Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Hall's Septic Services

4.8

(37) Verified Reviews

Founded 1992 • With Angi since April 2005

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Rentals - Parties
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

1410 N Tucker Rd

Street, MD 21154

www.hallssepticservice.com

Description

We pride ourselves on doing the job right, we always back flush and check the system over for our customers. This integrity separates us from other competitors, because we truly care about you and your satisfaction....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(37) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

33

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

septic tank service (35)plumbers (5)sewer cleaning (4)
Showing 1-25 of 37 reviews
5.0

03/04/2021


Donna B.

No problem. On time, professional.

Description of Work
Septic tank maintenance

Category septic tank

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2021

3.0

01/04/2020


Patrick B.

Called as I had backup of Septic System. Their schedule was full and could not get to me for over a month. Wanted almost double the price for emergency service. Called Chavis Septic who came the next day and was $50 cheaper for basic cleaning.

Description of Work
Septic Cleaning

Category septic tank

Work Completed On 01/04/2020

5.0

11/11/2018


Patricia S.

Excellent Service. Fee was in line - not excessive. Tech was very efficient and personable. First time using Hall's for this service. Will definitely use them in the future and recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Pumping of Septic System

Category septic tank

Cost $254

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2018

1.0

08/19/2018


Benjamin B.

Never contacted us. Even if they don't do this type of work, would be nice if they let us know.

Description of Work
Need our septic system pumped out.

Category septic tank

Work Completed On 08/19/2018

5.0

06/04/2018


Bob L.

Everything went smoothly. The driver was on time, cleaned out the septic tank in a timely manner and gave me advice on how to better manage my septic tank again.

Description of Work
Septic Cleanout

Category septic tank

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2018

5.0

05/04/2017


Peter C.

Excellent. Employee was thorough, ensuring a complete, no-shortcuts job was done. Took the time to explain the conditions of my tank, and the extended effort he was taking to ensure that all of the solids were being removed. Used flashlight to show me what he was looking for. Back flushed several times to get to clean condition.

Description of Work
Septic tank pumped and cleaned

Category septic tank

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the great review! We have the best employees and are very proud of the work they do! Thanks again:)
5.0

04/24/2017


karen V.

Great! Loved the owner. Answres all my questions and he got some cuddles from my dog too. Very professional and friendly service.

Description of Work
Have our septic tank cleaned

Category septic tank

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2017

5.0

10/03/2016


Chuck M.

Excellent and thorough work. Technician who did the work was focused on the job at hand but took time to explain what he was doing and what he was looking for when doing the inspection. He answered my questions and offered suggestions on proper way to best maintain the current good condition of our system.

Description of Work
Septic pumped out and system inspected

Category septic tank

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

07/26/2016


marc K.

Fine. Prompt/early. His equipment is older but did just fine. Definite cost savings.

Description of Work
Pump out septic of foreclosure

Category septic tank

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2016

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], You must've had my Husband doing your Inspection! His is the oldest truck we have! It's a 2003 Peterbilt and He just won't part with it! He just Loves that truck. So glad you were happy with everything! Thanks for the review, Kathy Scarborough
5.0

03/11/2016


Charles L.

Had a plumbing issue on Sunday, took forever to get the plumber there, when they did they blamed the septic as being full Called Halls, they were booking a week out, told them we had back flow into the Bathtub and they were able to come out within 2 hours. While there they diagnosed the Plumbing issue which the Plumber did not do and said we didn't need to pump out we were still good. I had them pump anyway to give the plumber, who i called back to fix the issue, no excuse. Halls went above and beyond for diagnosis and service.

Description of Work
Emergency Pump and sewer line troubleshooting

Category plumbing,septic tank,sewer cleaning

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of our company! I will pass this on to our driver Steve. We wouldn't be the company we are without our drivers! They are truly "Top Notch".
5.0

11/20/2015


David P.

Due to toilet back up plumber suggested trying to pump septic first. It had been 3 years since last pumped. After pumped, it revealed we had a clog between house and septic. Service was prompt and excellent. Recommended local plumber to snake pipe from house to septic tank (later today).

Description of Work
Pumped septic tank and snaked inlet.

Category plumbing,septic tank

Cost $265

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2015

5.0

05/19/2015


Charles L.

Found on Angies List, Scheduled over email then phone. they came by cleaned out the Septic system and provided a detailed information sheet about septic system, along with covering the highlights of the information sheet with family member who was at home to put the dog away. Called in advance to ensure our dog was put away. a+ service

Description of Work
Septic Clean out and suggestive septic training.

Category septic tank

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2015

4.0

05/12/2015


Daniel B.

They came, they cleaned, they left. Plain and simple. Nothing great, nothing bad. Price was as expected. Hired them because they were local... as in right up the road.

Description of Work
Cleaned out septic

Category septic tank

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2014

1.0

10/22/2014


Barrie H.

The inspector was hired to perform an inspection of a septic system prior to the house going on the market. According to the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) and the County, one portion of the inspection, that is standard practice for a proper inspection as taught in the required certified course that all licensed inspectors need to take, is that the distribution box must be exposed and the flow in this box must be evaluated for all of the drain fields connected. This important step was not completed by the inspector who passed the system. Subsequently, the potential buyer, having a inspection contingency, hired another company that did in fact test the flow within the distribution box and found that of the three pipes that were there, only one of them would take water at all. The new inspector, stating that the system was compromised by over 2/3, concluded that the system was unacceptable and should be fixed. This was transmitted back to the Hall's septic inspector. The Hall's inspector came back out to the home, and according to his own test of the distribution box confirms that two of the three pipes have failed even under pressurized water (these systems are never pressurized in normal operation and this is not the way to test a pipe) . Even after this, Hall's Septic system is saying that the system is still acceptable. The results of both tests were discussed with the MDE representative and the county and the consensus is that this system is failing and will need to be fixed in direct contradiction to the results of the inspector from Hall's Septic Services. UPDATE: Mr. Scarborough can try and deflect all he wishes by calling me names but I stand behind all my facts. I stuck to the facts and Mr. Scarborough counters with innuendo that he knows nothing about. As to our 'strong-arm"ing the seller, Mr. Scarborough also, apparently, does not know what it would take to replace this system because he does not do that kind of work. We gave the seller multiple chances to get a second opinion but he refused. As we were taking all the risk, we negotiated the discount. Multiple estimates ranged from $20K to a high of $40K because of those perk test results, also something that Mr. Scarborough knows nothing about. The next door neighbor recently had his replaced for $20K and that was a few years ago.

Description of Work
Provided residential septic system inspection.

Category septic tank

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2012

Service Provider Response

It's OK to write a complaint about my company ( Hall's Septic Services ) but you must tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. As a favor ( NO CHARGE ) I stopped by [Address removed] to perform a PRE INSPECTION. The homeowner dug up the rear of the septic tank prior to my pre inspection. I could clearly see the inlet and outlet pipe and both the front and rear baffle. All were intact. We ran water from the residence for 1/2 hour and the drainfields absorbed every drop of water. There was no surfacing anywhere in the back yard. The homeowner was advised the septic system was functioning properly and would pass a septic inspection on that date. Weeks later you hire a Septic Inspector that I have BUSTED for failing 4 different septic systems in the last year during a 2nd opinion Septic Inspection. All 4 septic systems were functioning properly. After hearing that [Address removed] had a failed septic inspection in October I immediately responded to that address. The distribution box was uncovered to reveal 3 drainfields. You state that I pressurized water into the drainfields. Actually, I turned the water hose on and placed it in the distribution box. What's the difference between a water hose or turning the sink, tub and flushing the toilets into the septic tank from the residence. Flowing water is flowing water. Water was ran for 1 1/2 hours. The drainfield on the left is terminal and will not receive any water. The drainfield on the right received water for 15 minutes and then slowly backed into the distribution box. The center drainfield however, received the rest of the water during the extended test. There is still no surfacing or water running back into the distribution box or septic tank. Drainfields are designed to filter the effluent from the septic tank until ALL the drainfields are filled and cannot function any longer. Then I look for surfacing or water to run back into the septic tank. Both are signs of terminal drainfields. Why install 3 drainfields if the system is deemed terminal with two terminal drainfields and a functioning drainfield. In fact, a functioning drainfield that received water for nearly 1 1/2 hours. As far as stating the County was involved in this inspection in anyway is a lie. No County Health Dept. is involved in a Septic Inspection for the transfer/sale of a residence. The only time the County is involved is when a complaint comes to their office, ie; surfacing drainfields, collapsed tank, etc. And now for the Rest of the Story.....You failed to tell the whole truth. You used the failing septic report to strong arm the seller. He caved and reduced the price of his house by $ 10.000.00....The average drainfield replacement is $ 5,000.00 all day long. You also failed to mention that not only are you 10 Grand fat in the pocket but you currently live at [Address removed] with a functioning septic system. My suggestion is this....When the final drainfield has functioned the rest of it's life, replace the terminal drainfields with new ones... Jerry Scarborough Hall's Septic Service.
5.0

05/19/2014


Donna M.

The tech arrived on time and was very professional and friendly. Will use them in the future.

Description of Work
Emptied and cleaned the septic tank.

Category septic tank

Cost $230

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2014

5.0

05/14/2014


Timothy K.

The porta johns were delivered on time and were in excellent condition. They were serviced three mornings during the week early in the morning and left in excellent condition. We have used them for many years and will continue to in the future.

Description of Work
Hall's provided 16 normal and 4 handicapped porta johns to our weeklong rally at the parking lot of the Cal Ripken baseball stadium

Category septic tank

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2014

5.0

03/18/2014


Marlee D.

Excellent. This company goes out of their way to do an excellent job. They treat you with respect and personally cares about you and your life.

Description of Work
Pumped and emptied septic tank.

Category septic tank,sewer cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2011

5.0

03/13/2014


Richard G.

very professional, and extremely knowledgeable about the whole process and informed me every step of the way.

Description of Work
inspected the septic system and pumped out the septic tank.

Category plumbing,septic tank

Cost $455

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2014

5.0

08/29/2013


Twana R.

Jerry Scarborough was fantastic. He was able to perform the inspection and cleaning on two days notice. He was punctual, performed an in depth inspection, and gave a great, very humorous education session on septic care. Highly recommend Hall's Septic for inspection or routine septic care.

Description of Work
Inspected entire septic system and emptied the septic tank.

Category septic tank

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2013

5.0

11/02/2011


Susan S.

They provide portable potties. They are great. They are extremely clean. They come in once a week and they clean it in and out. They are very prompt. They put them in and we didn’t even have to be here. I am always amazed at how clean and nice they are. It is cheaper if you get it by the month than if you were to rent it by the day. They charge $105 a month. It is the off season price. I am not sure if that is their normal price or because we use them yearly. We have used them for years. They definitely come when they say they are going to come. I have met only one young man from the company and he seemed very professional. He doesn’t even have to see anybody here anymore. He just knows exactly where to put it and he does it. We would use them every year.

Description of Work
I used Hall’s Honey Pot twice; once in July and then in October.

Category septic tank

Cost $105

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2011

5.0

03/24/2006


ROGER W.

Jerry Scarborough - the owner of Hall's Honey Pots - was a pleasure to work with. He is very knowledgeable and great at explaining ''Septic 101.'' Very trustworthy company that does a great job.

Description of Work
We had Hall's do a cleaning and inspection of the septic system in our new house.

Category sewer cleaning

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

11/10/2005


DAWN B.

I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THEM. THEY WERE VERY COURTEOUS ON THE PHONE AND CAME OUT VERY QUICKLY. THE MAN WAS VERY EXPERIENCED AND GAVE ME TIPS ON WHAT TO DO AND WHAT NOT TO DO WITH SEPTIC TANKS.

Description of Work
THEY CAME OUT TO MAKE SURE THERE WAS NOT A LEAK IN OUR NEW SEPTIC SYSTEM. THEY ALSO PUMPED OUT OUR SEPTIC BECAUSE OF UNEXPLAINED GREASE.

Category septic tank

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/31/2005


BRAD S.

THE WORK WAS DONE IN A TIMELY PROFESSIONAL MANNER. THE OPERATOR OF THE TRUCK TOOK THE TIME TO EXPLAIN TO ME HOW THE SEPTIC SYSTEM WORKS AND THINGS TO LOOK OUT FOR THAT MAY NEED REPAIR.

Description of Work
SEPTIC TANK WAS PUMPED OUT AND INSPECTED FOR ANY LEAKS OR MALFUNCTIONS AND WAS MADE TO BE IN WORKING ORDER.

Category septic tank