Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC

Founded 1994 • With Angi since May 2007

4.8

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2035 VAL HALLA ST

Eugene, OR 97401

Description

Founded by owner Georgios Karabinis, Better Lawns and Gardens is a commercial and residential landscape maintenance company offering year-round complete landscape services and has been in business in the Eugene/Springfield, Oregon area since 1993. We are insured and bonded and members of the Oregon

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Sylvia M.
1.0
06/26/2018
I made an appointment for the owner to see my yard and he did not show up. I called; we rescheduled. He came as planned for the second appointment. His price was $65. per man-hour. That is clearly more than I had ever paid, but I made arrangements for work to be done. We planned the date, time, and number of man-hours. No one showed up!
Description of Work
I needed yard maintenance.
Category
lawn service
Thea P.
5.0
09/05/2015
I couldn't be happier with this company! We moved into a home on a one acre plot that had been allowed to overgrow for some time. You could see that it was once meticulously landscaped, but the weeds and blackberries had taken over and nothing had been pruned in ages. It is nothing short of miraculous how much they were able to accomplish in four days! The owner, George, was very friendly and professional. I thought his fees were very reasonable for the amount of work that was done, and he was great about advising us on best methods and timing for various projects. We still have many things to tackle on this property, but when we need help we will definitely be calling this company in the future.
Description of Work
Cleared several large, very overgrown areas, cut edges, mulched, cut back ivy, removed small trees, etc.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Gina T.
5.0
07/22/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Backyard was completely over grown with tall weeds and brush. They sprayed and then came back a week later and completely cleaned up.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Ronna F.
5.0
07/09/2015
George and his assistant were great! George responded promptly to my call, gave me a bid that I thought was very fair, came when he said he would and did a great job. I will definitely use him again.
Description of Work
weeding, clean up
Category
lawn service
Maryam S.
5.0
06/23/2015
Responded quickly when it was needed.
Description of Work
cut lawn and edge the lawn before selling the home
Category
lawn service
BEN V.
5.0
06/11/2015
We first used George to re-do the yard a few years ago, stripped completely down to dirt and put new sod on. The service was great. We have the company come back every year for maintenance work and are always happy with the results.
Description of Work
Sod the entire yard.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Penny P.
4.0
06/02/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Elaine P.
5.0
01/21/2015
unknown
Description of Work
This was the third time I had George and his team do work for me (install a firepit). They had also done major yard clean up and redid the side of the house with pathways. |George is SO patient listening to my ideas then making recommendations. The work is very professional and George is so easy going. I will definitely have him come back for more projects and consultation.
Category
lawn service
Barb C.
4.0
01/14/2015
unknown
Category
lawn service
GARRETT H.
5.0
06/09/2014
unknown
Description of Work
General yard weed extirmination and cleanup. Mowed ivergrown lawn.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Judith H.
5.0
05/25/2014
George was extremely responsive. I called him in the morning and he said he was finishing up a job and would come to my home next around 2-3 p.m. He mentioned on the phone that he didn't usually work on Sat, but would come. He arrived right on time. We walked around and he listened to what type of plants I wanted and made suggestions. He will think of other plants that will work, figure out a cost and call me next week. He said he was busy next week but could come the following week. He seemed very knowledgable about many plants and very trustworthy. Judy Hanna
Description of Work
He came to look at my yard and make suggestions for replacing some dead plants.
Category
lawn service
Verne I.
5.0
05/14/2014
unknown
Description of Work
George and team do a terrific job maintaining the landscaping for properties we manage.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Chris M.
5.0
04/29/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Cleaned up perimeter of the backyard and side of the house. Tall weeds, blackberries, etc. Trimmed dead limbs from various trees around the yard and hauled away previous piles of yard debris. |George had originally said it would be 10 days before they could get to the work, but called me a few days after the initial visit and estimate saying he could come out that afternoon. Most was done that afternoon and he came back the following Wednesday to finish up. They did what I had asked for and left a clean area. Now all I have to do is maintain it and not let it get that way again. I thought the estimate was a little high but fair considering that I couldn't do the work myself due to a back injury and the work was fairly extensive. I really appreciated George getting to the work as quickly as he could. He was also very professional, answered my questions thoughtfully and made suggestions about other yard and plant issues I am having. I would use them again.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Bryan B.
5.0
10/09/2013
Work provided on time and under estimate. Work done was professional and clean-up was complete.
Description of Work
Installed back lawn, then thatched and seeded front.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
William G.
5.0
07/22/2013
Owner responded to my bid request with a suggestion to do the work on an alternate day when he would be in the area, saving me costs for transportation. He did the needed mowing and brush cutting at a rate well below other estimates I had gotten.I saved enough that I asked him to do some hauling that I had planned to do. He was flexible and went to his home to get a trailer. Came back and loaded and hauled the brush at a cost below my estimates. I found him very friendly and flexible. Only negative is that he needed a chain saw for the project and his was not operational. He needed to borrow mine.
Description of Work
Brought his tractor up to mow an area of my property. also loaded and hauled away a large pile of cut limbs and brush.
Category
hauling services, lawn service
Joni R.
5.0
04/20/2013
George is absolutely wonderful to work with. He's pleasant, has a sense of humor, is honest and trustworthy. Unfortunately those traits, as wonderful as they are don't matter when I have to sit and wait two days for George to show up. To be fair he had to "fit me in" to his very crowded schedule, but I couldn't pin him down to anything better than, "It will be Monday or Tuesday" and then I did not receive a call until Tuesday afternoon! I have to have someone that I can count on to make appointments and carry through and be at my home when they said they would be there. Please....if you have no problem with letting George show up whenever he's available, give him a try -- you won't be sorry -- he's a great guy and wonderful to work with. I have animals that I need to take care of before anyone shows up to do the yard so it just doesn't work for me, that's the only reason I'm not hiring George full time.
Description of Work
George and his coworker mowed and trimmed a yard that needed it badly. And they did it beautifully.
Category
lawn service
Aimee P.
5.0
03/19/2013
Better Lawns and Gardens is the only company I call for help with my yard. They respond quickly and get an amazing amount of work done in a short amount of time. They do excellent work and they are professional and polite.
Description of Work
Entire yard clean-up, leaf removal, trimming, etc.
Category
lawn service
Leonard B.
5.0
03/13/2013
I like this company; they are very good. They are very prompt and pleasant people. We contacted three companies to give us an estimate and there was no big gap between the prices; they were comparable. They were very responsive and punctual.
Description of Work
I used Better Lawns & Gardens to mow and edge my lawn. In the spring they cut back some shrubbery.
Category
lawn service
Claire V.
5.0
03/12/2013
We love having George as our landscaper. When we first moved into our house, which had been newly built, he helped advice us on what to plant where, and he took take of all the hard work. We like doing some gardening, but there was a lot we couldn't really do by ourselves, and that's where George stepped in. He even drove me around the neighborhood to look at different plants and flowers to help me decide on what to plant!! Not long after we moved away for a while, maintaining our house in Eugene. George came over regularly to maintain the garden and keep an eye out for any problems. When a sprinkler head burst in the middle of winter, and we were thousands of miles away, he immediately came over after our neighbor called, took care of the problem, and got in touch with us. George also helped us find a sprinkler installation company when we needed to install more sprinklers, and he always arranges for them to come over when we have questions or need seasonal maintenance done. George has kept our garden looking beautiful, and because he takes care of the hard work, weeding, trimming, spraying, and all that, we can use our own time to focus on the fun parts of gardening like maintaining a vegetable and herb garden, and planting seasonal flowers! We're very thankful to George for all his services, he's gone above and beyond our expectations, and his services are very affordable too!
Description of Work
Services provided: - Landscaping - Yard maintenance - Emergency assistance (for example, George immediately came over to help us when a sprinkler head broke unexpectedly) - Purchasing and delivering plants - Purchasing and delivering soil - Weeding and spraying - Arrange sprinkler installation and annual maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Ginni S.
5.0
09/26/2012
This is a wonderful man. We were 2500 miles away from our mother's home when she passed away. To keep the house from looking abandoned the yard needed to be maintained. In addition, we needed to sell her house and to do that the yard needed to look good. George gave us a good price and did a good job. The neighbors were telling us what was going on with the house, and when we finally got there in person, it looked good.
Description of Work
Initial clean up and then bi-weekly lawn maintenance.
Category
lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    A-One Exterminators

    A-One Exterminators employs knowledgeable and reliable service technicians who are specifically trained in integrated pest management (IPM), and experienced quality control supervisors who assure the highest quality standards are met with each service we perform. We offer a wide variety of affordable, customized pest control solutions to meet all of your needs. Our mission is to exceed client expectations with the most effective pest control available, which is always done in an ethical, professional, responsive and caring manner. Ask for details. We specialize in all pest control issues! Additional DBAs - A One Exterminators & A One Inc. Additional phone numbers - (541) 472-1098, (541) 472-1099, (541) 472-9081, (541) 476-1940, (541) 476-9604, (541) 955-8723, (541) 957-8807 & (541) 884-3699.  

    Angi Certified

    Lloyd's Pest Control

    General services for ants,spiders,rodents and wasps. Other specialty services for roaches,stored product pests are available. Family start up business after 22 years experience in northwest and Texas. Prices vary with size of structure and pest level. Low to no initial service charge for some homes and businesses.  

    Angi Certified

    Terrazas Yard Maintenance & Construction LLC

    We do remodeling and general Construction,Retaining Walls,Pavers,Concrete work and more.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape maintenance for commercial and residential. Lawn maintenance, renovations, clean ups etc.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC

    How is BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC overall rated?

    BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC open?

    BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC provide

    BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal

    Does BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offers free project estimates.

    Does BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offer a senior discount?

    No, BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC?

    Yes, BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offers warranties.

    What services does BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offer?

    BETTER LAWNS AND GARDENS INC offers the following services: Landscape maintenance for commercial and residential. Lawn maintenance, renovations, clean ups etc.