Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Interiors & Exteriors

Founded 1975 • With Angi since October 2011

4.3

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

704B Farrand st

Raritan, NJ 08869

Description

A-1 is mid sized business that can do anything from patching foundations to additions to repairing a roof. Additional service areas: Orange, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union & Westchester Counties

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Susan S.
1.0
10/13/2018
We had thought we did our homework, calling for 4 other estimates from siding contractors in addition to A1 Interiors & Exteriors Home Improvements. My husband knew the owner Ed Saki and his family for over 40 years as reliable contractors. We thought we could trust Ed as he is the company owner, would be on the job site and not use sub contractors. Ed gave us a price that was not the cheapest but not the most expensive, plus an extended warranty. When we contracted, paid the intial deposit Ed told us 3 weeks to complete the project and we would be sooooo happy and satified with the finished product. Needless to say, we are neither happy nor satified. As with any large exterior home improvement project on an older home it is understood there will be unforeseen circumstances that can extend the timeline, some bad weather, but that being said there were days it was perfectly sunny with no sign of A-1 Interiors & Exteriors on the project. The 3 weeks turned into 3 months, there were several requests for additional funds from Ed, which were met and as per contract we were not obligated to pay until completion, but felt that was the only way to get the project finished. Ed was constantly having too many issues to list. We made the final payment feeling sorry for him, (shame on us) knowing there were things on the punch list that needed to be correted and Ed assured us he would come back soon. The most important of those things is the gutter leader over the electric meter (rain now is constantly pouring down on the meter), a window pane his company broke in the attic, installing a pair of shutters and 5 screens that he took for repair damaged during constuction. His company stored tools etc. in our shed and were not closing the doors correctly (if at all) and they are now difficult to close. Ed claimed he did not break the attic window (it wasn't broken when he started the job) then agreed to fix it and the shed doors, took the screens for repair and again assured us he would be back soon to take care of the other items on the punch list. Two months and many unanswered phone messages later, we finally got the screens back from his emloyee (who had them in his garage), bought the materials and paid his employee to replace the screens as well as the broken window in the attic. It is now four months after giving Ed the final payment. We have asked Ed for resolution by leaving numerous unanswered phone messages. Then recently when either of us track him down, Ed always says he will be there that day or the next day and never shows up. At this point we have no other recourse other to file a claim with consumer affairs, hire another contractor and go to small claims court for reimbursement. We regret hiring Ed Saki of A1 Interiors & Exteriors Home Improvements and at the end of day the bottom line is his extended warranty means nothing.
Description of Work
Siding and 10 replacement windows
Category
remodeling
Ketan P.
5.0
01/16/2017
Ed was willing to come out in the cold winter days and do the installation that other contractors won't do it. He charge me a fair price and didn't ask me extra for the conditions.
Description of Work
Installed a &5" PCV pipe along the building concrete wall on the newly paved driveway and connect 3-4 roof downspouts to drain all the rain water out at the curb.
Category
handyman service, drain pipe
Marie K.
1.0
07/16/2016
unknown
Description of Work
The price semed in line for what I thought this project should cost. The roofing went well. However, Ed screwed me at the end by saying the cost of shingles was not quoted because I told him I had some shingles that may be useable. He did a very bad job at coating my yankee gutters and flat roofs. He left an empty can of coating in my back yard when he picked up his tools. He also came back and took some of my shingles and wood after the job was done to use for another customer. Do not use this company for anything. He did not listen to my questions and he never returned phone calls. Again, this man is not reliable or responsible to have any work done!!!!
Category
roofing
Marleny G.
5.0
03/30/2016
I was very pleased with them. They were very neat and cleaned up after all the work was done. They were also pleasant and polite.
Description of Work
They repaired a section of my fence, roof, and gutters. They also power washed my patio.
Category
fencing, gutter repair, handyman service, roofing, pressure washing
Peter D.
1.0
08/31/2015
Came, took measurements, never bothered to get back with an estimate or even to decline the work.
Description of Work
Interior/exterior carpentry projects.
Category
contractors, woodworking
Carol G.
4.0
06/25/2015
unknown
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Melanie M.
5.0
02/10/2015
A-1 did a quality job on a difficult repair on a shed that was ready to collapse. Was responsive to problem with garage door when a problem occurred a couple of months after installation.
Description of Work
Rebuilt shed, replaced garage interior door
Category
remodeling, woodworking, doors
James B.
1.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They never contacted us
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Bruce H.
5.0
10/01/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Repair of water damage to exterior boards and interior framing |Reconstruction of screened in porch to three season living area
Category
picture framing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Marianne M.
1.0
09/16/2014
I got a quote from him after I met him at my place. When he called and said he didn't want to work when I was having my kitchen cabinets replaced by another contractor. I told him that they wouldn't be working until after he did his job. We scheduled a meeting to do paperwork and he never showed up OR called. I have called him twice with no return calls. N
Description of Work
I got a quote from him after I met him at my place. When he called and said he didn't want to work when I was having my kitchen cabinets replaced by another contractor. I told him that they wouldn't be working until after he did his job. We scheduled a meeting to do paperwork and he never showed up OR called. I have called him twice with no return calls.
Category
remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Glenn L.
5.0
07/22/2014
Job was completed on schedule. Crew was very hard working, respectful and professional. Would not hesitate to recommend to my neighbors.
Description of Work
complete roof, vinyl soffit and out of service chimney removal.
Category
remodeling, roofing
Brian M.
5.0
06/29/2014
Great. Carpets look like new. Even pet stains are gone!
Description of Work
Shampoo and clean carpets in four rooms.
Category
remodeling
Gina I.
1.0
11/20/2013
I reached out to A1 and after a few days, I received a call back. We set up a time for him to come out on Saturday of that week and he called around 4pm and said he couldn't make it. We rescheduled for Sunday but he never showed or contacted me. I haven't heard from him since. I am disappointed at the lack of professionalism and responsiveness.
Description of Work
I needed a few repairs completed around the house. Unfortunately, he never got to give me an estimate.
Category
handyman service
William S.
5.0
11/01/2013
Ed and his crew did an excellent job. They showed up on the date promised and completed the work on time and on budget. At the end of each day they left the work area clean and free of debris. I am completely satisfied with the job.
Description of Work
Replaced rotted siding and trim, power washed & painted porch.
Category
contractors, siding
kathleen A.
5.0
07/25/2013
I had niagra falls coming through my window as a result of heavy rain on july 1st. the water was coming through so quickly that I was bailing the water out of the buckets I placed under the window as fast as the water was coming through. I called A1 and my call was returned the same day. The next day Ed had come around to look at the situation. Due to the 4th of july weekend and the fact that I was away the weekend plus the fact that it would not stop raining The work was started and completed on July 12. The work they performed made my basement high and dry . The water from the downspout runs away from the house.The fact the window is now tight and sealed has significantly improved the humidity level in my basement. I was very impressed with the quality of the frame installed around the window . I will definitely use him again. Ed is very polite and honet
Description of Work
Replaced a drain pipe, removed and replaced a window frame near the window well,reinstalled window,added window trim painted trim, added window well cover. dug out the window well and added stone in the window well. supplied all material including stone for window well.
Category
plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters, basement remodeling
kathleen A.
2.0
07/02/2013
see above comment
Description of Work
He returned my call the same day. He made an appointment for the next day. He was a no show and never returned my call . I modified my schedule to accomodate his schedule. He will not get my business
Category
drain pipe
Susan L.
5.0
06/12/2013
Excellent. He did all the work he said he would. And did it neatly. He was extremely informative.
Description of Work
Repairs on house
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Peter H.
5.0
12/12/2012
I thought I had a problem with a leaking toilet on the ground floor, but I concluded after having removed basement ceiling that I had a bigger problem. I was just not sure exactly what. Called A-1 Interior & Exterior and Ed came out and upon inspection observed that my relative new exterior door (Pela installed by a contractor employed one of our nation's largest home improvement chains) was not installed correctly causing water to enter. Damages proved substantial including rot and carpenter ants in joists, plate and studs. Ed and his assistant started work Saturday, worked some hours Sunday (whilst raining), Monday and Tuesday non-stop during day time hours, establishing extent of damages (and validating other work performed by the same installer - upon my request) and conducting thorough and professional repairs which involved jacking up house. Job site was left organized and swept each day. I was very impressed by the knowledge, work discipline, fairness in pricing, punctuality of A-1's services. I feel I got very good value for my money. That is a high threshold considering the repairs should have been necessary had the door been installed correctly to begin with. The experience has given me courage to get other projects done that I had deemed likely too expensive and/or intrusive. A-! Interior & Exterior will likely be doing them.
Description of Work
Replaced exterior door, made repairs to floor, and walls including joist and plate.
Category
contractors, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling
Tina M.
5.0
11/19/2012
I was originally scheduled for October 29th (Hurricaine Sandy) They changed date to October 26, worked for 11 hours straight, stripped entire roof off and installed new roof and shingles. Came back on a.m. of hurricane and cleaned chimneys and cleaned attic from debris that fell. After hurricaine, no water!! Tight as a drum.
Description of Work
Removal of two layers of shingles on my roof. Removal of entire plywood sheething. Replacement of sheathing, paper felt insulation, lifetime shingles, new flashings clean and reset gutters, clean chimney flues(2).
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Mary S.
5.0
11/14/2012
see above
Description of Work
Ed has done a lot of work for me. The most major was to re furbish a large area of my home that had rot and severe water damage. He took it step by step doing an incredible job. He actually worked 21 days with out a break to complete the work for me because it affected several of the bedrooms. His kindness and understanding for what I was going through as a home owner made it easier for me to get through the ordeal. His prices were fair and he discussed the expenses as he realized the extent of the work that was necessary. Much of it was hidden behind the siding of the house. He was very knowledgeable about his work and very honest. I was comfortable with him being in my home when I was not there. I actually believe he saved the entire side of my house from collapsing. Ed has also done plumbing work ,painting, cleaning gutters and some handyman jobs for me. He is very neat and organized.
Category
decks, drywall, picture framing, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, drain pipe, foundation repair, mobile home remodeling
Mary S.
5.0
01/27/2012
Started promptly, finished on time and It went beautifully!
Description of Work
Painting was beautiful and clean-up was excellent!
Category
handyman service, remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Landscaping By Craig Inc

    Landscaping by Craig, Inc., a leading Landscape Design and Construction firm, has delighted customers with outstanding service since 1984. Our educated and highly experienced team of landscaping professionals are fully insured and licensed in the state of New Jersey. Our company is highly respected by our peers and works well with other contractors to fully implement our projects. We coordinate all aspects of installation for efficient project scheduling, while adhering to our agreed upon construction time frames. Although unique and functional design is our passion, outstanding customer service is our number one priority. We commit ourselves to creating a landscape that you and your family will enjoy for years to come - one that will add value to your home. Craig is the creative mind behind our projects. He has a degree in Environmental Planning and Design from Cook College, Rutgers University.  

    Angi Certified

    Falletta Masonry

    We are a family owned Masonry Company that provides you with Clean, Quality Craftsmanship at an affordable price. Proud winner of the 2013,2014,2015,2016,2017 and 2018 Super Service Award!  

    Angi Certified

    HL Professional Painting LLC

    We specialize in interior and exterior painting services, staining, cabinet/trim installation and painting, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Handymen. Roofing. Foundation repair. Drywall. Remodeling. Air duct cleaning. Carpentry. Concrete. Decks & porches. Doors. Drain pipe. Drywall. Flooring. Framing. Gutters. Plumbing. Siding. Wallpaper removal & installation. Water & smoke damage.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 Interiors & Exteriors

    How is A-1 Interiors & Exteriors overall rated?

    A-1 Interiors & Exteriors is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 Interiors & Exteriors open?

    A-1 Interiors & Exteriors is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does A-1 Interiors & Exteriors provide

    A-1 Interiors & Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A-1 Interiors & Exteriors offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-1 Interiors & Exteriors offers free project estimates.

    Does A-1 Interiors & Exteriors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A-1 Interiors & Exteriors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 Interiors & Exteriors?

    No, A-1 Interiors & Exteriors does not offer warranties.

    What services does A-1 Interiors & Exteriors offer?

    A-1 Interiors & Exteriors offers the following services: Handymen. Roofing. Foundation repair. Drywall. Remodeling. Air duct cleaning. Carpentry. Concrete. Decks & porches. Doors. Drain pipe. Drywall. Flooring. Framing. Gutters. Plumbing. Siding. Wallpaper removal & installation. Water & smoke damage.