The ABL Group

About

Founded 1974 • With Angi since August 2004

The ABL Group provides you with a single source for all your decorating and remodeling needs. Our group of dedicated professionals, artists and craftsman handle each or every element of your project - beginning with its design, continuing through its construction and decoration, and even maintaining the space after we've finished. For more than 30 years, The ABL Group has provided outstanding value and superior customer service up and down the North Shore and throughout its surrounding communities. When you are ready to enhance your built environment, contact The ABL Group. We are "Uniquely Professional." 12 employees. uses subs for plumbing, electrical & hvac. cost is determined by the job. no travel charges. additional contact: howard lipsky. additional email: howard@theablgroup.com. dba abl decorating & remodeling inc. Award winning....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+28 more images

Lake Forest Showhouse Kitchen & Breakfast Room

Lake Forest Showhouse Kitchen & Breakfast Room

cabinet makers202060045
​The ABL Group Melds Smart Technology with Timeless Style in Lake Forest Showhouse Kitchen Historic home’s classic design aesthetics are artfully updated with contemporary state-of-the-art functionality July 28, 2020, Highwood, IL – Visitors to this year’s Lake Forest Showhouse & Gardens are experiencing a unique “back to the future” design moment in the historic Pullman estate’s reimagined kitchen and breakfast room. Under the direction of The ABL Group, the space has been transformed into the ultimate combination of timeless form and high-tech function. “We’ve always been proponents of the philosophy that form follows function,” says George Markoutsas, vice president of The ABL Group. “Nowhere is this more essential than in the modern kitchen—it has become the home’s grand central station. So, in addition to looking beautiful, it has to function beautifully not only for the chef but also for the entire family. And today’s families have unique demands and expectations.” The remodeling and contracting company, which includes affiliates Dovetails Custom Cabinetry and DP Home Design, faced both challenges and opportunities when designing around this philosophy in the Pullman mansion. Built in 1906, the architecture of the sprawling 23-room manor house is traditional in style, with a look of tasteful simplicity outside and refined designer details inside. Despite several interior remodels over the years, the kitchen area has remained confined to a conventional floorplan—a relatively tight, enclosed space cut off from the home’s living areas—and a far cry from today’s trending open concept. In addition, The ABL Group design team needed to work around some existing elements the homeowner wanted to retain, including a classic black-and-white checkerboard marble floor and the abundant windows bringing light into the space. “We really wanted a high-end look that incorporated current kitchen trends like fewer upper cabinets and state-of-the-art appliances,” Markoutsas says. “But beyond that, we knew anything ultra-contemporary simply would not work aesthetically in this classic space. So, we drew on old-world style elements that are indicative of the architectural time period—such as custom inset cabinetry that looks like furniture—and then took it to the next logical level by integrating smart home automation into the sights, sounds, and activities of the kitchen with the assistance of Great Home Technologies.” Voice activation plays a big role, controlling the lighting, window treatments, and speakers. By commanding their virtual digital assistant devices, homeowners can not only turn these systems on and off but also sync them to set the mood with preprogrammed music selections and light levels. When the cook’s hands are full or messy, the no-touch Brizo faucet can be controlled with a tap or voice-activated to deliver the exact temperature and quantity of water needed. Even the countertops were selected because they offered a technological edge. “In most high-end kitchens today, the default for countertops is marble or quartzite,” Markoutsas says. “Though admittedly beautiful, they come with their fair share of maintenance and are not a solid surface. They are porous, and therefore less sterile—something top-of-mind for families right now. We specified an engineered, solid surface quartz by Cambria with the luxurious look of marble but no maintenance and the durability and hygienic qualities of stainless steel.” Other 21st century touches found throughout the space include strategically placed charging stations and small-appliance garages built into the cabinetry. Technology also played an artistic role in the adjoining breakfast room. The ABL Group bucked tradition by commissioning a custom wall mural from Street Level Studio that used digital technology to reinterpret the Asian-inspired artistry of the historic hand-painted wallpaper in the home. Additional design elements contributing to the thorough modernization of this classically beautiful space included upscale appliances from GE Monogram, brushed gold hardware from Top Knobs, a custom butcherblock from Lake County Barnwood, elegant accessories from Summer Classics Home, and a dramatically dimensional backsplash from Artistic Tile. “Our goal in designing the kitchen and breakfast room was simple,” says Markoutsas. “We want everyone who steps into the space to feel like they could live there. We created a space with functionality for the way modern families live but also with the charm, sophistication, comfort, and luxury of the past. It’s a space designed to ease the everyday and add excitement to entertaining. What more could you ask?”

Verified Reviews

4.9

(163) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

145

4

9

3

5

2

0

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

interior painting (106)house painting (51)handyman (38)home remodeling (32)woodworking (27)drywall (20)flooring (15)window replacement (13)door installation (12)lighting (11)electrician (10)plumbers (9)
Showing 1-25 of 163 reviews
5.0

06/25/2021


Mary Ann U.

ABL did a 5-star job for us. Howard arrived to provide a quote for refinishing our door and we learned then, that they also handled other types of work. We were able to have four different areas of interior repair addressed, plus the front door. They scheduled soon after providing the estimate, and completed all the work in the time frame promised. The crew was wonderful; the work tidy and impeccable; restoration quality. The CEO visited personally and made himself available to us for follow up if needed. ABL will definitely be our go to company for any future needs. We are planning to visit their showroom to replace a bathroom vanity.

Description of Work
Refinish and seal front door; repair water damage.

Category appliance repair, plastering, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $6,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2021

5.0

06/18/2021


Valeriya C.

Such a great experience from start to finish. Howard and his team did an AMAZING job painting our preschool. As you can imagine, the walls at the school take a lot of wear and tear and after his team was finished, it was as if it was BRAND new. They were also able to work with both our timeline and around school hours. Will definitely work with ABL again on our next project.

Description of Work
Wall painting & plaster/repair

Category appliance repair, plastering, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2021

1.0

06/08/2021


David L.

took forever to get someone out, Mitch came out, after Michelle cancelled twice, he was very courteous and professional and took measurements, HOWEVER I never received any follow-up whatsoever. It was apparent they didn't want the job, and this was for a FULL bath remodel

Description of Work
bathroom remodel

Category appliance repair, home remodeling

Work Completed On 04/30/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - We just left you a message and are confused by this review. 1st off we are very sorry about the rescheduling, Michelle was dealing with a family member who was ill. With regard to the follow-up, we did send out the proposal to you May 14, 2021 with 2 follow up emails each week after the initial one was sent. We are wondering if perhaps you could check your JUNK folder? Otherwise we may have an incorrect email on file - PLEASE call our office 847.579.1600 at your convenience as we would like to get this matter resolved. Thank you!
5.0

02/01/2021


Gary C.

We have used the ABL group for years now for various projects, most recently a home gym and some new looks throughout the house.(new color to kitchen island, random new furniture and art, very cool wallpaper) They are the best, we love working with their Interior Designer Michelle, so fun and easy to work with plus Lico is the man but really they all are, will use them again when the needs arise

Description of Work
Home Updates

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, interior designers, lighting, masonry, remodeling, wallpaper, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2021

5.0

12/19/2020


Megan C.

The quality of work that The ABL Group does is beyond all expectations. They were very polite, efficient, and were an absolute pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend The ABL Group for any remodeling and painting needs and will be using them again in the future!!!!

Description of Work
Barbershop Transformation

Category plastering, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the review and your kind words!!!
5.0

08/30/2020


Lisa P.

Working with Howard and the entire ABL team was terrific. It is rare to find a company where the team has been together for as long as they have been at ABL. They are truly a family and that shows in the quality of workmanship, professionalism and customer service. We could not be happier with the results of the work. It is high quality and the project price was fair given the terrific workmanship. We will use ABL for our future projects because they are a firm that truly cares about customer service and quality work.

Description of Work
Whole house exterior painting, siding repair, window replacement/addition in master br

Category siding, replacement windows, house painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and your incredibly kind words. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

08/27/2020


Adrienne N.

Over the past ten years there has always been extremely superior work and service.

Description of Work
Over ten years just about everything from partial reconstruction of the residence to solving rodent access problems.

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, electrician, fencing, flooring contractor, handyman service, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, masonry, plastering, remodeling, roofing, wallpaper removal, wallpaper, water damage restoration, replacement windows, garage builders, home builders, home & garage organization, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors, drain cleaning, sunrooms, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and your incredibly kind words. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

07/10/2020


Michael W.

The ABL team was efficient, clean, and paid close attention to detail. The entire process from quoting through the final inspection was excellent. The associates are well-trained, hard-working, professional, and friendly. I've paid less to have this house painted but the quality of workmanship and warranty is less than The ABL Group has provided. This company does quality work!

Description of Work
Exterior 2-Story House Painting

Category house painters

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2020

Images

Review for The ABL Group - 259 Waukegan Ave, Highwood, IL - 38709207

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and your incredibly kind words. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

04/05/2020


Cheryl B.

Howard and his team are the best! We needed to update our entry area and dining room, and convert an old iron staircase railing into a modern wooden one. The whole team was easy to work with, started and finished exactly when they said they would, and the result is just beautiful. We are completely satisfied and will hire them again. Many thanks!

Description of Work
Painting and a new stairway

Category wallpaper removal, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2020

Images

Review for The ABL Group - 259 Waukegan Ave, Highwood, IL - 38481186

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and your incredibly kind words. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

02/15/2020


Kenneth O.

Outstanding, meticulous, and top professional job by the paint crew lead by Valentin. The work took just four days and they were always on time, hard working, and left everyday with my condo clean and furniture carefully back in place. Valentin also went above and beyond by proactively unfreezing the hot and cold water valves servicing my washing machine and installing new hoses for me. Howard Lipsky, the owner, is a total pro and very customer focused. After the job was completed, he and supervisor Billy stopped by to make sure I was completely satisfied with the work. Other paint quotes I got were lower, but the high quality work by ABL Group was so well worth it. A very well organized and professionally run business. And Jessica in the office was always very responsive and pleasant to deal with.

Description of Work
Painted entire interior of 1,500 square foot condominium.

Category interior painters

Cost $7,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and your incredibly kind words. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

09/13/2019


Andrew T.

Punctual, attentive and propessional

Description of Work
Exterior Staining

Category house painters

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2019

5.0

06/28/2019


Linda M W.

ABL is wonderful, they are extremely honest, professional and very nice to work with, can't brag enough about the work they do, will definitely recommend them and use them again.

Description of Work
painting exterior of home

Category deck cleaning, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

5.0

03/22/2019


Lori L.

The crew showed up on time and was very professional. They helped us match some colors we were unsure of and completed the job quickly and expertly. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2018

5.0

02/09/2019


James B.

We are thoroughly happy with the quality of their work and recommend ABL Group for painting and handyman work. We hired ABL Group because it was highly rated by Angie List members, has verifiable worker’s and liability insurance, an up-to-date verifiable EPA lead paint certification (checked at [*** Link removed ***] 5 year warranty (labor and materials), and a good price. We received estimates from 5 companies. Our ranch style home was built in 1962 so it was important that we hire a painting company with EPA lead paint certification. In my presence ABL tested each room to be painted for lead, thankfully none were found. We expected above average preparation of the walls and ceilings (according to another company’s estimator, our expectation was above average), repairing many wall and ceiling cracks and blemishes, patching unused picture and curtain rod holes. Howard Lipsky, the owner, came to our home to give an estimate. He was friendly, knowledgeable, listened to our requirements, and made suggestions. We gave him a printed list of our requirements. I’m a retired computer programmer and very detail oriented. His proposal was the most detailed of the 5 companies’ proposals we received. ABL willingly added additional information to the proposal to clarify and add omissions. We knew exactly what we would get when we signed the proposal. Before the project began, Howard visited again to give us a complimentary color consultation, suggesting paint types, sheens and colors for the rooms and shed. Inside the house, workers prepared the walls and ceilings, protecting the floors, furniture, cabinets with plastic tarps and cloths, removing electric outlet and light switch plates, scraping loose paint, repairing cracks and holes, caulking, applying primer over bare surfaces, cleaning areas daily. At the end of each day I checked prep work, pointing out issues that they happily corrected the next day. They applied two coats of Benjamin Moore Regal paint, allowing the first coat time to dry before painting the second coat. After painting was done, they caulked top of backsplashes in bathrooms and kitchen. A worker lightly sanded front door and applied 3 coats of Zar Ultra stain. Again, they fixed any concern I had about a specific area, e.g. applying third coat of stain to front door to achieve uniform appearance. We thought that the workers’ supervision, provided by Billy, project supervisor, and Balentine, foreman, was good, Billy checking in daily. Both men listened to and satisfied our concerns and answered our questions. The workers came early, worked hard and put in a full day of work in order to meet the schedule in the proposal. Pleased with the painting project in progress, we entered into another contract with ABL for the family room, fixing water leak damage to one wood paneled wall and adjoining ceiling. ABL took off wood paneling, removed all plaster on the wall, plastered wall, patched ceiling, applied coat of primer paint, and painted 2 Benjamin Moore coats on all walls and ceiling. In the backyard, workers worked on the shed, replacing rotten wood trim on the outer sides, replacing one door, prepping the surface, adding new wood trim boards around bottom of all sides, painting primer on new wood, applying 2 coats of Benjamin Moore paint. On the last day of the project I was impressed that Billy, the project supervisor, told us not to hesitate to contact him to fix any painting imperfections that we may discover later. A few weeks later I called Billy to send someone to take care of some issues. The touchup work was done expertly, the small repainted areas blending invisibly with the surrounding painted wall. We can attest that ABL lives up to its warranty. About 3 months after the project was over, some hairline cracks appeared. I called ABL and within days a worker came to fix the problem to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
Painting 3 bedrooms & closets, kitchen, 1 1/2 baths, linen closet, coat closet; repairing & painting family room; performing carpentry & painting outside shed; staining front door

Category handyman service, plastering, house painters, interior painters

Cost $9,354

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2018

5.0

12/19/2018


ANN B.

Excellent! They are very expensive, but we learned our lesson...buy cheap, get cheap. The 1st painters we used, we never saw the wood. But these guys? They scraped and sanded down to the wood! They did a very professional job. They were very professional, very polite, very nice, and just excellent all the way around!

Description of Work
The entire house and garage trim, and the second floor stucco

Category house painters

Cost $7,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - Thank you for the review and your incredibly kind words. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

12/12/2018


Polly G.

The ABL Group is the pinnacle of excellence. The warm, attentive people, their prompt timing, clear communications and superb workmanship are such a bounty as I have rarely seen. From the first visit by the owner, Howard, and extraordinarily cheerful, professional and expert project manager, Mike, and the lead Geraldo -- we received extraordinary workmanship and advice and the teams did excellent work while being professional and easy to work with. They suggested alternatives where we might save $, offered support with insurance quotes and design iterations, shared clear administrative planning in the office with Miriam, Jessica and Dina. Through many phases of our flood-to-fully-gutted-kitchen rehab, the experience could not have been better. We love LOVE our new kitchen. The painting is constantly admired by others and makes the whole place sing. The memory of the experience with ABL is a very good one. WOW

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category drywall, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2018

Images

Review for The ABL Group - 259 Waukegan Ave, Highwood, IL - 37604838

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your incredibly kind words [Member Name Removed]. It is truly appreciated.
5.0

06/22/2018


Harrison G.

ABL did a great job on our living room, repairing water damage around our bay window and painting the whole room. I was impressed by the skillfulness and professionalism of the crew. They showed up everyday at the same time, worked efficiently, and were respectful of the noise as I was home with a baby at the time. Very good first impression of their work and I will be using them again!

Description of Work
Living Room drywall repair and painting

Category drywall, insulation, interior painters

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2018

Images

Review for The ABL Group - 259 Waukegan Ave, Highwood, IL - 37176102
5.0

05/30/2018


Debbie A.

They did a great job and were able to complete the job in a professional and timely manner.

Description of Work
Repairs following significant ice dam damage including insulation, drywall, window replacement, painting and flooring.

Category drywall, handyman service, hardwood floor, insulation, water damage restoration, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2018

5.0

12/20/2017


Shilpa K.

We have had great experience working with George. We did a brand new kitchen in our remodel. The cabinets are fabulous. Any questions we had were answered quickly. We have an end panel that was looking a but plain after the kitchen was done and George came over to the house and provided suggestions for improvement. The ABL group then hand delivered the moldings that we are using to improve the appearance of the end panel.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel - new cabinets

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2017

5.0

11/15/2017


Sandra G.

The house looks great. Painters were easy to talk to about the work. When I needed few small, extra areas repaired and painted, all was done.

Description of Work
The ABL group painted all the trim on my house and primed, painted and matched color of cedar shingles.

Category woodworking, house painters

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

5.0

11/07/2017


Dale C.

I was very pleased with them. I had a very, very good positive experience. This wasn't a really low estimate but I got what I bargained for here. The owner came out and was very professional and very nice. Right away we clicked. He was right on the same page with me about what I wanted to have done. He couldn't have been more accommodating. I explained to him that this painting needed to be good in anticipation of putting my condo on the market and selling it and that I wanted a warranty connected with it. He was one of the few companies that was willing to extend me at a very nominal added cost a one year warranty that i could then use to support my condo sale and it made a better impression ultimately with who bought it. That i was very very pleased with. On the day of the job they were out when they said they would be. The contractors that came out to do the work couldn't have been nicer. The owner came out that morning and made it very clear to them how the job needed to be done and that he expected that they would really do a good job for me. He gave them a nice pep talk in a very positive way, but in a very clear concise way of how the job needed to be done. There was absolutely noting that I would say needed to be improved. .

Description of Work
I used a very, very good company through Angie's List called the ABL Group. They painted my living room, dining room and a hallway. They painted about half of my two bedroom condo.

Category interior painters

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2017

5.0

10/16/2017


Matthew B.

The owner Howard, came out to take look at everything and give me an initial estimate. Once I got back to them, it took a while for them to be able to get back out to start the work, but once they did they were very flexible with dividing the 4 days of work over two weeks since I had family coming to visit in the middle of the work. I had expanded the scope of work to include more electrical work than originally estimated and also added the painting of the kitchen to the job. Howard's team took on the additional tasks easily and I felt the price was reasonable. I noticed some bubbling in the paint in the stairwell area and they did a great job of making sure that I was happy with the quality of the job. I would definitely recommend them and will most likely be hiring ABL again in the future.

Description of Work
Installed 8 light fixtures, 3 light switches, and an electrical outlet. Connected bathroom exhaust hoses to roof (were left disconnected and laying in insulation in attic by previous owner.) Replaced rotted wood sill for large window that was leaking, including caulking and painting. Scraped and painted 7 wood casement windows, including 5 that were on 2nd level. Painted kitchen, stairwell, and 20 ft. high walls in living room, as well as skylight alcoves over 20 ft. high.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

Cost $5,469.54

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2017