Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

By The Specs Roofing & Consulting

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2010

3.9

(44) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17723 Highland Rd

Baton Rouge, LA 70810

Description

By The Specs Roofing & Construction is South Eastern Louisiana's premiere roofing contractor. We specialize in residential and commercial new roof installations and roof repairs. We install and repair shingle, metal, slate, built up, TPO, standing seam metal, spray coatings, and industrial

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/01/2015


Martha W.

I spoke with Virgil Clipps. He gave me aquote on how much it would cost to fix the roof. I agreed to let him fix the roof. His team came out on Wednesday, September 2, 2015. to fix the roof. He as paid on the next day in full. Saturday, and Sunday Oct. 24 & 25th rained, and the carport started leaking. Actually it was leaking worse than before the fix it. I called Mr. Clipps on Monday, Oct. 26, He came out on Tuesday, Oct. 27th. He has promised that they will fix the leak on the carport. He has continuly lied about fixing the carport. He said that they would be out on Friday, November 27th, they did not come nor call to say that they would not be there on Friday very unprofessional. He will no longer accept my phone calls. The trashhold for the door to the washroom was put down backwards. These people don't know what they are doing. Know that they have been paid they will not return to fix the problem. I was given a two year warranty on repairs. I am going to see who I need to contact about this company. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
The roof on the carport was leaking. I called him to fix the roof.

Category skylights

4.0

12/04/2014


B T S.

Representative from Specs Roofing showed up the day after he was scheduled and failed to call me on the originally agreed upon day to let me know that he was coming the next day. Having said this, he did show up following a bad weather day (original day) and performed the services we had agreed upon over the phone. The rep. was cordial and got right to work on the agreed upon tasks. It took him a little over two hours to complete the work and he disposed of all leaves and debris in the wetlands below my home as agreed upon. I'd say, overall this was a very good experience; above "good," but not quite at Excellent because of the failure to call me to let me know he was going to be delayed. I would not hesitate to recommend Specs Roofing for any gutter or roof cleaning.

Description of Work
Cleaned flat roof over screened porch and cleaned leaves from main roof captured behind chimney.

Category decks, gutter cleaning, roofing

2.0

07/20/2014


Ray C.

never came out after making 3 appointments

Description of Work
nothing

Category gutter cleaning

5.0

07/16/2014


Judith L G.

The provider was on time and was professional in his approach. He explained exactly what he would do. He also pointed out some other areas that needed care and gave us a reasonable estimate on the cost. He was thorough in the job he did, he also did a good job of cleaning up after he finished his work, after explaining that cleaning the gutters would make a mess on the pool deck and other areas.

Description of Work
The provider cleaned out our gutters, which had not been cleaned out in quite some time.

Category decks, gutter cleaning, roofing

1.0

06/08/2014


Amy N.

Scheduled the appointment but provider didn't show up. They never call back to reschedule and their voice mail was full.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

5.0

04/15/2014


Kim B.

It was very good. They sent 2 people out to do the job. They got the job done in about 60-90 minutes. The scheduling was very easy and it was not a problem.

Description of Work
It was a Big Deal for $99 for Home Gutter Cleaning Plus Gutter Tune-up and Roof Inspection. They also replaced the cover over a pipe that was cracked.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

1.0

04/09/2014


Elana K.

They scheduled an appointment without contacting me through Angie's List, then rescheduled it without contacting me. I have requested them to call me to schedule, after I told them to call me, they broke off all communication and haven't heard from them since February 17th.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for gutter cleaning.

Category gutter repair

2.0

03/21/2014


Paula B.

I purchased a Big Deal to have my gutters cleaned on November 8, 2013. When I was first contacted by the company, which they did promptly, I asked them to wait a bit until some leaves fell near my house. I then had to track down their phone number to get in touch with them. When they came the first time a couple of weeks later, they called three hours earlier than scheduled, so I had to leave work in a hurry. Then it took them an hour to find my house, and they arrived without ladders. I thought that was odd for cleaning gutters, but agreed to reschedule and went back to work. They sent an email, putting me off, citing inclement weather. They then emailed and scheduled a visit for January 7, but did not come; I could tell from all the leaves in my downspouts. After contacting Angie's List with my disappointment, the company emailed and rescheduled for February 3. I had to work, but asked them to leave an invoice when they were finished. When I got home, there was no invoice and still leaves in the downspouts. I figured that was the third strike, and paid a bit more to have another company clean my gutters. They were there within two days, and did a great job.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

4.0

03/17/2014


Janna K.

They were good. I didn’t hear anything from them so I’m assuming that everything was okay. I gave them a 'B' simply because they didn’t follow up.

Description of Work
I purchased a $99 Big Deal for a complete gutter cleaning, roof debris removal and tune-up.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

2.0

02/26/2014


James K.

I was not happy with the service. They only used a leaf blower on the gutters and didn’t do a thorough job on cleaning the gutters out. They also didn’t tighten up screws on the gutters that needed to be tightened. They were at my house for only about 15 minutes. I pointed out the areas that I needed them to caulk and screws to fix. He said that they would come back next week to complete these services and I never heard from them. They were courteous when they were here, but they just didn’t complete the work and didn’t contact me again.

Description of Work
It was a Big Deal for $99 for Home Gutter Cleaning Plus Gutter Tune-up and Roof Inspection

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

1.0

02/25/2014


Paula B.

They were prompt in contacting me after purchase. I wanted to hold off for a while. The first time they came out they were coming early and I had to leave work early as such. They also didn't bring ladders out the first time. The second time they put me off because of inclement weather. After they put me off for quite a while I contacted both them and Angie's List after they were supposed to come out the third time and there were still leaves in the gutters and downspout. I asked when they came out February 3rd that they leave an invoice after doing the work for my records and there was no invoice and my gutters and downspouts still had leaves. At this point I am tired of trying to get a hold of them.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning.

Category gutter cleaning

1.0

02/19/2014


Jim G.

Experience with the service provider was poor throughout - having purchased the Big Deal on November 9th 2013, was in contact with the service provider to schedule appointment - from notes, service was originally scheduled to be December 2nd 2013 at 9:30 AM On November 28th 2013, a few days before the service was due to be executed, the service provider contacted via message on Angie's List website, noting the next available appointment was January 14th 2014 at 9:30, 1 month further delay and 2+ months after I had originally purchased the Big Deal. Having called to inquire multiple times, I sent a message on December 19th 2013 to confirm rescheduled date and time. I rec'd confirmation via message two weeks later on January 2nd 2014 that the service would be provided on January 14th 2014 at 10 AM, which I confirmed via message. Without prior communication, on-one from the service provider came on January 14th 2014 to provide the service. Further, a week later, on January 21st 2014, two roofers came unannounced to provide the service on a day and time that wasn't possible (the service wasn't provided at the time). January 21st was the last contact with the service provider (in the form of the roofers coming to the residence) Given the difficulties working with the service provider and repeated delays (service wasn't provided over 3 months after the Big Deal was purchased), I contacted Angie's List to request a refund for the Big Deal.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from By The Specs Roofing & Consulting.

Category roofing

4.0

01/18/2014


Gregory J.

Service was performed well, and it was a good deal. However, due to weather, appointments were missed and had to be rescheduled. I have no problem with this, except the service provider did not make any effort to contact me to let me know. This means staying at home, waiting, only to have no one show up, and to get no response when I tried calling. I understand it's a business that is affected by weather, but that's no excuse for not contacting customers, promptly, so that the customer's time is not wasted. There was also confusion with rescheduling (partly my fault), but my attempts to contact were not returned to provide clarification. I was left wondering if anyone would ever show up. In the end, I opted to give the provider the benefit of the doubt, but it shouldn't have been this difficult for such a basic service.

Description of Work
I used By The Specs Roofing & Consulting

Category roofing

1.0

01/14/2014


joan M.

I purchased the Big Deal for gutter cleaning in November and tried to schedule for the following week. I received a very polite email back saying that their work had been delayed because of inclement weather, and they suggested a date in early December. I agreed and we set a time. Afterward, they emailed me and said that time was no longer available, and the soonest opening they had was January 13th. I agreed and we set the appointment. January 13th was a rainy day, so I called early in the morning to see if they were planning on coming. I also messaged them here on Angie's List. I never received a call back, or a message back, and 9:30 came and went. As far as I know, no work has been done to my gutters. I know for a fact that the company has both my telephone number and my email address. I'm disappointed and would like my money back.

Description of Work
Big Deal $99 for gutter cleaning

Category roofing

2.0

12/19/2013


SCOTT M.

I bought the deal and called them. They never returned any of my calls. I needed someone immediately as we had gutters falling off. I finally got a hold of someone and they couldn't come out until January. We couldn't wait that long as every rain was causing more damage.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from By the Specs roofing.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

1.0

12/14/2013


Brandt T.

They took my $99 and then didn't schedule my gutter cleaning for over a month. Despite 3 emails from me to them that I had a 3 story home, they arrived to my home without a ladder to reach the 3rd story, and they had clearly outsourced the job. I have asked for my money back and they have not replied. Further research shows that the principal of Specs roofing has been cited NUMEROUS times by the BBB for poor service. I am surprised that Angie's list would affiliate itself with a company like this. I would like to know how I'm going to recoup my $99 that Specs roofing has of mine.

Description of Work
I used By The Specs Roofing & Consulting.

Category gutter cleaning

2.0

12/05/2013


Alton B.

The service rep. arrived, introduced himself politely, gave me his card, and went right to work. After finishing he thanked me for my business. service took about an hour. UPDATE 12/09/2013: The day after the job was complete, I inspected the work and found that the covers on the gutters were damaged drastically. I don't think they will allow the roof shingles to fall back into place where he had to pull them up to get the covers off of the gutter. Some of the covers are warped or bent in some places. I was not told about this when the technician left. I do not intend to call them back to do any repairs. I am very displeased with the outcome of the service.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced gutter covers, cleaned gutters, removed debris from roof.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

3.0

11/13/2013


Sheryl B.

After cleaning the gutters and inspecting the roof, I asked them to remove the small tarp from the roof. They did as I asked but then told me that the person who installed the tarp had used nails that put holes in my roof. It seems that once they realized on the first nail that by removing the tarp I would have a hole they should have told me. Instead they then offered to repair the holes for $195.

Description of Work
Cleaned gutters and inspected roof.

Category roofing

1.0

09/23/2013


John O.

The work was done but the roof continued. When Mr Clipps was contacted he said he didn't have anyone to send over as all his technicians were working out of state. From that point he did not return my calls and made no attempt to honor the warranty. I stopped calling and eventually had my resident call his company to provide an estimate to repair the leak. This estimate was for 2 times the original amount and the estimator never went on the roof to inspect it. I had occasion to meet with the estimator and showed him the estimate which he agreed was his. I then showed, and provided, a copy of the warranty. Approximately a week later the company sent a technician to the property to allegedly do the work on the estimate. The technician stated the continued leaking was caused by a loose shingle and he wasn't told anything about repairing the damage to the inside of the house. I had the roof repaired by another company and it no longer leaks. I also had the damage to the inside of the house repaired. This has cost me more than $1,600.00 dollars. Mr. Clipps (By T)he Specs Roofing) are now in the process of settling this matter legally.

Description of Work
The provider repaired a leak around a chimney and provided a 3 year warranty for the roof repair and any internal damage caused by continued leaking.

Category roofing

5.0

09/06/2013


Judy M.

It went fine. They came out 2 weeks ago. They were on time, they didn't take a long time to do the work, they were friendly, polite and very good. As far as the one time they came goes, they were reliable and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal service from By The Specs Roofing & Consulting to clean and inspect my gutters, inspect the roof and cleaned the vents.

Category gutter cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

09/04/2013


Mario and Lucy G.

The owner of By the Specs Roofing Co. (Mr. Virgil) came out the same day I called and put a Blue Tarp on my roof where the shingles had came loose and fell to the ground. The next day Mr. Virgil sent a roofer to replace (2 squares)of shingles just before heavy rains came later that day. The job was done professionally and I would recommend this company to everyone.

Description of Work
Repair section of roof that was not nailed properly. Roofer showed me old shingles that were replaced only had 3 nails and should have had more because it was architecture shingles that are thicker and heavier.

Category roofing

5.0

08/07/2013


Frederick F H.

It was an Angie's List Big Deal that I purchased. It worked out great. This was my first time to use them. They were easy to communicate, they came on time and I was happy with the people that came because they knew what they were doing. It was a good experience.

Description of Work
By The Specs Roofing & Consulting came out to clean the gutters. They pulled the junk out of the gutters like leaves and branches. They hauled that away, put it in a bag and threw it in the trash. Then they cleaned the gutters out with water. They also gave me an estimate on replacing the gutters.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair

Service Provider Response

We thank you so much [removed member name] for your kind words. It was our pleasure to serve you and if we can do anything else for you in the future please do not hesitate to call us.
5.0

07/08/2013


Lynn Gautreaux G.

It was an Angie's List Big Deal that I purchased. They noticed a couple of things, a shingle missing and some other things, which they gave me a great price on. I'll probably gonna use them again to get those little things taken care of. Tehy did a good job. I haven't had any issue or problem with them at all. They did what they're supposed to do and they cleaned up after themselves. It was a great price for what they did and a great price for the additional work that they noticed and I had noticed before. They came out on a Saturday and didn't waste time responding to my payment on Angie's List.

Description of Work
By The Specs Roofing & Consulting came out and cleaned the gutters out. They checked for any leaks and made sure everything was working real good on the gutters and did a quick survey on the roof area for us.

Category gutter repair, roofing

4.0

03/11/2013


Ronald R.

See description above. While the work was eventually done to my satisfaction, I was surprised that I had to pay the $129 Angie's List fee up front, before the inspection was performed. Consequently, there was a delay between payment and work performed due to incessant rain here in January. When the technician did arrive, he was professional and experienced. I asked him if he could replace some jack books/vents and he called his office to get a quote: $250 extra! I thought that a bit high but the work needed to be done. So, I reluctantly agreed to the extra cost.

Description of Work
Roof Inspection. Replaced some metal fasteneres. Replaced five (5) jack boots/vents.

Category roofing

5.0

02/02/2013


Robin S.

Very nice guy came out on time. He got up on my roof and did an inspection. He noticed a few minor issues to be fixed. He climbed back up and fixed them. I thought the price was reasonable. Given that I know nothing about what goes into maintaining a roof, I was pleased that the minor fixes were less than two hundred dollars. He might have told me anything. I feel secure knowing I won't have any leaks sneaking up on me.

Description of Work
I fell better knowing my roof is in great shape now.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pure Sanitation

    Pure Sanitation cleans and sanitize offices, building, homes we also do pressure washing and surface cleaning. We are owner operated and focused on attention to detail and I'll be here every step of the way to make sure we get the job done right. We offer free estimates and look forward to working with you. Please give us a call or click for an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Hydreaux Clean

    We offer quality and affordable pressure washing services.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Hydreaux Clean on Angi
    D & R Fencing

    D & R Fence Company is a family owned and operated fence company that offers 35+ years experience. We can build any type of fence, including: wood privacy, chain link, aluminum, farm/pasture, gates and fence repairs. Our guaranteed craftsmanship adds beauty, security and privacy to homes & businesses. We take pride in offering quality fences at competitive prices. D&R Fence serves Baton Rouge & surrounding areas. Billing: DRF collects 50% of total upfront and the other 50% upon completion of job. We accept Checks & Cash.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roof Installation, Repair, & Replacement, Roof Inspection, Decks & Porches, Drywall, Fencing, Flooring, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Testing & Remediation, Painting, Pressure Washing, Remodeling, Roofing, Siding, Stucco.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about By The Specs Roofing & Consulting

    How is By The Specs Roofing & Consulting overall rated?

    By The Specs Roofing & Consulting is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are By The Specs Roofing & Consulting open?

    By The Specs Roofing & Consulting is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does By The Specs Roofing & Consulting provide

    By The Specs Roofing & Consulting accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check

    Does By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offer free estimates?

    Yes, By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offers free project estimates.

    Does By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offer a senior discount?

    Yes, By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offer emergency services?

    Yes, By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by By The Specs Roofing & Consulting?

    Yes, By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offers warranties.

    What services does By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offer?

    By The Specs Roofing & Consulting offers the following services: Roof Installation, Repair, & Replacement, Roof Inspection, Decks & Porches, Drywall, Fencing, Flooring, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Testing & Remediation, Painting, Pressure Washing, Remodeling, Roofing, Siding, Stucco.