Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LJA Builders Inc.

Founded 1995 • With Angi since April 2013

1.1

(4) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

485 S Augusta Ave

Waycross, GA 31503

Description

LJA Builders Incorporated was established in 1995 by the owner and General Contractor Mr. Horace Taylor. The experience of this company goes back thirty years in proven work experience.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/10/2016


Jan S.

Description of Work
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, THE SMITH'S WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE SERVICE, AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO NONE OF OUR FAMILY MEMBERS/ YOU NEED TO TAKE THEM OFF OF YOUR LIST.

Category electrician

2.0

10/14/2015


Jay M.

Description of Work
I spoke to them about 2 years ago. no call back

Category electrician

1.0

08/12/2015


Shane G.

Description of Work
i contacted the ceo Mr. Horace Taylor to provide an estimate for a trailor remodel that consisted of installing a vanity in the bathroom, replacing the flooring throughout the entire house, replace base cabinets and countertop in kitchen, install kitchen sink, install three ceiling fans, two interior light fixtures, two exterior light fixtures, replace front and back doors, remodel front porch to make safe, remove wall ac unit to aquire more square feet. This was on June 22, 2015 and he said he would be able to start on July 1, 2015. He said he would contact us within 72 hours with a proposal to sign. After one week we had not heard from him so we contacted him and the conversation was him giving us excuses. He said he would be able to start on The 6th of July. He arrived at my house with a worker on the 5th to show him what needed to be done. The following day the worker showed up with another worker. Come to find out they didn't like Mr.taylor very well and said they were hired as a helper. Not to do projects. They told me they were underpaid and that Mr. Taylor hasn't paid the in several weeks. They ripped my floor up and went home. Due to my floor being ripped up I had to stay in hotel for the safety of my children for almost two weeks. Mind you, I was told by Mr. Taylor that my floor and the entire inside would be finished in one weeks time. It was never finished. The first week he said he would be there everyday. He was not there at all. He would never communicate with me. I had to almost track him down to figure out his plan. After the first week he fired his two workers. We had a talk about him not fulfilling his word about having the inside done and he hit me with more execuses and said it was our fault because we kept changing things. The painters that he fired were unskilled who told us that they had never painted before. They got paint on the floor, sink, ceilings, light sockets, dishes, bathtub, toilet, weight scale, base boards, trim, table, ac vents, and doors. Everything that was damaged he expected me to pay for it which I refused. He left wall outlet wires exposed, a hole in my ceiling, my toilets came of the ground and is leaking, he didn't do the porch, the fans, the light fixtures, half of the flooring was done wrong, they scuffed up the new paint job throughout the house. The damaged the screens on my porch. They left a Sheetrock panel exposed with screws and electrical wires. They pulled the back skirting off of my trailer and left it in a pile along with, the flooring, the old countertop, base cabinet, base boards, sinks, cut wood, and garbage from there food. They did not clean up after themselves what so ever. He spilled paint and caulk on our new floors in every room. I have thousands in repair. He called me at 9 pm accusing me of talking about our business in front of his workers. He was rude. I called him the next day to see what the plan was for work and he was incredibly rude and hung up in my face. We then fired him. The proposal I signed was two pages long. He told me I would get a copy in the mail. When I received the copy, there were two pieces of paper behind the proposal that he slipped in about legal protection for him. He never reviewed it with me when I signed the proposal. That is completely unethical. This man is a crook. After we fired him he continued to harass me for the remainder of the money. He had already received 75 percent of the money for 50 percent of the work. The work was substandard and has cost me thousands to replace. Even his skilled workers the second week were trash talking him. Saying they were under paid and it was always paid late. I don't know how this man is still in business or how he ever started a business in the first place. This man will take a lengthy amount of time to complete a project if it even ever does get finished. He is full of execuses and broken promises. He is completley unprofessional and extremely rude. I give him the lowest grade possible and I hope this never has to happen to someone else again. DO NOT HIRE THIS HORACE TAYLOR AND LGA BUILDERS. BEWARE!

Category electrician

1.0

01/14/2015


Nancy K.

It cost us another $30,000 to bring house up to dried in stage. He had been paid to dry in house. When it came time to install hardwood floors we could not because of the unevenness of cement. It took $5000 to correct floor. Building inspector said he was sending report to Atlanta and he would lose his license.

Description of Work
After 5 months house was still not dried in. Shingles on roof were not straight and roof was sagging in places. After inspection it was found the rafters were not plum etc... We had to take shingles off, realign rafters and other things and purchase more shingles...

Category electrician, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Our company was hired by the owners to complete the task of building a new home for the [removed members name] family. During the process, the owners hired subcontractors outside of the signed contract agreement with LJA Builders without notifying the contractor. The owners also offered the initial subcontractors work to complete the job outside the signed contract agreement with LJA Builders which led to our company to withdraw from the contract because a mutual agreement could not be reached. It is NOT our intention to withdraw from any contract but it is our intention to complete any signed contract agreement. Our goal is to meet the expectations that our clients are expecting with their new or renovated home or business.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Poly Lift USA Georgia

    Poly Lift USA Georgia: concrete - leveling & mudjacking  

    Angi Certified

    Alpha Foundations

    Alpha Foundations in Florida & Southern Georgia is a full-service foundation repair company specializing in residential, commercial and industrial foundation services, we also provide crawl space repair and concrete lifting & leveling services all throughout our Florida and Georgia service area. Contact us today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Santos Landscape and Garden Services LLC

    Santos Grass Cutting, LLC Waycross, GA, 31501 (912) 288-2953 Santos Grass Cutting, LLC, is a locally owned and operated company that values quality work in all aspects of business. From your first interaction down the very last detail, our dedicated team of professionals have over 10 years of hands on experience to provide innovative ideas tailored to your projects. Our services are customized to your individual needs, paying close attention to the details of your project. Please contact us today! Landscaper, Tree Cutting, Landscaping, Molding, Landscape Contractor, Landscaping Service Deenwood GA;Winona Park GA;Sunnyside GA;Waresboro GA;Astoria GA; Lawn Care, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Maintenance, Lawn Care Services, Lawn Service https://santosgrasscutting.com/  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Up to one hour.
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Our company is equipped to handle any contracting job no matter how big or small. We over services from carpentry,facilities maintenance,and electrical to bio-medical instrument repair so just give us a call.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LJA Builders Inc.

    How is LJA Builders Inc. overall rated?

    LJA Builders Inc. is currently rated 1.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are LJA Builders Inc. open?

    LJA Builders Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does LJA Builders Inc. provide

    LJA Builders Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does LJA Builders Inc. offer free estimates?

    No, LJA Builders Inc. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does LJA Builders Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, LJA Builders Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LJA Builders Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, LJA Builders Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Does LJA Builders Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, LJA Builders Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by LJA Builders Inc.?

    No, LJA Builders Inc. does not offer warranties.

    What services does LJA Builders Inc. offer?

    LJA Builders Inc. offers the following services: Our company is equipped to handle any contracting job no matter how big or small. We over services from carpentry,facilities maintenance,and electrical to bio-medical instrument repair so just give us a call.