Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Appleby Systems Inc

Founded 1977 • With Angi since July 2008

3.4

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3850 Lehigh St

Whitehall, PA 18052

Description

Finanacing available. No Subs....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

04/03/2017


Joshua P.

The quote I received was for $36,456, which works out to be more than $1,700 per window--an absolutely ridiculous price, and I brought out a flyer from a competitor advertising replacements at $209 each to prove that. I was also told the $36,000+ price is actually a 'good deal' because Renewal by Anderson windows, the rep said, are of lesser quality and would cost me about $52,000. I was polite but at that point I just wanted them out the door. I honestly don't know how they were able to stand there and quote me those prices with a straight face. I don't live in a million dollar house or even close to it. I live in a house that cost about twice as much as the price Appleby quoted me, and I don't have $12,000 cash just laying around for a downpayment on windows, or anything else for that matter. And a $500 monthly payment? Forget it. To spend that much on windows in a modest twin would be stupid, and the rep had to know the price he was quoting me was massively inflated. They left me feeling like I had just wasted 90 minutes of my life listening to dishonest businesspeople and I have honestly considered contacting the BBB, especially now that another company rep contacted me and asked me to let another higher-up person come into my home and provide me with an alternative quote for their lower-cost (and presumably lesser quality) commercial grade windows. I said, "No thanks, especially after reading online reviews about Appleby" and he quickly ended the conversation. I wouldn't trust this company to put a nail in my house let alone replace all my windows.

Description of Work
After being approached by a salesperson in a local Walmart two representatives came to my home for a consultation and to provide me with an estimate for 21 new replacement windows.

Category replacement windows

1.0

01/22/2016


Hilary P.

Horrible! Worst experience I've ever had with a business. I wouldn't recommend this company to an enemy. They don't show up to appointments and don't call before or after to apologize. It's a wonder how they are still in business.

Description of Work
I was contacted by Applebys because my wife entered a contest they were running. They said they would come out for a free estimate and arranged a date. On the day of the appointment they cancelled two hours prior due to salesman car problems. We set another date for the following week and they no call no showed despite an email and call confirming the appointment. When I called to see what the problem was they said they would check with the salesman and call me back. They never called back and hung up on me when I checked an hour later. The following day I called and was told they would have a manager call me and give an explanation. That call never came either. They break appointments and lie. I was told three times that a manger would call me and I'm still waiting. What's amazing is they contacted me to give an estimate.

Category replacement windows

4.0

04/10/2015


Sandra H.

Description of Work
too expensive, but good windows and service

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/20/2014


Robin A.

Description of Work
I had a bay window installed in my dining room. It is BEAUTIFUL. The workmen did a great job. I had to have a new sill installed to incorporate the bay, which they did. All joints are fitted and clean. They cleaned up after themselves, both inside and outside. Price could have been better, but a lower price might not have gotten me such good work.

Category replacement windows

2.0

03/29/2014


Michael S.

We were very clear on the phone with the person setting up the appointment we didn't have plans of buying windows when they came out, but were open to the consultation and estimate. The salesman started with the estimate and right off the bat told us that things we had done to help our old windows this winter "never work" which I found offensive and kind of rude. He then went in to his whole pitch and was demonstrating the windows, which were impressive, however VERY expensive (7 windows for the approximate cost of service- thirteen grand). During the demonstration he referenced the quality of their work and windows and asked if we looked at sites such as Angie's list and then went on to bash it and say "anyone can pay to get on there- which is why we don't recommend them, we have 30 years experience and we're still around- just check the better business bureau where we're an A+ rated company" We had to tell him at least 6 times that we weren't buying the windows that night. He then offered a year of no payments or financing in an effort to get the sale and even tried reducing the price by about 25% if we were to 'lock in' that night. I finally told him we may consider it in the future, but we'd have to look at some financial things first. He pushed harder and asked what we'd need to look at, and why we wouldn't want to lock in that night. All in all he was at our house for almost 2 hours and was visibly agitated when he left. Plus our estimate was good for "one year" but he left NO paperwork or literature to indicate what our estimate was! Two days later we got a call that they had "excess materials" in their warehouse and could cut us an "even better deal" than the rep had given us. So being stupid, I agreed. But after some online research and seeing that this is a common technique they use and don't give any credit to the sales rep that came out, I called and canceled the appointment. This led to ANOTHER follow-up call. I finally had to say "Look- we're not interested right now- stop calling." They finally stopped.

Description of Work
We had a consult scheduled with them after my wife entered a contest at a expo she went to and won a "free estimate."

Category replacement windows

1.0

01/26/2014


Derwin H.

My wife and I for Christmas decided to finish the basement for our daughter who works TSA at the Philadelphia Airport. We entered into a contract with Appleby Systems Inc. at 1520 Trolley Rd. York, PA 17408 (717)764-3000/(800)767-0235 on December 02, 2013 to finish our basement with the Appleby Basement system. Our daughter lives in our basement that is half finished with a full bathroom, and had been looking forward to having something really nice that would be apartment like and independent. On December 02, 2013 Appleby Systems sent representative Kurt Borgmann to spec out the job and provide a price. We only have $10,000 to finish the 450 square feet basement and told Kurt that from the beginning, he started out with $14,000 and we told him there was no way we could afford that and did not want to take out a loan. He wrote $11,900 on his card and said, that was the lowest he could go. We told him thank you, but we will have to pass on it and my wife said she would be willing to go $11,000 tops and we take that out of the floor budget and do the floors ourselves. He told us to wait and he needed to go out and talk to his boss John Killian. He went outside for about 10 minutes and then came back and said, if we would pay cash by check and sign a contract tonight John Killian agreed that Appleby System would finish our basement. We signed the contract and he said, we have nothing to worry about and that our basement should be finished in a couple of weeks before Christmas. He told us that Appleby stands by their contracts and we only have three business days to cancel this contract and Apple Systems only has 3 business days also to cancel the contract. Kurt emphasized that this was a legal binding contract and if we were going to cancel we had do so in 3 days. As part of the contract we paid by check $3666.67 and went over the entire contract with Kurt and he said, in a day or two the construction foreman Scott would come by do a pre-order inspection for job requirements and order the material. On December 6, after 4 days we called Appleby Systems wondering when Scott was coming over and we were told he would be there on the following Monday. No one came on Monday, so on December 11th I called Appleby Systems again and ask to speak with John Killian, the receptionist said, he would call me back. John called us back and said, that we needed to pay $15,000 for them to do our basement. He said, he would send Scott Phillippi to check, but he was sure that we needed to pay $4,000 more. On December 16, Scott came to our house and did the pre-order inspection, he told us he thought they could do it for $11,000 but that we would be getting a very good deal. On the 16th of December John Killian called back and told me that there was no way they could do it for $11,000 they would only do it for $15,000 and he told me would you would not want us to do it for $11,000. I told him I would talk to my wife and we would call the next day. When my wife and I called him the next day he again stated that we needed to give them an additional $4,000 and he was willing to give a no interest loan. We stated to him that we only have $11,000 to finish the basement, and that we were saving up money to put in a floor covering in the basement. We don't know what to do now and believe this to be part of Appleby Systems high pressure sales scams. We contacted Philadelphia's 3 on your side, and they said, that the contract only protects Appleby Systems and not the customer. We tried to work this out with John Killian the area manager on the phone to see if they would honor the contract. He would not honor the contract and we are still waiting to get our check back. Think twice before using this company because honesty and a contracts are not honored by this company unless they are making a lot of money. John Killian told us on the phone that if Appleby Systems was not making money, we would not want them to finish our basement.

Description of Work
We entered into a contract with Appleby Systems Inc. 1520 Trolley Rd. York, PA 17408 (717)764-3000/(800)767-0235 on December 02, 2013 to finish our basement with the Appleby Basement system. Our daughter lives in our basement that is half finished with a full bathroom, and had been looking forward to having something really nice that would be apartment like and independent. On December 02, 2013 Appleby Systems sent representative Kurt Borgmann to spec out the job and provide a price. We only have $10,000 to finish the 450 square feet basement and told Kurt that from the beginning, he started out with $14,000 and we told him there was no way we could afford that and did not want to take out a loan. He wrote $11,900 on his card and said, that was the lowest he could go. We told him thank you, but we will have to pass on it and my wife said she would be willing to go $11,000 tops and we take that out of the floor budget and do the floors ourselves. He told us to wait and he needed to go out and talk to his boss John Killian. He went outside for about 10 minutes and then came back and said, if we would pay cash by check and sign a contract tonight John Killian agreed that Appleby System would finish our basement. We signed the contract and he said, we have nothing to worry about and that our basement should be finished in a couple of weeks before Christmas. He told us that Appleby stands by their contracts and we only have three business days to cancel this contract and Apple Systems only has 3 business days also to cancel the contract. Kurt emphasized that this was a legal binding contract and if we were going to cancel we had do so in 3 days. As part of the contract we paid by check $3666.67 and went over the entire contract with Kurt and he said, in a day or two the construction foreman Scott would come by do a pre-order inspection for job requirements and order the material. On December 6, after 4 days we called Appleby Systems wondering when Scott was coming over and we were told he would be there on the following Monday. No one came on Monday, so on December 11th I called Appleby Systems again and ask to speak with John Killian, the receptionist said, he would call me back. John called us back and said, that we needed to pay $15,000 for them to do our basement. He said, he would send Scott Phillippi to check, but he was sure that we needed to pay $4,000 more. On December 16, Scott came to our house and did the pre-order inspection, he told us he thought they could do it for $11,000 but that we would be getting a very good deal. On the 16th of December John Killian called back and told me that there was no way they could do it for $11,000 they would only do it for $15,000 and he told me would you would not want us to do it for $11,000. I told him I would talk to my wife and we would call the next day. When my wife and I called him the next day he again stated that we needed to give them an additional $4,000 and he was willing to give a no interest loan. We stated to him that we only have $11,000 to finish the basement, and that we were saving up money to put in a floor covering in the basement. We don't know what to do now, and believe this to be part of Appleby Systems high pressure sales scams.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am in receipt of the complaint filed by [member name removed], a non-customer of Appleby, as no work has been completed by Appleby at the [member name removed] residence. Below you will find the facts and events that occurred with regards to the [member name removed]. • On 11/25/13 [member name removed] spoke to a Representative at our Showroom located in the West Norriton Walmart, expressing interest in Basement Finishing • Subsequently, our Basement Scheduling Specialist spoke to [member name removed] and scheduled an Appointment for an inspection and proposal on 12/2/13 • Our Product Specialist arrived for the appointment and met with [member name removed] for quite some time. They explained they had a budget of $11,000 cash period… and did not wish to finance any portion. They also explained that they had other companies to their home that gave them prices in the range of $20,000 to $25,000+ • At the time of the appointment, there was someone sleeping in the basement and only a partial inspection could be completed by our Product Specialist. Based on the partial inspection and information the [member name removed] gave him, Kurt explained to them in great depth that we would issue a proposal/contract based on the price they wanted to pay, but it was subject to management approval once a thorough job cost analysis and site inspection/ measurement by our Construction Superintendent was completed. • Once the paperwork arrived in the office and the job cost analysis was complete, it was clear that at the price the [member name removed] wanted to pay would result in a loss for the company. • The owner of the company, John Kailian immediately called the [member name removed] and explained the situation to them and informed them we could not do the job at that price. The [member name removed] were not happy and after discussing in great length, in an attempt to offer a reasonable solution and appease the customer, he agreed to complete the project (at a very slim profit margin) for $15,000. • He also informed them he would take on the added expense of still sending the Construction Superintendent to do a thorough inspection to see if there was anything at all we could do. • After the Construction Superintendents inspection a few days later, it was confirmed that the scope of the work was much more detailed requiring a substantial amount of additional material, labor and finishing products. Based on labor and materials, he estimated final cost to be $22,000 and informed the owner of the company, John Kailian. • Mr. Kailian called the [member name removed] to discuss the increased scope of work, while still standing true to the $15,000 commitment he made. The [member name removed] declined this offer. • During a third conversation with the [member name removed], while hearing background noises, John Kailian questioned what is was and asked if the conversation was being “recorded”. The [member name removed] said “what if it is”. Take that to mean that they were indeed recording it, Mr. Kailian informed them they did not have his permission to do so. Feeling as though the [member name removed] were not acting in good faith as he was attempting to offer a reasonable, fair solution, he felt as though it would be in everyone’s best interest if we did not do business together. Their contract was cancelled and deposit check shredded. Even though the check was shredded months ago, should the [member name removed] wish to put a stop payment on it, Appleby agrees to reimburse them for the cost incurred in doing so. • The fact remains that after many company quotes over many months, no legitimate company can do this project for the price that the [member name removed] are willing to pay.

1.0

12/11/2013


Cindy H.

o

Description of Work
I know this was a long time ago, but I think it is important for the current customers to know, as I would want to know. We had bought what we thought were Appleby Windows Thermoguard triple pane windows, but what we found out after was that Appleby was just selling these windows, and was not responsible for any problems that arose. All the seals in the windows broke. Leaving us with milky, cloudy, and moisture in between the panes. Most of the windows have become very hard to open. Each time we had a window replaced you have to pay to have it reinstalled/delivered which back then was $75.00/window. We had all our windows replaced more then once. After the 10 year warranty ended, so did the replacement. They never took responsibility for their high cost defective windows. First we were mislead by the Salesman. He stated the windows had a lifetime warranty. Which we had to take his word for it because the warranty came in the mail after the windows were installed. They did a sloppy job installing them. While removing an old window in my bedroom they broke the glass and the glass flew all over my room/bed. They have recently called to offer us to replace each regular size window at a discount of $750.00/window instead of $1000.00 because of the defective windows I still have in my house. I wish I would have saved my money, and kept my aluminum windows. After all at least I could see out of them. If anyone has any questions, I will be more then happy to help. You may also drive by my house to see for yourself.

Category replacement windows

1.0

11/25/2013


Wesley C.

Never again..

Description of Work
I never had the windows installed. I canceled as soon as I found out. Called `Hess Windows' and they had something close to what Appleby systems was selling for HALF the price. Heck I could get Krypton Gas thats even better than argon for only 130 more each window and still beat the price of Appleby Systems.. Never fall for the free give away gimmick. Its just to get in to your house..

Category replacement windows

2.0

09/30/2013


Mary Anne .

They are a hard sell company. I just wanted an estimate and it took 2 hours, it was annoying. Then the follow up calls started. But they did stop right away when I said I was not interested

Description of Work
Gave an estimate for bathroom remodel

Category replacement windows, home remodeling

5.0

08/05/2013


Terryanne C.

The whole process of purchasing replacement windows and a slider was scary to us because it was going to be such a big investment into our home. We wanted to make an educated decision, purchase windows that not only would help insulate our home but would also improve the look and to buy from a company that was deserving of our money. We got everything we were looking for plus so much more with Appleby Systems Inc! The initial meeting was very informative and we felt no pressure. We confidently decided on their windows & slider. The installation team were great too. I was home with 3 kids so it could have been a very stressful day but they were professional, courteous, and efficient (not to mention they didn't seem to mind when my 6 yr old son would peek around a corner to watch them work). They were conscious of my hydrangea bushes and worked around them the best they could plus the men thoroughly cleaned up after themselves. The windows immediately improved the look of our home. I could not believe the difference. The week the windows were installed temperatures were over 100 degrees where we live and between the proper measurements & installation, the Low E, and the triple pane glass our house stayed so much cooler. We also noticed the air conditioning did not have to run as often. I cannot wait to see the savings in our electric bill. From start to finish Appleby Systems Inc. made this process extremely pleasant. Because of their strong customer service, knowledge, and patience they made this a positive experience. I highly recommend working with them.

Description of Work
We bought replacement windows and a sliding glass door. The team at Appleby provided us with GREAT customer service, never-ending support and AWESOME windows!

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

06/01/2013


Emory P.

Excellent.

Description of Work
Removal old doors.

Category doors

4.0

05/20/2013


Robert K.

Just seemed rushed and wanted a commitment right away.

Description of Work
Estimate for 6 windows and sliding glass door.

Category replacement windows

3.0

05/19/2013


Scott G.

We received a promotional offer for a contest chance to get a free deck or remodel. We entered the contest which set off a barrage of telephone calls trying to get us to commit to billable work. We had to say "No, thank you." several times before the salesman ceased calling.

Description of Work
Received promotional materials.

Category replacement windows

2.0

05/06/2013


M. Beth M.

The experience with Appleby Systems Inc was absolutely horrible. They made my life a living hell. I worked with them because they were the only ones who would take out my old door and not ruin it because I wanted to use it elsewhere. The first guy came and I was very specific about where the electric line ran and he cut through it anyway, it is still not fixed and this has been since early November. This is the first time I have ever had anybody else do it, I do it myself so I know about it and he put the spider part in and it did not match up with the other one. I told him that this was just not acceptable and he argued with me, so I told him that I was paying for this and this is what I wanted. He was here most of the day and it was so horribly cold and I didn't watch him the rest of the day, he finally got done, the parts were missing, so I couldn't lock it and I had to tape up the holes and he said they would get back to me to put the parts in. I had new windows, a new door and I have done all the other stuff and so my house get very hot but I was freezing after they came, so I started checking everywhere and I checked the door, and there was air leaking every where. I moved a little of the insulation at the top and he temporarily attached the trim lock and he didn't do the bottom because he didn't bring the thresh hold. The air coming in was just unbelievable, there was a half inch space under the door with absolutely nothing, I could see the daylight. This was 3 weeks before they called me back to fix the rest of the parts, so they told me they would send somebody to get it right and then I looked at it and called them back and told them that they wouldn't send somebody to correct it, they would send somebody to take it out and put it back properly. They sent another guy out and he was very nice, he was very helpful but in reality, I watched the door put in. It is a vinyl door and they squeezed it into this space, so vinyl flexes and it takes two hands to lock and unlock the door. The screen door is almost impossible to latch. The only person I liked was the sales man. They said get your electrician and get a quote and we shall pay for it. They called me every morning to check if I got a quote, it is annoying that I don't have electric and them calling me every week is getting on my nerves. I love the actual glass but the door is a piece of crap. When they first put it in, they put deck screws and put the screws right through it. I have been shopping and get a door that I like and I will tell them to take their door back and give me my money back.

Description of Work
I used Appleby Systems Inc. I had them put in a patio door.

Category replacement windows, doors

1.0

01/11/2013


Melissa W.

They did not do a very good job. Every time you call them you've got to wait a couple of days before they call you back. We were mislead by them. They said they were going to use all vinyl and they did on the windows. But the salesman said they would use vinyl trim and stuff and they used aluminum. We had a few windows crack and leak. They are terrible. They are not professional. They use sub-contractors and they are not responsible people.

Description of Work
We used Appleby Systems for our windows. We had a few windows replaced. They came out last to repair a crank out on a large window.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

“Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us – every review is very important to us as we strive for excellence. However, we’re finding this review to be rather confusing, since it is actually around 15 years after the fact, with your windows installed in 1996. While we of course wish we knew of any problems long ago, we stand behind our work and service regardless of that fact. We have contacted this member and hope to be able to help them in the future.”

5.0

01/16/2012


thomas N.

We have no complaints and will definitely use Appleby again for our bathroom project next year. Aside from being energy efficient, the windows look great too. Since we had ours installed, 2 of my Neighbors bought from Appleby too.

Description of Work
We had Appleby Windows installed recently and can't be happier! The company was great to deal with on every level, from our first visit with the Sales Rep to the crew that installed our windows. They kept us up to date on all stages of the project and I can't believe how clean, tidy and effecient the installers were. The windows are everything they said they would be and we are already reaping the benefits, seeing savings on our utility bills. Like I always say...pay now...or pay later! We are glad we didn't buy the cheaper windows we looked at from another company. We paid a little more for these windows, but they are definitely worth it and we are very happy!

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/30/2011


Karen R.

I chose those windows because of their strength compared to other vinyl windows. It looked like a better product in comparison. Two gentlemen came out here. They were very professional and very courteous in working with us. The installation was done very professionally and very well. They did a fantastic job with it and with the capping of everything. It's really nice. I was very pleased with them. They made sure that the windows were secure. They also made sure things were clean and that nothing inside was affected.

Description of Work
We used Appleby Window Systems to replace most of our windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/16/2010


Richard K.

They were very service oriented. If they ran into an issue they were quick to get it taken care of.

Description of Work
They replaced a sliding glass door.

Category doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bathmax PA

    Bathmax is a full service bathroom renovation company. No job is too big or too small. We’re passionate about bathroom design. And it thrills us when we get to work with people who share this enthusiasm for innovation. If you have a desire to design, you’ll love our on-site showroom. Bring your inspired ideas and be inspired by ours. Touch tiles and textures, reflect on faucets and fixtures and soak up the colors that spark your stylistic fancy. Give your vision — the bathroom of your dreams — the tangible potential to become your reality. Our services are dictated by your needs, your preferences and your time frame. We’ll get the job done right and in accordance with your schedule. If you need a quick cosmetic fix, we’ll get you the estimate, get started and get the bathtub liners and acrylic bathtub surrounds installed in one day — any day that works for you. Want updates along the way? No problem. With text or email alerts, you’ll know the status of your bathroom renovations every step of the way.  

    Divine Solutions Pro

    We specialize in all phases of roofing and siding services, repairs, replacements, installs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Shalom Roofing & Siding LLC

    We are family owned & operated Have 16+ years of experience We handle storm claims ,insurance claims and we finance We have been in this line of work for 16 years and had the opportunity to open our own business in 2020 We are a family operated business  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales & installation of replacement windows, sunrooms & bathroom remodeling. Design & installation of siding, roofing, decks & doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Appleby Systems Inc

    How is Appleby Systems Inc overall rated?

    Appleby Systems Inc is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Appleby Systems Inc open?

    Appleby Systems Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Appleby Systems Inc provide

    Appleby Systems Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Appleby Systems Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Appleby Systems Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Appleby Systems Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Appleby Systems Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Appleby Systems Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Appleby Systems Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Appleby Systems Inc?

    Yes, Appleby Systems Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Appleby Systems Inc offer?

    Appleby Systems Inc offers the following services: Sales & installation of replacement windows, sunrooms & bathroom remodeling. Design & installation of siding, roofing, decks & doors.