOORING does not offer?

    Floor cleaning,stripping and waxing